Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Trail of Screams (Stillman Valley, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
15 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If we did not have a map, this would be extremely difficult to find. It is located in the middle of cornfields at a Girl Scout camp. Being that we were out of town - we did not know they were located on a camp. There were no signs to help visitors locate the haunt - either on the road, in the parking lot or on the ticket booth. Had to ask a cop if we were in the correct location.

Wait Entertainment: Didn't apply - we went in right away.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Excellent. The actors took their jobs very seriously and did an excellent job scaring us and acting out their roles.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't apply - it was opening weekend..and was not very crowded.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and older. It is an intense haunt - do not recommend bringing your kids unless they have been through other haunts and can handle them.

Props / Special FX: Excellent. 
Because this haunt was located on a trail we expected the Props to be something tossed together. They were not. Although this was a lower budget attraction then most I've been too - they did an excellent job with setting up props. The graveyard and different cabins were nicely done both inside and out. There were also some great props set up in the trees along the trail. My favorite cabin was the "hall of fame" with great props from the different Horror Movies made through out the years.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes/masks and makeup were not elaborate...but they did not need to be. Although there were some masks, they worked because they fit into the areas they worked. I loved the Trick R Treat boy at the table - was a nice add in.

Summary: This was the best low-budget haunt I've been to in quite a long time - great job! I have been to other "trails of terror" and not one of them have come close to the intensity and simplicity of this one. The actors knew how to work with what they had available and found great hiding spots - and actually chased you down the trail - full force. At one point, my son knocked over my husband because he was so scared while running. I loved it! and have to admit, they had scared me more then once..and I have not been that scared at a haunt in a long time - and I've been to many. Just goes to show you don't need high dollar thrills to pull off an excellent haunt. Because this was located in the woods on a trail, they knew how to make the most of the haunt and make it more spooky then if it were located inside of a building. I highly recommend this haunt if you can travel to see it. It's simple, it's great, the props and setup are excellent and the actors are very intense. You'll have a great time...and for $10 it is an excellent bargan.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scareu2   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event wasn't too hard to find because we attended last year. If you follow the signs to Camp Mccormick or mapquest it you shouldn't have any problems.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any wait entertainment but there were alot of screams coming from the dark woods which were way creepy enough. There was a point when some people in our group were debating on going in or not.

Length of Event: about 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: The actor performance was excellent! Our group could really tell they put alot of effort and thought into the scenes this year - they had alot more people on the trail than years past which was excellent - you guys ROCKED!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They were quite busy for a Sunday night but the groups were well spaced and we never ran into any other groups through the trail. The atmosphere is unbelievable out there - it is so dark you can't see in front of you except with the help of the flashlight they give you when you enter.

Appropriate Ages: I agree with their recommendation - 13 and up

Props / Special FX: As with past years the detail is top notch!!! The old creepy house, the schoolhouse and the horror movie scene was KICKASS. They had a nice balance with some scenes very detailed and some less with just enought darkness. The use of lighting along the trail really set the entire mood of the event.

Costumes / Make-up: All the actors were fully dressed and very realistic makeup and costumes.

Summary: Overal this event gets two thumbs up! Ever since we have been attending this event back at the Y we have never been let down! It is definitely worth the $10 even though I would have paid more. I can't wait to see what they come up with for next year.

9 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: killacal87   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: there was signs which helped seein that i had no idea where i was...

Wait Entertainment: there was no wait it was a cold night and it was early in the month of october so not to many people were out.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: good they tried lol

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there were people who came after us but we never saw them.

Appropriate Ages: all ages would be fine this year but the past years i wouldnt have said so

Props / Special FX: ok... nothing special

Costumes / Make-up: not great

Summary: i was very unimpressed this year i am usually terrified to even go there. there is usually 10 houses to go thru there were only 5 this year. there wasnt even clowns and we all know how everyone in the world is pretty much scared of a clown with a chain saw. i was very let down.the last 2 years were great i hope the can do better next year.....

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: blackwid66   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Our group has attended this event before so we had no problem finding the location. There was signs along the highway and a lighted sign at the entrance to the camp

Wait Entertainment: When our group arrived they had a long line and we waited for well over 1 and 1/2 hours. They had a nice concession area and got hot chocolate.

Length of Event: It was about 25 minutes. It depends if you get lost,or how fast or slow you run. at one point our flashlight went out and we really started freaking out.

Actor Performance: was EXCELLENT! Alot of the actors were in-your-face and never stopped scaring our group. We definitely ran when the chainsaw guy came after us. They used alot of intense scares alot of old-school scares and some creepy scares - really a nice balance to creep us out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had six people in our group and never ran into anyone along the trail. The groups seemed to be spaced well.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't recommend anyone under 13.

Props / Special FX: The scenes, lighting and detail was awesome! The schoolhouse was really amazing with detail and the old manor and toy shop was so real it made you feel like you were in a hole different place. The ending scene was my favorite - great job!

Costumes / Make-up: They are great. You can tell they are professional and care about every detail with the makeup and costumes. very realalistic.

Summary: We love this attraction because it is indoor/outdoor event. You have the opportunity to go into different buildings and then out into the DARK WOODS - VERY CREEPY. If you want to be scared then this is definitely the one to check out!

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lyndz99   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was very hard to find since we were not from the area. There was one small sign that read "TOS" with an arrow but was not big enough and we drove past the road. There were some construction baracades also so we were not sure if we were going in the right direction. The location itself had a great atmosphere it was in the middle of corn fields.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait. Due to it being a trail and outside I think the 25 degree weather had an affect on attendance.

Length of Event: About 15 to 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was good, all employees were in character at all times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good, we did not get backed up with another group

Summary: Overall in my opinion the scare was not at all what I expected from the description on their site. I felt like the overall theme at each stop on the trail was confusing, I was not sure what they were trying to portray. Since being out in the woods it does have a certain creepiness to the trail but there were no screams or people jumping out at you while walking. I feel like the space between each stop could have been shorter or just elaborated on and could make this a higher scare. Overall I feel like there is a large room for impovement as this location is great, and hopefully in the years to come it grows to its full potential.

2 out of 6 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sweetpea19   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We knew where this event was because we attended it last year -its really not hard to find if you follow the signs. There is a big flashing sign at the entrance of the campground.

Wait Entertainment: We heard ALOT of screaming coming from the woods - we had about an 1 1/2 wait and just the screams from the woods were freaking us out

Length of Event: This year the trail was about 20-25 minutes. It was really dark that night and we couldn't see anything -even with a flashlight - that's how dark it can get in the woods- CREEPY!!!!

Actor Performance: The actor performance was way better than last year - the scenes were simply amazing with great detail and great scares. They even had props and things hanging in the woods between scenes. The actors were all on time and really knew their parts.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups but could see a group in the distance coming out screaming which made us wonder if we should turn back

Appropriate Ages: I would recommend 13 and older like their website says.

Props / Special FX: Like I said the props and scenes were awesome!! I loved the movie monster scene and the old christmas house! The two graveyards were detailed so realisticaly. I don't know how the one review could even call it a low-budget haunt?????? What?

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup really fit into every scene. They used a nice variety of makeup, masks and a few other surprises.

Summary: I have been a huge fan of the trail of screams for several years and this year did not disappoint at all. We had just come from the Fear Asylum in belvidere and it was awesome to see the variety in the haunts when you come from an asylum to the creepy woods and not a scene repeated. These guys are truly professionals that deliver a top notch attraction every year. Thanks so much for putting the SCARE in us!! We are planning on going to the Screamatorium next weekend! 
GREAT JOB GUYS!!!!

4 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gothblu2   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: if you follow the signs you shouldnt have a problem. you will see a blinking sign at the camp drive

Wait Entertainment: we arrived early so i didnt see any wait entertainment but the creepiness of the camp really was enough

Length of Event: it was about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: All the actors were excellent. they knew what they were doing and really scared us to death. all of them stayed in character from beginning to end.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we didnt run into anyone else on the trail but by time we came out they had a long line.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and older

Props / Special FX: OMG-the buildings were so real looking -great detail and lighting along the hole trail. (far from a lowbudget haunt - dont know where that came from). very professional and made you feel like you were in another world.

Costumes / Make-up: all the costumes and makeup were very good - i loved the christmas theme this year and the nun - the makeup and costumes really fit into the scenes perfectly.

Summary: This event was the best indoor-outdoor attraction we have been to. It really sets the bar for scare level, professionalism and intensity. This company really knows how to put on a show. We are definitely going to check their other 2 attractions out.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at