Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Disturbia Torment of Fears (Addison, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
54 out of 62 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: halloween   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This place is pretty easy to find. There is a sign on Lake St. that says "Haunted House".

Wait Entertainment: They really didn't have any, except for a couple of monsters in costume working the line.

Length of Event: About 8 minutes

Actor Performance: They really tried hard, but most of the time they were off target.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I didn't run into any other groups, but the flow was stop and go, because of the hidden exits in rooms. The actors held you up and wouldn't help when you asked where the exit was. Some even blocked your path, so you couldn't continue.

Summary: I was hoping that this was going to be much better than it was, especially since it cost $18 to get in. I go to haunted houses every year and even the top-notch ones don't even charge that much! 
 
There really wasn't much inside this haunted house. Most of the scenes were just dark hallways. There was a ball pit and a couple of animated props, but most of the haunted house was nothing more than big empty open spaces. There were plenty of actors, but most of their attacks were off. I expected much more for my $18. I really didn't think this haunted house was worth the ticket price. I would have been happy paying maybe about $7 or $8.

33 out of 43 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: schoolgirl86   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was enough parking. The parking lot was very close to the event. The event was easy to find and was easily visible from the road; there was a big sign leading me to the event and you could easily read the sign.

Wait Entertainment: Their wait entertainment consisted of two guys walking around and trying to scare people. I thought these two guys were horrible actors and neither of them scared me. I also thought their makeup and costumes looked very fake and did not impress me one little bit.

Length of Event: I would say about 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: None of the actors played convincing roles. They were HORRIBLE, I repeat, HORRIBLE actors. I usually get scared at haunted houses; at this one I did not get scared once.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: At first my group was told we could only have 5 people go in the haunted house at a time. My group consisted of 7 people, so we split up in 2 groups of 5 and 2. But once my 5 got in the haunted house, they split us up again into groups of 2 and 3. And apparently one of my friends who had been entirely left out of our group (the 2 people who hadn't gone in with my group of 5) complained to someone and said he was pissed off that he paid $18 and wasn't able to go in the haunted house with the friends he came with, and they let him and his girlfriend in with us. But we were split up again anyway once they got in. No other groups ran into us while we were in the haunted house, though.

Appropriate Ages: A 5 year old could handle it.

Props / Special FX: The strobe light effects were cool, but without that, it would've been horrible.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were HORRIBLE. Especially the makeup.

Summary: I feel like I was robbed spending money on this haunted house. I don't know where they get off thinking they can charge people $18 for that awful haunted house. I am extremely pissed off I wasted my money on it. I would NEVER go there again. Like I said, the costumes and especially the makeup was done terribly. The acting was pathetic. There was nothing good about this haunted house. They obviously spent all their money on publicity and not on making the haunted house good.

5 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty bad. The street was very dark and so was the parking lot. It was very hard to see since the building so far off the street. There was a sign by the road, but it was also dark and hard to see.

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: About 5 minutes

Actor Performance: They tried really hard, but they didn't have much of a haunted house to work with. Where can you hide, when there are a bunch of big open spaces?

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: OK

Summary: I have mixed feelings about this haunted house. It was fun because the actors really tried hard, but the haunted house was really nothing more than a bunch of dark hallways. They used colored lights and fog, but I expected a lot more than that, when I'm paying $18 to get into a place! They told me that this was their first year in business and I think charging that much is just way out of line, especially since they didn't deliver the goods. It definitely wasn't worth the $18 price tag. Maybe half that.

5 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jsturt   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find and lots of parking

Wait Entertainment: very little wait

Length of Event: Approx 20 minutes

Actor Performance: very very good, great attitude and very good timing

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no back up at all

Appropriate Ages: 16 and older

Props / Special FX: Not a lot of props but the maze and the way the props were set up were very good...nice flow from one room to the next

Costumes / Make-up: very very well done.....paint was realistic and costumes were appropriate with the theme of the section you were in

Summary: From the moment you give your ticket until the moment you leave it is a haunted house that keeps you on edge. The start of Disturbia gets your blood flowing and the remainder of disturbia keeps you on edge......very very very well done!!!!

5 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scareme13   (Event Visited: 10/08/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were signs out front pointing to the Dome that held the Haunted house so it was not hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: There were 2 zombie men walking around but they didn't do too much with scaring people.

Length of Event: About 10-20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors stayed true to who they were portraying. some of them could have done abetter job of trying to scare people but some did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run inot anybody throughout the whole thing.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: The had the usual strobe lights and they didn't use to many props.

Costumes / Make-up: Some costumes were very creative, while some were anything you could make at home.

Summary: I didn't expect too much when going to this haunted house, but got a lot more out of it than I expected. the actors were great and they had creative scenes inside it that got us lost sometimes which always adds to the fun. At the booth where you buy tickets, there is a sign that says you may get seperated, and my group was seperated, so be ready for anything here. They put on a good house and did a great job.

6 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I got there early, so visibility wasn't that great. There was a sign that should have been lit up off of the road, but it wasn't on yet.

Wait Entertainment: There was a couple of characters, one with a chain that scared the teenagers that I ended up being in my group.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: They were good, very convincing, again, they scared the others in my group a lot.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the first group of the night, so it wasn't a factor.

Summary: I feel that this house was a little off the night I went, which I would chalk that up to bad weather and things starting about fifteen minutes late. The other problem I found with the house was that certain parts of the house you couldn't figure out where to go next, you would end up in an open room, where there didn't seem to have a doorway out. I ended up a couple of times having to ask the actors where to go next. Has a lot of potential, and I feel if I went back a lot of the bugs would be ironed out. Also I should mention that on the 17th, 30th and 31st they are having what they are calling I believe a "black out" night, where they are changing the whole configuration of the place, making it a giant maze which will have many false turns according to the guy I talked to afterwards.

4 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chicagofan   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They had a big sign and a arrow board that attracted visitors.

Wait Entertainment: There were four or five actors running around, and then a chain saw actor came out and gave the crowd a big scare.

Length of Event: 15-20

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty good, there were a couple really good actors, that you could tell that the house was built around them. I really thought the cage guy was great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My group never saw another group inside the house, they controlled the groups very well.

Appropriate Ages: 15+

Props / Special FX: The outside of the house was cool with the fog machine and lasers, they had some cool props, and used fog and strobe lights to create cool FX.

Costumes / Make-up: There was a ton of actors that I saw, and there make up was ok, some of them you could tell had really good make up.

Summary: I had a great time there. I got scared a good number of times. I felt that they did a great job for a first time haunted house. I feel it was worth the price. Would definitely go back again. Great haunted house.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at