Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2009 Visitor Reviews Submitted by babyripken

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
15 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour Haunted Houses (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility was very good, right off of a major street. Parking was good, plenty of parking and people to guide you to where to park.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was good, not great. There was a climbing wall, as well as a bungee cord jump device, but the wait is outside, and if it's cold or rainy, that could be a deterrent. The ghouls were ok, not really scary at all, but trying to be entertaining.

Length of Event: There are three different houses, as well as a corn maze. If you go through all three houses, it ends up being at least a half hour, if not longer.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was good. They were very convincing, and really got in to their characters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I feel that it took a long time to start, we never ran in to a group ahead of us. I think they only took one group in the first house at a time, so we never ran in to anyone ahead of us, I feel groups waited too long to go in to the house.

Appropriate Ages: I think it's not too age appropriate, our group had a seven year old in it, and he never really freaked out. 

Props / Special FX: Props and FX weren't spectacular, but they fit in to the theme of an asylum. The entranceway is interesting,don't want to give it away, and enjoyed the fence maze in one of the houses.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up worked out really well. Some of the characters had really good make up. The character that brought our group in to the entrance had a clock on his face that was really well done.

Summary: I enjoyed 11th Hour more this year than last year. One of my favorite aspects of haunted houses lately is the completely dark mazes, which they have here. My group at one point got lost, and one of the demons had to break character to find them. I really enjoyed the ghouls popping out throughout the darkness, you usually couldn't hear them ahead of time, and as a person who enjoys being in front, they scared me a few times. The corn maze, wasn't too scary, but, and I am ashamed to admit it, I got lost in it and one of the creatures had to tell me how to get out. Overall I thought it was very entertaining.

9 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Sweet Dreams Haunted House (Alsip, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/15/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Inside a mini amusement park, big sign right on the road.

Wait Entertainment: Pretty good, a few of the actors teamed up to scare a group that was leaving.

Length of Event: 5-10 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors were good, stayed in character with good coatumes and make up.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was the only one there, so it was great.

Summary: The house was good, really good scares, but a lot of it was just a lit maze where people would come out of the walls, or just bang on the walls to scare you. I think the problem with the house was due to lack of size, so it's a quick walk through with not a lot of rooms. But you get a lot of bang for your buck.

18 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Chronicles Of The Cursed: Hades Emerges (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility was good, right off of Grand Avenue, and you can't miss the giant tent.

Wait Entertainment: Waiting to get in to the event, there was a guy riding around on a giant bicycle, and once in line after tickets, there was one scary guy that seemed to scare people, and a guy who had a pet rat that people could pet if they wanted.

Length of Event: Ten minutes, would have been quicker if we didn't keep running in to people in front of us.

Actor Performance: They were comitted to their characters, but I would not describe any of them as scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Within a minut or two, we ran in to the people in front of us. I tried to stop and let them go ahead, but then the people behind us caught up to us.

Props / Special FX: The props were interesting, artistic but not really scary.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up were very well done, but it seemed like they were just random characters, not really a theme fot the house.

Summary: I feel that this house seemed like a theatre group put together a haunted house. Interesting characters, great props, but nothing was scary. Most of the dark maze aspects were lit from the ground, so you could see everything through out most of the dark parts. There were parts that seemed like there were some props in an area, but no one around them, so it was like "That was an interesting piece of scenery" but it was there for no reason. The other problem I had is that they opened twenty minutes late on a Saturday. If it was a weekday, or there was inclement weather, I would understand why, but neither was the case. Overall I was really let down by this house.

11 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Crypts of Campana, A Factory of Fear (Batavia, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/21/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find right off of the major streets.

Wait Entertainment: There was a person or two in costume guiding you toward the beginning of the house, but they were not that scary.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good, they were scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was the only person in the house.

Summary: Overall it was pretty good. It is a very dark house with a lot of ramps to go up and down in certain areas, and the rooms, although not too elaborate in terms of props and ambience, still had a few scare moments.

15 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Amenti: The Egyptian Theatre Haunted House (DeKalb, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/22/09 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: In the Egyptian Theatre, very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: I believe due to weather and lateness, we only had one guy, but did scare the crowd with a chainsaw.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes.

Actor Performance: Really good, very scary and very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great, never ran in to the group in front of us.

Summary: Very good house. Most of the house consists of a lot of twists and turns in a dark area. if you are not paying attention, you can get lost, or run in to a wall ahead of you. They also occasionally have stuff hanging down that gets in to your face. Parts of the house require you to go up and down stairs, as well as crawl through a hole, so be prepared for that. The rooms were also a lot of fun, very authentic and very scary.

9 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, lots of signage to point you towards where you need to go.

Wait Entertainment: Although there was only an actor or two to entertain in line, there was a video that showed all the past ghouls that I enjoyed.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Really good, you feel that they are really enjoying scaring the heck out of people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good, never had a problem hitting the people in front of us.

Summary: Dream Reapers is back!! I thought last year wasn't as good, but they took people's reviews to heart, and put more in to it. The rooms looked very authentic, the actors were really scary, and the maze parts were very dark. I had a lot of fun.

11 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Bridgeview's Haunted Hollow (Bridgeview, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's in Toyota Park, easy to find, and a lot of signs guiding you to the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was fun. They had a clown with a chainsaw that entertained the crowd and really scared a lot of people. For some reason, he also challenged the mom in the group in front of me to a game of bags. If she won, which she did, her family move to the front of the line.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors were fine, not that scary but stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not a problem. They made sure you wouldn't run in to the group in front of you.

Summary: The premise of the house is that you are in a haunted hotel. For that reason, you are guided by a bellhop that takes you to each room, where you get a story about the room. Because you are being guided by the bellhops, I feel you lose part of the scare factor of actors popping out in front of you and scaring you as you turn the corners. I feel this one is more family oriented for that reason.

12 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: St. Louise Haunted House (La Grange Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/21/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find off the major street nearby.

Wait Entertainment: None.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: It was ok, all the actors are teen kids.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They only send in a group at a time.

Appropriate Ages: This is a house primarily for kids.

Summary: This is a house set up by the teen club of St. Louise, and because of that it is great for kids. Most of it is not a haunted house, but set up as an interactive place for the actors to talk back and forth with the audience. The only marginally scary part is that the end of the house is a large dark room where creatures pop out of the darkness at you, and you have to find the way out. Not that scary for adults, but great for the youngsters, and if you come earlier in the evening, they keep the lights on for the smaller kids.

9 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prison (Crest Hill, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/15/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibilty was great, very easy to see from the street.

Wait Entertainment: Really good, the actors came through the line several times to scare everybody, kudos to the clown on stilts that scared the heck out of everybody.

Length of Event: Going through both houses was about 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Top notch. The one in the wait area were great, and the ones inside followed you for a little while after you leave the room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was ok, I feel we kept catching up to the group in front of us because the actors were scaring everyone in front of us.

Props / Special FX: Great props throughout, especially the scenery in the Land of the Dead. Very convincing.

Summary: Overall it was a great house. Last year seemed like a let down to me, and this year they brought it back. Like the other reviewers have stated, if you hate clowns, you will not like this site. There were two clowns in the wait line, and two adjacent clown rooms inside that will scare the pants off of you.

10 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Monsters and Madmen Haunted House (Homer Glen, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off of the road, with a lot of lighting to guide you to the house.

Wait Entertainment: There really wasn't any wait staff, but there was an animatronic creature that pops out at you that was jarring.

Length of Event: 5-7 minutes, it's a small house.

Actor Performance: Actors had a lot of fun at this house, had fun scaring the group of ladies that I was paired up.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was no one else there.

Summary: Overall, the scare factor is great, but it's a really small house. They tried to put as much as they can in to the house, and you end up finishing the house outside under a tented area to help, but I feel this could have been a great house if they had more room.

10 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Lombard Jaycees Haunted House (Lombard, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This was the worst aspect of the house. It was inside an area that seemed like a mall, or an industrial area, but there were no signs out on the road, and the sign on top of the building wasn't lit at all. It took me five minutes to find the place once I got off the road.

Wait Entertainment: There was none at the time I went in, but I was one of the first groups in.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were really good, there was a variety of different characters, and the make up and costumes were very well done. There was a lot of shrieking in my group, they had really good timeing on the scares.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I did catch up to the group ahead of me, but I don't feel it was the fault of the house. There was a dad with three or four girls that kept getting lost, so I had to teach them how to move around in a dark maze.

Summary: I really enjoyed this house a lot. About half of the house was dark mazes, that people would pop out of at any time, scaring the heck out of the people in the group. The scenes were pretty much the standard fare you would expect out of a haunted house, but still seemed to scare people at the right time.

9 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Abyss Haunted House (Minooka, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/22/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's at a farm in the middle of nowhere, thankfully, there is a sign on the side of the road guiding you to the farm.

Wait Entertainment: There was no line, so there was no wait entertainment. Also, it was raining a lot, so that may have contributed to the lack of entertainment.

Length of Event: 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were great, very committed and very scary. They also had some at a part of the house outside, and I felt sorry for them because they were soaked to the bone.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did end up catching up to the group in front of us, but I believe they were slowing down because they were connected to the group I was in.

Summary: The house overall consists of very narrow twisted and turned passageways, interspersed with a lot of scary rooms. Sometimes you needed the actors to open walls to make sure you can escape the rooms. Also, as I mentioned above, just when you think the house is done, there is an area outside that the actors follow you to your car. A lot of fun!!

9 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Maniac Manor (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/22/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: In the middle of the park district right there, easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Although there wasn't any actors scaring the audience, there was a little shopping area right there.

Length of Event: 10 minute

Actor Performance: Not bad, although all the actors were teenagers, they seemed to have a lot of fun, and really enjoyed scaring the groups.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not a problem, the guides push you along so you don't have a chance to slow down and look around at the rooms.

Summary: My main problem with this house were the guides. I'm not sure if they knew the group I was with or not, but the guide in the back of line kept pushing me in to the person in front of me to keep the group moving. The one in front kept yelling "Keep moving" to the group as well, and the only reason the group stopped was due to people being scared. Although not great quality in terms of their budget, they got a lot of scares out of pretty much whatever they could find. Unfortunately, I did not have a chance to enjoy it, due to our guides yelling at us to move, almost to the point that we were running through the house, and being pushed from behind, made this a very discouraging experience.

6 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: X-treme Hauntings Haunted House (Fox Lake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The place itself is off the road a little bit, but there is plenty of parking, and many cops guiding the way.

Wait Entertainment: Although the actors weren't that scary, there was a clown one that scared the group in front of me. Also, for some reason two of the actors started to play jump rope with a girl behind me. I have no idea why, but it was pretty funny.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, some were scarier than others, and they really enjoyed their jobs. They had a lot of fun playing with the crowds.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I ended up catching up to the group in front me, because I think the actors got to the group in front me.

Summary: This one was my favorite last year, and easily one of my faves again this year. One of the more interesting aspects is, due to the confined areas, they only send people in two at a time. It gives the actors a chance to get up close and really scare the patrons. There was a clown room that ended up confusing everyone because there was a couple of doors that ended up going nowhere. There was also a maze at the end that one of the actors had to guide you through, because it was pitch black and he told you to follow his voice. Very creepy and a lot of fun.

4 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror Haunted House (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Although the house was right off of the main road, they had a dark sign on the side of a wall that wasn't lit at all. If I wasn't aware of where I was, I might have missed it.

Wait Entertainment: There really wasn't any, and, for some reason, had a video that we had to watch that showed a lot of gross stuff. Usually the videos end in the rules, but one of the actors told us the rules. There really was no point to the video, except for the gross out factor.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were great, they focused on one of the women in our group, and really scared the pants off of her.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Overall not bad, but we ran in to a group at the maze at the end, but I feel that was more the group being lost than us catching up to the group.

Summary: Overall, this was one of my favorites. The house itself has a lot of good room and great actors, one had a sick childbirth that was just nasty. Also, the end of the house is a giant maze that pretty much is one giant strobe light. I have no idea how the actors survive in there, because everywhere you go in there, there are strobe lights right in your face. Very good time!!

9 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Evil Intentions Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/21/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Plenty of signage, very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Very good, had a clown scare me and I laughed afterwards, and the others did not like that and made me a target.

Length of Event: 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good, they stayed in character and followed you throughout different parts of the house

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was the only one there.

Summary: From the beginning, they are trying to scare the pants off of you. You start inside a coffin, and throughout it is a very dark maze. Because this one was built in a dirty warehouse, it adds to the ambience throughout the house. It's dark, dirty, and very scary. Many times, I had a hard time finding my way out of rooms, and away from the actors, who would follow you through the pathways. I am definitely going back at some point before it closes, because I want to go with others. Easily one of the top houses in the state.

5 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom Haunted House (Zion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, lots of signs pointing the way off of the main strip.

Wait Entertainment: Although there were not a lot of actors scaring the crowd, there were some cool animatronic creatures that were very cool. It looked like a giant dog with a bat head eating a person.

Length of Event: About a half hour if you go through both parts and Buried Alive.

Actor Performance: Very good, they stayed in character and I feel they truly enjoyed scaring and insulting the patrons.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were not a lot of people, so the flow was good.

Summary: I did the VIP treatment, with the Buried Alive segment. The first part of the house was a lot of fun, not as much scare factor, but it kept you entertained with an elevator that shook us pretty well, as well as climbing through pipes that moved as well. There was a second level, that started out as a hospital, and ended in a maze. There was also the Buried Alive segment, which, if you have never done it before, consists of people lying down in a room and having a bunch of dropping balls fall on you so you feel very claustrophobic. One of the people in the room starting to freak, so it wasn't as long as it could have been, but it is still a strange feeling.

6 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Disturbia Torment of Fears (Addison, Illinois)
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I got there early, so visibility wasn't that great. There was a sign that should have been lit up off of the road, but it wasn't on yet.

Wait Entertainment: There was a couple of characters, one with a chain that scared the teenagers that I ended up being in my group.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: They were good, very convincing, again, they scared the others in my group a lot.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the first group of the night, so it wasn't a factor.

Summary: I feel that this house was a little off the night I went, which I would chalk that up to bad weather and things starting about fifteen minutes late. The other problem I found with the house was that certain parts of the house you couldn't figure out where to go next, you would end up in an open room, where there didn't seem to have a doorway out. I ended up a couple of times having to ask the actors where to go next. Has a lot of potential, and I feel if I went back a lot of the bugs would be ironed out. Also I should mention that on the 17th, 30th and 31st they are having what they are calling I believe a "black out" night, where they are changing the whole configuration of the place, making it a giant maze which will have many false turns according to the guy I talked to afterwards.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at