Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Dungeon 2009 (Rantoul, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
16 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: House was easy to find by following the signs to the downtown business area in Rantoul.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of ghouls jumping here and there at waiting patrons. A 45 pound boa was a nice touch to creep people out also.

Length of Event: 13 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were on cue for the first person in the group; but stayed in character for the others in the group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into one other group; but they were lost at a dead end. A door that had a sump pump behind it. They were ahead of us; but decided to go first in front of them.

Appropriate Ages: 12 +

Props / Special FX: This house is set in a basement, it is dark, confusing, and the floors were wet. It added to the uneasy feeling.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks.

Summary: My group really likes visiting this haunted house. The setting of the house in a dark and damp basement really adds to the experience. Actors need to wait and scare the middle patrons instead of always jumping on the first person. Alot of uneven floors and stepping up and and stepping down, it gives you a workout. Great job this year!!

11 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: smallsisme2   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I thought having the haunted dungeon in the basement of a pet shop added another level of creepyness! There were clearly labeld signs around Rantoul and a huge banner in the front of the entrance. We had no problem findng it.

Wait Entertainment: Between the scarecrow and Michael Myers we were scared and they got us really pumped to go in.

Length of Event: It took us about 15 min to ge throgh. They have some really well thought out mazes that take some time to get through!

Actor Performance: The Zombie room was amazing. I have never heard some of my frieds scream so loud. The personality of those actors really brought the room to life. The clown on the swing was really scary and made me feel like we really were in a twisted circs world.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups were well spaced. They gave us ropes and we were our own guide. I liked that, because we never knew what we were walking into.

Appropriate Ages: I don't think I would take small children here. 10 and up would be ok I think.

Props / Special FX: Several of the rooms had extensive themes and props. The circus room was awesme with the swing and bubble machine.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone was really scary, however I was more impressed with the themes and props then I was the costumes.

Summary: Awesome Haunt. I would like to go back again before the end of the season. After we left, my frieds and I talked about everything we saw... sounds like there was more to see then what I had seen.  
 
When we came out of the basement, we hung around and watched other groups come out scared! The last room has a chainsaw guy who busts in. So we could stand outside and watch it happen to other groups. Realy great!

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Downtown on the square.

Wait Entertainment: Boa Constrictor brushing up againts me was enough.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors are good at this haunt. Always in character. Monsters in the cage were great..very effective scare!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Spaced out well. We ran into a group trapped in the maze huddling in the corner.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Rooms are effective with out having to go over the top with special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks, but good masks!!

Summary: I really like this haunt. The setting in the basement is unsettling. I found last years to be a bit more intense, but it was still great and can't wait to visit next year!! Keep up the "Scare House" mentality!!

7 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: illinfan4   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: in the middle of town, but had good amount of signs to point you in the right direction to find it.

Wait Entertainment: wait entertainment was great! They had a few scarers outside chasing people either weaiting to come in or as they were leaving.

Length of Event: Lasted 20-25 minutes, good amount of time!

Actor Performance: actorsd were good! There were a few that seemed to be going through the motions but there were more people doing a great job that you overlooked the not so good actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good spacing between groups. Was a busy place when I was there, and we never bumped into anybody in front or behind us.

Appropriate Ages: 15 & up

Props / Special FX: music was awesome, they had some rooms with specific music and room decor set a good mood!

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes and make-up was good as well. You could tell they took time to get ready for the show.

Summary: Overall, my wife and I had a great time in the Haunted Dungeon. I would rate it an 8 out of 10. It was dark, had plenty of people hiding in mazes ready to scare you and the rooms looked like they had taken some thought into what they wanted to do. I would recommend this haunted house for anybody that is looking for a good one to go through on a Friday or Saturday night.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at