Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Terror on the Square (Petersburg, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
4 out of 7 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: pogecko78   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: West on square from the Court House.

Wait Entertainment: Simulated Coffin. It really feels like you are traveling down the road and being burried alive. Way Cool.

Length of Event: Timed it from the time we payed, to walking down the steps it was aobut 17 mins long.

Actor Performance: from the tour guide to all the actors of the haunt, they were very professional, did they hire them from Hollywood? They were always on cue, scared the living daylights out of everyone from room to room. When you least expect it they were there in your face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: With the help of a tour guide it followed better than expected. Heard screaming from other groups, however never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 8 & Up

Props / Special FX: They weren't kidding around with the illusions... Seamed like every other room had some special affect. The detail from the time you were in line to pay till the end... Good Job!

Costumes / Make-up: Very well put together.

Summary: Over all...The haunt was great from time you to payed till the end at the Gift shop, and Gift shop? who else has one of these that sells more that water and soda. The kids had to get glow in the dark cups, t-shirts, & some monster mints or something like that. Its a cheap price for a great Haunt. I know I have paid more for less other places. These guys really can put on a scare...

7 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: canderson64   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Love the old town setting!

Wait Entertainment: Great. Love the Gift shop!

Length of Event: perfect, not too long and definitely not too short

Actor Performance: They were great! they were very creepy and hid in the corners, popped down from the ceilings and did exactly what i would have expected them to do!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellet and very well Organized!

Appropriate Ages: Though i did not bring my children i think that most children over the age of 10 would be fine!

Props / Special FX: these were Great! Very scary! Love the elevator and the tiny hallway with the strobe lights!

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent! Very Scary!

Summary: Best Haunted House I've ever been to!! I will continue to go back for years to come! This was my first year and I will bring more people with me next year! Very Scary, more scary than Jaycees ever was. Love all the props and the actors were great! for people to come and wait in line around the corner, it has to be good!

10 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dpriddy   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: On the square in Petersburg... pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Not that great... I usually come here every year with a group of friends (we go to all the haunted houses in the area). This year they didnt have anything here other than a coffin ride tha you pay $3 for (apparently you have to pay for your own wait enertainment!) I didnt see anyone really doing it.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Average. This haunted house does not change from year to year. The tour guides were very scripted.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Average. We didnt run into any other groups of anything like that.

Appropriate Ages: 10+ - I don't really feel this is a "scary" haunted house, but I wouldnt recommend any haunted house for under 10.

Props / Special FX: Good. I see this haunted house advertise "Disney Style Effects". If that is what you are looking for in a haunted house, you will see some of that here, BUT they seem to focus more on the effects than scareing people. Also, this haunted house never changes, so if you go one year, than you have seen everything.

Summary: I've been to this haunted house 3 years in a row. I probably will not return. It just never changes! I don't care for the guided aspect of the house. Overall, this is just not a scary haunted house! I also don't mind waiting in lines, but give us some entertainment! The last couple of years they had a cool 7ft monster that roamed the crowd. Not this year though.

13 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gtoddk   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, just off the main road (RT 97) on the square.

Wait Entertainment: There was a very cool simulator ride where you could lay in a coffin and take a ride to the cemetary, as well as a hearse parade with seven hearses which parked afterwards for a static display

Length of Event: 10-12 minutes

Actor Performance: Awesome ... some of the actors followed us to the next room, putting a real scare into the last person in the group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very well spaced, with a guide leading each group of 4-8 people.

Appropriate Ages: 8 plus, though the 10 year old in our group was scared enough that he needed to be carried through some of the attraction.

Props / Special FX: The elevator was a definite plus, with the floor illusion.

Costumes / Make-up: very well done, none looked over the top, nor needing improvement.

Summary: Being that this haunt is in an original funeral home from the early part of the last century, there is a lot of history behind it, and it is very well presented, with the visitors being taken from room to room in the home.

11 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tdougherty   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, right on the square in Petersburg.

Wait Entertainment: Who would have thought of a hydraulic coffin ride? Wow. There was no real entertainment other than that, but I prefer that. In past years, there has been a two headed "beast" that I thought was a little cheesey considering the rest of the haunt. I didn't miss that.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Incredible!!!! All these actors are on it from the time you are still in the "waiting room". It gets everyone in the right frame of mind for a guided tour of this funeral home.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Although you can definitely hear others' screams, the only ones you see are the actors.

Appropriate Ages: Hated to see little ones in this one. I even saw one in the coffin ride. Personally, I didn't think that was appropriate.

Props / Special FX: As far as I know, this is the only haunt in this area that uses illusions. I am not at all sure how the 'headless' ghost was done, but absolutely mystified everyone in our group. Jaws dropped open and all you heard was "wow"....shortly followed by more screams!!

Costumes / Make-up: Wow......make up was incredible!! There were some actors that I thought were props. Quite surprised when they started moving or talking!!

Summary: I enjoy this time of year, and love to get out to different haunts to visit. I have enjoyed quite a few in the area, and have to admit, this one was somewhat different. I wasn't expecting the true ghost-like quality, the amount of scares or even the shop at the end. It's nice to have one without the 'cheesiness' and make the visitor feel like they are really on a tour of a funeral home from years ago. At one point, there was a woman absolutely wailing. Very entertaining and definitely worth the wait in line! I think next year, I may get the pass to the front of the line, though. The line is certainly long and with as many people as are there, I was surprised that the HS wasn't selling hot chocolate or hot dogs. I would have enjoyed a hot cocoa.

7 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tdc1krom   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, it sits right on the Square off of Illinois 97.

Wait Entertainment: They had the hearse arriving and they carried an open coffin with a corpse in it. They also had a simulated coffin ride that looked interesting. Gave the person a bumpy ride to the cemetery, with hearse sounds inside the coffin. Sold popcorn and candy and soda to the line. Line was outside and it was lightly raining.

Length of Event: About ten minutes

Actor Performance: Each group had a guide, our guide was more than adequate to take us through the event. The actors inside seemed a little stiff (not the dead kind) They were good but didn't seem to be giving it their all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Once we got in the door we seemed to start and stop. we spent time in every room. Sometimes too long.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for all ages. Felt more like a Disney attraction than a haunted house.

Props / Special FX: Lots of high tech effects. Made it feel a bit tame. The other effects could use some more attention to detail. 
Two rooms that stood out were the elevator and white zig zagging corridor with fog and strobe lights.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and Makeup were good, could use a lot more actors.

Summary: We have heard about this haunt for years and finally went to see it. We were disappointed because, after so much hype, it really didn't deliver the punch we thought it would.

6 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Maggie82   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off the square.

Wait Entertainment: Hearse show and coffin ride.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Right on cue. Every actor apparently knows what he/she is doing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had a tour guide who took us through. We never ran into a group ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: 9+

Props / Special FX: There are alot of illusions in this one. Don't think I had ever seen a headless ghost walking down a flight of stairs before.

Costumes / Make-up: Not one mask, all make up. Nicely done.

Summary: After hearing about this place for years, finally decided to check it out. The overall atmosphere of this place is creepy. The fact that it use to be a real funeral home was enough to give me chills down my neck. They really put time and effort into the small things as well as the big things. I was not disappointed, and I WILL be back again next year.

4 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in downtown Petterburgh, easy to find after you get there.

Wait Entertainment: No actual wait entertainment to speak of. New this year however is the "cash box" casket which tears $3.00 out of your pocket while you wait in line.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors stayed on mark, however every year we attend there are less people working within the attraction.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow throughout the attraction moved along well, we ran into no other group.

Appropriate Ages: 7+ There are no high impact scares here, just trick illusions.

Props / Special FX: Lots of props throughout to look at and the special effects are great. The timing on the effects were correct and everything worked right.

Costumes / Make-up: The few monsters and creatures were dressed well and masks and the make-up wasn't too bad. However; same stuff as last year!

Summary: I have attended this attraction every year for the past nine years and put simply it's a "cash cow" that never changes. This is basically the same stuff year after year with little to no changes. They have a good building here to work with, however they only use a small portion of the upstairs. I would like to see this attraction get a face lift, new props and ideas are needed badly. The have a great customer base here, but the income goes into pocket and not into the improvement of the house. I think some added effects are also needed, how much can glass and reflected images cost.? After lots of years here I think we'll take some time off next year from Petterburgh until we get more for our money.

2 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: joey   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: on the square, easy to find

Wait Entertainment: I have been here before and they had a very creepy two headed monster outside that was a very good actor but he wasn't there. Thay had a casket you got in but you had to pay for it as well.We dind't care much for it.

Length of Event: we waited in line for a long time but event was short maybe ten minutes.

Actor Performance: not very good it was just not exciting not scary. Our guide was not very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good we did not run into others. we could hear other groups in the house.

Appropriate Ages: good for children any age.

Props / Special FX: nice illusions but not many good props.

Costumes / Make-up: some were good but not very scary.

Summary: This haunt was ok in the past but not enough scary people in the rooms.It was the same as yrs before no big creepy monsters anymore seems no real interest anymore. some other people we talked to felt the same. I wont be back to this one.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at