Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
12 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find off Rt. 29. Large lighted sign that leads the direction to the event.

Wait Entertainment: Saw Radio stations and food to purchase. Did see a fire dancer at one point.

Length of Event: 45 min. to 60 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were great, all stayed in character. Some actors did have their timing off.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did run into a couple of groups and a couple of groups ran into our groups. This is difficult to control since groups move at different speeds and plus you are in open trails in the woods.

Appropriate Ages: 8 on up.

Props / Special FX: Most props on the trail were from Mother Nature, but did bring in some props to set the mood. Use of the shacks and houses in the woods were great.

Costumes / Make-up: A mixture of both, Best was the backwoods people!!!

Summary: I would say the best part of the attraction was the maze outside the house. Were the walls moving? I guess people will never know except for the monster actually doing it. The confusion the maze caused was great, actually making people a little nervous walking into dead ends and walking into people! 
 
The woods is always great! A couple of the house's were dead on causing screams and panic from my groups and the groups we encountered. I always like this house cause they force you to look one direction and hit you from the other direction!  
 
I really enjoyed the set up this year. You bought a ticket for $20.00 got in line for the house and after you exited the house you went immediately in line for the woods. Thanks for the speed pass! It is worth the extra $10.00. Overall the price is a little steep for a Central Illinois house.  

6 out of 10 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ZombieDude   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Always easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was ok. It helped keep your mind off the wait.

Length of Event: 45 minutes or so. to go thru.

Actor Performance: Most where pretty good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Kept running into other groups which really did not help with the scare when you knew what was comimg since you just seen the group in front get the scare first. They really need to get that timed better for the price we paid to get in.

Appropriate Ages: Looked like young and old was in there working.

Props / Special FX: For the most part pretty good.

Costumes / Make-up: Most where well done.

Summary: My biggest grip is the price to get into a non for profit spook house cause it does look like they are making a killing here. I bet there was at least 500 people there or more on this night so do the math. If I had a big family, there is no way we could afford to go, so I am sure there ia alot of familys that miss out on stuff like this and I am sure their kids would love it. I just hope they go back to the two different events for the familys that can not afford both. Or just drop the price where it should be at like most, $8.00

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tech   (Event Visited: 10/24/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You can not miss this one. Large lighted sign as you enter Marquette Heights. There are no turns enter the town and go straight. You truely can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: I loved the "fire" dancers. Micharl Jackson's thriller is a classic. A haunt with a concert was great touch. The actors were all over the line. Turned around to talk to a friend and was talking to a zombie instead.

Length of Event: It was well over an hour total scare time. Total time there was about two hours There was also about five hundred people in line when we got there. Kept the line movin and with all the line entertainment and things to see seemed like half hour waiting.

Actor Performance: Talk about ataying in character. These people (all volunteers) do a truely amazing jobs of not letting up and really play their parts. From the funeral director to leather face you would swear they sleep in costume.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Always a uncontrolable problem is the people behind you or in front of you. Spook Hollow doea an excellent job of breaking groups up at each haunt. Even inside the individual booths the actors know when to stall or speed people up. We caught a group infront of us, but the "hillbillies" got us spread apart quickly.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on maturity. I never recommend for anyone under 8.

Props / Special FX: "Is it live or memorex" I found myself constantly asking is that a dummy or a person? The quality of animatronics and still "dummies" is incredible. There were actors I thought were "fake" and Fakes I thought were actors. We had a person in our group talking to a prop (sorry Scott). Leatherface rocked, thought I was in the movie. Didn't know which clowns would move and which ones wouldn't. Even the pictures were not what they seemed. They nailed the details as well, from flowers, to books on the bookshelves, tools on the workbench, even the curtains on the windows were well thouhgt out. Details really make a difference.

Costumes / Make-up: Perfect costumes, no one out of place. I have been to many haunts where a clown would be in a graveyard. These were spot on in the areas in which they were involved. They even had suits at the funeral. The makeup on everyone was so realistic was truely worried that someone might actually have been hurt. They even took into account the size of the actor when selecting position and costume. Leather face looked just like the guy from the movie.

Summary: I am a halloween freak. I start planning the month of Oct all year. I travel from haunt to haunt all month. I have been at Spook Hollow for the last eight years. I normally dont comment on other reviews, but not sure how anyone could have been in line 5 hours? We were pretty close to two hours from the car back to the car. Not sure what the problem was friday night, but they definately had them fixed Sat. Also, if there isn't a line there generally isnt anything to see. Like any type of live event you will have to wait to get in. Unless it is a Bears game lol (colts fan). Also they offer a "Speed Pass" if you want a faster event.  
This event has grown and matured over the years. I always get nervous when I hear about major changes in a haunt. Noticed comments on price so I checked my notes, YES OCD, and it cost me $20 last year. I guess the difference is you have to do MC manor and the Hollow both this year. Something I have always done. So the price has not really changed. I have paid a lot more for a lot less.  
I went to the tickt botth got my ticket passed on the speed pass. Got in line and from that point on was totally satisfied. watched thriller in line. Wanted to stay there and watch dancers again, but had to head to the haunt. Entered the woods, which is scary enough. Entered MC manor and oh my. My heart was in my throat from start to finish. I thought a couple times I would need a clothing change. There were a few people actually crying in fear. We saw one girl being taken out of the woods for a panic attack. Now that is scary. After the manor we entered the woods. Which was about fourty five minutes later. Very long haunt total. The woods had us squeezing in, getting shocked, laugning, screaming, soiling ourselves, and at one point running for our lives (watch out for the trees Dave). This is by far the best haunt of the season so far. Stop reading and get there! Only one weekend left. Only thing I would suggest for this haunt is more "ope" days

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jack20   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good directions on the website, drove right to it, large lit sign at town entrance.

Wait Entertainment: Some monsters roaming around from time to time, not alot. Spooky dancers were a great touch to keep us entertained while waiting in line, great job.

Length of Event: we got our tickets at 8:30, wait was long but we expected it to be,waited about 3 hours. lots of people in line so we should of got the speed pass option. next year we will be getting the speed pass. 3hrs in line. aprox 1+ walking through the attraction.

Actor Performance: Actors were on key, great placement, timing was better than most, but some were off. to be expected for the amount of people coming through, they had to get tired, I don't know how they do it but kudos to them!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Wait was a little longer than we expected, but it moved at a regular pace, stopped a few times backed up in the woods, but not to bad. maybe they need to work on flow once in the woods.

Appropriate Ages: 10+ for sure

Props / Special FX: Great props, a lot of cool animation, lots of sounds, and creepy music.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up was way better this year. They really stepped it up. way impressed with the reality.

Summary: Wait in line was long, but we dealt with it since this has always been a great event, they never let us down. The haunted Manor was very impressive this year compared to last year. lots of great scares and effects were great, loved the leather face area he was good. Didn't care for the speed pass people back in the woods asking for speed pass tickets, it broke the realism for us. Need to do away with that. Over all we loved it, yes the wait was long, but got to expect it from an event like this that so many people want to come see. If you can deal with the $20 ticket price you will love this attraction. Great job Spook Hollow we will be back next year.

10 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Nice big lighted sign off main road directing you to the park.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of stuff going on here. Stage spook show..roaming monsters, concessions.

Length of Event: 45 minutes

Actor Performance: The millions of actors all were in character and put out a great effort.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into groups frequently..but then we are seperated again..I think they do the best they can with such a long haunt.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: outstanding. So much to look at!

Costumes / Make-up: great use of both masks and make up..so many actors, I can only imagine how difficult this must be to arrange.

Summary: Spook Hollow has always been a favorite..think I have given them 9's in the past. They ramped this year up to be bigger and better. The house is better, great scenery and some outstanding in your face scares...lost in the mazes..nice touch. Then on to the woods...the triple chainsaw..nice touch..the Zombie house..well done...These guys are masters of diversion. Using the creep factor of the woods helps, but the lighting placement makes it impossible to see the scares..but I have to say....the most impressive daunting room is the Leatherface room..entering from the far side...in a narrow hallway with slats to see the back of Leatherface (who was incredible..MVP award) working on something. I actually felt like I was in the movie. Then, when you make it around to him..come on....it was just not right! I loved it!!!!

9 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located on the hill at Marquette Heights, signs well posted at turn. This location is the same every year and it's a good one, doesn't get any better.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of good wait entertainment, all types monsters roam throughout the lines... We had "fire" entertainment during the start, however most of the line creature fade-out as the night goes on and on and on...

Length of Event: The actual time of the haunted house is 15 minutes, the time of the haunted trail 35 minutes, and the waiting line to get i'n 5 hours, yes 5 HOURS!

Actor Performance: Most of the actors stayed on cue, however they too got bored throughout the event and by closing dome where on cell phones or paused out behind fences and backdrop, sad!! Like the crowd they were burnt out after hours of performance..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Real problems here, lots of bottlenecks, lots of waiting lines throughout the event (yes even after a 5 hour standard line wait) and monsters actually "rushing" people through the mazes just to get more people bottled up behind and i'n front of them.. This is the worst crowd control that I have ever seen at a local haunted attraction, and totally disrupted the mood of the event! Even attraction in Chicago and St. Louis 
that we attend don't have this much trouble!

Appropriate Ages: No real in your face stuff noticed on our event, I would say 8 years old or more.

Props / Special FX: Some new props this year, including some automation and more detailed surroundings in the haunted house. No special optical effects at all, and at this price there should be!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was great, these people do an excellent job here. The make-up is as good as any haunted event in the state, it doesn't get any better.

Summary: Problems here... We look forward to Spook Hollow ever year and so do thousands of others, but this year they stuck-out.. The larger trail was nice, the new trail maze great, and some of the added details were good, but overall the jammed up crowds (bottlenecks) and continued waiting throughout took all the pace and excitement out of the event fast... After waiting 5 hours just to get into the entry, then we walked 200 feet just to wait in another line for 15 minutes.. We had a total of 5 waiting lines throughout this entire event and like others were very upset at this stop action from one point to another. Now comes the price of a $20.00 charge to attend this event, an increase of $8.00 from last years $12.00. The $20.00 is way (far) too much for this attraction, "Fright Night" located in St. Louis Includes 7 events of high tech props and costs $20.00 - this gives you an idea of bang-for-your-buck... The crowd this year on opening night was large just to see what major steps were taken go justify the cost increase and it just didn't live up the hype.. The speed pass at $10.00 extra was a joke, it just line jumps you ahead on the 5 lines throughout the attraction and totally breaks the fright mood as people say "speed pass" throughout the events! I can't image paying $30.00 to attend this! For years I have looked forward to the Spook Hollow at Marquette Heights, but this year they got off track.. They need to go back and break-up the haunted house event and the trail event, get the admission price reasonable again, and get some help managing groups. There was NO reason to group the haunted house (the past lower draw event) with the haunted trail (the main event) because waiting lines break-up the flow anyway and the added cost just isn't worth it.. This was a sad year because of all the problems, but if you fork out the $30.00 a ticket (crazy) for a quicker run and have some luck with other grouping flow, you will enjoy this!

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bobo01   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: i had a GPS it took us straight there

Wait Entertainment: great monsters roaming around and the dancer were excellent just like last year and yes the line took about two hours but it was worth it

Length of Event: very good in some parts but some of it was stop and go other then that i thought they did a nice job

Actor Performance: great job a lot of people stayed on que up in your face weather u want to or not it was a fabulous performance all though i didn't see to many kids working which i thought was good because they are not scary! so great job on that

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: well like many years past the whole go and stop go and stop this is what * isnt so great * (censored) about it there were a lot of people up there though

Appropriate Ages: i would say ten and up i saw a lot of kids running and screaming and crying a lot i wouldn't go any younger then that

Props / Special FX: great they had some new props this year and some old but over all great special when i was in the house there was this time that i though there was like an earth quake that's what it felt like i don't know how else to explain it great job guys

Costumes / Make-up: this year above and beyond they always do on the trail and in the house the main two people that stuck out in my head were this guy on last house on the trail his eyes well you will have to c for your self and the chick with crazy red hair overall great make up

Summary: over all it was a great time the lines just sucked but it WAS worth the wait just trust me the house was a scary time and well the trail was good to lets c um the last house in the trail was my favorite though well everything was good hard to decipher between them all this is a must c attraction.um it was 20 to get in i thought that was a little high but they do do a good job at what they do i went with a few other people it was a great time and we look forward to seeing you guys next year hope its as good as this year

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at