Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2009 Visitor Reviews Submitted by livindeadgrl

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
13 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: 217 Terror Haunted House (Roodhouse, Illinois)
Reviewed by: livindeadgrl   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find right across the street from gas station & has flashing light on building.

Wait Entertainment: no outside events going on the night i was there other than music playing through speakers.

Length of Event: approx 15 mins

Actor Performance: overall good. the guy who ran the elevator with the 3 claw marks on his face was the best actor (at least on my trip through)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: i wasn't in line very long at all before we got in the house.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: nice props and each room was well decorated. the doors were very tricky though which was a nice touch because it made you feel trapped when you couldn't open the door.

Costumes / Make-up: the makeup looked good, again i think my favorite was the guy with the 3 slashes on his face. the lighting just adds to the makeup! costumes looked good...everyone was in time appropriate attire to fit the theme of the house story.

Summary: overall a good haunt! definitely one to put on your list. but watch out because that house really is haunted!!! the maze was especially creepy. someone in our group swears they heard something or rather someone in there with us.

8 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Owaneco Scare (Owaneco, Illinois)
Reviewed by: livindeadgrl   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: nice location, a little hard to see the signs from the main road in the dark...maybe suggest a light on the sign for folks that aren't familiar with the area. otherwise easy to find once off the main road.

Wait Entertainment: waiting was indoors which was nice since it was raining off & on. no actors for the line, but nicely decorated with tables where you could sit if needed.

Length of Event: about 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: all actors did a great job! there were a couple that caught me off guard, 2 areas in particular...but i don't want to give away any surprises ;)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into the group ahead of us toward the end, but actors did a nice job of getting control of flow back.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: this house is very dim...which helps add to the atmosphere, but the props looked great and had some great effects!

Costumes / Make-up: costumes looked really good. makeup was well done & those in masks looked good as well.

Summary: This is one to put on your must see list! for a small town they have a very nice haunt. This was my first time through their haunt and I am looking forward to seeing what they do next year!

4 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Boo Crew Haunted House (Rochester, Illinois)
Reviewed by: livindeadgrl   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: nice location out in the middle of nowhere...HA! signs on highway to lead you to the house.

Wait Entertainment: couple different actors outside & food/drinks for sale

Length of Event: about 15 mins...unless you can't find your way out...then maybe longer haha...

Actor Performance: overall good. only thing i could suggest here is more dialog and less screaming. had a lot of different girls who would just scream at you. but all actors stayed in character! nice job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ran into the group ahead of us in the last room...which after being in the room it was no surprise why...don't want to give away any secrets so you'll just have to find out why on your own ;)

Appropriate Ages: safe for any. this is a haunt that is fun for the whole family!

Props / Special FX: great special fx & the props are outstanding (as usual)...every year i'm impressed by some of the stuff i see.

Costumes / Make-up: all the costumes were great...nice makeup and masks.

Summary: great haunt...family friendly and safe for the kids. i believe they even offer different types of scares...like if you need a tour guide or a "special" flash light that protects from monsters...although this haunt may not be as scary as some of the others they make up for it with props, special fx, and creative designs!!!

4 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: livindeadgrl   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: signs directing you to the house, easy to find. in an old theater so it has a unique front with an old ticket booth.

Wait Entertainment: hearse out front, vending machine for drinks, and a small fire

Length of Event: about 10 mins

Actor Performance: this is an area that needs some improvement, but there were a couple good ones. granny was entertaining.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into the group ahead of us in 2 of the rooms. not sure if its because we were moving to fast or they were moving to slow.

Appropriate Ages: i found it mild on the scare factor so i'd say it's safe for all ages.

Props / Special FX: very nice props! all the rooms were well decorated and set a nice atmosphere.

Costumes / Make-up: saw a lot of masks. the few that had makeup on looked okay but very plain except the nice wound on the car victim.

Summary: a nice family friendly haunt. not one i would recommend to someone who is looking to get scared, but if you have some younger kids or just like visiting haunts in general then it is not bad for the price ($6/person). there is an area where you have to crawl on all 4's. they have padding down so it's not as rough on your knees.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at