Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Boo Crew Haunted House (Rochester, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
11 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: evil   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find if you know he area. A sign out on the main highway would help.

Wait Entertainment: creepy guys outside very good makeup and masks.covered area to wait.

Length of Event: fifteen minutes maybe a little more

Actor Performance: overall good a few of them could have been louder more scary but they have some really good creepy actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good we did not run into anyone except in the maze because we could not figure out how to get out.

Appropriate Ages: maybe ten and over

Props / Special FX: nice! has a really cool looking reaper,some nice moving creatures. The sound is loud so you dont hear the inner workings of the haunt like other people or air compressers stuff you can sometimes hear at haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: Good i have ben here before and its always strong in this area.

Summary: a good time and done well.If your looking for a good haunt thats put together well and organized so that the customer has a great time and gets scared this is a great one to attend! will definatally return to ths one.

4 out of 6 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tdc1krom   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's a metal building off of Rt 29 South of Rochester, about 10 minutes or so from Springfield. There are signs for it off of the main highway at both exits for Berry, IL.

Wait Entertainment: Was excellent for this event. Actors worked the concession line and the wait line. There was a big screen showing old movie trailers with a short clip about the actual event to fill in the back ground. Some fog and lasers. The wait was inside out of the weather. The line took about 90 minutes to snake to the front. We really appreciated the inside line as it was raining outside.

Length of Event: Took us about ten to fifteen minutes to go through the event. Got sort of stuck at the end where a maze of corridors failed to yield a quick way out.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was very good, very professional. They use a lot of the same people every year. The maintained character at all times, especeialy for the actors working the line. Inside the actors showed real menace at times, creepy factor was very high.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The first room was the longest, another bit of history for the event with an open casket with a dried up corpse inside. Had actors mingling in the small room and dropped a corpse out of the ceiling. Then we moved on to each room pretty quickly and on our own. Each room offered plenty of chills and lots of actors. Many children actors too that did a really good job.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for most ages. They offered different colored lights that would warn the actors about how scary they could get with some patrons. Very considerate.

Props / Special FX: Lots of animatronic things. Lots of atmosphere. The room with the airbags squeezing you was a shock. The stair case that opened to a vertigo tunnel was awesome,(like being in the Munster's house.)

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up were excellent. Some of the full head masks were very detailed but still allowed the actor to act through all the latex. The scary clowns at the end were great. The make up not only good but their performance was outstanding.

Summary: All in all a very good event. The wait didn't seem as long as it really was. The event staff manning the entrance were courteous and attentive to detail. The actors were well trained and performed beautifully, (in a ghastly sort of manner.) They had a few high tech things but most of it was people jumping out at you when you least expect it and animatronic things that would lunge at you. Our favorite parts were the vertigo tunnel and the scary clowns at the end. There were three of them and they kept directing you into different 'dead end' corridors that were little mazes, we seemed to spend a lot of time in that area before we finally found the way out. Very cool. I highly reccomend this attraction to all my friends.

4 out of 7 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sircrazy1971   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great Location very visible from the Highway. It is in the same building from last year which is perfect for this haunt.

Wait Entertainment: My group and I had a behind the scenes pass so we did not have to wait too long but the main entrance had B Movie trailers playing with excellent sound quality and there were people in costume roaming the patrons coming and going getting great scares. I really like the guy who's character is that of someone who is a few bricks shy of a full load (this is not an insult it is his characters persona). The other creatures are well go check it out for yourself trust me you won't be disapointed.

Length of Event: This depends on how long the line is and how fast you walk. For my group it took us about 30 mins inside the attraction because I like to see the props and decorations and appreciate the time and effort that goes into this Haunt.

Actor Performance: This area is top shelf dead on perfect. No one broke character at all they kept going and really made use of the "invasion of the personal bubble moves." They do not disapoint.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth. My group didn't run into any other groups thru the whole attraction we did run ionto some of our group at the end but I won't tell you why you need to go check it out.

Appropriate Ages: This area is a judgement call but with what they have going on I would say 12 and up and then it's again a question of how much can the person stand being scared.

Props / Special FX: This is to sum it up neatly "SO FREAKING AWESOME." This haunt has some top nothch things going on but to find out more your gonna have to go and see it for yourself.

Costumes / Make-up: In reply to this please scroll back to the props question cause they are gonna be the same. You go Masks, Latex Facial Prosthetics, make-up it is really good quality.

Summary: I am a Lincoln Jaycee and a fellow haunter, I don't get scared at haunts. I gave this the ratings of 10 based soley from a haunters perspective. John and all of the performers always give 100 percent and this is a haunt that of you miss it then your going to have missed something special. I tip my hat to all of those that make this happen. I wil;l make it a point to visit this haunt every year to see what they come up with because just when you think there is no way to top last years they come out swinging and bring it home. Great job to all of you at the Boo Crew Haunt. I also want to say I am not affiliated with the Boo Crew this review is from a fellow haunters who works in a differant haunt perspective.

4 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: livindeadgrl   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: nice location out in the middle of nowhere...HA! signs on highway to lead you to the house.

Wait Entertainment: couple different actors outside & food/drinks for sale

Length of Event: about 15 mins...unless you can't find your way out...then maybe longer haha...

Actor Performance: overall good. only thing i could suggest here is more dialog and less screaming. had a lot of different girls who would just scream at you. but all actors stayed in character! nice job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ran into the group ahead of us in the last room...which after being in the room it was no surprise why...don't want to give away any secrets so you'll just have to find out why on your own ;)

Appropriate Ages: safe for any. this is a haunt that is fun for the whole family!

Props / Special FX: great special fx & the props are outstanding (as usual)...every year i'm impressed by some of the stuff i see.

Costumes / Make-up: all the costumes were great...nice makeup and masks.

Summary: great haunt...family friendly and safe for the kids. i believe they even offer different types of scares...like if you need a tour guide or a "special" flash light that protects from monsters...although this haunt may not be as scary as some of the others they make up for it with props, special fx, and creative designs!!!

4 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Somewhat hard to find and they need better markings, however people know quality here and find it! I do wish they would mark it better, located outside Rochester approx. 4 miles southeast and turn on Jett Road. Can't miss the attraction once you get on Jett Road.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of good monsters walking throughout the lines, everyone in character. 
Concession stand with popcorn and pop available. Inside cover which worked on this rainy night. Expect large lines of people however this is a large draw and the crowd moves slowly - might think about a SPEED-PASS if your wanting to attend other events.

Length of Event: 25 minutes, all action packed here.

Actor Performance: Actors did a great job here, a couple of attractions here wasn't manned,but only a trained haunter would have noticed. Everyone had great timing and everything worked.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was great, nobody bottled up inside and the final maze was the only time we saw another group and that was the one before use anyway.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ No real in your face impact here, just lots of great scares. I think younger kids will enjoy this too.

Props / Special FX: Lots of first rate props and effects here, they invest back into the special effects and props every year, nice touch. Lots of animatronics and things going pop around you, nothing quiet here - first rate haunting effects!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was great, everything was first rate and to detail.

Summary: This is one of my favorites which I look forward to and I am expecting more from every year (since 2001)and year. It just keeps getting better every year and this year maybe the best yet. Things just keep moving here and things keep coming. The format this year was "good" however this little girls picture has been around for years - someone daughter or wife now?? However, this is the best overall haunted house in this area of Illinois and at $8.00 it works. Looking forward to more years to come.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at