Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
11 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tevans69   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I've been coming to this haunted house for years so for me it's really not hard to miss. I mean it's right passed manito you come up to some tracks, not hard to miss at all.

Wait Entertainment: The clown is definitely entertaining and does his job scaring the clown-a-phobes. The lady on the hayrack giving a little history is also very entertaining.

Length of Event: It took us about 2 hours to do all 3 attractions, but we were not bored any minute of it.

Actor Performance: The actors were ridiculously great. I especially enjoyed the murderer in the hostel scene with his growl-like thing he does. I thought he was phenominal, and he never left character and really scared the crap out of me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I've never run into anyone else in an attraction before, they know how space out the groups very well.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone had a mask or makeup on and even the people with just makeup were terrifying. All the hostel murderer had was makeup and a surgical mask thing and he was the most terrifying person there!

Summary: Overall this is the best house I've been to yet this year. This is truly grade A work the people here do and what makes it that much better is that everyone that works here is volunteer so it's really great to see people wanting to scare this badly. I have to say my favorite scene was the Hostel scene (the first one in the basement). They came out of nowhere to scare you which was great, and as I said the murderer at the end of it was spectacular. He needs an acting award or something. Phenomenal.

8 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Super   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not really any signs but it's a small town so we didn't have any trouble finding it. We turned at the Post Office like the ad said and pow it was right there. Takes up the whole block so np.

Wait Entertainment: Not a long wait and there was this creepy guy with a machete messing with us. Scared my friend really good. There was also scary movies on a TV in the basement you could watch while you ate.

Length of Event: All total we were there almost two hours. There are 3 attractions, all of them are long and then you can eat and there was a booth where you could buy Tye Dye T Shirts. Not sure how long we were inside each haunted house or the trail but probably at least 30 minutes on each one.

Actor Performance: Kudos to all the people working. Great scares. Everyone in our group had a blast. Definately coming back and bringing more friends. Bloody Valentine guy was awesome. Loved the Butcher, The Barn and the Chainsaws and Kane...OMG...10 pts for that one.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't run into anyone but there wasn't a big crowd when we were there.

Appropriate Ages: Not sure. I saw kids there but some of the scenes are pretty graphic. I'd say 13 and up maybe.

Props / Special FX: These guys are into darkness and mazes so I didn't see a lot of props but the ones I did see were high quality and were put to good use. There was a guy who set himself on fire....A+++ for that one...awesome, a puking man, dropping props and a cool cemetery walk thru.

Costumes / Make-up: There were a lot of good costumes...some average ones too, but for the most part again, we all liked the make up jobs and costumes used.

Summary: There wasn't anything we weren't happy with. All three attractions were top notch scares. The House of Blood was really intense, especially the basement Hostel scene and the kid gutting a rat. The staff was especially friendly. Very willing to talk and explain things to us since we were new to this event. The museum was cool and was free. Great eats. Definately coming back this year and adding it to my list of must see haunts. Great job for a small town and a non profit.

16 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is the second year that we have traveled to Forrest City. It was not hard to find for us. There are no signs directing you to the Haunted Houses from Route 136. Mainly have to look for the lights. Definitely use MapQuest for directions.

Wait Entertainment: A few monsters here and there. There was a "historian" on the hayrack ride from the haunted to church to the other attractions that was entertaining to listen to. Would have like to seen more.

Length of Event: My group was in Forrest City for 2 hours. Waiting in line total was about 45 minutes. Haunted Church 15 minutes, Haunted Trail 20 minutes, and second Haunted House 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors chose an "in you face" approach. Which is some of the best scares that you could have. Every actor stayed in character inside the events.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into any groups inside the events. They seemed to have the flow of people down.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up. I would not recommend this event for small children. With the scare style that we experienced, I was surprised that some adults were making it through.

Props / Special FX: Not alot of high money ticket items; but a lot of home grown items. Just simple things like mattresses and foam in the ground that gave you and erie but made it fun walking through. I give kudos to Forrest City for being able to provide scares in this fashion for the past 19 years.

Costumes / Make-up: Some masks and some make up. On the make-up side, I would have to say "Kane", was excellent. I have to say at first I thought it was a mask then noticing it was the actor in make-up. He made you feel a little uncomfortable which was an added treat.

Summary: Overall, Nice Job! Spending a couple of hours at a cost of $15.00 is a great bargain. The cast and crew all seemed friendly and the cast of monsters and killers gave patrons what they were looking for: Great Scares. I am not a person that get scared in haunted houses; but I did have a few startles here and there. My favorite event was the Haunted Trail, and within the "The Barn"- to the actorin that area: great job in sneaking up behind people. Forrest City gave my group of traveling ex-haunters a reason to keep it on our list for next year! Good Job Guys!!!

14 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: we went last year, so had an idea. Very small town should not be hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Big guy with a machete..all over my friend..very heavy breathing.

Length of Event: we were there for 2 hours

Actor Performance: These guys work hard!!! Very intense haunt. It is the cast that makes these haunts great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Nice spacing, never ran into a group in all 3 events.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Well done. A true scare house. Effective rooms with out all the numatic (pffft) props.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice to see make up under the masks to hide the skin. The serial killer did not have a mask on and looked amazingly scary.

Summary: Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic. We all had a blast. The best haunt so far of the year. DO NOT MISS THIS!!! Kudos to the actors, so in your face. This is not for the meak haunted house goers. The Barn maze freaked us out. The House of Blood..come on..special kudos to the little rat kid in my face and the guy in the maze that was with us the whole time!!!! Was going to give a 9 for the rating..but no way. You guys deserve a big fat 10. Thank you for a great night!! Oh yea..and only $15.00.

7 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sweetkisses4   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its good the only thing that someone not from the area might have trouble finding the house across the tracks.

Wait Entertainment: excellent

Length of Event: not sure was to scared to look at watch

Actor Performance: excellent_ my fav would have to be the crazy butch in the house of dead(the one across the tracks) scared the h*** out of me. cant forget to mention the crazy hillbilly that sets hisself on fire.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: when i was there there wasnt very many people

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: great

Costumes / Make-up: scarey kane gives me the creeps

Summary: i would say its the best way to spend 15. and that gets u into all the attractions. the trail was great you never knew what was goin to pop out at you.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/31/09 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is the same every year, somewhat hard to find until you know where to go. Non-lighted road sign. This little town makes a great setting, large old grain elevators and train tracks to cross in the dark town. The new (2nd year) remote haunted house is also interesting to get to with the hayrack ride.

Wait Entertainment: Not much here to talk about, the haunted house people walk outside and work as crowd people. There are fires burning at both locations to set around and keep warm by, concession stand at main house.

Length of Event: 15 minutes at main house, 13 minutes on the trai, and 10 minutes in the second haunted house - not too bad!

Actor Performance: Actors all did a good job and everyone stayed on their mark. I think more people might be needed, but overall not too bad.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: People moved throughout each event very well and we had no other groups to run into, however at our time the crowd was very weak.

Appropriate Ages: Maybe we will push 10 years plus on this one, the highest I have marked all year.

Props / Special FX: Standard static props with nothing that really stands out, some interesting home made stuff though. No special effects, it would be nice to add some to this attraction.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were good and everything worked with their setting. The masks and make-up wasn't too bad.

Summary: The final Haunted attraction for me this year and it was pretty good, a good close out this year. This attraction is slowly getting back to the mega-show of years ago, 1995 thru 1997. There is still lots of work to be done but they are on the right track now. The remote haunted house with an old barn are great, lots of great surroundings to look at and great mood set. The trail was very good and everything went off as it was staged, much better than last years. The main house improved also with less maze stuff and more action packed. I didn't see a major problem with the stair grabber or the foam floors, but I can see where an old woman might not like this. The characters also put you in the action of the house with the chainsaw touching your shoe or in your face (right in your face, I accidently head butted one of the creatures - too close here) scares. However; all-in-all a great haunted attraction to close out on, we all had a good time and we will try this again next year. Well worth the $15.00 for an arm band, they should make this standard weekly. The horror display in the basement is nice, if you like that sort of think, and there's no charge. See you next year, keep up the work and yes this time don't run out of gas on the hayrack ride, very enjoyable!

4 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Batgirl   (Event Visited: 10/31/09 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I wish there would have been a few more signs saying fright night along the road, but otherwise it was really easy to find and the parking wasn't far away.

Wait Entertainment: At first I was in line for awhile bored then as I was next to go in the first creepy clown came out and walked by our group scaring each one of us. He rubbed my hair and said "You'll fit right in". It really freaked me out. Then the second clown with the knife popped out of nowhere and started breathing on us which was also freaky. The noises they had playing wasn't that good and annoyed us more than it scared us.

Length of Event: The church was about 40 minutes long and we weren't brave enough for the other attractions.

Actor Performance: It was really convincing and none of them dropped out of character even for a second.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Timing was good, we didn't run into any groups and groups didn't run into us.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 12 and up would be best

Costumes / Make-up: The actors makeup was well done and realistic.

Summary: After the clowns, we went inside the church. Honestly most of the first few actors I didn't see because I was screaming with my eyes shut. But when we were walking through part of it we tripped up a step which scared us and right after we tripped we heard someone say "Watch your step" and laugh at us which made us run faster. Through the next dark hallway the slide really scared us because we really didn't expect it. Then in one of the rooms I saw the actors drink and it made the monster a whole lot less scary which disappointed me. In the last room the squishy floor really scarred us as well and made it hard for us to get away, which scared us more. Then once we thought we were finally safe the clown with the knife chased us to the end of the block, which,if timed,I would have won the olympics. Then we rode the hayrack ride. We were really disappointed with it because we weren't even scared by it, we expected a monster to chase us or the headless horseman to pop out, but nothing happened. At the house we walked back to the entrance of the trail but we turned around and on the way back a monster popped over the fence and scared us again. Which made me loose my voice, so it was one of the best scares other than the clowns. Then we went to the witches cafe, which was the worst place of the night. The cashiers were sort of rude and then once we were filling out reviews my friend opened the lid to her lemon shakeup and a ladybug crawled out. She threw it away immediatley and we went to looking at the cool movie props. So overall the night was a horrifying amazing experience and I can't wait till next year.

9 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jrgdsp07   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This was our second time going to forest city. The sign they had visible was not easy to see as I passed the street.

Wait Entertainment: There were monsters scattered here and there. I enjoyed listening to the lady on the hayrack ride.

Length of Event: My group didnt have to wait in line at all.

Actor Performance: The actors were in your face,but they were also touching you and pulling on our legs as we went up some stairs, which caused me to stumble and hit my arm. I didnt think actors in any haunted house were allowed to touch you. Also at the end the actor with the chain saw....was running it up my daughters arm which was not appreciated. Again I thought DO NOT TOUCH? Also at the very end I had a bad accident running out of the house I fell from the top of the stairs and landed on the sidewalk.I was in alot of pain.Word of advice ... these actors should not be touching us as we walk through and with the chainsaws dont touch us with them and DONT put them in our faces, it scared me to the point I got hurt bad.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of people was done well.

Appropriate Ages: I certainly DO NOT recommend this for anyone under 13.

Props / Special FX: The special effects were homemade items not high ticket items. They were well thought out

Costumes / Make-up: The masks and makeup were very good. I enjoyed Kane and the clown he was funny.

Summary: Overall due to falling down the stairs, my daughter being touched by the chainsaw, my leg getting grabbed and hitting my arm I was disappointed I've never had anything like this happen to us at any other haunted house ever.

24 out of 52 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can't say for sure since I didn't drive, but the town isn't that large. Wait for the tractor will a trailer full of people to go by and follow that. 

Wait Entertainment: Yep. They did a good job here. The heavy breather guy and clown were great.  
Even though the little girl who came out and lisped that she could thee in all the fog, wasn't wait entertainment, it was very cute and entertaining.

Length of Event: I can't say individually, but for all the attractions it took our group over 2hrs. 2 FUN HOURS!

Actor Performance: These guys are great. I was especially impressed with the detective and serial killer. Could have been cheesy, but it was quite fun!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into anyone in any of the attractions. We did have one of our group run off and leave us in the maze. He ran far ahead of us!!

Appropriate Ages: Teens would probably love this, but anyone younger...I just think that is a no-no.

Props / Special FX: I liked everything. They didn't have a lot of high dollar spec fx, but I liked what they did.

Costumes / Make-up: Great mix! Everything was appropriate with the sets.

Summary: My friends went to this last year and I didn't get to go. They all talked about how great it was and they agree it was better this year. Speaking for myself, I had a blast!! It was scary, well thought out and just plain fun! And a GREAT VALUE for the price. I would recommend this place to everyone.

3 out of 7 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: boogeyman31   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Forest City is a very small town so I was able to find this place with no problems

Wait Entertainment: There is a Horror Museum and old Horror Flicks playing in the snackbar area. As far as waiting in line there is a very large very bloody man with a real machete who taunts and torments you while you wait, that seemed to make the waiting time disappear.

Length of Event: There are 3 attractions 2 haunted houses and a a huanted trail after it was all said and done we spent about 2 hours with each attraction taking about 20 to 25 minutes to get thru.

Actor Performance: A mix of talent here there were really great actors who put alot of time and effort into their roles a special props to the See No Evil scene I wasnt expecting that!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was no clogging or congestion when we went thru and they were busy at that time.

Appropriate Ages: I would def not bring my young children to this there are some graphic spots and lots of blood.

Props / Special FX: Good use of darkness and strobe lights making navigation of the mazes even more difficult and the natural lighting in the barn was a nice touch. There are times in all the attractions where you may have to crawl or climb to escape, a very nice touch.

Costumes / Make-up: The costume ideas were well thought up actors who were playing victims were bloody and looked like the were just in a car wreck.

Summary: Overall we had a blast everyone was friendly except for the butcher guy he wouldn't leave my date alone. The price is very fair the entertainment is High and everyone is a volunteer from what I understand. The concept of an actual house being the attraction starting at the basement was a nice and new twist to my list of haunts I visit this time of year. Its def worth your time and money to check it out.

4 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BMTH08   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Haunted House is in a small town which adds to the scare factor! You actually feel like you're going to be murdered! Great Atmosphere!

Wait Entertainment: The clown at the main house is the best!! He's so scary! And the guy with the machetti, both very entertaining.

Length of Event: We were there for about an hour and a half

Actor Performance: All the actors stayed in costume the whole time. VERY impressed with the basement scene, Hostel is a very scary scene!! All the actors did VERY well!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups at all, the flow was very well maintained.

Appropriate Ages: 13+, saw a kid come crying out of the Hostel scene, VERY INTENSE!!

Props / Special FX: Very improved from last year!

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the costumes and make-up I haven't even seen at any other haunted houses, VERY original!

Summary: This house is definitely worth the drive! All attractions are only $15!! Cheapest house i've been to yet! If you had to pick one house to go to...I'd pick this one! You'll have nightmares!

2 out of 7 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hotlips77   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There needs to be signs. Especially if you have not been there before.

Wait Entertainment: There are a couple of creepy things. A clown and a butcher follow you. And if they see your scared you might as well forget it they will get you coming and going.

Length of Event: I think that each attreaction was about 15 to 20 mins long once inside each attraction.

Actor Performance: The actors were great. No one left character. Needs a little more blood in Carrie or something to define it as the Carrie scene. 

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It really was not busy for the attraction to have back but I think they have it down if it were to get super busy.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Not to many special effects. Strobes, black lights and dummies.

Costumes / Make-up: Blood, Blood, Blood. The make up was great and some good masks

Summary: Kain and the police was awesome. The girl with no eyes needs to scream a little more but it was a good scene. The guy catching on fire was cool. I am glad its not me getting thrown around. The clowns were scary. The rat kid was discusting. And the actors touching you well that is enough to freak anyone out. Its that a haunted house rule no no. OH WELL It was great. I had fun.

4 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: moomy   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good but i know where its at iv been going every year

Wait Entertainment: not long at all

Length of Event: each one is 30 to 40 mins long

Actor Performance: the actors were very good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we didnt run into anyone eles ..the only time we did was when a person was to scare to move

Appropriate Ages: 13yrs and up

Props / Special FX: the props were great and the special fx were good to

Costumes / Make-up: everyone was in great costumes and make up made them look so real

Summary: i would go aain year after year i love the scare .and the dark mazes all the actors were great and stayed in thier sceans..leathe face scared me so bad i almost missed the steps.the girl in the dark maze telling me to get ou of house was scareydidnt know when or where she would pop up .

2 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Raven   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: When we entered the city of Forest City there were no signs to lead us to the haunted house,we ended up driving out of the town before we realized we must have passed it.We had to call the haunted house to ask for directions. We the turned back around and missed it again.It wasn't very visible once we finally found it,we just asumed that was the place because it had a few lights and cars infront of it..

Wait Entertainment: They had a place where you could sit down and eat and get warm.There was also a small museum displaying actual screenplays and props from some famous horror films.There was also a small gift shop selling suvineres. The atomosphere and people were very friendly and helpful.

Length of Event: There were actually 3 attractions you could go throught.A haunted church,A haunted trail and another haunted house Called the house of blood.So the length of the event was fair

Actor Performance: Well you could tell that a lot of the actors were amature(the lady told us they were volunteers.)Some were good and did really good jobs scaring us.But I did notice some of the actors were not in costume and were wearing regular street clothes,thier faces weren't even painted.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There wern't to many people in the same attraction at one time so you could easily move through the attractions without much trouble.

Props / Special FX: A lot of thier props were also very amature.There were some good ones but there were a few you could tell they didn't really spend to much time on

Costumes / Make-up: There were some great costumes but like i said above there were actors who weren't even dressed up.

Summary: Most haunted house I go to have really cool metal rock music as a background effect.And this usually gets you pumped and ready to go in,as I was saying to a friend before we went in.I didn't really get that from this place,they didn't have music and it was really quiet,and you didn't hear any screaming as you were waiting in line,so I thinking to myself that maybe it wasn't going to be scary.When I left each attraction I wasn't really scared like I wanted to be.There were times when a few things caught me off guard,but that was it.But all in all if you like haunted houses this is a fairly good one.But I wouldn't recommend it for real thrill seekers.But they did good for what they had to work with

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at