Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon of Doom Haunted House (Zion, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
35 out of 47 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jamers615   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I have to agree with other people that it was a bit confusing to find - until we got right into Zion and saw the large lit up signs. The location is FABULOUS! The building itself starts the mood off right for a haunted house! Lots of decently lit parking, plus the midway games and food offerings make this a good all around experience.

Wait Entertainment: DoD never disappoints here. They are picky with who they let outside, and it shows. These guys are some of the best. Even if they don't scare you, interacting with them and watching them terrify others is always a good time.

Length of Event: We did the whole tour (2 houses downstairs, Mercy General, and Buried Alive) and we were inside for about an hour.

Actor Performance: Fair. The two downstairs haunts seemed to lack in this department. Heard a lot of plain screams, yells of get out, or people just lurking in corners not really trying. A lot of empty, open spots that could have used an actor as well. 
 
Mercy General was WORLD apart. GREAT, high energy acting here. Very creative scares and hiding spots. These actors were not afraid to come at your from all sides... and top, AND bottom. Great job in this house!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: A little messy. There were several areas were we ran into other groups, and actors seemed to do nothing to split us all up.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: As always, nice props, well detailed.

Costumes / Make-up: No complaints here! Appropriate costumes/makeup for every area.

Summary: As both a fellow haunter, and someone who has attended DoD for 10+ years, I was slightly disappointed this year. There is SUCH potential here, but for this year, I don't think it was reached. Too many ceilings were open, too many dark, long hallways between rooms, and not enough direction in those hallways. At one point we came to a T intersection and didn't know which way to go, went the wrong way and got yelled at rather rudely by an actor. Because we missed seeing an arrow that was MAYBE 3 inches wide in a dark hallway. 
 
The actors, costumes and makeup were all great. Mercy General, in particular, was VERY well put together, had that same claustrophobic sense that has made DoD so good, GREAT scares. The downstairs two houses have a LOT of potential, but are severely lacking in rooms and scares. Giving credit for the time in which they were unable to build, I'd say they've done a decent job so far, but personally I regret spending the money on what it is currently. 
 
However, knowing the twisted minds that form DoD, and the space available, I am anxiously awaiting next year already - I have faith that this new location and some more time could result in an AMAZING haunt. Keep working on it, DoD, and next year will be great.

17 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cathyflips   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was cool looking and the main roads were marked pretty well. It's only after you turn off the main road that all direction kind of ends. It would help to have a few signs posted along with the "Do Not Park" signs. Parking lot itself is very well lit.

Wait Entertainment: As this is our 10th year visiting the Dungeon of Doom, we knew there would be very little wait as it is opening night and that is very typical for opening night with any haunted attraction. The actors are fantastic as always, especially the vampire pirate. (Actually gave me the chills.) But I would have to agree about missing the TV's, the scary music and it was too lit up!

Length of Event: We did the general admission which lasted about 20-25 minutes. Definitely appropriate for general tickets. (We did not choose to do Buried Alive.)

Actor Performance: As usual the actors are amazing! So energetic and into their roles! They are the main reason we go back every year! You can tell they put everything they have into making sure you get a good scare!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Loved the fact that they put alot of thought into making sure your group goes by itself without running into any other group! Didn't run into anyone else and was surprised by each attraction without another group just leaving and them trying to set up to scare us. But we didn't like the gaps between scares, they were really open and far apart.

Appropriate Ages: We think anyone 12 and older would enjoy this!

Props / Special FX: We really, really loved the man on the operating table (looked real). Also the chapel scared us all alot! And the things that pop out at us! Definitely missed the man who gets electrocuted though!

Costumes / Make-up: Again, they all put alot into making sure you are scared and their makeup and costumes are top notch! Miss the clowns and the guys who slid up on his knees with the machete though!

Summary: Although overall, we were slightly disappointed, it was worth the trip and price at least once! Love the actors and the props as always! Hope the owners reconsider the space though. Felt like too much room and not enough to fill it up! Also, not as easy to get to as Grayslake location, although again, it is pretty well marked! As seasoned visitors to the Dungeon of Doom (we visited at least three or four times a season) we do not feel that we will be doing that this season. Felt like we were getting more for our buck in a smaller space that was easier to get to! Also thought everything was too lit up and too many gaps between scares! Hope things go well though! Good luck!

33 out of 57 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mrsmitch2   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were signs along Sheridan Rd to help guide you but it would be more helpful if there were signs along Belvidere as we came from the expressway. At one point we weren't sure if we were going in the right direction but again, once we reached Sheridan & got closer to the event those signs really helped!

Wait Entertainment: We did not have any waiting issues really b/c it was opening weekend and still September. While you waited you had some very good attractions to look at - definitely help create the scary environment!

Length of Event: approximatley 45 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were phenominal! While waiting to begin our haunt the actors were not shy by any means! They even shook my hand, which I regretted afterwards as my hand was all gooey! But in the haunt, especially in the Mercy Hospital, the actors did an outstanding job scaring everyone and taunting us as we walked by. They certainly jumped out at us alot! They were all over too! Up high, down low, underneath, behind and right in front of you! They were everywhere and again, did a fabulous job at scaring us! They also did a great job at directing us so if we were going the wrong way we were put back on track. Dont believe them all though - especially when you enter the maze! You could be in there for a while if you listen to the monsters! Each actor stayed within their character at all times - we never once saw someone not in character -they really did a great job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good - everyone was spaced out very well so we did not run into anyone else at all. The arrows inside to help guide you were very helpful.

Appropriate Ages: 10+ with an adult - otherwise I think 12-13+

Props / Special FX: The props were incredible! Extremely well done and detailed! With this even being 2 stories they certainly had a lot of room to work with and they certainly took advantage of it! The 'tubes' you had to crawl thru are an excellent idea! The bridge you cross over - the animated props throughout the event were right on cue! The hospital rooms in the psych ward were done very well! All of the hanging bedroom curtains, hospital beds and animated props throughout were great!

Costumes / Make-up: The actors make up and costumes were some of the most detailed I've seen. Very well done! Very scary and original.

Summary: Dungeon of Doom is a very scary haunted house. The atmosphere is perfect for what's in store for you! The actors that visit you as you stand in line do a fantastic job and will not let up if they find someone who seems to be a bit scared! The scenery inside the haunt and outside are outstanding! You will have no regrets going through this haunt! I saw a few groups of younger kids maybe around the ages of 13 and they were terrified! I think anyone younger than 12 or 13 should be accompanied by an adult. And if you are going through all the passages and the Buried Alive attraction, be sure to be prepared to leave your purse & cell phones in the car unless you can secure your phone really well. You will be crawling and crouching down low.  
All in all, this was a very scary event!

15 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: necrodude31   (Event Visited: 10/29/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was tucked way back off of Sheridan Rd. However, we were lucky and were able to take Wadsworth rd East to Sheridan North. From Sheridan rd there tons of signs everywhere including those LED construction signs. Once off of sheridan, there were police to help guide the way.

Wait Entertainment: For a rainy thursday night, there obviously wasnt much. However, there were a few ghouls entertaining the guests waiting to go inside. I know DOD always has good acting including their wait entertainment. ANd with the few actors they had it still was very entertaining.

Length of Event: My group did the Ultimate $25 package which got us both sides of the first floor, buried alive, and the second floor.... so... 
1st floor Right Side- 10 min 
1st floor Left side- 15 min 
Buried Alive - 5 min (give or take wait time) 
Second floor- 15 min 
 
Our entire time in the house was substantially longer because of how the flow had to work to make sure we didnt hit anyone else and to make sure we saw everything. I'd say we were in the house for a good 45 min.

Actor Performance: Decent. This year they seemed to focus more on the jump and scare tactic rather than actor performance and role playing. However, the actors that did have a role to play did in fact play it very well and were very entertaining.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: EXCELLENT. the attraction opens with 6 different doors on (3 on either side) each having different entrances to the house. We did a hellevator simulator and the shock bridge.  
 
In the house the actors did a great job of keeping groups separated and telling us which way to go in order to go where we were supposed to. There a good half a dozen or so "checkpoints" where they asked for wristbands or tickets and this determined your path.

Appropriate Ages: Really it all depends on the person. A few actors were using adult language which can be inappropriate for younger children but overall i think 12 year olds could handle the attraction.

Props / Special FX: As always fantastic. The attraction was over loaded with props and FX. Some of which actually provided actor-less scares which i enjoyed.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, fantastic. D.O.D. never lets up in this category. The only problem was that a few actors werent wearing costumes (I.e. what i believe was the basement portion of the attraction) and a few rooms were too dark to even see any make up.

Summary: I've been going to the dungeon of doom for years now, i even worked there for a few years but i must say, going through it without being on the inside of the operation makes it even better. I must say i dont agree with people claiming it to be disappointing, i think that it was overall much larger and more enjoyable than previous years. A few parts that really stuck out in my mind were the cock roach hallway, the cabin room, mercy hospital, the cage/wood rack maze, the squishy foam hallway, the clown room, and this shock type room where the actor was above you the whole time smashing around on metal grates and fences. 
 
I really wish the season was a bit longer so i could return to the DOD again because i really did have a great time. I think that just the shier enormity of the attraction made it awesome...and they only used a small fraction of the warehouse!! I can only imaging how long this will be in a few years when they have enough supplies to make the entire building a haunt! 
 
With that is my only complaint. I think it would have been a lot more interesting to use the buildings natural features instead of wood walls and mazes. If they would have used the actual corridors of the ware house and such, i feel that that would have more than doubled my enjoyment. But, they still put on a great show none the less. 
 
Great job!

16 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Dungeon of Doom has a great location in a very large industrial-looking building in Zion. Although the building is kind of difficult to get to (you must avoid sever roads that lead up to it due to police order) there are illuminated orange signs (ie Haunted house Traffic keep straight) that will point travelers in the proper direction.

Wait Entertainment: On the night that I attended there were several actors roaming the line, both inside and outside of the building. Because it was slow, many of them were just roaming aimlessly, but when guests approached the attraction they did a good job of scaring them. I believe if the attraction were more busy, many of these line actors would have been seemingly more effective, though when they were scaring they did a great job.

Length of Event: We paid for the "Ultimate" Package, times were approximately: 
 
1st floor (1st trip) - Approx 9-10min 
 
1st floor(2nd trip) - 8-9min 
 
Buried Alive - 2min 
 
2nd Floor - 8 min

Actor Performance: Here is where the Dungeon of Doom lost a lot of it past years appeal. Many of the actors this year seemed unsure of their roles - many of them seemed to just stand or have very breif, unmotivated attacks. Although this wasn't true throughout the ENTIRE attraction, as there was a decent amount of actors that were very successful in their attacks, the majority of them seemed to be on the less scary side. This could possibly be explained by their new layout, which will be elaborated on further in the summary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Throughout the attraction, there were several areas in which staff was able to split groups up - due to this flow was well done and my group never ran into another.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: This attraction makes good use of many interesting props and scenic elements (such as the moving tubes and swinging rooms), although it seems like they are missing many great props they have used in the past (such as the exorcist - electric chair - and frankenstein) Overall, they effects that they did provide were well done, and seemed to fit well into the areas in which they were placed.

Costumes / Make-up: The line actors had very well done costumes and were very believable. 
 
The 1st floor actors seemed to be less well-dressed 
 
Mercy General (2nd floor) had some very creatively dressed characters. 

Summary: Overall I felt disappointed by this years installment of the Dungeon of Doom. They have moved from their original location at the Lake County Fair Grounds, to a rather obscure location in Zion. Throughout the attraction there was an overwhelming feeling that they attempted to expand too fast - too soon. Though their attraction WAS very big, so were many of their rooms, which (to me) took away a lot of the claustrophobic feeling that the original Dungeon presented. Additionally, in past years installments of the Dungeon they relied heavily on darkness to disorient customers, and set them up for some great scares. But this year, (most likely due to fire codes) they did not fully cover the ceilings of the rooms, which allowed for quite a bit of light pollution to enter the portions of the attraction that were seeming supposed to be dark.  
 
Additionally, as previously mentioned, the attraction felt as if it expanded too fast, by this I mean the halls felt very wide open, and the rooms seemed few and far between. Personally, I feel the execution of this attraction would have been much more effective if they had taken their original attraction, and built it inside this building, and then expanded over time (rather than all at once).  
 
Overall, as a fan and customer of Dungeon of Doom for more than 8 years - I feel that they really lost something this year with the move. Hopefully they will be able to fix these problems in the future. 
 
For the $25 spent to experience the entire attraction, big as it was, this attraction just wasn't as much fun as it used to be, and this year I felt the Dungeon of Doom was slightly overpriced.

17 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not good! Not until you hit Sheridan rd are there any signs. It wouldn't surprise me if casual fans show up in Grayslake at the fairgrounds to find NOTHING! There are NO SIGNS in Grayslake stating that they've moved!

Wait Entertainment: Very Good! Usual the wait entertainment early in the season is NON EXISTENT! This year the had LOTS of characters roaming around, including one who threw what looked like a used condom at the dude in front of me! LOL! Cons: No tv's with scary movies like previous years, awful 80's music playing WAYNE CHUNG instead of scary music. Wait area too well lit. A haunted house should be dark!

Length of Event: I chose the Ultimate package for $25 and the length of the actual house itself was appox 45 min! Did not feel ripped off at all at that price for that length!

Actor Performance: Fantastic for opening night! A couple of slightly missed cues, but the DOD ALWAYS has the best actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good! Did not run into other groups except for Buried Alive and the maze.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: FAntastic and very detailed! The phone booth,construction tubes,hellevator,walking through a fridge all great!

Costumes / Make-up: Top Notch!

Summary: I generally wait for October to go to haunts, but I wanted to see the DOD early because of its new location. Overall, the haunt was great a well worth the $25. My only complaints are: the wait room stuff I mentioned above, and a few actors were slightly off cue. I am sure that will be corrected as the days go by. I worry that people won't find this great haunt as most people in line were locals and NOT regulars like myself. I actually miss the old location even though this is twice as big. I though parking in a deserted dark field walking into a creeky barn at the old place set the mood. I also missed the prop of the guy barfing into a garbage can that used to be in the wait room. He's gone! I'm curious to see how well this haunt does this year! I hope the owners didn't miscalculate and move too far away from the regular customers. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this haunt!

14 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: NikaPL1   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We were expecting it to be at the Lake County Fairgrounds, and were pretty thrown off when we got there and the attraction was no longer there. We then started heading towards Zion after finding out it's in Zion. Thankfully someone picked up the number and game us mediocre directions. If it weren't for a GPS, we would have gotten lost though. Once we got onto Sheridan we decided to follow the GPS and ignore street signs and follow the GPS. We eventually got there though, an hour later than we wanted to. My fiance was fuming at this point, but we decided that we should make the best out of the situation while we're there.

Wait Entertainment: We got there the Saturday of opening weekend so we waited in like four three or four minutes at the most. At the end of the line they segregate you into groups. There was a group directly in front of us. The actors were scaring the all girl group and they let us go in front of them for some reason. Good for us, but I would have been pissed off I were them.

Length of Event: 35 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty good. I almost got into a screaming match with the girl that was the look-out at the buried alive, but even during this altercation she stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We only ran into one group, and that was when we were waiting in line for the upstairs section. We also ran into a group when going thru the maze, but they easily seperated us.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: It's a haunted house, the typical haunted house props. The chainsaws, the fake knives. My favorite though is on the second floor when you're about to go thru the doors and the video plays and makes indents in the doors. You'll see what I'm talking about when you go thru.

Costumes / Make-up: This was my fourth or fifth year in a row going to Dungeons of Doom. Year in and year out I always love their costumes and makeup. I love haunted houses, and Dungeons of Doom is probably top three in costumes and make-up every year.

Summary: When you go in you go thru the typical haunted house stuff. The dark rooms and what have you. In one of the rooms you reach a dead end. You have to figure out where to go thru there. Once you go thru the first floor you can either steer to the right if you are going to go to the second floor, or you can go into the buried alive and then to the second. We accidently got the buried alive but ended up going thru the passage that was left without it. We got to do both sections of the second floor. Buried alive is pretty cool. I've done it sitting down each time. If the crowd is light they'll actually have you lay on your back and do it. I got really claustraphobic doing it this way. The second floor, I prefer going thru the left side so if they give you the option and you're only doing a one-thru, go to the left. The second time around one of the ladie tried to split our group into boys and girls, but we already went thru the left as a group so she didn't. I've never had them do this before, which I thought was pretty cool too!  
 
For sure look out on all sides, not just the typical left and right!

13 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: fascino   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Locating is well marked coming from the south up Sheridan road, no markings seen from the north. once you turn off of Sheridan road there are police cars guiding the route to the building

Wait Entertainment: Only waitied in line for a few minutes, but there were several people working the line, and like normal for here they are some of the best actor they have. For all of you that have been here before, throwing up guy was there but off to the side and not being used (I missed him

Length of Event: About 45min on the $25 dollar ticket.

Actor Performance: This is where it starts to fall apart, on the night i was there, it seemed to be well under staffed. A lot of the rooms had nobody in them. Several actor s timing was way off they would jump out after everyone passed. A few were running from one scene to the next. I even caught one watching who was coming down the hall standing in the light then had a look like ops I was caught.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow wasn’t to bad, keeping in mind that it was a slow night so we got to spend more time then normal looking at the rooms. On the downside there are some transition locations that have you standing outside of the set in the unfinished areas waiting to enter the next area.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Some of the features newer features are great (elevator, floating cage, hospital door are great. Others not so much, there is a hall with foam rubber flooring that would be much better if the hall was dark and you couldn’t see the floor. Some of the rooms and hall are well decorated if you spend the time looking around( example “Misery General” has signs and decoration on the walls of the hall leading out that are near impossible to see do to how dark it is). Having people lay down in the buried alive, brings an all new aspect and creep factor to the event

Summary: As a person that has gone 7 out of the last 8 years, I was definitely disappointed this year. With a $25 price tag having rooms that had no actors working them was uncalled for. Having gone to many haunted houses and even working at one for several years it reminds me of a new venue that has to work out all the bugs. I was talking to one of the workers, and he stated that they are still working on it, a little late since this wasn’t even opening weekend. Once they work out the bugs and go back to their old standards, I think they will be one of the best again. Note: The VIP pass with head of the line(online only) is a great idea on busy nights, having waited 3 hours in previous years.

33 out of 69 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little tricky to find if your not using a GPS possibly. I saw signs when I got close to the event directing which way to go. The location is very creepy in itself. The haunt is in an enormous warehouse in a quiet part of town.

Wait Entertainment: There were some very good actors patroling the grounds. I was very impressed with their costumes and makeup. I paid for VIP passes so I didn't have to spend any time in the line.

Length of Event: I did the WHOLE thing (both floors, secret passageways, and buried alive. It took about 45 minutes to get thru the entire house.

Actor Performance: Excellent. My favorite actor was the one who let you into the house and led you to the corridor you were supposed to go down. He spoke in a creepy high-pitched voice, but then screamed at you in a deep voice when you least expected it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: VIP is the way to go! It was just me and my friend who got let in by ourselves. A group of 2! We had the entire house to ourselves for every part except buried alive. It was awesome not running into any groups or having anyone run into us. They really had their timing down pat.

Appropriate Ages: Not for the faint of heart! I wouldn't bring young children to this place unless you want to give them nightmares and scar them for life.

Props / Special FX: I was very impressed with the surprises that were in store for patrons. Actors can scare you from all angles... the floor, the walls, even from above your head! Props came within inches of hitting me when they'd pop out. It was very scary! Also, it was quite a surprise when the wall caved in. There are very expensive props and special effects at this place. PLUS I never seen another house where you get buried alive (not a lame coffin simulator, but literally you can't move b/c you are buried with something ;)

Costumes / Make-up: As good as it gets! They spend a lot of time on costumes and make up here. It must have taken some of these actors 2 hours to get dressed and made up for the house!

Summary: This is NOT an event to miss! Do the entire house and VIP is the way to go to avoid the long 3 hour+ line on busy nights. I had a true VIP experience and would do this again in a heart beat. I love their new location and it appears that they've really stepped up compared to last year regarding patron flow. If this place disappoints you I don't think you will find another house in Illinois that will please you.

12 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntchaser   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Once you get through the subdivision and into the industrial district.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was real good.

Length of Event: 50 - 60

Actor Performance: The actors in the haunt were very active.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow in this house was excellent. With the multiple entrances to the different houses they moved groups through different houses at various times to split the crowds up. Great Idea

Appropriate Ages: No 14+

Props / Special FX: Props and special were excellent especially the door at the mental hospital.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup wer awesome the use of prosthetic foam face pieces was great

Summary: If you are looking for a truely excellent haunt to visit this is the one. From the minute you pull up and see the building this resides in you get an erie feeling. The building is an old brick 2 story creepy thing with smoke stacks. I was told they have 40k square feet to play with for future enhancements and hopefullly with a great season or 2 they can make this happen. I even liked the buried alive event. Very creative.

12 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: wizard731   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location got easier when u got on to Sheridan but was not hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Was very satisfy with the entertainment outside. You can do so much outside. but a great crowd worker.

Length of Event: 40-45 min

Actor Performance: The first portion felt like they weren't trying so much room not enough actors but all turned around when u enter mercy hospital then became 180. Great job on that.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great flow only ran into another group was in the maze which i really enjoy. but it happens to the best of us.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Very well done on the props the hellavator, chainsaws, great especially in mercy hospital.

Costumes / Make-up: The make was great. Makes them look believable. For make up believe Hollywood was here.

Summary: Dungeon of Doom is a great haunted house. Been going to it for a long time. This i think they needed some work cause of the new location. Still was entertaining, will again cause had great people.

8 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: triogroupie3   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little difficult to find this haunt, but there was a few large signs giving directions on the main street nearest the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: We got there late in the night and yes there was a wait. While we waited there was one main actor walking around and a few others that would pop out every so often. That main actor stood with people for a while and talked, and once he got to my group he didn't try to scare us. He just asked in a normal voice if we were exited.

Length of Event: less than 15 mins

Actor Performance: The night we were there, there wasn't many actors, and I felt like most of them didn't stay in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there was various check point that did help us from seeing other groups. The only time we saw other people was in the large maze area.

Props / Special FX: The hospital was amazing. The props were extremely realistic, and the actors kept in character and really wanted to scare people.

Summary: I looked for more in this haunt than there really was. There was a lot of black hallways with no scares. Many rooms had only one actor or didn't have one at all. Granted they did add a few animated scares in the empty rooms, it just wasn't enough for me to get overly jumpy.

9 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Pogo   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: With the use of a GPS, the haunt was fairly easy to find. Once our directions told us to go into a neighborhood there were signs in the road directing us to the haunted house. Getting closer to the haunted house there was a car with a flashing light at the entrance. The huge new building with the carnival games outside can't be missed. Parking was easy to find and close to the building.

Wait Entertainment: The actors in the wait were spectacular! They did an awesome job scaring people waiting in line. There were a few creepy clowns along with a monster covered in blood, a pirate, and a troll looking monster. All of the actors were into their role and focused on scaring people. The only thing that took away from the wait entertainment was the security guard who would shine a flashlight on the actor whenever he was scaring a group or when he constantly followed certain actors around the line.

Length of Event: We paid for the $25 ticked which was about 25-30 minutes.

Actor Performance: All of the actors stayed in character the whole time we were in their area. However, many rooms/corridors were very big and the actor/actress would only interact with us for a portion of the room. Many of the actors blew on us and growled/oinked in our ears which has become some of their only interactions with guests over the past few years. I think the actors need to get more creative with the way they interact with guests and rely less on makeup and costumes to scare people. In many rooms the actor would hold back the person in the back of our line and we would have to stop and wait for a few minutes. This got quite annoying and at one point the actress actually started pushing up on our guest and got fake blood all over them. However, when our friend tried getting past and accidentally bumped into her he was threatened to be kicked out of the house. One of the most memorable actors was the hillbilly in the cabin scene who actually got right in our faces and tried to scare each member of our group instead of the people in the front/back. I noticed many actors that simply sat underneath props and put no effort into scaring our group. Many actors/actresses didn't seem to be putting in 100%

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups except before/after buried alive and before entering Mercy General Hospital.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Many of the rooms were well detailed and creative such as the kitchen which you had to go through the fridge to get to the next room. The cabin/swamp scene was also a favorite of mine because of the bridge with alligators underneath and the surprising spots the actor came out of. The new elevator was a fun start to our tour but I think if would have been better if an actor was in it with us. Many props that popped out got within inches away from us and were used very effectively.

Costumes / Make-up: As always, the costume and makeup was outstanding. I think the best costumes were in the waiting area and you could tell a lot of effort was put into their makeup as well.

Summary: Dungeon of Doom was a bit of a let down this year. Considering all of their new space, they could have done a whole lot more. There were many rooms and big corridors that were left empty without actors and even some times where we didn't see an actor for a few minutes.  
 
I was excited to see some of the new attractions which they advertised on their website but was disappointed when I didn't see Dead Bums Alley or Niles attack. I'm unsure if I just didn't realize it because of the lack of actors or if they were other corridors we didn't get to see. 
 
In the house, the acting could have been more in your face like it has been previous years. It seems like a lot of actors were overwhelmed by the large spaces that they were put in charge of. 
 
I think Dungeon of Doom has a lot of potential to get back up to the level they have been at in their previous years if they get more actors and put in the same effort as they did with actors entertaining in the wait line.

5 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tiff12357   (Event Visited: 10/31/09 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was plenty of parking close to the building. The Haunted House itself was not visible from the road however there were plenty of bright signs leading you to the event. The event was very easy to find.  

Wait Entertainment: The waiting area was very well setup. When you walk in the first thing you notice is the costumed actors and the music. The walls were decorated with signs and skulls and they had a fog machine. The actors did a great job of keeping people entertained while in line. They were very scary and the rest of the staff in the waiting area were very helpful.  

Length of Event: There were different packages you could choose from. I chose the general admission package and it lasted about 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were very convincing and took their role seriously. They were scaring people throughout the line, the makeup was really good and the actors fit the roles they played.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My group did not run into or see any other group ahead of us or behind us. We went at our own pace.

Appropriate Ages: I think the haunted house is appropriate for ages 10 and up.

Props / Special FX:  
There were tunnels, spinning tunnels, a maze with strobe lights, ect.. special effects and props were very good.  

Costumes / Make-up: Costume and makeup were very realistic looking.

Summary: I really liked that you could tell time went into this event. After the event the employees were interested in hearing about our experience and thanked us for coming. I thought the special effects with the spinning tunnel was really neat. I liked the different levels. Overall I really enjoyed my experience, you get more than what you payed for! It was fun and scary!

11 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not good! No signs until Zion. Almost impossible to find this place w/out directions.

Wait Entertainment: Very Good. Lots of actors getting into peoples faces.

Length of Event: About 40 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors here are ALWAYS good and this year was no exception.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Did not run into anybody until buried alive.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Top notch! DOD always has the best props of any haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: Fantastic and detailed as always.

Summary: New location and MUCH different than previous years. Gone are:Electrocution,Frankenstein,exorcist,and clowns. Surprised about the clowns. Every haunt should have a clown room! The wait area has too much open space, and the haunt itself does seem to be a bit bright for a haunt. They do have a lot of room to work with and most scenes work well, but some rooms are too big, and not utilized or filled up properly. The fright factor goes down in such a large room, because you can see the scares coming from far away. One of the great things of the old place was the narrow passageways and rooms. This is still a good haunt to see, and I recommend you go...if you can find it. However, I prefer the old location better.

9 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ONEofTHEM   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I dont know how much easier they could have got. they have signs all over! The new building is so crazy, its really haunted looking. im glad they got out of that tin can.

Wait Entertainment: the wait has always been entertaining. it seems this year they have more actors outside than last- the make up and costumes were straight from a horror movie. i will say that the atmosphere was a little down than last, but it was huge! no TV- but the physical entertainment was more hyped up, to it evened out.

Length of Event: me and my friends got the VIP ultimate, the most expensive ticket. we also got front of the line, even tho the wait was like 20 mintues.... but i didnt know that we got to go through 4 different haunts inside the ONE HAUNT! i heard that there were like 6 or something different haunts in one, and what ever ticket you get depends on how much of the house you get to see. so we all will be going back at the end of the month to see what else we didnt see last time. the over all time was around an hour. Very much worth it!!

Actor Performance: Always top notch! they were so into character, and seemed like they really enjoyed being there.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no problems, never ran into a group unless were were supposed to. there was a new 'room' it was a huge maze with deadends and all! so we obviously ran into a group or two there, but i think that was the point.

Appropriate Ages: i know they say 12+ but my 15 yr old brother waited in the wait area... plus as a 20 yr old guy the props and everything was pretty close to real life as you can get.

Props / Special FX: They never fail to bring you the best, they have what other haunts dont. and thats why we always go to the DOD!!

Costumes / Make-up: Like i said before- its so ture to life, it looks like they came to work right after being mangled in a car wreck. The costumes were right on with what ever room they were working- they made the character complete.

Summary: I have been going here for the past 7 years- and i also go to other haunts around here. Problem is- the DOD will never have competition, they are the best at it, and i love it. We are all going back at the end of the month to see how much more hyped it gets when its close to the end. The way they have the prices & passes are really cool considering that you get to go through a different haunt every time you come! that was pure genius!  
the wait and the $ was well worth the 60 of watching my girl scream like the world was ending!!  
awesome job guys!

6 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: horrorman197   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: lots of signage for directions

Wait Entertainment: good actor encounters

Length of Event: 20-30min

Actor Performance: actors were good stayed in character and were very persistent to the targets in groups

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good overall flow had some wait between attracions but not bad

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: great effects scenes were well animated color full well lit

Costumes / Make-up: costimes were great good gore factor and gross looking

Summary: good attraction i think the haunt was better before they moved it but being its first year at new location it will be some trail and error to many different price very confusing each price not evplained well by staff a little pricy in my opinion

7 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: radsponge   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Little tough to find, but the parking is well organized and no charge! New location is awesome and potential for making it even bigger next year is there to be taken.

Wait Entertainment: did not get a good look cause I paid for 6 VIP tickets

Length of Event: 45-60 min

Actor Performance: Actors are awesome. In their places and able to adapt. Proof in point was phone booth man. I was first in line (dad) and when he asked who goes in the booth I spoke up and said I would. He replied......ladies first which I could not argue with and my son's girlfriend's sister went in. All the actors appeared to be enjoying their roles and they were full on. I did not see anyone slacking at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. Never bunched up except at Mercy General (needs little work there). Really impressed on how they processed the various groups based on what they paid for. See summary for recommendation.

Appropriate Ages: 16-60

Props / Special FX: Loved the giant bat eating corpse in the main waiting area. Did not get to see it long cause we were VIP. The room with the refrigerator was nice touch. Loved the rickety rope bridge over to Hoochie House.

Costumes / Make-up: Many of the costumes were standard fare since they for most part were executing scares from drop downs, recessed openings, etc. Mercy General greeter and the crazy guy there had effective costumes, as did lobby dudes.

Summary: We have been many times to DD in past at fair grounds and I must say, for 1st year at new location, they really pulled it off. Really good design, but here are a few suggestions: 
- Get a VIP entrance or at least provide a path to their holding area. I did not enjoy getting popular with the masses as I crossed through 4 lines of people to get someone's attention that I had some VIP tickets. Hello! 
- Expand Mercy General because advertising 2 floors is a bit misleading since 2nd floor was a few mercy general rooms and a maze 
- T-shirts! Where are the T-shirts? DD only sold sweatshirts and hoodies. Come on! You could make a killing selling inagural T-shirts and you blew it. 
- Oh the buried alive..what happened? Balls barely covered us and no pressure applied to them after they were dropped like in 2007. Go big with it or take it out. Too much wait time to then get disappointed. 
- Sinister Scents....try them 
 
Loved DD in new location and will be back next year. 
-

8 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Julissa19   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Location was kind of hard to find but once we got there it was easy to get around. They have a very big parking area which is good but its been raining a lot so it was really muddy. I'm thankful I had a GPS because if i had used mapquest Im sure i would've gotten lost

Wait Entertainment: I really liked the big ware wolf in the line. but other than that there was only one person and he was the one who sent you into the house. there were a few ppl outside but they never scared us they just stayed away. We only waited in line for about 5 minutes

Length of Event: 15 min tops? We went threw it fairly fast.

Actor Performance: Poor. They didnt seem like they were trying to scare us. they just made some strange noise and moved on. I was really upset that half of the attraction didnt even have actors in it. I was just walking along and expecting someone to jump out at us but no. I was really disappointed that there wasn't any clowns this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow was good there was not a lot of people there.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I think the best part was the hospital it was the most detailed.

Costumes / Make-up: The best was in the hospital

Summary: I was overall really disappointed because of the big hype that was made on the radio and everything i was expecting something much better, I think there is a lot of room for improvement here it is such a big building and it could be amazing. Next year i would love to see more actors in the rooms and less emptiness. this is their first year in this building so maybe next year it'll be better.

5 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, lots of signs pointing the way off of the main strip.

Wait Entertainment: Although there were not a lot of actors scaring the crowd, there were some cool animatronic creatures that were very cool. It looked like a giant dog with a bat head eating a person.

Length of Event: About a half hour if you go through both parts and Buried Alive.

Actor Performance: Very good, they stayed in character and I feel they truly enjoyed scaring and insulting the patrons.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were not a lot of people, so the flow was good.

Summary: I did the VIP treatment, with the Buried Alive segment. The first part of the house was a lot of fun, not as much scare factor, but it kept you entertained with an elevator that shook us pretty well, as well as climbing through pipes that moved as well. There was a second level, that started out as a hospital, and ended in a maze. There was also the Buried Alive segment, which, if you have never done it before, consists of people lying down in a room and having a bunch of dropping balls fall on you so you feel very claustrophobic. One of the people in the room starting to freak, so it wasn't as long as it could have been, but it is still a strange feeling.

4 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chainlink   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its was hard to find only when u got clser there were sigsn but if u dont knwo where you are goign poss will get lost

Wait Entertainment: wait entertainment was cool there where a few actors utside entertaining the crowd gettign them ready for the haunt, in the waitjng room awsome effects and design actrs nt very interactive but great makeup

Length of Event: 20-25 min depend how your group goes

Actor Performance: actor performance was very energetic some of the actors where hyper and scary i dont get scared easily but they only times i jumped was in the barrel room that actr was very in your face and active awsome all the other ones were average,

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very god never ran into a nothign group

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: special effect where cool and sm realistic

Costumes / Make-up: costume and make up are always gd at thsi house very blody and col

Summary: averall dugeon of doom haunted house out of five stars i give 2 stars awsome location two floors but i liked it better in lake county scarier thats the orignal house. but i have been ging to this haunt past 3 years. this year could of been bette rit might be better since this was nly opening weekend.but the cooliest thign was mercy general hospital great design

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at