Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
FearFest 2009 (South Beloit, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
13 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: blackskull   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This attraction was very easy to find. they had a big sign up in front which made it easy to see.

Wait Entertainment: The door man was excellent and they had a tv playing scary movies in the wait line. This set the whole theme to the haunt.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes or so. Part of the haunt is pitch black so it takes a little longer. But then other parts you are literally running through.

Actor Performance: WAS EXCELLENT! I won't give much away but the clowns were awesome! One of them had my friend down on the floor screaming hysterically - none of the actors backed down for nothing. They were very intense and up close.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had about 8 in our group and we didn't run into any other groups in the house.

Appropriate Ages: Definitely 13 and older - it was way too intense for any younger.

Props / Special FX: Amazing! The first scene (i don't want to give alot away) really set the mood. I liked how they divided up the themes for the house

Costumes / Make-up: All the actors had great costumes and great makeup - from the gory nurse to the evil clowns - it was an experience never to forget.

Summary: This place was so flipping GREAT- we want to come back again on halloween. If you want to be scared you have to go to the screamatorium. it's worth the price.

7 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gothicskull6   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We came from about an hour away and we didn't have any problems finding this event since we attended it last year. It is very easy to access off of I-90 and follow the signs.

Wait Entertainment: Our group was quite impressed with the set-up of this event. They had 3 different attractions at this location which seemed to offer something for all ages. We heard ALOT of people screaming! The Screamatorium had a tv playing in the waiting line with scary movies -great add on! 

Length of Event: Our group attended the Screamatorium which was put on by the Trail of Screams. I would say it took about 20 minutes to get through this attraction. (I guess it depends on how fast you can run - especially after being chased by a chainsaw maniac clown)  

Actor Performance: We had a group of five people and we were ALL scared to death! All the actors were in-your-face and VERY INTENSE throughout the whole attraction. The clowns in the carnival were scary as H**L. They never backed down and followed us with no stopping. One of the clowns actually had a girl in our group down on the floor screaming hysterically! All the actors did an EXCELLENT job and fit nicely into their scenes. They utilized alot of different type scares which was very impressive. They added ALOT more detail in the scenes than last year and it also complemented the actor performance. This event is definitely worth seeing!  

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Compared to their outdoor attraction with a little longer wait sometimes, the groups here seemed to be moving along with no problem. They had a nice waiting area which added to the whole creepy atmosphere.  
They weren't extremely busy probably because it was so flippin cold (25 degrees)

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't recommend it for 14 and younger due to the intense scenes and some content.

Props / Special FX: OMG!!! they really went all out this year- the scenes are unbelievable (even the new pitch black maze where they had a few surprises). The lighting transition from scene to scene is remarkable and the props are VERY realistic (like the Dentist office, lab and the carnival was unbelievable)! They really had a nice mix of detail, total darkness, hallways and alot of turns and twists. Great use of blacklight effects - AWESOME!!! 

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were very realistic for every scene. Some actors you couldn't even see until they were right in your face! They utilized great special fx makeup and great costumes

Summary: Overall I can't think of a better haunted house we have attended in the past. For their second year they did a remarkable job. This haunt, the actors and the scenes are VERY professional and VERY realistic. We came from Wisconsin to check it out because we have been a huge fan of the Trail of Screams )(and we will definitely be coming back to check that out and hopefully the Fear Asylum!) Thanks so much to the creators, the actors and everyone who made this event well worth the drive and the $10 we paid to get in. We will definitely be telling all our friends. GOOD WORK GUYS!!!

10 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gothchick   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: was right off the highway past Mcdonalds and they had a big lighted sign at the entrance-it was very easy to find

Wait Entertainment: They had a creepy waiting area with a tv playing old horror movies - the ticket guy was really good and set the mood. The girl behind the door really creeped us out

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: VERY GOOD, never came out of character and never once backed down. OMG...the clown had my friend screaming so bad she was huddled in a corner and didn't want to go-GREAT JOB!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into any other groups - the groups were very well spaced.

Appropriate Ages: DEFINITELY NOT FOR 13 AND YOUNGER

Props / Special FX: WERE SO AMAZING!!! The carnival was out of this world! Not to mention the clowns- the medical part of the haunt really creeped us out and the lighting and the different parts where you had to crawl through and the dark tilted hallway and maze were awesome!

Costumes / Make-up: all the actors makeup and costumes were really good. Somem of them were really up in your face so you could really see the great makeup detail.

Summary: If you want to get the crap scared out of you then check it out! You WILL get the s**t scared out of you -THATS A PROMISE - I am definitely checking out Dark Stalkers that they are doing next month!

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: icu2   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find-follow the signs.

Wait Entertainment: we didn't see any wait entertainment but the lines for the screamatorium were long

Length of Event: our group went to the screamatorium and that was about 15 minutes and the barn which was about 8 minutes.

Actor Performance: We were scared to death in the screamatorium. the actors were always in your face and followed you out of the scene. My friend was traumatized by the clowns and she was actually crying. They scared us to death. All the actors were very professional and on their toes. The actors in the barn were not that strong and we were not scared.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: The screamatorium maybe 14 and older and the barn pretty much any age.

Props / Special FX: Great detail in the screamatorium -the clown room was awesome! I loved the mad dentist office and the 3d room in the lower level. The barn had alot of dark areas so i'm not sure if they had alot of detail.

Costumes / Make-up: Very professional with both costumes and makeup. alot of masks were used in the haunted barn.

Summary: The screamatorium was so good this year. We came last year and they really added alot to it. Good job! 
I was disappointed in the barn but maybe it would be better if it was scarier. 

5 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spooky1993   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I am from Wisconsin so we had no problem finding it. There were quite a few people in line for the Screamatorium.

Wait Entertainment: They had a nice covered waiting area which was new from last year and we liked the addition of the tv playing old horror movies. They had this creepy girl behind the entrance door scaring patrons which really set the mood.

Length of Event: Our group went to the screamtorium and it was about 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Oh my FLIPPING GOD!!! All the actors were soooooo scary and VERY INTENSE. The clowns were so great (they were my favorite). The actors were all loud and screaming in your face even over the music. The change from scene to scene made it a nice touch.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We kind of ran into one group only because my friends didnt want to move in the maze and everyone was pushing them to go - it was crazy.

Appropriate Ages: because of some content and intensity I wouldn't recommend under 13 or even 14

Props / Special FX: This year they really added ALOT of detail- amazing scenes and lighting effects! The carnival was KICKASS! We really enjoyed the bottom level which made you feel like you were in an old dungeon. And the toxic room withthe blacklight was AWESOME!!

Costumes / Make-up: All the actors had cool makeup and costumes which complimented the scenes they were in.

Summary: I have to say this is the best haunted house I have been to - I can't wait to see what they add next year -its definitely worth the price and wait. If you want to be scared to death check it out this Halloween season

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at