Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Hotel Massacre Haunted House (Chicago, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
42 out of 50 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: drevil   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Hotel Massacre is in the same building with the 115 Bourbon Street bar. If you are familiar with the local area, you can find it pretty easily. They could have done a better job with signage, though. None of the signs were lit up, so they were hard to see.

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple of actors walking around in the line area. The entrance looked like a haunted house and they were playing movie clips.

Length of Event: 8-10 minutes

Actor Performance: Acting was fair, I would say. The kids with speaking parts did a good job, but most of the jump-out type scares were off.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was pretty good. Since you have to stop in each scene to hear the actors lines, that seemed to split people up pretty good.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 8+

Summary: I enjoyed many aspects of this haunted house. The scenes were pretty cool. They have you check in at the lobby. Some of the scenes like the pirate ship and cemetery didn’t really fit in with a hotel theme, though. That really didn’t make much sense.  
 
I really think that their advertising is very misleading, though. “Voted Scariest in the Midwest” is posted on the main page of their website. When I saw that, I had high hopes going into this thing, but was disappointed on my way out. I believe that this haunted house would be on par with many community jaycees charity haunted houses out there. There were some great scares, but I would rate the scare factor somewhere in the average category for this type of event. But it definitely wasn’t anywhere near “Scariest in the Midwest”. Besides, this is only the event’s second season, so how could it achieved such accolades in one year? LOL. Can we say false advertising, boys and girls? To say that an event you are running is scariest in the Midwest (in your own opinion) is one thing, but to imply that someone else voted you the scariest when it never really happened? That's just wrong, and might I add, borderline fraud.  
 
I think that they posted that on their website (and I also heard it in their radio commercial) for the sole purpose of getting more customers, period! The problem is, when you make false claims like that, charge a fortune to get in, then don’t back up all the hype with a quality performance… that is when you have disgruntled customers who never come back. I feel cheated and I think that they misrepresented their event as something more than it was, just for the sake of turning a profit. So much for truth in advertising!  
 
I hope you understand that it is not my intention to slam this haunted house (as that would be against the rules). I only wanted to present the facts, in a calm, objective manner. I think it is important that everyone knows about their little advertising gimmick. It certainly left me with a bad taste in my mouth!  
 
BUT, don’t let my little rant discourage you from going. It is a decent haunted house and it’s pretty fun, albeit high priced. Just don’t expect it to be some world-class Disney type thing or some "rip your heart out" screamfest, cause it ain’t!

21 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dave13   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location and easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: It took about 8 minutes to go through.

Actor Performance: Pathetic at best! Very inexperienced. Thumbs down for one of the key factors of a great haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It went very fast. I felt hurried through.

Appropriate Ages: 5-10 yrs old. I took my 12 yr old nephew and he laughed through the whole thing.

Props / Special FX: Very store bought. Little creativity. I felt like I was in a Halloween store.

Costumes / Make-up: I hoped to see gore but all i saw were white faces. Where is the flesh rips, tears and special FX that make a haunted house great. this area seemed to be overlooked or maybe deemed not important which is a grave mistake! no pun intended.

Summary: Very expensive. No scare factor at all. The acting and make-up of the ghouls, ghosts, and monsters are truly the most important parts of a haunted house and I feel these areas were overlooked which caused for a very disappointing walk through of what seemed to be a showroom from a halloween store. With so much competition for haunted houses in illinois you would think more creativity would be put into the scare factor or at least the eye candy factor but that doesn't happen with this half hearted endevour. The only time a teen would scare me by being on their cell phone is when I'm paying the bill!!

36 out of 50 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scary1   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The place is hard to find. I couldn't see it from the street, but Mapquest directions got me there.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any, with the exception of the entrance looking like a haunted house.

Length of Event: Maybe 10 minutes

Actor Performance: They really did a great job with doing what they should have. A lot of them had lines that they gave, to explain more about the room they were in.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was stop and go, because actors set the background for each room, which made us stop and listen.

Summary: I went to this house last year, and was disappointed when I went through again this year. They charge WAY too much ($20) for what they have to offer. As another reviewer had said, I also noticed that they claimed that they were scariest in the midwest. I love haunted houses and go to a several a year. Let me tell you that the scare factor at this one is very low. Scariest in the midwest, my a@@!!! I felt very disappointed paying so much, when the event didn't even come close to living up to the hype and claims on their website!  
 
The bedroom was cool, but the scare was telegraphed. The pirate ship was ok and the cemetery was pretty, but in the end I felt ripped off for having to pay $20, when there are so many better haunted houses than this who charge so much less!!!

14 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They are located in with the 115 Bourbon Street Bar. If you are from the area it would be easy enough to find, but it was hard to see from the road. A big sign was out front, but it was dark, so we missed the turn.

Wait Entertainment: Wasn't much to speak for, except for movies projected on a screen in the waiting room.

Length of Event: About 5 minutes

Actor Performance: They tried pretty hard, but most of the scares were either off or telegraphed ahead of time. There were a lot of theatrical set ups for the "punch line", but the follow through was pretty hit and miss. Also, most of the actors were little kids. When will haunted houses understand this? Kids just aren't scary!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good. Groups were regulated by the speeches of actors in each scene.

Summary: This haunted house had a hotel theme, but for some reason they decided to have a pirate ship in the middle of it? Most of the scenes fit in with the theme, like the bedroom and such. It was a decent house, but like the other reviewers have said... I also felt misled by their claim of "Scariest in the Midwest". That's why I paid $20 to get in. Unfortunately, it was a big let-down and I feel like they misrepresented their event by making up a phony award in their advertising, all just to make a quick buck! 
 
Let me state this loud and clear. THEY ARE NOT SCARIEST IN THE MIDWEST!!! There, I said it.  
 
Since it is against the rules of this website to do direct comparisons of haunted houses by name, I can't mention the actual names, but I have already been to a couple this year in the Chicagoland area that blow this haunted house away!!! They were way better and way more scary than this haunted house!  
 
I want my $20 back.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at