Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Asylum of Mad Dreams (Cordova, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
11 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: viking1   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Large lit sign in front of location made it easy to locate.

Wait Entertainment: Fire, concessions, a couple actors made appearances up front.

Length of Event: 40-45 min.

Actor Performance: I was very impressed with the actors in each of the areas. Thought they portrayed their characters well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Could hear screams from the groups in front of us, but did not run into them.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Awesome! From the profesional prop in the very first room, to the vortex, maze,strobe lights & lighting on the trail, and professional props in the cemetary and asylum area.

Costumes / Make-up: Fit the themes perfectly

Summary: For $12 I believe you get your money's worth and then some. There was quite a wait when we arrived, but the line moved fairly quickly. The fact that it takes about 40 minutes to get through definitely made it worth it. The actors got their scare on and were very entertaining throughout. My group of 6 is all going back and bringing more with us. Great place!

11 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lverhulst   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find this attraction. There was a lighted sign on the road with an arrow to direct cars. There was also plenty of parking space in the wide open field, but there were no lights, so be careful and watch for people walking around. It was also nice that there were port-a-potties available, but there were no lights inside so take a flashlight along.

Wait Entertainment: There was very little wait entertainment. A couple of actors walking around. There was a concession stand that had some items including hot chocolate which was very nice. There was also a fire that you could warm up by.

Length of Event: We timed how long it took us to go through this event - it took an hour. And we kept moving practically the whole time while we were in the event, so this was great! Warning: if it is raining when you go, then the back woods area will be closed and so the event length will be much shorter.

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty good. They had a LOT of scary clowns and one girl in our party has a clown phobia. She was freaked, especially by the one clown that kept following her around and asking for a hug, which the rest of us thought was hysterical. He came out at the end and took off the mask to apologize to her which I thought was really nice.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow inside the attraction was good. We were kept moving at a decent pace. Never had to speed up or slow down too much.

Appropriate Ages: I would not recommend this for children younger than probably 12.

Props / Special FX: They had a lot of nice props, but some of them were hidden by the fact that everything was extremely dark. A couple more small lights in spots would have made things better. That said, they had the awesome rotating wheel room, a constricting wall room, freaky attractions in the woods that reminded us of Deliverance, and lots of strobe lights. And some very neat animatronic items.

Costumes / Make-up: There was one mask that was really cool. A freaky face that just made you want to stare but was too freaky to look at. And the actor would make this weird chattering noise that just made the masq complete.

Summary: In summary, I found this attraction to be very cool and quite scary. They used to run a haunted house in Morrison, IL which I've gone to for years and always enjoyed. This year's attraction wasn't quite up to last year's, but it is probably due to the fact that they changed locations and it takes some time to work out all the issues. And because the old location had things built up from previous years. I still recommend this attraction to everyone I know and I will be back next year.

7 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: geese11   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: big sign showing where to turn.

Wait Entertainment: Had a nice fire, and food but thats about it.

Length of Event: 30 to 45 min

Actor Performance: average.. werent as scary as i thought they would be.. had good costumes thou

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: greats special effects.. props were great

Summary: Goes through a series of Morton buildings.. seems a little short at the beginning. then you go through a blow up maze. After the maze you have to go through a haunted forest. then 3 more morton buildings.

4 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: one sign on route 84...you need to be looking for it

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: about 35 minutes

Actor Performance: no preformance art to speak of mainly the scream varity.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: they excell here. Their creature in the openning is wonderful. The wall hangings are top of the line. They have the best peppers Ghost illution I have seen and they have many of the classic animations of the big haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: Not real strong here. Walmart quality masks with some make up. The darkness takes away the need for great makeup.

Summary: If you loved the original Morrison presentation as I did you will be disapointed with what they have become. The Morrison haunt was a highly detailed room filled walk through with hidden doors everywhere. This is your standard maze in the dim light with scattered scenes to walk through. They include a really nice outdoor walk through some creeped up woods. They do have some really good toys spread throughout. A top knocth electric chair and a good body bag room. If you are a fan of this type of haunt they do it as well as anyone does. The screamers will plenty to scream at as it is a long haunt.I am certain they will return to the greatness they once were. Good job guys!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at