Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Mutantville of horror (Bloomington, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
15 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: 92Wookie   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The building is a little hard to find, but they had a sign out front once you got there.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment at all.

Length of Event: 5 minutes, give or take

Actor Performance: The actor performance was fairly poor. Everyone just jumped around a corner or stood in a doorway and yelled some form of “gRRRrrrr” at us. There was one woman on a couch who I think was telling us to go, or not to leave her. Not one actor did a stand out job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were in a group trailed by a lady who worked for the event. We didn’t see anyone. This was no surprise as the people we were in line with, they were our group. No one else was there.

Appropriate Ages: Yes.

Props / Special FX: This is where this event completely was lacking. They had trees in a room that looked like they were collected on the side of the road, cornstalks hung from the ceiling, one room full of some house furniture, and a few odds and ends. It really looked like the event props were picked up literally on a garbage day in town. It was just all junk. This would not have gotten to me if they did not have a cardboard coffin in one room.

Costumes / Make-up: There were some masks on people. No one had their eyes blacked in and none of them had their necks painted. It was like someone threw a face on someone and you could see them underneath. Not even in the slightest bit scary.

Summary: I read the review here before I went. I knew what to expect. I want my money back, but I spent it well informed of what this place was. If you read everything here and still want to spend $10 like I did you can’t complain. You also won’t be scared in this event, not even for a second. I have never been so pissed off that a chainsaw guy didn’t chase me. This was the one thing that could have at least made this event not totally a waste of time. The guy acted like he was trying to save gas. Started it for a few seconds, didn’t move at all, and then shut it off. What an ending. I am not saying it was a scam, but it would have been a waste of time if it was free.

8 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kaptaink   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was incredibly difficult to find. I did not see any signs for it on main roads, and it was not until hanna street did I see signs.

Wait Entertainment: When I went there was a lady wearing black clown make-up and an insane clown posse t-shirt, but did not interact with us, or say anything. Other than that, on the way in, I was told to watch out for this girl who was with my group.

Length of Event: 5-10 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors seemed committed, and did not break character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was led by a guide the entire time, pace seemed incredibly slow.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Run of the mill fake blood, strobe lights, and a few props that looked store-bought.

Costumes / Make-up: Run of the mill face paint, and store-bought costumes. One girl was wearing normal street clothes. "Dead guy" in tennis shoes.

Summary: I did not think 10 dollars was a fair price. It was incredibly short, and most of the rooms were nothing more than some props on the floor and a strobe light flashing. The chainsaw guy did not make an attempt to chase us, and barely started it. There was an incredible amount of screaming and noise, and not much surprise involved, except for a hallway with two scares. The actors were all screaming to "help me" and "save me". I think there were four people who actually went in for the scare, a few which were in plain sight and did not have the surprise that they had intended. The end comes incredibly quickly, and without much warning or a "bang".

4 out of 7 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: FrankenBaird   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Terrible! They had an unlit, small sign, on busy road that simply said "Haunted House". We passed it 3 times before we found it.

Wait Entertainment: None what-so-ever.

Length of Event: 5min. max.

Actor Performance: Extremely low.. mainly Walmart masked actors, yelling "roarrhhr"!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't run into any other groups, b/c there was no line.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Basically none.. they had no spfx lighting, no artwork at all.. in fact most of their plywood walls were bare.. not even painted black!

Costumes / Make-up: It's hard to tell, b/c their lighting was so bad.. It was so dimmly lit.. that we couldn't see any actors in make-up or costume.

Summary: Simply put, the price of this HH was just over the top! It was obvious from the start, that the owners of this HH, were just looking to "cash-in" on the Halloween experience!  
 
I'm honestly never one to express negative reviews.. on a honest effort to put forth for a decent attraction.. but there is nothing here that leads me to believe that this HH was only about making money for it's owners!! 
 
Honestly, the far fewer dollars we spent on other local HH's on the same night, was money much better spent!!

17 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you have never been to the previous haunted house that was located near there it would be hard to find. No signs led the way to the building. Thank goodness for monsters sitting out at the picnic table at the front door of the house entrance.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment at all. Staff seemed a little off and not on cue. "Guides" were in plain street clothes.

Length of Event: Even with a guide the event took 5 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was very poor. Guides gave away the scares and talked through the entire event. Our guide would go through and say things as "would anyone like to use the bathroom?" and "oohh a coffin". I was truly upset at their performance. Really need work on this area. There is potential with some work.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not meet up with any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up. The house is more of a non scary walk through.

Props / Special FX: Mainly large rooms with furniture scattered throughout. Some strobe lighting and fog machines. Solar lights along the path seemed a little odd to use in certain areas.

Costumes / Make-up: A few masks here and there, they really did not match any of the scenes. Usual bloody victims scattered here and there yelling help me.

Summary: I am not sure who put this group together or if there was any research done in starting a haunted house? 
The name of the house did not fit any scenes- where was the mutants? In the description it said a mutant themed haunted house- I just don't see where this had any play. 
This house lacked everything. $10.00 price tag was way too expensive for this haunt. It would have been ok if the money went to a charity but there was no signage saying that it did. 
The actors and guides seemed rude and uninterested in being there. One guide even tried to push us through in a group of 12 and we told her that we would rather go in smaller groups. 
As I said, our guide pointed out every place that a scare was coming from. She also gave us talking tour and would point out certain items in the haunted house- "oohh a coffin", "oh look at the tombstone", "be careful here he comes".  
Adding certain lighting in the house might add to some of the effects. One halfway decent room was with the corn stalks hanging from the ceiling, add a strobe light in that room effectively and you would not see the guy hiding in the corn. Just a hint to rethink some of your scares. 
Reconsider your admission price. Half the price would have been ok. I was left with feeling ripped off and wanting my money back. I could not understand why the price was so high. We are past haunters and this was the most expensive house that we have been to so far and walked away feeling cheated.

10 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Live in town so no problem. Did not notice signs.

Wait Entertainment: There was a spider made out of garbage bags and plastic cups. No one was in line except our group of 8. We split into 4 because we know better, and the girl at the front wanted us to add the only 2 other people in line into our group..huh? I had a feeling we were in store for something less then average. Or maybe it was the "daycare" behind the ticket booth?

Length of Event: 5 minutes

Actor Performance: Appreciate the effort.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Had a guide, who btw would look at where the "scare" was going to come from.

Appropriate Ages: 5+

Props / Special FX: Lots of particle board. I know there is a lot of work to set up a haunted house so I do not want to be critical of the effort.

Costumes / Make-up: combination of masks and make up.

Summary: I hate to say this but oh...this haunt is not worthy of a $10.00 ticket price. When we left we ALL wanted to get our money back and were very angry. I always try to say something positive because of all the hard work and efforts it takes to run a haunted house, we did it for 4 years. I can not come up with anything.I want to let people know to save your money and time. Sorry.

28 out of 55 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We knew where it was because it was in the old HH location. That is where the similarities end, though.

Wait Entertainment: Absolutely none! Unless you count watching the children play in the room behind the ticket takers.

Length of Event: I swear, it was less than 5 minutes. I could not believe it!!

Actor Performance: Omg. This was awful. I feel badly for the actors. They had VERY LITTLE to work with.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The girl from the front led us through at a very slow pace (and it still took us less than 5 mins to get through.)

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't suggest this place to anyone.

Props / Special FX: There were leaves, solar lights and corn stalks. Oh and the garbage bag spider with the red plastic cup eyes. Geez, that should have been my first clue.

Costumes / Make-up: Like I said, I feel for the actors. They are usually volunteers and I would not have even been caught dead in this place even with makeup.

Summary: I have never been through a HH where I felt I had been scammed. This place left me feeling like that. They charged us $10 each for a less than 5 min tour with the absolute most amature, thrown together sets I have ever seen. I am actually mad that they can get away with this. If the price were half I would have said this place isn't even worth it, but for $10, I feel like I was ripped off. I don't think they should be allowed to do this. It was almost an insult.

6 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: TEM08   (Event Visited: 10/15/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was able to see the signs and they had a big black sign on front of the front door.

Wait Entertainment: I had to wait about two minutes.

Length of Event: We had no tour guide and we walked through the haunted house by ourselves and it took around five minutes.There was an employee that did walk behind us as we walked through.

Actor Performance: There was a lot of screaming by the the workers, but they could have been a little louder.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was very good. It all went in together.

Appropriate Ages: 5& up

Props / Special FX: There was strobe lights black lights and lots of fog. Kitchen walls had lots of blood on them.

Costumes / Make-up: The masks were all movie type masks. The masks looked to be based on movie styles.

Summary: My over all opinion is that there could be a few more trees in the forest, a few more corn stalks,and maybe a few more characters.But it was very scary and when I was walking through the hallway I was very scared and then when I entered the frontroom I had to turnand hold onto my boyfriend because I was scared to death.To me it was worth the 10 dollars.

4 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ToTALL   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: NEEDS SOME HELP

Wait Entertainment: WAITS NOT VERY LONG BUT ITS OK

Length of Event: 5 TO 7 MINUTES

Actor Performance: OVER ALL THEY ARE REALY GOOD

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: THEY HAVE A GUIDE GOOD IDEA

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: THE CORNFEILD IS PREETY COOL CEMETARY NEEDS SOME HELP

Costumes / Make-up: MASKS ARE VERY RAELISTICT MOVIE QUALITY

Summary: OVERALL THIS WAS ONE OF THE BETTER HAUNTED HOUSES HERE IN THE TWIN CITIES. THE LOCATION WAS GOOD. THEY DO NEED TO GET SOME MORE SIGNS JUST SO THAT THE PEOPLE THAT COME FROM OUT OF TOWN CAN FIND IT EASIER. OVER ALL IT WAS A GOOD EXPERINECE DEFINATLY WORHT THE $10 THAT I PAID TO GET IN THE DOOR. I HOPE TO SEE THEM BACK NEXT YEAR.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at