Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2009 Visitor Reviews Submitted by jashuh

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
25 out of 38 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is on the square in downtown Auburn, large old two story house with a basement.

Wait Entertainment: No monsters in the line, however old (staged) woman walking around talking about her cat or bat or whatever? Two nice fires to keep warm which came in very useful in the cold and light rain, also benches nearby to set and talk to others while you wait. Concession stand selling hots, etc. We waited maybe 35 minutes, no bad. Well done here!

Length of Event: The attraction lasted almost 20 mintues.

Actor Performance: Actors all did a great job, the little girl with the gun really got my son good, myself included. Very well staffed and everyone stayed on character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow throughout the house was great, we ran into no other group.

Appropriate Ages: maybe 9+ here, there are somethings (without giving away anything) here that younger kids might not find 
enjoying. This means that this crew has done a good job scaring people!

Props / Special FX: Props and special effects are good and entertaining, the "smashed face" effect might need some fine tuning, the light fade timing was somewhat off. Everything else was great and lots to see.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up and costumes all worked here, lots of detail.

Summary: This is also a MUST SEE attraction if your in central Illinois. Very well done by people who know about putting on a Haunted House. Every year they seem to come up with a new format and it works great! This year I would say its much better. Looking forward to next year, thanks for doing a good job.

10 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Shotgun Manor 2009:Emalee's Knightmare (Sullivan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Old "goodwill" type store with the entrance at the rear of an alley, not very well marked except small no lighted sign.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment, no concession stand, no movies, no anything.

Length of Event: 13 - 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors did a fair job here, no really problems. The little girl did a good job selling her part.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along good.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ No real high impact scares.

Props / Special FX: Lots of interesting props to look at, but nothing which takes your break away. There was no special effects to speak of at all.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were good and the make-up worked.

Summary: This was a first year I had to check out this attraction and its wasn't bad. The wait in lines was short (under one hour) and the event was enjoyable. My only problems was charging $10.00 each - I think that $8.00 would have been more fair. And also; they converted a side "A" and "B" to give you two haunts in one house, only problem is that both charge you to enter them - the double taker! The haunted house was pretty good but a longer event would have been nicer, even at $10.00 - I hope they consider this for next year. Overall everyone in the group enjoyed the attraction and we only slightly ran into another group ahead of us, but we waited for them to move on and out. I think we'll give this another shot next year, but I hope to see more "pop" for the money.

11 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is three sisters park, you can't miss it! Good lighted sign also marks the event.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment noticed except for a chain saw monster who went through the "Haunted House" event line.

Length of Event: 3 events - Haunted House was 15 minutes, Haunted HayRack was 20 minutes, and the Haunted Trail was around 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors did a good job selling everything. The haunted house and trail was well staffed, however the HayRack ride was very poor staffed, little scares here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along well inside all attractions, no problems.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: The props were good and I'm glad the retired some of the old things, they were getting old fast. Not a lot of special effects here on anything.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes are average here at best and too many masks. Needs some work with make-up effects and more detail on the outfits. It's too simple here!

Summary: This is a good place to start off the Halloween season, they get things going. This years trail was the best with the new added gargoyle effect, which got everyone in our group. The Haunted house was good with the surrounding. The Haunted HayRide took a reverse trail this year which was nice, however the lack of people running effects and jumping out and onto the wagon hurt the attraction and most people were let down. Also note; many people were told about a hot air balloon ride in the ads and included in the $20.00 price, which never happened! Past years the balloon was there so this year no show probably made so people mad - they should have a better follow-up on their web page. Overall, I didn't miss it and the unlimited rides made the $20.00 seem reasonable.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/31/09 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is the same every year, somewhat hard to find until you know where to go. Non-lighted road sign. This little town makes a great setting, large old grain elevators and train tracks to cross in the dark town. The new (2nd year) remote haunted house is also interesting to get to with the hayrack ride.

Wait Entertainment: Not much here to talk about, the haunted house people walk outside and work as crowd people. There are fires burning at both locations to set around and keep warm by, concession stand at main house.

Length of Event: 15 minutes at main house, 13 minutes on the trai, and 10 minutes in the second haunted house - not too bad!

Actor Performance: Actors all did a good job and everyone stayed on their mark. I think more people might be needed, but overall not too bad.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: People moved throughout each event very well and we had no other groups to run into, however at our time the crowd was very weak.

Appropriate Ages: Maybe we will push 10 years plus on this one, the highest I have marked all year.

Props / Special FX: Standard static props with nothing that really stands out, some interesting home made stuff though. No special effects, it would be nice to add some to this attraction.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were good and everything worked with their setting. The masks and make-up wasn't too bad.

Summary: The final Haunted attraction for me this year and it was pretty good, a good close out this year. This attraction is slowly getting back to the mega-show of years ago, 1995 thru 1997. There is still lots of work to be done but they are on the right track now. The remote haunted house with an old barn are great, lots of great surroundings to look at and great mood set. The trail was very good and everything went off as it was staged, much better than last years. The main house improved also with less maze stuff and more action packed. I didn't see a major problem with the stair grabber or the foam floors, but I can see where an old woman might not like this. The characters also put you in the action of the house with the chainsaw touching your shoe or in your face (right in your face, I accidently head butted one of the creatures - too close here) scares. However; all-in-all a great haunted attraction to close out on, we all had a good time and we will try this again next year. Well worth the $15.00 for an arm band, they should make this standard weekly. The horror display in the basement is nice, if you like that sort of think, and there's no charge. See you next year, keep up the work and yes this time don't run out of gas on the hayrack ride, very enjoyable!

9 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is the same every year, can be hard to find if it's your first trip here. Needs more signs!

Wait Entertainment: Tv displays reactions from people inside the event. Concessions available.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors all did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No bottle up this year and everything went off ok.

Appropriate Ages: 8+. Some high impact scares here so this might not work for small kids.

Props / Special FX: Lots of good props with little automation effects here and there, I would like to see more with an event of this size and crowd draw.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes are all good and the mix of masks and make-up was good.

Summary: I try to attend this attraction every year, it seems to keep the same format every year, but it works here. This years elevator was enjoyable with a great conculsion. Overall, this is one great haunted attraction which could use some more punch, but we all enjoyed it and will return next year. The "Speed Pass" is the best way to get through this attraction, the normal line tonight was almost 2 hours, we used the "pass" and was moving on within 15 minutes.

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Springfield Jaycees Haunted House (Springfield, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located at state fair grounds, not well marked so you have to find it at the fair grounds.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment at all, expect long delay in the lines because they move very slow - we waited two hours. Concession stand with food and drinks available.

Length of Event: Average time 10 to 15 minutes, most time at the maze at the end of the event.

Actor Performance: Everyone was well timed and on character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow throughout the haunt moved fast, maybe too fast. Only meet other small group within the maze.

Appropriate Ages: 7+ This attraction has no real high impact scares, chainsaw monster was the only real scare here.

Props / Special FX: Lots of static props throughout the attraction, nothing stand-out here. No special effects used and everything simple. No automatic creatures to speak of, one monster set-up in casket.

Costumes / Make-up: Lots of masks here and no make-up.

Summary: After several years off from this haunted house we returned with higher expectations. The overall event was very weak because of the extra long line with no wait entertainment and no reason to have this kind of delay, the event goes through very fast. The haunted attraction did give some enjoyable build-up but failed to give the scare factor we thought. This might have possibilities in the future, the maze was very well done.

8 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is at Marquette Heights baseball parks, about 1 mile outside Pekin Illinois, Can't miss it! Large lighted sign pointing up the hill. Very well marked, just look for all the cars.

Wait Entertainment: The wait is filled with monsters roaming around the grounds, some popcorn, hot chocolate and hot cider served while in line. Nice on cold nights because the wait can easily be over an hour or more. This year added music dancers dressed as zombies and creatures dance to various haunted sound tracks. (Nice touch)

Length of Event: The trail takes around 40 minutes and the MC Haunted Mannor maybe 20 minutes top. The time here is spent waiting in the large line for the trail, I sugggest the speed pass on the trail. I would suggest getting to the event as early as possible because the bigger crowds (young people) start flowing in around 8:00 and after. The trail line could actually take a couple of hours of waiting alone.

Actor Performance: Actors all did a great job and stayed on track throughtout the scare. Every year I think they get better and better and no lack of help here, they have a good supporting cast of creatures throughout.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Some problems here on both attractions, with this amount of people going through the events - troubles like this can't be helped. There are Haunted buildings throughout the trail which require set-up and therefore groups do line up from time-to-time. At several times throughout the trail we were a group of 20 or more, problem here is the timing of the scares gets off as the cast can't handle these numbers. The Mannor attraction only had several times when we saw another group; however the people going through the mannor is 1-to-40 than the people on the trail.

Appropriate Ages: Lots of good scares here, but I still think 8+ is fine.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great props throughout both attractions, the trail is the bread-and-butter of this attraction, so the number of effects are far more here! Lots of animatronics on the trail, this is a first class job of scaring people. The mannor has creatures to look at and things that pop out, but not like the trail. Overall lots of first rate stuff here.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes are good to great, some first class actors with professional face make-up and wardrobe and others with average to about average masks. However throughout the dark and surroundings it works here.

Summary: This is a MUST SEE!! This is one of the best attractions throughout the state of Illinois and located right here in the central Illinois area. This is a first class job of putting on a haunted attraction event, thats why they continue to have the large number of crowds - great bang-for-the-buck! The new shorter trail this year was the only let down, lets get back the extra trail next year. There needs to be a bigger conclusion to the trail, a large guy dressed in a hunting coat just don't work here - how about some chainsaws.? Both events are well worth the $13.00 cost to get in. I was surprised to see how many people attended the "trail" and not the "mannor" attraction - for an extra $3.00 the "mannor" is a great deal to complete the night. Look forward to see this again next year, as I noted before "A MUST SEE".

8 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Lincoln Jaycees Haunted House (Lincoln, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This year this attraction has moved and the building was harder to find, even the GPS didn't get it! Need some lighted signs, please!

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment to speak of, old man walking around with a mask and cape, weak here! Concessions are basic - candy bars! Lots of Jaycees running around out of costume helping, but this takes away from the overall events fear factor.

Length of Event: 10 minutes, maybe 15 or 20 if you get caught into a maze trap.

Actor Performance: Actors did a fair overall job, much better than last years performances. However; not as many people working the event this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along well, only ran into other group within the maze area and that was the group ahead of us - not bad here!

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Props were very good but all staic props - basics.. No special effects at all.

Costumes / Make-up: The outfits and make up was better than last year and everything worked good..

Summary: After a good Jaycees job last year I didn't expected a vamped up event this year, I was wrong - the building was much smaller and the attraction was cut in half in length. People with the Jaycees were out of costume and the line was extra slow for a quick paced haunted house. They however do a great job with the MAZE, it takes a good maze person to get through here. I wish the guy in the maze wouldn't give out bad information to people who know he's wrong - like myself. It's better to let the people stumble through the maze themselves. I hope next year the find a better location with more building space, and yes - a larger maze for me!

7 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Haunted House (Forsyth, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the Steve and Berry's building within the mall, outside entance works better. Needs much better signs!

Wait Entertainment: "Night of the Living Dead" playing on large screen, guy with monster mask behind large wooden fence - hitting it and small holes to crab people waiting in line - not bad! Waiting lines needed better order and management, some people tried cutting lines.

Length of Event: 15 minutes...

Actor Performance: Actors all did a good job, most stayed in character and everyone was ready. Only noticed problem was too many small children working the attraction - kids are not scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good even throughout the dark tunnels throughout the house.. Enjoyed the fireplace small tunnel, maybe a little longer next year.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: The props were all good, however in an event this size I would like to see some special effects and automatic creatures popping around me, there wasn't nothing here that really stood out.

Costumes / Make-up: The outfits and make-up was good and the masks fair.

Summary: After last years bad job at the fair grounds, this year was a pick up and needed badly. Everything was much better this year and the event length was good. As I said we needed more automatic creatures and special effects, maybe next year they will come. I think the Decatur Jaycee's are on the right track here, but there is still work to be done. The price at $6.00 was fair and the "can" goods discount and "military" discount was nice also. Keep working - we'll try to make it again next year.

6 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Torment at Twelve Hundred (Orion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the middle of nowhere, this works here. However; markers would be nice, others had trouble finding this.

Wait Entertainment: Old guy wondering around, over padded in security. Could use some type of concession stand at the beginning - they have end concessions. Good wait line throughout a dark glooming surroundings with old telegraph poles all around you.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors did a great job here, I liked the old man which gets things started by leaving you off at the gate.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: People move through the attraction very well, we had no bottle ups.

Appropriate Ages: 8+. Younger people might enjoy this also, little in your face scares.

Props / Special FX: Lots of props here to look at (same stuff as last several years) and some "light" effects - could use much more. This haunt is based on its surroundings and location with the idea of building suspense. They should add much more detail to the dark trail through the woods, more monsters.

Costumes / Make-up: Wardrobe was great and the make-up was very good.

Summary: This is a very enjoyable family managed haunted attraction that does a pretty good job. This haunted however is based on it's remote location in the middle of nowhere. I think the trail could use help, more monsters. The new lighted trail was a nice touch, needed a dimmer light. The final haunted house was nice and everything worked like it should have. Overall, I liked this attraction however the past years $10.00 was right, the new $13.00 is too much for the event. For that much the atraction should have more effects and things popping. Hope next year we get back to a normal $10.00 price and more bang-for-a-buck.

4 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is located in the square area of Auburn and within walking of the other Haunted attraction, very nice! Can't miss it, hurst parked next to the attraction.

Wait Entertainment: No outside entertainment, however once inside we watched a projection movie of Van Helsing while we waited, they do this every year with a different movie. This year we waited maybe 15 minutes to get in, much better. Outside they also have a fire burning to keep warm by.

Length of Event: The attraction took about 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors all did a great job here, nobody got out of their character. And yes we did like the Tormented Clown which started us downstairs.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along great and no problems.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ No real high impact scares, but the basement location might freak out some younger kids.

Props / Special FX: Lots of nice props and some animatronics - funny I was just telling my group the other day I missed "Chuckles the Clown" - HE's HERE! Lots of good effects here and lots to see.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up was good and the masks all worked. Everyone we noticed was in costume also.

Summary: This is a great buy for $6.00, I wished more "Haunts" would stay within this price - Nice for everyone to attend. This is a MUST SEE also, lots of detail work and hard work have went into making this attraction - they don't miss nothing here. They have invested back into the attraction every year and it shows. I was sad to see the actual working elevator gone though. A must see if your in Auburn.

8 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: JASHUH   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good location in old (Steve & Barry's) building,much better than later years location. Location next to super walmart store, so easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Wait lines average time is around 1 hour or less, several "haunted" clowns working the crowd. The "Don Rickles" want-a-be clown with green hair does a good job keeping everyone entertained.

Length of Event: 20 minutes, maybe more if you have trouble finding your way through the maze - however the maze is simple.

Actor Performance: Actors did a great job here, everyone was on time and no problems. The grave yard guy did a standup job selling "his yard" and everything worked.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow throughout the house was excellent, only the maze (last scare) we saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ No high impact jump out scares, enjoyable for 8+ ages.

Props / Special FX: Props were good, lots of scenes to look at and everything was well done. Much better this year.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up worked good, no cheap masks! Everyone was done up and no problems.

Summary: This is a very good haunted attraction and well worth the $8.00 admission price. Our group enjoyed every part of attraction and wasn't let down by any part. Good people working the event and inside waiting line helps in the cold rainy night we attended. Looking forward to next year.

6 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Gilson Haunted House (Gilson, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is great, the old 100 year old school house, this building looks great everyday throughout the year - old large three story school house. They need to continue with what they have and forget the gypsy theme, back to old school stuff - stay with what works best!

Wait Entertainment: Good waiting people who work the crowds.. Not a large waiting line tonight, but creatures waiting inside.

Length of Event: The length of the event is good, the maze this year seemed weak, I thought last years was much longer and harder - maybe getting use to the maze, time to rework the thing!

Actor Performance: Actors all did their jobs good, no problems.. Somewhat weak on number of people working the event, however it was on a Friday night > high school football home games.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problems here, everything moved along great..

Appropriate Ages: 10+ Fun here for all ages and entertainment good.

Props / Special FX: Props and special effects work here.. The new props were ok but not worth the extra money charged to get in.

Costumes / Make-up: Custumes are average here, nothing really stand out.

Summary: This is one of the better haunted houses around central Illinois and worth a trip to Gilson. However the extra $2.00 now at $8.00 for admission is getting high for repeaters - last year I reviewed this event twice, however at $8.00 one trip here is enough! The extra $2.00 will keep repeaters off, they'll lose ground here with numbers!! The overall Haunted House is great - stick with School theme. Many triggered effects (by man triggered) were off timed and we actually passed by before the display was tripped off.. The new "shifter" room was good this year! Nice event.

4 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Boo Crew Haunted House (Rochester, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Somewhat hard to find and they need better markings, however people know quality here and find it! I do wish they would mark it better, located outside Rochester approx. 4 miles southeast and turn on Jett Road. Can't miss the attraction once you get on Jett Road.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of good monsters walking throughout the lines, everyone in character. 
Concession stand with popcorn and pop available. Inside cover which worked on this rainy night. Expect large lines of people however this is a large draw and the crowd moves slowly - might think about a SPEED-PASS if your wanting to attend other events.

Length of Event: 25 minutes, all action packed here.

Actor Performance: Actors did a great job here, a couple of attractions here wasn't manned,but only a trained haunter would have noticed. Everyone had great timing and everything worked.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was great, nobody bottled up inside and the final maze was the only time we saw another group and that was the one before use anyway.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ No real in your face impact here, just lots of great scares. I think younger kids will enjoy this too.

Props / Special FX: Lots of first rate props and effects here, they invest back into the special effects and props every year, nice touch. Lots of animatronics and things going pop around you, nothing quiet here - first rate haunting effects!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was great, everything was first rate and to detail.

Summary: This is one of my favorites which I look forward to and I am expecting more from every year (since 2001)and year. It just keeps getting better every year and this year maybe the best yet. Things just keep moving here and things keep coming. The format this year was "good" however this little girls picture has been around for years - someone daughter or wife now?? However, this is the best overall haunted house in this area of Illinois and at $8.00 it works. Looking forward to more years to come.

4 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Terror on the Square (Petersburg, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in downtown Petterburgh, easy to find after you get there.

Wait Entertainment: No actual wait entertainment to speak of. New this year however is the "cash box" casket which tears $3.00 out of your pocket while you wait in line.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors stayed on mark, however every year we attend there are less people working within the attraction.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow throughout the attraction moved along well, we ran into no other group.

Appropriate Ages: 7+ There are no high impact scares here, just trick illusions.

Props / Special FX: Lots of props throughout to look at and the special effects are great. The timing on the effects were correct and everything worked right.

Costumes / Make-up: The few monsters and creatures were dressed well and masks and the make-up wasn't too bad. However; same stuff as last year!

Summary: I have attended this attraction every year for the past nine years and put simply it's a "cash cow" that never changes. This is basically the same stuff year after year with little to no changes. They have a good building here to work with, however they only use a small portion of the upstairs. I would like to see this attraction get a face lift, new props and ideas are needed badly. The have a great customer base here, but the income goes into pocket and not into the improvement of the house. I think some added effects are also needed, how much can glass and reflected images cost.? After lots of years here I think we'll take some time off next year from Petterburgh until we get more for our money.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at