Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Fear Factory Haunted House (Rantoul, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Once you are in Rantoul signs will lead the way.

Wait Entertainment: There was one clown that would walk up to you and stare at you then just scream and laugh then run away. It was affective on some people.

Length of Event: 14 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors did really well. All seemed to stay in character. Stilt walkers- A+ for being right on top of people. Some small children working in the house. Need a little work with them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Had a guide with a rope most of the way so crowd control was good. Did not run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Some set decorations were great. Lighting

Costumes / Make-up: Some make-up and some masks. Only a couple of them stood out- mainly stilt walkers.

Summary: Overall Fear Factory is consistant year after year. We wanted to do a couple of houses that night so we opted for upgrading our scream passes that we bought earlier in the season. Fast pass was $20.00 all together each. Some scenes that really stood out was "I am going to eat your liver" scene with a huge guy with an axe. You seemed to get everyone in our group. Just a great "uncomfortable" feeling. Loved it. Stilt walkers were great they made my group jump a couple of times. My only grip is haunters screaming and yelling in peoples ears, there seem to be a lot at Fear Factory this year. But, overall a great haunt that we add to our schedule year after year. Definetly worth visiting. These guys are Halloween and scares fanatics and ALWAYS put on a great show!! Great job guys!

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: loudpipes98   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty good white van with flashing lights and a big sign on route 45

Wait Entertainment: Wasnt any that I could see except for the palm reading lady

Length of Event: 30 or so min to get through it all

Actor Performance: Decent ...some of the younger actors were annoying with there little RAWRS the room with the trees in it comes to mind....the devil like room was pretty good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My group I think ran a little slow . Almost stoping at points. But it alowed us to see the rooms alot better and all the new details

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: It looks like they went all out this year giveing alot of rooms intire make overs with alot of new props and animatronics like said in anouther review i read about this haunt this is where the haunt shined

Costumes / Make-up: alot of make up this year compaired to just masks like years past and everything fit into its place

Summary: Alot of New stuff at this haunt with 5-6 new rooms as well as new props.There actors were average but It was only there second night open so the actors need to get into the groove of things. As in years past it has got better as the month goes on and the weekend of halloween they are usualy at the top of there game.Two rooms that stuck out the most was there new devil room with the real fire And the addition of a moveing wall in anouther room. Room that i thought was a hit last year was the plexy glass room with the wierd grudge girl in it.

13 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kimbro   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find once you get to route 45. A big sign was next flashing lights. The front of the Fearfactory has a large painting of their logo.

Wait Entertainment: They did not provide any that I saw except for a palm reader that was set-up in front of the haunted house

Length of Event: I believe it was 14 minutes

Actor Performance: Some actors were on que, but the majority missed there mark. One actor did not have a mask when we came to his room. They all were appropriate for the room they were in. Nice mix of kids and adults.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good, did not run into any other groups. We were led by a guide 3/4 of the way. I feel if they get busier the pace will be to slow

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: This is where the Haunt was the best. Great props that were hand picked not bought at a Halloween shop.

Costumes / Make-up: Great also seemed authentic, again not simply bought at a Halloween store. The make-up was put on not to many masked.

Summary: Great parking right in front of the Haunted House. No line haunts bummer. No waiting because it early in the season, I believe it was their second night. The actors have not yet hit their stride. The ticket seller was little rude maybe he had a bad day at work seemed like he did not want to be there. The overall look of the haunted house was great. It was an old building and it smelled inside like old stuff. If fit the part of a haunted house. Not to give to much away but, the actual flames coming out of the wall was great. The tall guys in that room really got me, nice misdirection. The slide is really a drop. The slim gunk on the wall was gross. In one room sparks shot out of a screen. Overall I was not scared, they did give a few shock moments glad it was two for one night. I might have been disapointed if I paid full price. I am sure as the season continues they will secure the actors timing and intensity.

7 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mark101   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The road leading off of the main drag had flashing lights showing you where to turn. Information for tickets and entrance to actual line for event could have been better marked, or posted.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't wait that long, so I can't really give a good review.

Length of Event: The walk through took about 15-20 minutes at a slow pace. I liked that we were not aware of what was coming because it was a guided tour(albeit with a silent tour guide), instead of self lead, and bunched up groups.

Actor Performance: There were some good performances(Jason, SAW),some really good performances(the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) room), and a couple of poor ones(gorrilla looking costumes). The constant use of "GET OUT" as also heard at almost every haunted event, was overused.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: At slow pace, with enough time to enjoy the props, and scenery.

Appropriate Ages: Aside from the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) room, it was fine for 12, and up.

Props / Special FX: You can see that since this is a location that is reused every year, that there is a lot more attention to detail.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes are fine, nothing special for the most part, but that is not necessarily a bad thing because I would rather the costumes not be overthought, and more added to the complexity of the actors' personalities.

Summary: I attend quite a few haunted attractions, and this one(as a single attraction)rates very good, even against the likes of King's Island, and Busch Gardens(which I have been to both this year). My only suggestion would be that since this is a permanent location for this haunt, there should be more elements surrounding the actual haunt(i.e. scary movies playing, a faux wax museum,etc.).

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: you_boo   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Their was a big sign

Wait Entertainment: There was a girl doing palm readings, but she wasn't in line. She was next to the ticket counter. In the actual line there was a old scary movie playing. The line late-out was great, put you in the mood.

Length of Event: 20-25min

Actor Performance: Kids did good. The screaming and yelling got a little old though. We could hear them before we entered the room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, didn't see any other groups. Had to stop once in awhile, but it just let us enjoy the awesome decorations between rooms.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: The rooms were designed very well. Had a great amount of detail. The hallways between rooms had just as much detail. The "hell" room was pretty cool. Well done with the special FXs.

Costumes / Make-up: Not many masks, most actors had actual makeup on. Kids didn't have much make-up.

Summary: This is the second time I have visited this haunt. They changed it up from two years ago(when I went the first time) and I liked it better this time. The ending really gets you. I really enjoyed the last 10min of the haunt. I think that overall the detail was amazing and you could tell that they put in a lot of effort, it is evident in every room and the hall ways. The only thing is that the overall haunt was a little too "bright". There was only one time when it was pitch dark. Great job overall and like I said I love the ending!

8 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scareme09   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find based on the direction map I downloaded off Fear Factory website. The location is in the heart of downtown and on the a major route of Illinois. They had a large sign right at the entrance. Parking is huge and free. The Fear Factory is 1 min from turning onto the street. The building is location right on the street and walking from parking was about 2-3 minutes.

Wait Entertainment: They had a lame hearse with a kid inside. The sound effects coming from the hearse was o.k. As far as line entertainment, none to speak of. A lady was set up doing palm readings but she had no costume. The line wait was only 20 people deep it seemed a little slow.

Length of Event: The event lasted about 10 minutes. The pace was guided by a guide and rope. Did not run into any other groups. The length would have been shorter if we had not stopped in the room that had the big trees in it. It seemed like we were in that room for about 2 minutes standing in one place while what seemed like 2 kids in moss suites just walked around.

Actor Performance: Majority of the actors were kids especially at the end. The kids were using loud screaming techniques. Not saying anything just screaming at the top of lungs. The timing was either late centered at the last person in our group or they were to early. At times they completely missed the group so when you turned around to see why the room was empty the actor popped out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It flowed as good as can be expected with not many people to go through. The design of the fear factory inside was the best thing about it. You do need a guide because you are going through several rooms zig zaggin all around. Each room is not so easy to navigate if you were going in by yourself. In one room we went through a bookshelf. Make sure you were proper shoes as we went up stairs and walked over wood crates. Stepping on matresses and other uneven surfaces.

Appropriate Ages: I believe any child of the age of 8 and up could attend. Because the only scares were a few actors popping out of the wall. Other than that loud noise and screams is all they had.

Props / Special FX: Flames shooting out of pillars was good not scary but good. The flames allowed us to see the actors on stilts were wearing rubber mask again not scary. The decor was authentic with old clothes and funiture It made the fear factory seem rustic. A great bases for a haunted house. They had a plane in one room but the acting around it was weak. A man in a orange jump shoot yelling aw. In one room you saw spark but again it was after we passed it. The slide or drop was not good. Be careful when landing have your feet and knees ready for the very hard impact. True they have a mattress at the bottom. But, all that does is spring you forward to hit the wall. I saw a girl get hurt. My suggestion is to take it out the liability is not worth it.

Costumes / Make-up: All the costumes seemed to fit the room they were in. The make was painted on. We saw some mask.

Summary: Each scare was to far and between. No misdirection with one major attempt to scare you following by a very weak attempt. Which does not work after they had exposed they haunt. Very preditable with the scares or you saw them standing there. I have gone to this one several years and it seems that they are just reusing the same rooms with not major of minor changes. The direction we entered this year was the same as last year. The first 3-4 rooms were the same. The same forest, the same stairs, the same slide. The same props from last year like baby in the baby pin with the head turning around. The same maze and the same lame kids at the end part. And of course the chainsaw. Well I guess the chainsaw must be a mandatory for most haunted houses. My suggestion for the fear factory would be to change it up completely. You guys have not been the same since the 2 story one many years ago. I've read about the ticket guy being rude in the previous review. I want to mention that I too witness his attitude when that person got hurt and tried to talk to him. He presented a very rude response to her. If he is going to be with the public he needs tp get the stick out. Overall if the fear factory is going to be great again they need to start over and find the passion that they started with. Get it right next year and I will give it another try.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at