Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
24 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since we have traveled there for the last three years. Could have had a lighted sign for new people, dark and rainy conditions could make it hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was a magician in the Boo Barn, but no wait entertainment in the line. Only had a 5 minute wait or so. Haunted Trail was closed due to flooding. Would have been nice to know this before the 1.5 hour drive, nothing posted on the website.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or so, was a pretty fast walk through.

Actor Performance: All the actors seemed to be off the mark. Scares were happening before the group entered the room and many were talking and not in their place ready for their scare.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into any other group, but with the scares being off, like I said it was a fast walk through.

Appropriate Ages: If actors cues were on, I would say 10 and above.

Props / Special FX: Nice use of special FX. Once room containing "backwoods people" was the best scene that I witnessed in the house. Static props were good but could had an actor in the same area to scare attendants. Spinning tunnel is a neat effect but for an ending leaves the guest with a anti-climatic feeling.

Costumes / Make-up: Some actor's mask did not match the scenes. Masks and prop placement very important to help with the mood of the house is needed. Did not see any mask or make up that was a stand out.

Summary: Overall we were disappointed with Spider Hill this year and actually last year also. I know haunters are hard to come by; but work with children that you do place in the house to stay in character and stay in there places. Spider Hill always uses great props and has potentially good scares; but have been off the mark for the last two years. Hopefully Spider Hill will not strike out next year.

11 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is three sisters park, you can't miss it! Good lighted sign also marks the event.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment noticed except for a chain saw monster who went through the "Haunted House" event line.

Length of Event: 3 events - Haunted House was 15 minutes, Haunted HayRack was 20 minutes, and the Haunted Trail was around 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors did a good job selling everything. The haunted house and trail was well staffed, however the HayRack ride was very poor staffed, little scares here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along well inside all attractions, no problems.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: The props were good and I'm glad the retired some of the old things, they were getting old fast. Not a lot of special effects here on anything.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes are average here at best and too many masks. Needs some work with make-up effects and more detail on the outfits. It's too simple here!

Summary: This is a good place to start off the Halloween season, they get things going. This years trail was the best with the new added gargoyle effect, which got everyone in our group. The Haunted house was good with the surrounding. The Haunted HayRide took a reverse trail this year which was nice, however the lack of people running effects and jumping out and onto the wagon hurt the attraction and most people were let down. Also note; many people were told about a hot air balloon ride in the ads and included in the $20.00 price, which never happened! Past years the balloon was there so this year no show probably made so people mad - they should have a better follow-up on their web page. Overall, I didn't miss it and the unlimited rides made the $20.00 seem reasonable.

6 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find off route 29 which is the main road to Peoria

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: 15 minuted for Massacre mansion

Actor Performance: Either screaming or staring. Not much preformance art here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had one group catch us

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: They have some good ones but they don't seem to use them. They have a good electric chair prop but is in the dark so much you cannot see it. The Peppers Ghost effect went off after we went by it.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing special...I am not a fan of cheesy masks in a haunt this size but other haunts are similar.

Summary: I must echo the sentiments of the other reviews...they have the goods but they fail to use them. There must be 40 plus scences but only a couple stand out as good. The others are all the same thing. If you just like people that scream and you tend to walk through haunts with your eyes half shut I guess they are your haunt. If you go to the high rated haunts on this website to see creativity I believe you will be really disapointed here.

8 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Need more signs. We have gone for the last 3 years so know where it is.

Wait Entertainment: It was raining. Nothing but a magician in the boo barn.

Length of Event: 12 minutes

Actor Performance: Very weak. actors off the mark, could hear them talking before entering the room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones n the house.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Good props and special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks.

Summary: Unfortunately due to rain the trail was flooded. To only go to the house is not worth the trip. Hopefully as the season goes on the house will get better. For our first haunted house of our October tour, it was a soft start.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at