Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Hide A Way (Georgetown, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
12 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jasonbrown   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: hard to find even with the signs

Wait Entertainment: They dont provide any traditional line actors

Length of Event: 15 min for house 25 min for hayride

Actor Performance: some were ok but i saw the same actors in multiple areas so they are trying to run way understaffed and a couple actors the mine guy and the thing in the cage were simply just yelling get out of my room a couple of performers in the first half apoligized for the poor performances and told us that the conditions were getting to them because they werent being given rest breaks

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: weak they were forcing groups in way too fast and their maze isnt a true maze so they couldnt slow up our group any

Appropriate Ages: all

Props / Special FX: They had a number of good props but i was dissapointed that they had a good clown but didnt give him a real room they had what looked like a small clown room but had a air horn that was so loud and so long that it hurt my daughters ears so we didnt stay long enough to look also the music is overkill there is music in too many rooms and there are horns and buzzers that are too loud they will hurt your hearing

Costumes / Make-up: some were good like the clown and the voodoo guy and the torturer was appropriate but the first miner had a big stupid mask on and didnt look right and the doll girl you would think would be a crazy chic when you first see the room but when you see her they have her in a stupid rag doll outfit and the blood level was also way too much i mean if you dont have a reason too be bloody then dont!

Summary: This haunt is an unfortunate dissapointment! The other reviews i read lead me to belive that this was one of the better haunts but unfortunatly its not. The hayride monsters would scare us once and then move to another spot and scare us again and tried too make us belive they were different. As far as the house goes if your going to have 20 rooms then have 20 different actors if your going to have 17 rooms then have 17 actors etc. have a different monster for each room or dont have the room!! and dont tell people you have a maze when you really dont! Hello a dark hallway with a couple of turns isnt a maze and expecially since there is a room in the middle of it ruining the maze atmosphere. and also if you want your people to perform better then take care of them properly the standard is a break every two hours no matter what! Bottom line is we drove from decatur to see this and will not drive here again

16 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scaremaster1   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The building is a litle tricky to find because of the streets in the town but they have signs that helped

Wait Entertainment: There was no traditional line entertainment that i saw 
but there was a movie in the waiting room

Length of Event: About 35 min in the haunted house and twenty on the hayride.

Actor Performance: most were on but a couple were a little off the mark but it was only the second night. The doll girl and the scarecrow and the witchdoctor were all creepy the witchdoctor even spoke in some creepy sounding foreign language

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good never saw another group and its un-guided

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: props and scenery were highly detailed its themed like a mine and actually looks like one even has a ultra realistic mine entrance outside.

Costumes / Make-up: some wore black cloaks others were highly detailed like the miners and the doll girl and the witchdoctor looked real.And the make-up is highly detailed they have a special effects make-up artist on staff! Some were in masks but were good masks

Summary: This is a really good buy for the $12.00 i paid for the house and hayride and they also have a food vendor serving frog legs and a ice cream truck on site plus theres also a bonfire they let us sit by to warm-up for a bit all in all it is a great haunt at a great price!

9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: freak09   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: grate again alot of signs

Wait Entertainment: awsome line monsters and movie

Length of Event: 30-40min if your scared or not

Actor Performance: awsome the owner is nice and cares about the visitors and the head hanging room is good and the tails from the criped is grate but the doll room girl could do a little better and the witch dr. changed to a preast but he still talks funny... and i like it better but not scary but thats the only bad thang over all its good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: once again good

Appropriate Ages: about 12+

Props / Special FX: awsome

Costumes / Make-up: good but could be better not convencing make up but the costumes are grate

Summary: over all a very good place to go to i liked it and iv been twice i mite go back on halloween for a third time so if your looking for a good haunted house this is it every one that i met there is real friendly thay like your thoughs on the haunted house and thay say its going to be better next year so im diffently going to it next year and you should to

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: freak09   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very good theres alot of sings to help you find it

Wait Entertainment: good there was a line but allso a movie and line monsters so its a fun wait

Length of Event: about 30-40mins theres stories and the maze the door room got me lost

Actor Performance: very good the electric fince guy scared me and the monster though the wall is grate the mike myers killing the clown was awsome and the torcher room was grate the guy in the room realy looks burnt and the scare crow looks fake but he well get you in the end

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: awsome its realy grate the maze of craze is confusing lots of turns and doors and chain saws inside and outside

Appropriate Ages: 10+ because it mite be to scary for ant one younger

Props / Special FX: awsome iv never seen that much special fx and the props are good thay got a fan and this thing that shoots air at you scares you to DEATH!!

Costumes / Make-up: grate the make up is very good its like Hollywood make up

Summary: if u you like hunted houses you should go to the hunted hide away its the best hunted house iv been to this year iv been to shoot gun manner,fear factory,and ash more but the hunted hide away is so far the best yet!!!

11 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: darkmoon   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is easily visible but is a little tricky to find even with the signs

Wait Entertainment: There was no line entertainment full time

Length of Event: about 20 min but i was told there is a video they normally show that was temporarily down.

Actor Performance: The miners didnt impress me any, There is a monster in a cage thats a good scare, The crazy girl is good and the girls in the door area were pretty creepy. But the best overall were this clown with a very sadistic laugh and The witchdoctor was so convincing i thought he was real.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow is not that smooth the girls in front were sending groups in too quick and we ran into one group in front of us and one behind us that the crazy girl stalled to let us get ahead.

Appropriate Ages: I would say about 14+

Props / Special FX: Pretty cool special effects and props there are laser effects and the lighting was only a little off i.e. black lights where they are not needed etc.

Costumes / Make-up: As far as the make-up goes they have a make-up guy that has worked on movies and tv so nothing more needs said about that and the costumes were mostly store bought with the exception of the scarecrow and the witchdoctor and the miners (they had on real dirty work clothes so it looked good the witchdoctor the scarecrow and the hostel guys costumes were proffesional

Summary: This is overall a really great upcoming haunt as its only in its second or third professional season, The scenery like the mine entrance and theming are proffesionally built and the rooms are all decorated with real props so its not a amatuer set-up and the actors are all good and were generally on the mark and they even have one actor that has been on film before that i recognized and spoke to after i went through there is also food and a haunted hayride that has a few clever scares and a really dark and creepy looking area that it follows with no light available so its super dark and creepy. If you like a haunt that not only looks good but will scare you real bad you need to try this haunt

6 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Z400   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy place to find.  
We came from Gifford and used Google maps, however, once you get into Georgetown off of route 150, there are plenty of signs to get you there!

Wait Entertainment: Did not have to wait at all, however, before we went into the haunted houses we were forced to watch this video about the haunted house, it was great!

Length of Event: 15 or so minutes not including the hay rack ride.

Actor Performance: Great, everyone was ready to go and they seemed to try their best.  
I know i got spooked a couple of times and i dont get scared to easily!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was great, we were the only 3 inside the place at the time.

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: Everything was excellent

Costumes / Make-up: Everything and everyone looked great from what i could see

Summary: Overall, the Haunted Hideaway is worth the drive. We had a blast. I took my Girlfriend this year and this was our first haunted house together and the first one for both of us this year. The place offers the haunted house plus a hay rack ride after you are done with the haunted house. We did both and had a ball. They were having some light problem with the hay rack ride trailer, they tried there hardest to get the problem fixed but did not succeed, that is ok because we still had alot of fun on that hay rack ride. The ride it self seemed like it was about 30 or minutes long it self. Was bitterly cold but we were fine. The haunts in the woods during the ride are both hilarious and awesome, highly recommend this place for the kids and the adults!

5 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: joshbrown253   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Okay. Plenty of signs pointing the correct direction.

Wait Entertainment: Yes, actors milling around in the area. There was a man inside the haunted house that would bang on the walls next to the waiting area. Very entertaining.

Length of Event: Around 35 mins.

Actor Performance: Great! The Jester inside did a awesome job, he was very disturbing, along with the Doll Girl inside.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good! I'm pretty sure it was about every six mins.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and UP

Props / Special FX: Baby doll room was freaky. Props all in all were very good, the use of air blasts and fog horns was great.

Costumes / Make-up: They did a good job. Everyone was realistic. My daughter was freaked out by the witch doctor.

Summary: Very very good scare will definitely go back next year. It was a great haunted house to take our two youngest to for their first time. It taught them what to expect in a great scare. We weren't however that fond of the hayride, it needed more scares.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at