Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Shady Hollow Insane Asylum (Annawan, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: powell118   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its right off of the highway and easy to see

Wait Entertainment: They had a bonfire and people around to talk too.

Length of Event: It took about 20 minutes to go through

Actor Performance: The actors did a great job they played their parts very good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They had awsome ideas and lots of different rooms it was very cool

Appropriate Ages: 12 and ovr

Props / Special FX: smoke machines and strobe lights and music... chain saws and decorations.

Costumes / Make-up: great make up and costumes!!!

Summary: This is well worth going to see and very affordable!!! There were many rooms in the haunted house and there were a few areas we had to ask for help to find the way out of the room and they were scary but helpful. We had a wonderful time and cant wait to go back and see what they have next year1!!

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find along route 78 since there is nothing else around it.

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: They were good last year their better this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: timed closley

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: they use fog as the main effect so the props are somewhat hidden. The ones I saw are good but don't expect high dollar. They use what they have to good effect.

Costumes / Make-up: perfectly fitting the scenes they were in. Some of the masks are a little cheesy but I have seen similar in the big haunts so I'd say average.

Summary: This is a haunt on the rise. Last year was different than this year by leaps. This is a smaller haunt but they made up for it in atmosphere. If you can stand foggers this is some of the best use of fog and strobe I've scene. I love the insane room. I had a great time with only one complaint...the floors...can you do something about the floors?

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: becspec   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: more signs would be helpful.

Wait Entertainment: Didn't wait at all. Not sure if there is entertainment if long lines form.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great

Appropriate Ages: 11 +

Props / Special FX: Great props.

Costumes / Make-up: Good.

Summary: Definitely a good haunted house. Price was perfect, plus the coupon for the next visit is a good idea. Actors were great. Original scare ideas. The darkness and fog were scary, but more light to see the props would have been helpful. Friendly staff.

8 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: soccermom   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find. There was signs and lights that let you know where to go. There was plenty of parking and very well marked.

Wait Entertainment: They have a bonfire and benches for you to sit and wait on. The entrance to the building was decorated and they had a nurse out there that talked to you. The ticket booth was decorated to go along with the haunted house.

Length of Event: It took us about 15 to 20 minutes to go through.

Actor Performance: I thought that the people working in the haunted house fit there parts very well. There costumes went with the parts. I thought that the entrance room where they talk to you about the asylum was neat. A few of the actors could have done a little better but overall I think that it was awesome. I would have to say one of my favorites so far this year...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group. We could hear other groups ahead of us but, we never ran into them.

Appropriate Ages: I would say not to take young kids. It is kinda gory in certain rooms. My opinion I would not take anyone under 12 or 13 through it but, it all depends on the kid. Some kids could handle it I suppose.

Props / Special FX: They have alot of really neat props. My favorite I would have to say would be their dungeon room and the butcher room. There was alot of really cool props in them.I think that they did an awesome job with decorating the rooms. Lots of things I have never seen before...

Costumes / Make-up: I seen a few people wearing make-up but, most of them wore masks. I thought that there costumes went exactly with the atmosphere. There costumes fit the rooms and theme that was going on.

Summary: I would have to say that this was one of the best haunted houses that I have been to in a while. I have been telling everyone that I know about it. We actually went back the next night with some friends of ours. They do this really cool thing where if you come back with your stamped ticket you get in for $5 instead of the $7. I think that is a awesome way to get people back. The people they have working in it did a good job fitting the parts. I went to this haunted house last year and I thought that this years was SO much better. They put alot of more work and effort into this one. I really liked the whole Jr. and Tiny thing they had going on. It made it very interesting and scary at the same time. I will continue telling everyone I know about this haunted house. It is one that you dont want to miss....

3 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: emnem525   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They are located right off Rt 78, but it was a little difficult to see where you were supposed to park. We passed by twice before we saw it.

Wait Entertainment: We got right in so there wasn't time to enjoy everyone dressed up. They did go out by the road to "flag down" potential visitors. Had GREAT costumes!

Length of Event: It went by quickly for us becuase we got right in, but it was worth it!

Actor Performance: They were amazing! They stayed in character from beginning to end. As soon as you walked up and were about to go in you were part of the story line that they were all playing....AMAZING!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were there a little closer to closing time and it is a small town (plus they had a local football game) so it wasn't very busy when we were there. I would suspect if we went there on a Saturday there would be much more of a wait line. Because it was just us....there were no other distractions of other patrons.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 14 and above. The actors did get VERY close to us and stayed in character. It was very scary!

Props / Special FX: AWESOME!!! Every little "scene" were decked out and perfectly decorated. In the "round room" there were mattresses on the wall and the character that was in there matched them completely. I didn't see her at all and then all of a sudden she was there...and again with amazing acting she stayed in character.

Costumes / Make-up: Again....awesome! Every where you went someone popped out of a wall that you couldn't even tell was there. Very scary stuff...plus the man with the hook and then the chainsaw...I am proud to say that I am 25 and I wanted to cry I was so scared!

Summary: This was the very best haunted house that I have ever been too! The previous weekend my boyfrind and I went to a different one that was also $7 a person and were not wowed at all. While we were at the other haunted house a couple we met told us about Shady Hollow so we decided to go. They charge the exact same to get in and Shady Hollow was 100% better! We have been telling everyone we know that they need to go! Great Job guys!

4 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: knes13   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's about a mile or 2 just south of Annawan on Rt 78. Not real well lit, but they have blinking and colored lights so you can see it.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't have to wait at all, except for the other half of our group to get ahead. As we waited, couple more groups showed up and sat on the benches by the warm campfire and waited.

Length of Event: It prob took about 15 min to go thru.

Actor Performance: Actors did a GREAT job. They really got into character!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good. They do a very good job of making sure noone catches up to group in front of them. WELL timed attraction!!

Appropriate Ages: WOW!!...guess that depends on the kids. I'd say maybe 12?

Props / Special FX: Props and Spec FX were very good.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were very good!! Loved Jr. and "Tiny" the butcher!!!

Summary: Overall, this was GREAT!! I went to it last year, and it's all different. Got better in every way. I would recommend this to ANYONE that is looking for a good time with friends! Keep up the good work!!!

1 out of 5 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hell_raiser   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it is well marked and easy to find on rt. 78

Wait Entertainment: none what so ever it was a in and out timeing

Length of Event: 20 mins. tops

Actor Performance: the actors were very good at there parts they new what they could do to get people scared without touching them

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the entrance into the asylum was very nice with thew greeter giving the well known history of tiny and junior and were to watch for them

Appropriate Ages: 10-12 depending on how well you get scared

Props / Special FX: the props were well set for the rooms nothing was out of place and either was the actors who looked like props

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes and make up was done quite well i didnt see any flaws in the costumes or make up

Summary: i think that this has to be one of the best i have been to as far as tiny andjunior they really now how to get someone scared.And as far as the acting of Mr. Clause he looked so real and his movements seam so real as far as his acting. but i thought that all the carrecters were a number 10 for the acting

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at