Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2009 Visitor Reviews Submitted by cissypissy

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
31 out of 60 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Haunted House (Forsyth, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: In the Hickory Point Mall. Doesn't get much easier than that.

Wait Entertainment: They had a movie running. It's a good idea.

Length of Event: It was long enough. No complaints.

Actor Performance: Not much to speak of.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ok.

Appropriate Ages: Small kids are never appropriate for HH if they are terrified.

Props / Special FX: They had quite a few excellent sets. Loved the living room/porch. That was a big space. Good job.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. All seemed appropriate

Summary: This is for the Jaycees so you really can't go wrong. It's only $6 and $5 if you bring a canned good. Seriously, go support them. It's fun. Take your time and look around. They did put some detail into some scenes. This is the 2nd year I have gone and these people are very nice.  
Couple suggestions though. People who take the money and run the movie really should be in costume. And turn off some lights in the rooms by where you pay and go in. Maybe you could put a lamp in the makeshift daycare and close the door more??

24 out of 47 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: The Scream Haunted Adventure (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I never drive to Decatur, so I can't really say. I just sit in the backseat and wait until they tell me to get out.

Wait Entertainment: They had some dudes in costume in the parking lot and in line. Good idea, but these guys are in the light. You need to FINISH the costumes. No white tennis shoes on the werewolf and the guy with the black stretchy robe that you can buy at Walmart, that ties in the back of the neck.....my kids wore those for trick or treating. Paint eyes under the masks!!!! Fingernails on the werewolf were good. 

Length of Event: Don't remember, but I wasn't disappointed. Could have done more with empty space.

Actor Performance: Maybe you guys could have like a seminar for this before the HH nights. People yelling GET OUT, just does not scare! As my cohort pointed out. Victims aren't supposed to tell people to get out. And the RAAHHHHH. Nope.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Another group caught up with us AGAIN THIS YEAR!

Appropriate Ages: No small children who are going to be terrified. I HATE THAT!

Props / Special FX: They are getting better at this. They just need to fill the empty spaces. It doesn't always have to have actors, but don't leave us with blank walls to stare at. That's not cool.

Costumes / Make-up: Better than last year, still needs work though.

Summary: I have to say, it was better than last year. Not too great, though. They have potential. Too much dead space. The upstairs could at least be decorated with pictures, props, SOMETHING. So much of this was wasted space. I will visit again next year on the chance they step it up, but it isn't on my list of faves.

28 out of 55 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Mutantville of horror (Bloomington, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We knew where it was because it was in the old HH location. That is where the similarities end, though.

Wait Entertainment: Absolutely none! Unless you count watching the children play in the room behind the ticket takers.

Length of Event: I swear, it was less than 5 minutes. I could not believe it!!

Actor Performance: Omg. This was awful. I feel badly for the actors. They had VERY LITTLE to work with.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The girl from the front led us through at a very slow pace (and it still took us less than 5 mins to get through.)

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't suggest this place to anyone.

Props / Special FX: There were leaves, solar lights and corn stalks. Oh and the garbage bag spider with the red plastic cup eyes. Geez, that should have been my first clue.

Costumes / Make-up: Like I said, I feel for the actors. They are usually volunteers and I would not have even been caught dead in this place even with makeup.

Summary: I have never been through a HH where I felt I had been scammed. This place left me feeling like that. They charged us $10 each for a less than 5 min tour with the absolute most amature, thrown together sets I have ever seen. I am actually mad that they can get away with this. If the price were half I would have said this place isn't even worth it, but for $10, I feel like I was ripped off. I don't think they should be allowed to do this. It was almost an insult.

33 out of 65 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you can find Washington St, just follow it til you get to the barricades and you have arrived!

Wait Entertainment: Not so much. The tv's where you could watch others being scared is always a fun thing. The purple hatted witchy woman hawking her wares was a bit preachy and annoying. I am all for free enterprise, but 4x through the line in under 15 mins trying to get us to buy glow stick things is a bit much.

Length of Event: I wish it were longer, but only because I enjoy Clinton.

Actor Performance: Not too shabby. All stayed in character and were dressed appropriately.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, good. Our group grew no larger throughout the trip through the house. Unless you count the leatherfaces who ran out with/after us!

Appropriate Ages: Small children NO-NO.

Props / Special FX: All good. They always are.

Costumes / Make-up: All good!

Summary: I always enjoy going to Clinton. It wasn't very busy when we were there and even though that is great for the wait time, I always enjoy the crowds and the anticipation. I'd definitely go back to this house if I had time. They are worth it and I am close enough.

22 out of 44 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find if you take the Auburn exit off 55. Lighted signs point the way once you are in Auburn.

Wait Entertainment: They had ring toss...onto body part. Putt putt and bball with a skull. Pretty nifty.

Length of Event: 10-15 mins

Actor Performance: Outstanding! These guys do a great job! The girl in the dinner room was awesome. Her boyfriend :-) was too! They must be drama majors. I really liked the TALL butler guy, too.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: No kids.

Props / Special FX: They don't rely on a lot of high dollar, spec fx, but they do an excellent job!

Costumes / Make-up: Outstanding! Someone does an awesome job with these people.

Summary: I love this haunted house. The intensity always very HIGH! This is our third year visiting and we will be back for sure next year. I wish this HH was a bit longer only because it is so much fun. The ending though was lacking this year. We just walked out. Someone may have been missing, because these guys excel at the details and this was a big one missing.

24 out of 52 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can't say for sure since I didn't drive, but the town isn't that large. Wait for the tractor will a trailer full of people to go by and follow that. 

Wait Entertainment: Yep. They did a good job here. The heavy breather guy and clown were great.  
Even though the little girl who came out and lisped that she could thee in all the fog, wasn't wait entertainment, it was very cute and entertaining.

Length of Event: I can't say individually, but for all the attractions it took our group over 2hrs. 2 FUN HOURS!

Actor Performance: These guys are great. I was especially impressed with the detective and serial killer. Could have been cheesy, but it was quite fun!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into anyone in any of the attractions. We did have one of our group run off and leave us in the maze. He ran far ahead of us!!

Appropriate Ages: Teens would probably love this, but anyone younger...I just think that is a no-no.

Props / Special FX: I liked everything. They didn't have a lot of high dollar spec fx, but I liked what they did.

Costumes / Make-up: Great mix! Everything was appropriate with the sets.

Summary: My friends went to this last year and I didn't get to go. They all talked about how great it was and they agree it was better this year. Speaking for myself, I had a blast!! It was scary, well thought out and just plain fun! And a GREAT VALUE for the price. I would recommend this place to everyone.

18 out of 44 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Get off 55 at the Auburn exit, there is a lighted blinking sign of that road to both HH's.

Wait Entertainment: They had a large rules sign to read, a hearse and a fire. There was a pissed off lady who worked for the haunted house who stormed out, took a branch that some kids had put in the fire and threw it on the street. Right in front of me. Um, safety first?

Length of Event: 10-15

Actor Performance: Very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The other group I was with heard me, but we didn't see each other.

Appropriate Ages: Aren't you all tired of reading that I don't think HH are appropriate for children?

Props / Special FX: Very good, too.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good, also!

Summary: Better than last year. The HH was pretty scary. Last year I liked the movie idea while you waited. The strobe light room was positively freaky. I don't know why the cat girl was in there....or in the HH at all. Good one to visit.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at