Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon of Terror (Mazon, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
15 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tinytammy25   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is easy to find and well marked once you get into town. This might be a little harder to find for people who are not familiar with the area though.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was awesome as they interacted with the crowd. The costumes were neat but as a routine customer, they were the same as last year.

Length of Event: Approximately 10 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors and actresses were great and always in roll. They were on time for resetting the scenes so it was like you were the only ones there.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was great as we never saw another group in front of us nor behind us. It was almost like being in there alone.

Appropriate Ages: I think each person is different but the average 10 year old and above is probably able to handle this haunt.

Props / Special FX: The scenes were done up very nice and all new looking. I especially like the raging dog scene which is a first I have ever seen...way to be creative.

Costumes / Make-up: I costumes were done well. Each person's costume fit well within their scene and the make-up look as real-like as can be.

Summary: I would for surely recommend this haunt. For such a small town they have almost everything a big town haunted house has and more as each year they seem to get better. I think the outside wait line costumes need to be updated but other than I think they do an awesome job at scaring most people and keeping you in suspense as to what is coming up next. The best part is they are not as expensive as some of the other haunts and that really makes it even that much better in these economic times! Kudos to you Mazon!

10 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: clownfreak   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I have been going to this haunted house every year for a while now so it was obviously easy for my to find. I think that it is in a good location right "downtown", Mazon is a small towm so it would be hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: Once again, it did not let me down. The always have many different charaters outside. This year there was a chainsaw guy, the Hellraiser guy, a couple different others and my personal favorite, the clown! Clowns freak me out anyway but this one always goes above and beyond, chasing down cars, following ppl into the building... it has to be the same guy because every year we go he is the most entertaining.

Length of Event: 10- 15 mins

Actor Performance: The performances were good, ppl seemed to stay in charater. Although it seemed like there were more ppl working when we went last year. The only complaint that I might have is that they have cameras in the lobby and you could see some of the charaters in what I later saw as the asylum room, drinking pop and messing around between groups. I don't think that they realized everyone could see them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is the first year that I can remember catching up to the group in front of us. Seemed like ppl weren't moving through as quickly as the workers expected them too.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 10 and up. Altough I did see some ppl with smaller childen in line. I also saw some teenagers in tears so I guess you should use your own judgement.

Props / Special FX: Again awesome! What the may have lacked for ppl this year the made up for with props. Hands down the best part was the scary dog! I can't even describe how evil it looked!

Costumes / Make-up: All good. realistic and scary!

Summary: Once again, I loved it! Mazon does a great job every year. It always has new and exciting changes to see. This years best change was the dog by far. The outside entertainment was excellent once again. They always seem to be very into their roles. I would reccomend this haunted house. It's easy to find a resonably priced at just $7 ea. I looked forward to next year!

11 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: haunted91   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find! There were signs that led to everywhere from every direction. It is in a very small, farming town. Adds to the creepiness.

Wait Entertainment: There has always been awesome enteratinment outside and it is continuing to be this way. There was a chainsaw guy outside as well as a creepy goblin guy and a ver animated clown.

Length of Event: 15 minutes to depending on how long groups move throughout the haunted house.

Actor Performance: HIGH ENERGY AND FRIGHTING SCARE! I have always been impressed with the actors and actresses performances within the Dugeon of Terror. They seem to be very taking thier job very seriously and scare very well. Even the little kids do a great job scaring everybody.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Depends, but you have time to see every detail of the house.

Appropriate Ages: Depends.

Props / Special FX: The Closterphobic Bags are a great asset to the house. The truck is a new attraction within the haunted house. Of course, the larger than life dog. Great Scare!

Costumes / Make-up: THE MAKE UP IS THE BEST I HAVE SEEN WITHIN THE HOUSE. Awesome airbrush and scar techniques.

Summary: First off, the haunted house has a ton of maze within it. It adds to the suspense and scare factor of the house which is high. Devil room is a great start because the rules are read in a scary way. Following the rules, there are several themed rooms Detist, Spill Your Guts Room, and of course Clowns. I want to leave a mystery about the rest of the rooms so you can come check it out for yourself.

11 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: masterhaunt   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find had signs posted

Wait Entertainment: Clowns music window displays and lights

Length of Event: Approximately 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Insane Asylum was awesome, Girl jumping from walls was very scary. Clown room was disturbing, Hallways are dark and narrow making it more scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into previous group

Appropriate Ages: Not for small children or those who scare easily

Props / Special FX: Dog was AMAZING

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was done great and the clowns were scary

Summary: Would HIGHLY recommend this haunted house, but so not go if you scare easily. For a small town and a low price definetely worth the time it took to get there. The people and kids do a great jjob and the town should be very proud of what they have done

6 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: twetyz1   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's in Downtown Mazon, so hard to miss. Plus just follow the signs that are at the intersections.

Wait Entertainment: Love Em!! There are Numerous Characters to help keep you entertained while waiting. They like to get you while you are getting out of your car as well. There is also a tend on site to purchase food/beverages.

Length of Event: 10 +/- minutes.

Actor Performance: Very well done. Always in character inside and out of the Haunted House.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great! They allow enough time between patrons so that you don't catch up to the people in front of you nor do the people behind you.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: LOVED the dog!! And there are a few "Shocking" experiences as you feel your way through!

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done!

Summary: I HIGHLY recommend attending this attraction! For a small town with a limited budget this is a GREAT Haunted House to go to. They definitely get their Scare on!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at