Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more ! Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Midnight Massacre (Naperville, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
16 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: 10/07/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Midnight Massacre is located inside of Odyssey Fun World, which is pretty visible and easy to find. Once pulling up, they have signs on the road directing you.

Wait Entertainment: On the night we attended the only wait entertainment was some horror movies playing on tv's at what would normally be the counter to pay for lazer tag.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors at this attraction seemed to try very hard, but due to many of them seeming relatively young it seemed that their attacks just didnt live up to what this haunted house claims that it is.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was slow on the night we attended, so there is no way to judge how they would do when it is busy.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: This show had some cool props and effects like a giant T-Rex head with realistic movements, and a truck with a very loud blaring horn.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were ok, but did not live up to what I or anyone in my group would expect out of a haunted house that claims to be "The Midwest's Scariest"

Summary: First off, I have to ask who named this haunted house "The midwest's scariest haunted house." After visiting it i searched all over the internet, and the only place I can find that is on their website.  
 
The show is an okay haunted house, they had a series of miscellaneous rooms, all of which were decently decorated in regard to what they were supposed to be. The part I didnt understand was the beginning. It was a rather large area housed in the fun centers Lazer Tag area, it was not decorated other than setting up barricades and hanging camo netting. They actors in this area wore popular horror movie masks like the Saw puppet and Michael meyers. These actors said nothing and just stood there. It was confusing. 
 
The rest of the house wasn't in a lazer tag arena. These areas featured some fun scares and decently decorated rooms. Overall, this was an okay haunted house. 
 
In the end I had two issues. The first being their "top rated" claim, which appears to simply be their own opinion. The second is the price. At $20.00 this haunted house is WAY overpriced for the quality of show it delivers. If this attraction were to lowers its price tag, and stop making false claims, it just might be a pretty decent show.  
 
Overall, I think that this show is about what I would expect to see out of the location it is in. But as a family-friendly show, it does not have a family friendly price. 
 
Until the price goes down on this show, I don't think I would recommend it. 
 
A Fun time, but it needs improvement.

11 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cayamc   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's at the Odyssey Fun World in Naperville so it is very easy to find. It's right off I-88 and Rt. 59

Wait Entertainment: None. There was nothing to keep the people entertained. The line is in the back of the building, up a narrow staircase, and into an even narrower and long hallway. It was hot and cramped.

Length of Event: Maybe 20 mins.

Actor Performance: Pretty poor. With the exception of the person playing Freddy Krueger (who was very good), everyone else seemed like they weren't very interested in being there and they didn't put a lot of effort into scaring people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: For a very long wait, I expected that our group wouldn't run into any others. But we ran into 2 others.

Appropriate Ages: I would think 10 year olds could easily handle this haunted house.

Props / Special FX: The vignettes were pretty simple and were way over-lighted. And for some reason there was a random dinosaur in there. I'm not sure why.

Summary: The line started outside and went inside up a staircase and into two long hallways. The problem was that it was very narrow and very hot in there. There was no circulation and with all the people crowded inside it became overwhelming. People were leaving despite already paying $20. There was nothing to entertain you. There weren't even any employees around to ask questions.  
 
The problem inside the haunted house was that most of it was way too bright and you could see all the people before they got near you. There was no startle factor. The last section was just pitch black. But no actors, no scenes, no scares. We just walked out the exit wondering if that was it. I think there was suppose to be a chainsaw guy but we found him outside on a smoke break.

10 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chyamor   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Inside of Odyssey Fun World

Wait Entertainment: Had groupon vip so went straight to the front

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: As the above reviews have posted the actors are all a bit young, only good thing about that is they arent always screaming at you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We went in on a slow night so really didnt bump into many

Appropriate Ages: Ages 10 and up

Props / Special FX: dinosaur ?

Costumes / Make-up: decent job, lots of mask and only a few make up jobs

Summary: This is a average haunted house. Scale of 5-6. Anything high and I would question the review. Which is why I chimed in after reading a review of two which really made this seem like "The midwest's scariest haunted house." As for $20 I do agree its pretty steep. If it wasnt for the groupon half off vip I would be pretty upset. This is more of a $12-$15 haunt. Then again it is naperville full of teenie boppers which is what this haunted houses seems to be designed for. Happy halloween everyone...

9 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: adomagala   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's at Odyssey Fun World... So pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Nothing til you are the first people in line.

Length of Event: 20 Minutes

Actor Performance: Pretty good. I enjoyed myself. I jumped a couple of time. Nothing too scary though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't run into anyone infront of us and no one behind us ran into us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: I thought they did a good job. I don't understand the dinosaur in the middle of it...? Kind of out of place. We just laughed and were like what the heck? Wasn't expecting it so that was good, just once we seen it we just laughed. I like the effects though. Train was cool.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. Nothing to complain about.

Summary: Overall I did enjoy this haunted house. The beginning in the laser tag part is a little too open for anything to scare you. I could see everyone where they were at. Maybe at least make it darker somehow? Other than that I don't have any major complaints. I jumped a few times. It was entertaining. I think $20 might be a bit to expensive. Maybe make it $15? or $15 with the coupon? Over all not bad. They do give you a few tokens for games which is nice. Not bad :]

13 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: o2bad4u2   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find (note: I had a GPS) and as we were pulling off of the intersection, they were actually putting up signs to help direct to the haunted house. Ample parking and well lit.

Wait Entertainment: There was music while waiting but not until you were at the front of the line did you see a monitor playing scenes from scary movies. The black light while in line was entertaining for those waiting. It was a bit warm in the wait line.

Length of Event: Estimated at about 30 mins.

Actor Performance: The actors were in character and there were many. They were well hidden and blended in so that you would not know they were real until they moved. One scene with the dispondent young man may not be suitable for young children but I think that for the young children his actions took a different direction. He was very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was extremely well managed. At no time did we know there was anyone else in the attraction. It wasn't until we reached the first maze did 2 other folks join us but that was because we were in there a little longer trying to find a way out.

Appropriate Ages: It was pretty intense so I would age it to a min of 12 yrs but if the child is raised with scary movies it could go for a younger age. Again, I was with adults & older teens so it's possible that they adjusted the "fright" level for younger groups (there were younger groups that attended).

Props / Special FX: They had animatronics that ranged from partial corps to a dinosaur. Although we knew they were fake, they still looked real. Two tunnels with air bags were scary and seemed to never end. I was at the front of the line so I put my arms in front of me but the rest of my group was holding hands with each other so they said they went through it with their faces smashed against the airbags.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes, masks and make-up were of good quality. The characters outfits were in line with the scene.

Summary: Pleasantly surprised by this haunted house as I had not read any reviews on it. Well worth the price(plus they give you gaming tokens). The pop outs were well timed, the mazes were extremly well organized and the scenes were very creative (not the usual scenes).

8 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/14/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The house is located in the Odyssey Arcade, very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There really wasn't any, with the exception of showing clips of scary movies on the monitors.

Length of Event: 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Really good, they were very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No one else was there, so it went very smoothly.

Summary: This house started out in the Odyssey Lazer Tag area, which they tried very hard to hide. It gave the actors plenty of places to hide and pop out. There was a maze after that, that was a little confusing. There is a great animatronic T-Rex in the middle that looked really good. There is a pitch black area in the middle that ends with a truck coming at you, which is one of the best uses of the "Truck coming at you" aspect of a house I have ever seen. I feel that being part of the giant arcade hindered certain parts of the house, but I feel, overall, they did waht they could to overcome those obstacles.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2014 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at