Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Mansion / Asylum 13 (Bolingbrook, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
28 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: princessmati   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: great location just off of illinois 53 and boughton road

Wait Entertainment: psychic readings, stilk walking characters, and a lady in character setting up the walk-through and mood make it an easy wait

Length of Event: depends how fast you want to go through....but about 45 minutes from beginning to end of both houses

Actor Performance: most of the actors nailed it! there were your typical ghoulies jumping out of the dark and bloody mental patients screaming at you, but some of the characters were really scary and suprising! (look out for the "living" statues!)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty good....sometimes the groups are too big to go in all at once, but there was never a back-up or feeling of being crowded or rushed

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up, although they do have glowsticks for little ones to "ward off" the actors

Props / Special FX: there are some awesome mechanical effects and set decorations...they really paid attention to details!

Costumes / Make-up: what you would expect from a haunted house...some are very good, with latex and blood effects and for the most part the costumes matched the characters and different rooms...some are run of the mill stock

Summary: i would TOTALLY recommend this place to anyone in the chicagoland area. It is fun, creepy, high energy,and totally gets you in the mood for halloween! Also, you don't have to wait outside, the price was fair, and there was plenty of parking.

13 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: twetyz1   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can't miss the Ditka Dome!!

Wait Entertainment: There are a few things for you to do while you wait. Like have a psychic reading...and music plays in the background.

Length of Event: I wasn't paying attention...but 30 minutes or so?

Actor Performance: Bravo!!! They had me fooled. Especially the "scared" little boy!! Bravo Kid! Bravo!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Needs Help. The wait between patrons needs to be extended Unfortunately we caught up to the 2 guys that were let in before us and they got all the scares. And the group of 6 behind us caught up when we were attempting to space ourselves from the 2 gentlemen.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Very Well Done.

Costumes / Make-up: The Costumes and Make up were very well done!! Loved the Scarecrow!

Summary: Unfortunately I can't say that the scare factor for me was too high, but I would and have recommend this attraction to my friends and family. The rooms and props are very well done. Watch out for the little boy!!

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: katebai   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Haunted House was very easy to locate off of RT53, and included ample parking areas.

Wait Entertainment: The entrance offered indoor waiting and a DJ. The DJ was a good touch, but was a little dissapointed that he only played dance music and not more Halloween themed music (for example music by Rob Zombie usually played at haunted houses) to help get the waiting crowd more into the mood for the haunted house. The dance music tended to take a way from the haunted theme fun to me, but the DJ was a good touch to keep the waiting line area entertained.

Length of Event: Length of time through the Haunted House area was about 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors do a great job at blending into the room decorations and popping out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The house scare characters did a good job in managing groups through the house maze. Only one time did we run into a young group that was following behind us, but they seemed to be going through a little too fast so we let them go ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: Believe this haunted house would be appropriate for 14 and Up. There are some prop rooms that might be a little too scarey for those under 14 I think.

Props / Special FX: The house had an electrocution prop that was really cool, and an electrical fence prop that was different and scarey.

Costumes / Make-up: Thought the characters costumes and make-up in each area of the haunted house maze did a fanastic job with blending in with the props in the room. So much so, got quite a few scares from not being able to tell a character from a prop.

Summary: This haunted house offers a variety of props through their haunted maze to scare and entertain you. Thought the White Room was different and very cool. We liked this haunted house so much we went through twice, once with friends and again with our nieces, who screamed up a storm. Think everyone will find something they will like at this haunt.

6 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: magickchick   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: great spot on 53 with alot of signage and parking

Wait Entertainment: i loved the live chickens! they really added to the whole haunted barn effect. the whole first look is really intimidating, and the old lady at the door sets the mood for the house.

Length of Event: about 45 minutes, from the begining of one house to the end of the other one

Actor Performance: the actors were really into it! there wasn't anyone who was just going through the motions...they all really created cool and creepy characters from room to room. they can;t touch you, but they get right up on you and really freak you out!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was a sunday, so there wasn't a really big huge crowd, but things kept moving at a nice pace. we were never rushed, and never felt crowded.

Appropriate Ages: teenaged and up. i wouldn;t bring little kids. they have these glowsticks you can buy (and i reccomend it for the adults too, just becuase some rooms are REALLY dark)so the little kids can scare off the monsters, but the whole atmosphere is way too creepy for little ones, IMO.

Costumes / Make-up: the make-up and costumes were really detailed and really fit. no one seemed out of place or stuck out like a sore thumb, and the actors really owned it.

Summary: great scare level, creepy characters, lots of parking, no outside waiting and a bar in the lobby to calm your nerves after they scare the bejeezus out of you...A+!!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at