Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Shotgun Manor 2009:Emalee's Knightmare (Sullivan, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
10 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Old "goodwill" type store with the entrance at the rear of an alley, not very well marked except small no lighted sign.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment, no concession stand, no movies, no anything.

Length of Event: 13 - 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors did a fair job here, no really problems. The little girl did a good job selling her part.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along good.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ No real high impact scares.

Props / Special FX: Lots of interesting props to look at, but nothing which takes your break away. There was no special effects to speak of at all.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were good and the make-up worked.

Summary: This was a first year I had to check out this attraction and its wasn't bad. The wait in lines was short (under one hour) and the event was enjoyable. My only problems was charging $10.00 each - I think that $8.00 would have been more fair. And also; they converted a side "A" and "B" to give you two haunts in one house, only problem is that both charge you to enter them - the double taker! The haunted house was pretty good but a longer event would have been nicer, even at $10.00 - I hope they consider this for next year. Overall everyone in the group enjoyed the attraction and we only slightly ran into another group ahead of us, but we waited for them to move on and out. I think we'll give this another shot next year, but I hope to see more "pop" for the money.

17 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scaremaster1   (Event Visited: 10/01/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is on the second and third floors above a clothing store and you enter through the back alley but there are signs on the street corners so its easy to find

Wait Entertainment: no traditional entertainment! but there is a creepy dollhouse to look at.

Length of Event: 15 min per side! There are two sides!

Actor Performance: very good they have a good mix of kids and adults

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty good its an unguided tour done in groups of four or five

Appropriate Ages: all ages

Props / Special FX: lots of good homeade props and only a couple of store bought ones

Costumes / Make-up: good make-up and costumes expecially on the girls and the pirate!

Summary: This is a great haunt and it is unique in the fact that there are two totaly different sides to it there is a room where they give you a choice of doors and you see the side of the haunt depending on which door you pick so most people will be glad to go through this twice so they can see it all!

12 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Sara23   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I liked entering from the creepy dark back door. Had to stand in line inthe alley for a time before we got in

Wait Entertainment: Binky signed my flyer for my daughter that was 12 that was with us.

Length of Event: about 20 min

Actor Performance: Actors had a easy time scaring with the set up being so good! A few said the same lines, but overall good job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good, we went in both sides and went as our own group of four each time, did not run into others

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up, our 12 year old nearly p her pants, but laughed about it after we got out...I did not tell her I nearly did too

Props / Special FX: Liked the lighting, good use of black lights and that ship is great

Costumes / Make-up: I give it a B+ on Makeup, more use than most local haunts and for the most part it was very good. Clowns were good

Summary: Our family enjoyed the haunt so much we paid to go on the other side to see it and got more scared on that side. Woth the wait and the time to do both sides.

6 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: you_boo   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We had a GPS, so it made it easier. I felt like I noticed the pizza place next to it more then I noticed the ticket booth. Maybe one more sign somewhere on the square pointing in the right direction?

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any, when we got there. We saw Binky and the baby for like 5 min and then didn't see anyone else the rest of the time we stood. The alley way was a nice touch, but I wish there would have been some music or something else.

Length of Event: each door took maybe 10 min

Actor Performance: The actors did very good. However, we went through it twice (both doors) and we heard the same things. It makes sense, they didn't know we were the same group

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The group behind us caught up with us the first time through.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The use of black lights and neon paint was good. Also the strobes were good, they caught you off guard in the slanted room.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly painted make-up. There were some masks. However, the paint was pretty basic.

Summary: This is the first time I attended this haunt. I believe that the first time you go through is a lot scarier then the second time because by the second time around you know what to expect. I really think they did an exactly job, good scares at the right time. ***spoiler alert*** You go through the same haunt half way through before you reach the doors. Basically, the the last 5 min are different haunts. Overall, worth going for a good scare especially if you are scared of the dark....which I am.

7 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: unclep   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good to enter from the alley found it just fine

Wait Entertainment: baby is funny and other actors were good, I liked no chain saw outside

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: good job no boo's or get out

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: excellent crowd and my group of five did not run into anyone, except each other

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: loved the ship and the funny floor

Costumes / Make-up: liked make up, not very many masks, which we liked. Pirate was out of this world

Summary: I am visiting my neice, we are from CA and this haunt is as good as any we have been to there. We are going this friday to visit the other side, one of us had an accident in the haunt,uh oh, so we could not go to both sides until they got dry and brave! Thanks, this haunted il site is great info for us. We will go to at least two other haunts we see on here this weekend!

7 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: wicked   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs took us to the ticket booth, alley is scarey to start with

Wait Entertainment: I became pinky friends with Binky...awesome, he said! Good job in character talking to the line

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: gret, could tell they are well trained. Some looked young, but they were in character more than in most haunts

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, we had a group of four and there was a group behind us in line from Indiana, we never saw them again until we went to Mc Donalds after.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Great use of props, loved the throne and my brother was amazed with the pirate ship.Lights were great, black lights were used in a good way, not just because they had them

Costumes / Make-up: Good, more make up than masks. Good job on line performers, liked their make up

Summary: My brother his friend and me and my bf came from eastern, we are from decatur and have told our friends at school and home to go to both sides of this haunt. It was off the wicked scale for us.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at