Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Torment at Twelve Hundred (Orion, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
4 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: timb   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is located down an old country road off the main drag and it's scary just getting there.

Wait Entertainment: Kirby and Sheriff Wilber A. Hole are always entertaining. You never know what to expect next. We are still chanting about Sheriff Hole.

Length of Event: 45 minutes to an hour of shear fright and mayhem.

Actor Performance: Everyone plays their character well, from the first meet in the parking lot to the last at the exit trail.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good size groups make there way through with ease. Things are spaced out and well done.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and above do alright here.

Props / Special FX: Props are good and very much in detail.

Costumes / Make-up: Each actor had their make up just right and really life like.

Summary: This trip was well worth the money and very entertaining. From gun shots to screams of terror we stayed scared the entiore time. Huddling together and waiting for the next round of frightning events made it seem like forever. Then we suddenly emerged into the concession area and got back to reality, only to be scared one last time on the exit trail. It was well worth the exspense and trip, can't wait until next year.

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: haunterz   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you can read a map and follow signs, you shouldnt have a problem.

Wait Entertainment: FUNNY! Sherrif A. Hole is running for Judge, and is asking all of the customers for their support! There are other actors and scares before you even pay! Well organized.

Length of Event: 30-45 min

Actor Performance: This is the only haunt that I have been to that sticks with the theme every year! The actors do an outstanding job, verry impressive!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very smooth, no hold ups

Props / Special FX: Great props, sound, lighting, etc. There is more and more everyday.

Costumes / Make-up: Amazing! They dont use any masks in this attraction. It's all make up. Very graphic!

Summary: I look forward to coming to this Haunted House every year. There is always something new! Very impressed. I like how there is a trail and buildings, very well put together. Best Haunt in the area hands down!

6 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the middle of nowhere, this works here. However; markers would be nice, others had trouble finding this.

Wait Entertainment: Old guy wondering around, over padded in security. Could use some type of concession stand at the beginning - they have end concessions. Good wait line throughout a dark glooming surroundings with old telegraph poles all around you.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors did a great job here, I liked the old man which gets things started by leaving you off at the gate.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: People move through the attraction very well, we had no bottle ups.

Appropriate Ages: 8+. Younger people might enjoy this also, little in your face scares.

Props / Special FX: Lots of props here to look at (same stuff as last several years) and some "light" effects - could use much more. This haunt is based on its surroundings and location with the idea of building suspense. They should add much more detail to the dark trail through the woods, more monsters.

Costumes / Make-up: Wardrobe was great and the make-up was very good.

Summary: This is a very enjoyable family managed haunted attraction that does a pretty good job. This haunted however is based on it's remote location in the middle of nowhere. I think the trail could use help, more monsters. The new lighted trail was a nice touch, needed a dimmer light. The final haunted house was nice and everything worked like it should have. Overall, I liked this attraction however the past years $10.00 was right, the new $13.00 is too much for the event. For that much the atraction should have more effects and things popping. Hope next year we get back to a normal $10.00 price and more bang-for-a-buck.

3 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A most difficult place to find as they are located in the middle of a lightly populated area. The signs along the road are very small with no lighting.

Wait Entertainment: Loved it! You meet a sheriff who's name I will not speak. There is a odd little man as you enter the ticket booth. Great!

Length of Event: It was about 30 minutes...fairly long really.

Actor Performance: They advertise preformance art and they do so. All the characters were good to wonderful. The screamers could have been more effective if thet were a little more hidden in the scenes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never saw anyone but our group of 5.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up but littler kids could take it if they have seen this type of haunt before.

Props / Special FX: They are not heavy in them but they do have some good ones. The scenes are detailed. Look for the American Werewolf in London prop.

Costumes / Make-up: they are strong in this catagory but don't expect the heavy gore makeup. They are more character driven.

Summary: I will admit that I am NOT a fan of the trail walk/ hayrack ride haunts. They seem to be there to make a small haunt seem bigger at little cost. This is my fourth such event this year and I still have yet to see one be effective. If you are a fan of such then Torment was about average. They were a little light on the preformers outside on the trail. The strength of the event was when you entered the various buildings. They varied from the MAD doctor to a haunted bus, Hillbilly shack, lost mine, ect. The Actors were very good and stayed in character even though we had a fairly quiet group. For the veteran haunt goers you will recognize the classic Frankenstien animated prop..loved it. Great food stand. Overall I was entertained in the buildings and loved the preformance stuff. One last thing guys...do you have to read the rules to us three times?

2 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: becspec   (Event Visited: 10/21/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: More signs needed. Difficult to find.

Wait Entertainment: Actors provided great entertainment during wait.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were ok, but there weren't enough of them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I dislike being stuck with a group of strangers. Visitors should be allowed to walk through the haunt with just their group.

Appropriate Ages: 8 +

Props / Special FX: Props were good. Need to mix it up year to year.

Summary: The price was too high. Worth $8- $10.Offering a discount for canned good donation is a great idea.Many more actors needed. Maybe more advertising for actors & volunteers. Also need more haunts in the trail. The country location adds to the scary factor.Concession at the end was good, with friendly staff.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at