Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2009 Visitor Reviews Submitted by spook

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
11 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Terror at Skellington Manor (Rock Island, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Downtown Rock Island with nothing more than your address to get you there.

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: wonderful although there were no long preformances. What they had was good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: One group caught us

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Oh my God do they have props! I have been to several of the top rated haunts on this site and nothing compares to what they have.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing mind blowing. Some of the wasks are weak but I notice this trend more and more everywhere.

Summary: I was blown away. All I could do is OOH and Awe at what they have. This is not the scarest haunt with tight dark spaces and blaring strobes with fog. If thats what you want to attend then this may not be your haunt. They have shock value though...even for someone that has been to many of the great haunts you are still surprised. If you love the classic Halloween prop driven scares and images this is the best I have ever seen. If this event was reviewed it could easily be top 3. It's that good.

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Shady Hollow Insane Asylum (Annawan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find along route 78 since there is nothing else around it.

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: They were good last year their better this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: timed closley

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: they use fog as the main effect so the props are somewhat hidden. The ones I saw are good but don't expect high dollar. They use what they have to good effect.

Costumes / Make-up: perfectly fitting the scenes they were in. Some of the masks are a little cheesy but I have seen similar in the big haunts so I'd say average.

Summary: This is a haunt on the rise. Last year was different than this year by leaps. This is a smaller haunt but they made up for it in atmosphere. If you can stand foggers this is some of the best use of fog and strobe I've scene. I love the insane room. I had a great time with only one complaint...the floors...can you do something about the floors?

6 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Nightmare on Fairgrounds Road (Princeton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: well lighted fairgrounds with a flashing sign on a main road.

Wait Entertainment: Chainsaws, a Jason look alike, a skeleton creature. Pretty good really.

Length of Event: about 30 minutes with the two barns and the hayrack ride.

Actor Performance: A couple really stand out. The Joker and his moll. The doctors scene is great. The priest is really good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They limit the groups so the wait seemed a little long, but no one ever caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: They have a lights on hour for the little ones. Overall I'd say 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: The added a lot of animated stuff this year. The Exorcist and h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) raiser scenes are timed. They added some old shool powered props and some new static ones.

Costumes / Make-up: They have some costumes to go with masks and the acting scenes are well costumed but the others are just bloodied or light make up. To be fair they have added a lot of costumes over last years show.

Summary: This haunt gets better every year. They spent some money on the timed scenes and the new animated stuff. They have increased the shock value as well. The only complaint I have is the hayrack ride need more stuff and the wait is more than it has been in the past. Overall this is a really good haunt.

6 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find off route 29 which is the main road to Peoria

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: 15 minuted for Massacre mansion

Actor Performance: Either screaming or staring. Not much preformance art here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had one group catch us

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: They have some good ones but they don't seem to use them. They have a good electric chair prop but is in the dark so much you cannot see it. The Peppers Ghost effect went off after we went by it.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing special...I am not a fan of cheesy masks in a haunt this size but other haunts are similar.

Summary: I must echo the sentiments of the other reviews...they have the goods but they fail to use them. There must be 40 plus scences but only a couple stand out as good. The others are all the same thing. If you just like people that scream and you tend to walk through haunts with your eyes half shut I guess they are your haunt. If you go to the high rated haunts on this website to see creativity I believe you will be really disapointed here.

4 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Asylum of Mad Dreams (Cordova, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: one sign on route 84...you need to be looking for it

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: about 35 minutes

Actor Performance: no preformance art to speak of mainly the scream varity.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: they excell here. Their creature in the openning is wonderful. The wall hangings are top of the line. They have the best peppers Ghost illution I have seen and they have many of the classic animations of the big haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: Not real strong here. Walmart quality masks with some make up. The darkness takes away the need for great makeup.

Summary: If you loved the original Morrison presentation as I did you will be disapointed with what they have become. The Morrison haunt was a highly detailed room filled walk through with hidden doors everywhere. This is your standard maze in the dim light with scattered scenes to walk through. They include a really nice outdoor walk through some creeped up woods. They do have some really good toys spread throughout. A top knocth electric chair and a good body bag room. If you are a fan of this type of haunt they do it as well as anyone does. The screamers will plenty to scream at as it is a long haunt.I am certain they will return to the greatness they once were. Good job guys!

3 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Event Reviewed: Torment at Twelve Hundred (Orion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A most difficult place to find as they are located in the middle of a lightly populated area. The signs along the road are very small with no lighting.

Wait Entertainment: Loved it! You meet a sheriff who's name I will not speak. There is a odd little man as you enter the ticket booth. Great!

Length of Event: It was about 30 minutes...fairly long really.

Actor Performance: They advertise preformance art and they do so. All the characters were good to wonderful. The screamers could have been more effective if thet were a little more hidden in the scenes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never saw anyone but our group of 5.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up but littler kids could take it if they have seen this type of haunt before.

Props / Special FX: They are not heavy in them but they do have some good ones. The scenes are detailed. Look for the American Werewolf in London prop.

Costumes / Make-up: they are strong in this catagory but don't expect the heavy gore makeup. They are more character driven.

Summary: I will admit that I am NOT a fan of the trail walk/ hayrack ride haunts. They seem to be there to make a small haunt seem bigger at little cost. This is my fourth such event this year and I still have yet to see one be effective. If you are a fan of such then Torment was about average. They were a little light on the preformers outside on the trail. The strength of the event was when you entered the various buildings. They varied from the MAD doctor to a haunted bus, Hillbilly shack, lost mine, ect. The Actors were very good and stayed in character even though we had a fairly quiet group. For the veteran haunt goers you will recognize the classic Frankenstien animated prop..loved it. Great food stand. Overall I was entertained in the buildings and loved the preformance stuff. One last thing guys...do you have to read the rules to us three times?

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at