Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Realm of Terror Haunted House (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
10 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: wizard731   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good location, their signs everywhere but be on a look out cause easily drive by it.

Wait Entertainment: Their was no wait guessing still early of the month.

Length of Event: 20-25 min

Actor Performance: The actors were great! Went to one room where an actor runs out of the closet, jump on the desk and hangs upside down from the ceiling, while actor from previous room still next to us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great flow probably from short line out side still early month. 
Actors can do so much outside but was entertaining. With a short was happy cause they hot dogs, ect, to purchase.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: One room with body bags hanging from the ceiling, couple of them would move on its own,

Costumes / Make-up: very detail went great with the themed.

Summary: Very good. I've been to this haunt for several years and was not pleased. Finally they got their kinks out and took it to a next level. They have well dedicated actors that gave me several scares throughout the haunt. I would like to see their after party.

11 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: zplilly   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's pretty easy to find, just know to look for a bowling alley, and there's a whacky wailing inflatable arm flailing tube man out front too

Wait Entertainment: There was definitely plenty of this on the night we went. A few parts of the line were too narrow for entertainment, but overall there was plenty of monsters before the haunted house started.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: I thought 90 percent of them stayed in character the whole time. i was in front so once in a while i would see them getting ready, but besides that i swore i was in the scenes that were happening

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never saw another group except in the maze of course, this one was cool because it was pure white instead of black like most mazes are

Appropriate Ages: not young kids

Props / Special FX: cool stuff, no chainsaws but a guy with a tooth drill. yikes

Costumes / Make-up: good makeup definitely, one thing that my buddy noticed was that almost all of them had creepy contacts in which adds a tremendous amount to the character.

Summary: This was the first haunted house I have been to this season and I'm glad i started here. I normally go to X-treme haunt which is awesome, and this one is definitely in the same caliber if not better. You'll just have to check it out for yourself.

17 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGSTICK4U   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Decent. It's on a main road and well lit, but no signs leading up to it.

Wait Entertainment: No real wait entertainment until the lady with the snake "popped in" and got a scare on us.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: Fantastic! Very in your face and over the top!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good! Did not run into anybody!

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Done very well. The "toilet scene" was nasty good. All the props were done and executed well.

Costumes / Make-up: Very detailed. All the actors costumes etc fit the scenes they were in.

Summary: This is a very good haunt! Better than last year! There was definitely a hospital theme going throughout the house. Very narrow house with scares behind every corner. Really liked the twilight zone spiral effect right before the maze. The maze itself has the thickest fog and most distracting strobe lights in any haunt I've been to. You could NOT see a foot in front of you. RECOMMENDED!

12 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bullme109   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to spot, right by Kristof's.

Wait Entertainment: They had some actors scaring people throughout the line, and even a bar!

Length of Event: 15 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Actors were all very good, very into their roles. Awesome makeup and costumes. Some did kind of block too much instead of just scaring and then letting you move on.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Mostly very good, seems to get clogged a bit at the end (maze).

Appropriate Ages: I'd say teen and up, there are some pretty graphic scenes.

Props / Special FX: Excellent, some of the best I've seen. After being dissapointed by a few downtown houses, this place totally made up for it with great sets and detail. Not to mention not costing 20-30 dollars. We paid 11 with a coupon. Makes you wonder what those hire priced houses spend that money on, because none of them were as detailed as this place. Loved the meat locker and electro room.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent, everyone looked great.

Summary: Best house I've been to this year. Not to mention it's also the cheapest at 11 bucks with a 2 buck off coupon. The scenes were all very detailed, gory, and a site to take in. The actors were all great as well, and very into their roles. Some even threw in some pretty sick but great humor. I will be back next year and hope for more of the same!

15 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cathyflips   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs are everywhere! Easy to find on main road.

Wait Entertainment: No real wait yet. Still early in the season though.

Length of Event: Ran about 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors are AMAZING! Really put themselves into their act! Green haired clown was REALLY scary! Sometimes they are too in your face though for too long. Need to scare and let pass!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Made sure that you don't run into another group until the maze! Got a good scare in each attraction without them having to try to set up next scare!

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Loved the body bags and the guy running around in them! Loved the maze too but it lasted too long! Actually go annoying. Actors need to be aware of who has been in there and get them out after say 3 or 4 minutes at the most. My sister and I were nauseous from being in the fog too long!

Costumes / Make-up: This is probably one of the most under rated attractions. The actors costumes and make-up are top notch!

Summary: Have to say this used to be my second favorite haunted house, but now it is my favorite! Loved that you were scared around every corner, priced right and felt like I was getting my money's worth! Will definitely be back alot! Thanks!

10 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty good. On a main road with lots of lights.

Wait Entertainment: None. Kind of disappointing

Length of Event: 25 min.

Actor Performance: Terrific!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good! Did not run into anybody until the final maze.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Terrific effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Very detailed makeup

Summary: Pretty intense house this year. I liked the acting performance as the guy in the hospital kept asking me to "sign in". The electrocution and surgery scenes were well done. There was no opening scene like past years where somebody is shot. Good move! I like the effect where it looks like someones head is coming through the wall. The maze was completely dissorienting and will cause panic attacks for many. RECOMMENDED!

6 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: necrodude31   (Event Visited: 10/29/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its located behind Kristofs entertainment center off of Rollins rd. ONce you pull into Kristofs, there are people with flashlights to guide you the rest of the way. Be careful though, Kristofs can come and go if youre not paying attention.

Wait Entertainment: This night it was non existent but given the day and weather, its understandable. I thought the concession stand in the pre haunt wait area was nice though.

Length of Event: Surprisingly long actually, around 25 min. (the maze at the end took forever too)

Actor Performance: Great, very in your face and intense. And the actors who had a role to play did a fair job executing that role. RoT is a more jump and scare house and it WORKS for this haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very nice. Never ran into a group... unless you count this. 
The opening room is also the middle room. Where, you enter the house on one side of a check in counter and then you pass through the room again behind the check in counter. As we were going behind it, another group was coming in.

Appropriate Ages: Actors were very adult oriented and used vulgar language. There is also mass amounts of blood and gore in this haunt and many tortured victims. I agree that no one under 10 is allowed in.

Props / Special FX: Very nice actually. A lot of animatronics were used in place of actors as scares which really helped. You can also tell that this haunt really likes to use air cannons as almost every room had one.

Costumes / Make-up: Decent, a lot of blood and gore again but the costumes/ make up matched the scene they were in.

Summary: This was my first year going to this haunt and i will definitely be returning in future years. Right away at the ticket booth there was a scare, in the wait area there were scares, this haunt is NON STOP from beginning to end... including the maze at the end.  
 
let me explain something to you, if you think youre good at mazes HAHAHA good luck! This was a little tiny 10X20 tent that took us over 15 min to get through. It is a very random maze made up of white walls, a slow white strobe light, and so much fog you cant see your own hand 6in from your face. The white walls made a dizzying effect and one that when the strobe light blinked, what you thought was an opening was actually a wall! You had to feel your way through and had to use the actors as guides to help get you through.  
 
Overall though i really enjoyed this attraction. And for how new this haunt is they did a spectacular job. Cant wait to see what next year is like!!!

4 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Although the house was right off of the main road, they had a dark sign on the side of a wall that wasn't lit at all. If I wasn't aware of where I was, I might have missed it.

Wait Entertainment: There really wasn't any, and, for some reason, had a video that we had to watch that showed a lot of gross stuff. Usually the videos end in the rules, but one of the actors told us the rules. There really was no point to the video, except for the gross out factor.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were great, they focused on one of the women in our group, and really scared the pants off of her.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Overall not bad, but we ran in to a group at the maze at the end, but I feel that was more the group being lost than us catching up to the group.

Summary: Overall, this was one of my favorites. The house itself has a lot of good room and great actors, one had a sick childbirth that was just nasty. Also, the end of the house is a giant maze that pretty much is one giant strobe light. I have no idea how the actors survive in there, because everywhere you go in there, there are strobe lights right in your face. Very good time!!

5 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house is at a family fun center, so if you know where that is, you could find it pretty easy. They had a light-up sign out front too.

Wait Entertainment: I got there early, so there wasn't much of a line. They had a concession stand and even sold beer!

Length of Event: Probably like 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: They were great! Very high energy! The haunted house had an asylum theme and all the actors had medical scrubs on and acted crazy! Great job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ok. A group caught up to us from behind.

Summary: This haunted house has come a long way in just the last couple of years. Their scare factor is through the roof! Lots of scenes with bloody bodies and corpses. There was an evil dentist scene and the last part of the house is a maze that is filled with fog and strobe lights. I couldn't see an inch in front of my face and was stuck in there for quite a while. Awesome job guys!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at