Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2009 Visitor Reviews Submitted by BIGSTICK4U

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
17 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror Haunted House (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: BIGSTICK4U   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Decent. It's on a main road and well lit, but no signs leading up to it.

Wait Entertainment: No real wait entertainment until the lady with the snake "popped in" and got a scare on us.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: Fantastic! Very in your face and over the top!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good! Did not run into anybody!

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Done very well. The "toilet scene" was nasty good. All the props were done and executed well.

Costumes / Make-up: Very detailed. All the actors costumes etc fit the scenes they were in.

Summary: This is a very good haunt! Better than last year! There was definitely a hospital theme going throughout the house. Very narrow house with scares behind every corner. Really liked the twilight zone spiral effect right before the maze. The maze itself has the thickest fog and most distracting strobe lights in any haunt I've been to. You could NOT see a foot in front of you. RECOMMENDED!

9 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Scream Scene (Skokie, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good visibility on a main road with SCREAM SCENE in bright letters.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of characters working the line. They had more actors working the line in previous years which helped while you waited. This has to be the slowest moving line I've EVER had to wait for a haunt. It's NOT because there's tons of people in line, it's because the people running this haunt have no clue how to move a line.

Length of Event: 7 minutes

Actor Performance: Not bad. Keep in mind these are mostly young teens working for pizza and pop. So overall, not bad, but definitely NOT great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The only good thing about the slow moving line outside is it guarantees you won't run into anybody inside.  
However, for whatever reason this haunt feels it needs to provide a "chaperone"(lame) for each group. The "lady" assigned to us kept YELLING at my group to move faster through the house, like she had a plane to catch and needed to go. Can you imagine a person screaming at you to move quicker through the haunt while you're trying to enjoy it. SHUT the HECK up and let me enjoy myself.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Very few props or special fx. This is a low budget house.

Costumes / Make-up: Weak. Lots of cheap make-up and plastic masks.

Summary: I go here every year for a cheap haunt and a cheap scare. As mentioned above, the wait is ridiculous outside for such a short house. The "lady" screaming at us to "hurry" is absolutely ridiculous. I'll never go back because of that. The house itself has improved. It stole the cockroach wall scene from the Dungeon of Doom, but at least the house itself is now darker and almost scary. The performance is decent and the timing of the actors was pretty good. The chainsaw guy did his job scaring people. I actually do recommend the haunt itself, but if you go be prepared to "HURRY UP"!

11 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom Haunted House (Zion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not good! No signs until Zion. Almost impossible to find this place w/out directions.

Wait Entertainment: Very Good. Lots of actors getting into peoples faces.

Length of Event: About 40 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors here are ALWAYS good and this year was no exception.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Did not run into anybody until buried alive.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Top notch! DOD always has the best props of any haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: Fantastic and detailed as always.

Summary: New location and MUCH different than previous years. Gone are:Electrocution,Frankenstein,exorcist,and clowns. Surprised about the clowns. Every haunt should have a clown room! The wait area has too much open space, and the haunt itself does seem to be a bit bright for a haunt. They do have a lot of room to work with and most scenes work well, but some rooms are too big, and not utilized or filled up properly. The fright factor goes down in such a large room, because you can see the scares coming from far away. One of the great things of the old place was the narrow passageways and rooms. This is still a good haunt to see, and I recommend you go...if you can find it. However, I prefer the old location better.

9 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty good. Off a main road with two GIANT balloon people out front.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of actors getting the crowd going.

Length of Event: About 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Good acting, everybody stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: AWFUL! Ran into 2 groups in front of us and ruined the scare factor!

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: There werent tons of fx, mostly detailed rooms with good acting

Costumes / Make-up: Top Notch and very detailed!

Summary: This seems to be a good haunt, but the flow was absolutely TERRIBLE! It started off strong enough from the opening coffin scene to the hellevator to the flashing lights and mirrors. Well done! The acting was good, however, I saw many actors in the hallways running back to their hiding place after they saw me coming, and then try to scare my group after we knew they would pop out at us. I must say I loved the dude in the pig head mask! The spinning vortex was probably the most disorienting vortex I've seen in a haunt We caught up to 2 other groups ahead of us that just killed the scare factor for us. I thought the house was pretty good....not great but good. Had the patron flow been better the haunt probably would have been more enjoyable for me, and I would have probably given it higher marks.

7 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: X-treme Hauntings Haunted House (Fox Lake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fair. Off a main room, and one sign leading the way.

Wait Entertainment: Good. Some actors working the small crowd while we waited.

Length of Event: 20 min.

Actor Performance: Very good and over the top. The acting was much better than last year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good! Did not run into anybody until the clown room.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Very good props and effects. I liked the stuffed animal room.

Costumes / Make-up: Terrific. All details fit the scene. So did the scents.

Summary: A very underrated haunt IMHO. The opening was the same as the last few years with the hellevator, but it was doene well with the rocking and shaking. The hillbilly scene with the machine gun caught me bit off guard, and I was shot at! Very cool idea with the stuffed animal room. Very original. The clown room was intense and freaked people out. Very good haunt overall

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at