Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Nightmares Basement Of The Dead (Aurora, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
10 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ZPLILLY   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: theres another wacky wailing inflatable arm flailing toob outside and a flashing light or too but i was thrown off since it was actually down on the side of the building

Wait Entertainment: the wait entertainment was one of the best parts, there were a few in your face people but i really tall haunted hill billy guy was great, and the makeup was amazing

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: they definitely were on in there timing not much acting as much as yelling in your face, but they got my girlfriend freaked out so they were doing their job right

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the group behind us caught up to me once but thats because i like to go kinda slow through these and get my moneys worth

Props / Special FX: not as much props but a lot of stuff hangin in your face a lot of dark rooms and flashing lights

Costumes / Make-up: some of the best makeup ive seen. it wasn't much masks but some of the makeup was so good i thought they were real

Summary: overall this was a great haunted house, somebody said earlier that they aren't known for a bunch of good scenes or anything, but they were really good at popping out of nowhere when you least expect it and that made this haunted house worth the drive. i'd check it out if you just wanna get spooked out of your mind

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BenFox1545   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location for this haunt is somewhat tricky since it is located at the back of a strip of buildings and a parking garage and not easily seen from any streets.

Wait Entertainment: Multiple line actors were outside entertaining the guests, and a few TVs were playing horror movies.

Length of Event: Around 20 minutes to make it through the haunt.

Actor Performance: The actors had alot of energy and were on top of their game through out the entire event. The only complaint I have here were the two actors about three quarters of the way through the hauntthat way just staring at people and pointing blue led finger lights at their faces reveling they were wearing masks, with no real attempts to to anything elset.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The group I was leading(I admit, I should lead groups, I walk way to fast inside haunts) ran into another group in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Tons of animatronics all over the place. and plenty of regular props to go along with the actors and scenes.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were mainly dark clothing, and the main portion of the makeup inside the haunt was was masks. This works for a haunt like this mainly because they are going with a startle scare haunt.

Summary: Over all I like this haunt. I love the fact that there really are not a lot of dead spots inside(areas with no activity). the actors seem to be doing very well with their startles, there was plenty to lok at throughout the event and they kept me entertained throughout.

5 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/29/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Luckily my husband and I go to this one every year, so we know exactly where it is located. However, for those newcomers, once you see the bright lights of the casino, you are in the right area. Watch for the hearse parked on the street to give you a clue...

Wait Entertainment: Wow--they always excel in this area, but this year the makeup and actor commitment seemed even better... if that is possible! There was no line when we attended, which surprised me, but still there were multiple actors in amazing costumes/makeup mingling with the people coming and going outside. Watch for the tall male zombie, girl with the freakish eyes (standing creepily still--love that it wasn't overdone), and the werewolf. Fantastic acting skills! I think the best around! And we've been to many houses over the years.

Length of Event: maybe 15-20 minutes; had to wait for a slow group of younger girls ahead of us--but again very happy as the Nightmares crew tried to slow us down so we wouldn't run into the group ahead of us.

Actor Performance: Amazing! Throughout the house, they were creepy and fairly unpredictable. Great job of scaring those second and farther back in the group. Usually it seems haunted house actors just go for the first person in the group, but not Nightmares! You never know who is going to get the scare next.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not their fault that we almost ran into the group ahead of us. They actually had us wait a long time to avoid the group ahead, so kudos to them. I think patron flow has always been a strength of this house.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: love the backstory of Imus and Al Kilya. Very creepy. And my husband was wondering if the basement type smell was intentional or just part of the building they are in--either way, very effective for the story. I love that Nightmares always changes their layout and props each year for those returning patrons. I just can't predict anything, even though I try!

Costumes / Make-up: Like I said, just fantastic--especially those actors outside the house. But love the Imus and Al masks and getups. This is the best year for makeup in my opinion.

Summary: This house is always fanstastic, and I've been going since their opening a few years ago. I would say this has been my number 1 favorite (always voted for number one) every year, and I feel they are underrated for what they put out there. The only reason why I rated it as a 9 instead of a 10 this year is that I felt that somehow this year wasn't quite what the past few years have been in terms of startling me in the house. I can't put my finger on it, and I hope I'm not being unfair, but maybe it was that they used more air cannons and noise to startle than in previous years (which aren't my favorite scares--I prefer the actors and animatronics). Too bad there isn't a 9.5 score I can give them :) 
Either way, go see this house! It is still excellent and we need to keep them around as they are one of the most original houses each year (especially for those repeat attenders).

5 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ronmon   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: No signs were displayed. Kind of difficult even with a GPS to locate.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was very dissapointing this year. Few characters roaming,one was smoking a cigarette, the other was sitting down and the last one was scaring patrons.

Length of Event: 10 - 12 Min.

Actor Performance: Acting was a little better then OK. Better then some haunts I've been to in the past. They were on Key and stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great, no issues at all.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: They used alot of special effects as a distraction, worked great. In the haunted house we came across bursts of air, sound effects, strobe lights. The rooms were well prepped and staged overall agiain pretty impressive.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good. Make-up was great, I liked all the costumes too. Very Scary

Summary: I like this haunted house but it just seems like its missing something. Many haunted houses these days are known for a particular scene/part they have that other haunts do not. Nightmare Basement of dead can not relate to this but still provides a good scare which I believe is worth the visit.

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tinytammy25   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We were a little scared when we got to the parking garage as we had seen no signs for the place, but all was relieved when we came out of the garage as it was right there.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was good in terms of their costumes but they were a little disappointing when they seem to concentrate on only selected groups instead of going down the lines of customers.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The monsters on the inside were great. They really got our group good with the constant jumping out of no where. They kept it pretty dark so it was hard to see when they were coming and when they were not.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good however there were a couple of times when groups ran into us for a brief moment. I think maybe it was because they were trying to get everyone thru since it was getting close to closing time.

Appropriate Ages: I would say that any child less than 16 should go on this one unless they are into scary things.

Props / Special FX: The effects were very good as they had the lights just right, the blood amount great on scenes that called for it, and enough props in each scene to give you the feeling that your in that situation and not just some haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were really good and in this haunt they looked very real. Most haunts you can tell which ones are wearing mask as they eyes have this perfect circle and you can seen their real self underneath. Here, that was not the case! Everything looks as life-like as you can get and I love the crazy contacts that change the eyes.

Summary: I would recommend this one to everyone as it reasonably priced, the costumes are out of this world real-like, and they really get you to jump as you don't know what is going to get you next.

4 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: estumpf17   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little tricky if you don't have a GPS, as there are a lot of one-way streets around the area (it's next to a brightly-lit casino down by the river). Nothing made it stand out other than a dimly-lit sign that said 'Nightmares'.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few costumed characters roaming in the queue, as well as horror movies playing on two TV sets. Some of the actors were giving away T-shirts to guests who were dared to do things (eat a worm, smell a stinky shoe for 30 seconds, etc). Would have been nicer if the waiting area was inside, considering we waited for an hour out in the freezing cold. I'm surprised they didn't sell any snacks or refreshments.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Solid, but nothing to write home about. Most of the actors in the house made low gutteral noises when they jumped out, or were otherwise silent (which worked well). There wasn't a whole lot of 'acting' to speak of, save for the guys outside who did a respectable job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: EXCELLENT. Before you went it, they asked how many in a group, and never sent in more than 8 people at a time (even if it meant separating larger groups). Being split up into smaller groups is critical to getting scared in any haunted house, and they knew this. Well done.

Appropriate Ages: There was a lot of graphic content (blood, gore, dismembered bodies, etc) - I would say 13+ to be safe.

Props / Special FX: Absolutely amazing. The scene construction made the haunt. Most scenes were of a lower budget, but the few animatronics and 'interactive' props provided some outstanding scares.

Costumes / Make-up: Also great. From what we could see, the characters had very detailed makeup/masks that looked great when they got in-your-face (and they did). Most areas were too dark to tell, though.

Summary: My expectations were set pretty high going into Nightmares, but it's safe to say they definitely exceeded my expectations. 
 
The haunt had many 'rooms' separated by hallways lined with hanging body parts. The theme was of a 'Saw'-type nature, what with the abundance of bloodied torsos. There was a lot of gore, but somehow it never seemed to get old. The scenes were put together in such a way that every member of your group was sure to get a scare, whether they were first, last, or in the middle. It was dark almost the entire way through, but we had a personal 'ghoul-guide' that seemed to lead us through the house (the uncle of a member in our group worked there). There were a few occasions where we were blinded by a strobe light and couldn't see anything, and the tight turns and narrow hallways made it a little tough to find our way around. 
 
Considering the cost ($13), wait time (a solid hour), and location (right next to a flashy casino) Nightmares provided some fantastic scares. I would *HIGHLY* recommend this to friends, family, heck, even complete strangers. They did a tremendous job overall and get my vote for Best Haunt 2009.

4 out of 10 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This place was pretty hard to find. There was no parking along the street, so I had to use the casino parking garage. Finding the event from that was a challenge. We basically had to search for it.

Wait Entertainment: The line actors rocked! All sorts of characters like clowns and vampires. They were also all ADULTS, which is awesome because you don't see that in a lot of haunted houses.

Length of Event: Maybe 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great! These guys were on top of their game. There were tons of guys in dark corners, jumping out at you. They were relentless!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fine. Never saw any other groups.

Summary: They did a great job! I have been to this haunt a few times and this is their best year yet. Be advised that they use a lot of blood and guts (bodies on hospital beds, gutted corpses, etc), so it isn't something you would take a young kid to. I liked how they used fog and different levels/colors of light for atmosphere.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at