Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2009 Visitor Reviews Submitted by Nightsticker

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
14 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: we went last year, so had an idea. Very small town should not be hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Big guy with a machete..all over my friend..very heavy breathing.

Length of Event: we were there for 2 hours

Actor Performance: These guys work hard!!! Very intense haunt. It is the cast that makes these haunts great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Nice spacing, never ran into a group in all 3 events.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Well done. A true scare house. Effective rooms with out all the numatic (pffft) props.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice to see make up under the masks to hide the skin. The serial killer did not have a mask on and looked amazingly scary.

Summary: Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic. We all had a blast. The best haunt so far of the year. DO NOT MISS THIS!!! Kudos to the actors, so in your face. This is not for the meak haunted house goers. The Barn maze freaked us out. The House of Blood..come on..special kudos to the little rat kid in my face and the guy in the maze that was with us the whole time!!!! Was going to give a 9 for the rating..but no way. You guys deserve a big fat 10. Thank you for a great night!! Oh yea..and only $15.00.

11 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Just take a trip on Washington street. Town is small enough, it easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: The monitors were fun watching the scare inside. Ugh, the Irish purple witch.

Length of Event: 12 minutes

Actor Performance: Clinton does a nice job. Kudos to the boys in the crypt. They flew out at the same time..got all of us! Well done!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: 2 girls caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Clinton always does a god job with the attention to detail. I liked the changing monitors for the rules as well as the elevator.

Costumes / Make-up: Combination masks and make up. Maybe would go with a little more wicked face on elevator girl. Seemed kinda Disney.

Summary: Always enjoy this house. Consistent every year, nothing amazing, nothing weak. Give the guys in the crypt room and extra pat on the back. See you next year.

10 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Mutantville of horror (Bloomington, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Live in town so no problem. Did not notice signs.

Wait Entertainment: There was a spider made out of garbage bags and plastic cups. No one was in line except our group of 8. We split into 4 because we know better, and the girl at the front wanted us to add the only 2 other people in line into our group..huh? I had a feeling we were in store for something less then average. Or maybe it was the "daycare" behind the ticket booth?

Length of Event: 5 minutes

Actor Performance: Appreciate the effort.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Had a guide, who btw would look at where the "scare" was going to come from.

Appropriate Ages: 5+

Props / Special FX: Lots of particle board. I know there is a lot of work to set up a haunted house so I do not want to be critical of the effort.

Costumes / Make-up: combination of masks and make up.

Summary: I hate to say this but oh...this haunt is not worthy of a $10.00 ticket price. When we left we ALL wanted to get our money back and were very angry. I always try to say something positive because of all the hard work and efforts it takes to run a haunted house, we did it for 4 years. I can not come up with anything.I want to let people know to save your money and time. Sorry.

10 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We stumbled upon the house after going to the old location. We were actually going to get a bite to eat and saw the building.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome!!!! The "bat guy" was excellent. Entertaining!! A clown and cletus were walking around.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Very well done. All were in character and waited for the group to enter room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: perfect. We did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Nice attention to detail.

Costumes / Make-up: MOstly masks and some make-up. Very well done. As always my suggestion would be eye make up under masks and NO Sneakers!!

Summary: The house has improved with it's new location. Much better to wait inside with lines in "shoots". We waited a long time due the the fact the house was on break. It weasn't bad thanks to the line entertainment. Put gloves on the clown and make up around Cletus' eyes!!!!!!! Nice job over all. I will recommend the stop in Pekin this year.

9 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: The Scream Haunted Adventure (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Went last year, knew the location.

Wait Entertainment: A few monsters walking around. Music from a boom box

Length of Event: 13 minutes

Actor Performance: average, a lot of the "kids" were off the mark. a simple lean forward a raaarh does not cut it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Group behind caught up. Come on Pinhead..hold the traffic flow. He held us back, but let group behind us right through.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Thought the rooms were pretty good. Liked the sheet maze, seemed like it went on forever. A missed opportunity for scares however.

Costumes / Make-up: There were some pretty good masks.once again, lack of make up around the eyes as well as sneakers wrecks the mood.

Summary: I felt the house was better then last year. The first room, a bar scene was very good, as well as the performances. The missed opportunity of the sheet maze and the large room at the end should be looked at. Anti climactic ending.

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: nice big lighted sign on the main road getting you to the haunt

Wait Entertainment: a few monsters coming and going from the haunt, food, and a grave yard scene. There was what looked like a stage, but nothing was going on when we were there.

Length of Event: 40 minutes on the trail, 20 minutes in th house.

Actor Performance: Very good. Timing was excellent. This monster came down from the ledge..looked like he flew out of a tree..awesome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into multiple groupd as well as groups caught up to us. There were times when we were spaced out again, maybe a couple of more "check points" are needed.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Endless amounts of great rooms and scenes.

Costumes / Make-up: Great masks, great make up. So many actors, all looked great.

Summary: This is our 3rd year visiting. Spook Hollow is always a good time. The nice surprise this year was the new and improved haunted house. This really aded value to the haunt. Great scenes in both haunts, great scares, clowns were relentless and coming from all sides, the Zombies in the house..yowsa!! This is a must see for the area!!

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Haunted Dungeon 2009 (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Downtown on the square.

Wait Entertainment: Boa Constrictor brushing up againts me was enough.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors are good at this haunt. Always in character. Monsters in the cage were great..very effective scare!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Spaced out well. We ran into a group trapped in the maze huddling in the corner.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Rooms are effective with out having to go over the top with special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks, but good masks!!

Summary: I really like this haunt. The setting in the basement is unsettling. I found last years to be a bit more intense, but it was still great and can't wait to visit next year!! Keep up the "Scare House" mentality!!

9 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: right off the square downtown. Signs coming in to town direct you.

Wait Entertainment: couple ghouls, skull basket ball, body limb ring toss, coffin skee ball...

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors are are always great, on cue and very creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Auborn does a good job with spacing and actor patrol.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Rooms are very detailed, they tell a nice story.

Costumes / Make-up: No masks, all make up!! Very well done. Notable was the blown out head!

Summary: Auborn does a great job, smart scares, great story through the house. If they want to stay competitive they need to make the house longer and give you a thrill at the end.

5 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Haunted House (Forsyth, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very hard to find. It is in the mall..keep looking!! Not at a main entrance.

Wait Entertainment: Frankenstein was shown on a screen.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Hit and Miss.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Rooms had some really nice detail. The kitchen scene was excellent. (other then the scent of BO filling the room) The Library was another great looking room.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone looked pretty good. The guy in the library was very intimidating.

Summary: Not a bad haunt..not outstanding, but worth a look see. bring canned goods gives a dollar discount to an already very fair priced house. The crawl has a good scare, but the prom queens looked more like mud wrestlers. Would be a more effective house if the actors were a bit more in your face rather then being so passive. Nice job over all.

8 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Need more signs. We have gone for the last 3 years so know where it is.

Wait Entertainment: It was raining. Nothing but a magician in the boo barn.

Length of Event: 12 minutes

Actor Performance: Very weak. actors off the mark, could hear them talking before entering the room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones n the house.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Good props and special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks.

Summary: Unfortunately due to rain the trail was flooded. To only go to the house is not worth the trip. Hopefully as the season goes on the house will get better. For our first haunted house of our October tour, it was a soft start.

3 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs direct you once in town. Both haunts are near each other.

Wait Entertainment: Big fire,hearse..did not see any aactors.

Length of Event: 14 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors did a nice job. The lady in the phone room was very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We could hear screams, which is nice, but did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Good detail to the rooms, disgusting bathroom!! The strobe room had a great effect!!

Costumes / Make-up: Combination of masks and make up. The costumes fit the rooms.

Summary: The haunt has improved over last year. We did not have to sit in the theater and watch a part of a movie, we did the speed pass which helped move us along!! Speed pass ALWAYS a good idea !!!! 
The strobe room was great, would have been even better had the person in the room been scary looking!!!

2 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Pesotum House of Horrors (Pesotum, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: 3rd year, but seems to be easy for 1st timers.

Wait Entertainment: Insane clown running around.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Half the actors were good, half were not. Kids screaming in your ear is a bit annoying. There was some bad breath issues through the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: mostly guided, so they did their job.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Fear Factory always has good sets and special effects. The flames were a great addition.

Costumes / Make-up: Combo, mostly masks. Everyone looked great.

Summary: Fear Factory is consitent every year we go touring Haunted Houses across Illinois. Not the best value, not the worst. Not the scariest, not the tamest. Not the longest, not the shortest...get it?

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at