Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2009 Visitor Reviews Submitted by sniper

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
52 out of 65 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Evil Intentions Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house was hard to see. The street was extremely dark and so was the parking lot. I found it by using google maps, that gave me turn-by-turn directions.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of actors were outside near the cue line and one of them had a chainsaw.

Length of Event: Not counting the time you spent in the final part of the cue where they showed you a video, it took about 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: They were really active inside. There were a lot of actors that jumped out from around corners and hidden places. There were also some that started up chainsaws.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good. My group did run into a group in front of us briefly and a group caught up from behind.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 13+

Summary: I thought the part at the beginning where they put you inside the coffins was cool.  
 
Their scenes really weren't that elaborate and most had little or no detail. There was a room of hanging bodies, a locker room and a dark bathroom. To get to some scenes, there were hidden exits that you had to find. That was pretty interesting. There were some really cool lighting effects, though. In several areas, they had colored lighting and colored strobe lights.  
 
It was fun to go through. Everyone in my group seemed to enjoy it.

52 out of 83 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Raven's Grin Inn (Mount Carroll, Illinois)
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 09/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: ok. Use the directions on their website. Note that google maps shows them being one block south of where they actually are!

Wait Entertainment: Anticipation of the event is killer. Creepy, creepy! It's tucked back in an alcove of trees on a dead-end street!

Length of Event: About an hour or so.

Actor Performance: They did good. I thought Jim Warfield was the best. He really makes this attraction!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow is good, since it's a guided tour.

Summary: This is one crazy place that is not to be missed! I love the haunted history and Jim's artwork and weird displays are unique to say the least! The wine cellar is so eerie! Be sure to check this one out! $12 is cheap for over an hour of entertainment!!!

14 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Hotel Massacre Haunted House (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They are located in with the 115 Bourbon Street Bar. If you are from the area it would be easy enough to find, but it was hard to see from the road. A big sign was out front, but it was dark, so we missed the turn.

Wait Entertainment: Wasn't much to speak for, except for movies projected on a screen in the waiting room.

Length of Event: About 5 minutes

Actor Performance: They tried pretty hard, but most of the scares were either off or telegraphed ahead of time. There were a lot of theatrical set ups for the "punch line", but the follow through was pretty hit and miss. Also, most of the actors were little kids. When will haunted houses understand this? Kids just aren't scary!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good. Groups were regulated by the speeches of actors in each scene.

Summary: This haunted house had a hotel theme, but for some reason they decided to have a pirate ship in the middle of it? Most of the scenes fit in with the theme, like the bedroom and such. It was a decent house, but like the other reviewers have said... I also felt misled by their claim of "Scariest in the Midwest". That's why I paid $20 to get in. Unfortunately, it was a big let-down and I feel like they misrepresented their event by making up a phony award in their advertising, all just to make a quick buck! 
 
Let me state this loud and clear. THEY ARE NOT SCARIEST IN THE MIDWEST!!! There, I said it.  
 
Since it is against the rules of this website to do direct comparisons of haunted houses by name, I can't mention the actual names, but I have already been to a couple this year in the Chicagoland area that blow this haunted house away!!! They were way better and way more scary than this haunted house!  
 
I want my $20 back.

5 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Disturbia Torment of Fears (Addison, Illinois)
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty bad. The street was very dark and so was the parking lot. It was very hard to see since the building so far off the street. There was a sign by the road, but it was also dark and hard to see.

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: About 5 minutes

Actor Performance: They tried really hard, but they didn't have much of a haunted house to work with. Where can you hide, when there are a bunch of big open spaces?

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: OK

Summary: I have mixed feelings about this haunted house. It was fun because the actors really tried hard, but the haunted house was really nothing more than a bunch of dark hallways. They used colored lights and fog, but I expected a lot more than that, when I'm paying $18 to get into a place! They told me that this was their first year in business and I think charging that much is just way out of line, especially since they didn't deliver the goods. It definitely wasn't worth the $18 price tag. Maybe half that.

4 out of 10 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Nightmares Basement Of The Dead (Aurora, Illinois)
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This place was pretty hard to find. There was no parking along the street, so I had to use the casino parking garage. Finding the event from that was a challenge. We basically had to search for it.

Wait Entertainment: The line actors rocked! All sorts of characters like clowns and vampires. They were also all ADULTS, which is awesome because you don't see that in a lot of haunted houses.

Length of Event: Maybe 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great! These guys were on top of their game. There were tons of guys in dark corners, jumping out at you. They were relentless!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fine. Never saw any other groups.

Summary: They did a great job! I have been to this haunt a few times and this is their best year yet. Be advised that they use a lot of blood and guts (bodies on hospital beds, gutted corpses, etc), so it isn't something you would take a young kid to. I liked how they used fog and different levels/colors of light for atmosphere.

5 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror Haunted House (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house is at a family fun center, so if you know where that is, you could find it pretty easy. They had a light-up sign out front too.

Wait Entertainment: I got there early, so there wasn't much of a line. They had a concession stand and even sold beer!

Length of Event: Probably like 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: They were great! Very high energy! The haunted house had an asylum theme and all the actors had medical scrubs on and acted crazy! Great job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ok. A group caught up to us from behind.

Summary: This haunted house has come a long way in just the last couple of years. Their scare factor is through the roof! Lots of scenes with bloody bodies and corpses. There was an evil dentist scene and the last part of the house is a maze that is filled with fog and strobe lights. I couldn't see an inch in front of my face and was stuck in there for quite a while. Awesome job guys!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at