Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2009 Visitor Reviews Submitted by clownsrus

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
8 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: clownsrus   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: On the square and music, lights, and crowd made it easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: None while I was there.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: This was good in most areas. A few needed some work.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This area needs definite work. While I don't want to run into the group in front of me, the spacing of groups was ridiculously long.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up due to some of the graphic scenes.

Props / Special FX: They have good props and effects, but nothing outstanding/different that comes to mind.

Costumes / Make-up: Combination of masks and make-up and all were good.

Summary: I enjoyed this haunted house, but not the hour and a half wait to go through. I also thought it was tacky for a little girl to be standing at the exit asking everyone to go back to the front and go online to vote for them on this site. They have a good building but need to work on the flow of traffic.

3 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Halls of Madness and Insanity Woods (Paris, Illinois)
Reviewed by: clownsrus   (Event Visited: 10/31/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find; right off Route 16 I think

Wait Entertainment: Had some people dressed up outside, but unfortunately, they were all kids.

Length of Event: 20 minutes. Most of this time is spent walking around outside where they had very few actors; just a lot of junk sitting around.

Actor Performance: It was okay, but nothing great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. The group behind us did catch up, but that's because they were teenagers.

Appropriate Ages: all ages.

Props / Special FX: This area was seriously lacking. I've never seen so few props in a haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: Combination of masks and make-up. Nothing that stood out as beyond the ordinary. Mainly cheap black robes for costumes.

Summary: I was seriously disappointed with this haunt after checking out their website. Guess you can't always believe what you read on the internet. They have a huge building and could do so much more with it if they added some props.

7 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: The Haunted House (Mattoon, Illinois)
Reviewed by: clownsrus   (Event Visited: 10/31/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find as there were signs everywhere in town directing you.

Wait Entertainment: None when I was there.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were good. They tried really hard all the way through. No one off cue or out of their place unprepared.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No one else there when we went so I don't know.

Appropriate Ages: any age over 9

Props / Special FX: Had some good props. I liked the Elvis guy singing and the guy popping out with a chainsaw.

Costumes / Make-up: Had a combination of masks and make-up. Some costumes were better than others.

Summary: I enjoyed this haunt very much. All of the actors did a good job and I especially liked the clown who ran and jumped around like crazy after he gave me a piece of candy; super creepy.

4 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: clownsrus   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find; right uptown near the square.

Wait Entertainment: None while we were there.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: This was good. While I didn't ever "jump" (I am pretty hard to scare), I did enjoy the actors and how they kept in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Didn't run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: They have excellent props and effects. This area needs no improvement.

Costumes / Make-up: Combination of maks and make-up which were both great. Masks were form fitting and had make-up aroung the eyes.

Summary: This is a good haunt. Was only $6 to get in. Nothing about it I didn't like. The set up was great and everyone stayed in character. The costumes were good and the props were great.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at