Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Abyss Haunted House (Channahon, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
22 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hotdogs45   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were signs and lights. It was really easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was a great wait entertainment. These people were creepy as h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) I was scared before I went in.

Length of Event: It took us a little over a half an hour.

Actor Performance: They did a great job in this field, I was convinced that they were crazy enough to kill me. Kudos to all the actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I didn't run into any other groups, nor did one catch up to us, so they did a good job in this field as well.

Appropriate Ages: It is scary and gorey, I would say 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: They had machines, lights, and all sorts of stuff to make the haunt scary and realistic.

Costumes / Make-up: They did an amazing job here. Their make up was insane. The best ones were the clowns and that one doctor in the insane asylum that looked like satin.

Summary: Over all, it was well worth the 15 dollars and I would recommend it to my friends and family and to anyone who wants to get scared to death. It had well decorated scenes and great actors that put on a frighting show.

11 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Mech   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location of this haunted is very appropriate. It is on a back road along the canal. There are several signs on RT6 directing you right to it. It really stands out since it is very dark on the way to it. It is across from Dollinger's Farm.

Wait Entertainment: We had about a 15 minute wait. The actors outside were really scary and would choose their victims carefully. They really kept us entertained. Their make up and costumes were great.

Length of Event: about 35 minutes with out the wait time.

Actor Performance: The actors were phenomenal. Noone broke character. There were some younger kids that really creeped us out. They made my buddy scream. All of the actors seemed really into it and had great energy all the way thru.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Although we were spaced a decent amount of time apart we did run into the group infront of us. there were a bunch of girls that were really scared and slowed way down. But the actors did a great job in breaking us up and moving the other group along. After that we didn't come in contact with any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: ages 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: The props were well put together for each scene. There was alot of detail. Not many special fx but it really wasn't needed.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were very good. Each scene had it's own characters and were made up accordingly. The make up work was fantastic and seemed very professional. The one doctor had a syringe sticking out of his neck and other characters had different skin pieces that added to the effect of their parts. They did a great job in this area also.

Summary: Abyss was well worth the 45 min drive.The price was very reasonable for time spent. The location is supposed to be actually haunted so you couldn't ask for much more. The actors took their roles and their look to several levels beyond previous years. Everything was very professional and scared us the whole way thru. The chainsaw guy even climbed into a car after some girl. Everybody stood around at the end watching everyone else come out. We are going back again with other friends next weekend..

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: thecurse   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was way down a long winding road, made a good start to the haunt. would have been cool if there were a few actors along that road.

Wait Entertainment: had a guy in stilts, but you could see the stilts so it was stupid, and a creepy girl in gauze.

Length of Event: 35 mins, but my group walked really slow.

Actor Performance: pretty decent, could have used more actors though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the group in back of us caught up to us about half way through but again, we walked really slow do to it being almost pitch black most the time.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up, nothing too bad there.

Props / Special FX: some cool pop up animatronis, one actually basically grabbed me when i tried to get by, starteled me good.

Costumes / Make-up: pretty average i think, some actors didnt even have make up or anything on which i found weird.

Summary: for $15 it was well worth it. the short wait time and the long house is a big plus. most of it is pretty dark so you have to feel around and you get that uneasy feeling that anything could happen. the first room is by far the best i say, when it gets black then the lights come on and the 2 lil kids are standing next to you is way rad. the outside cemetery was a cool set but the actors in there were kinda bad, i guess they were zombies but they just walked by you and growled a bit. then the guy in the wheel chair should have just stayed home, not only was he annoying but he made no sense to why he was there or what he was doing. i think he was supposed to be the chainsaw guys victim...but the chainsaw guy couldnt get it to start for our group and it failed. but all in all, this huant was awesome. good price for a great time.

9 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: emm43   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunted house is in a good location naturally, meaning it is in a very unpopulated area with a real cememtery down the street

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was ok.

Length of Event: Event length was about 30 minutes, but alot of that time was wandering thru the black maze of halls within the haunted house. By the way alot of these halls had no scare factor what so ever.

Actor Performance: The actors were somewhst ok. Seemed alot of them were high school kids that were working there because they knew one of the ownsers, so they got a job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow wasnt too bad up to the end when it was backed up about 4 parties. This ended up where we really didnt get any scares.

Appropriate Ages: >10

Costumes / Make-up: good

Summary: Over all, the haunted house was "ok". The best part of it was the first scene. You walked in to a room with old/scarry stuff in it, and seemingly no place to go. the lights go out then 2 little children appear, that are of course dressed in white and fangs etc. Then the lights go dark and then a little trap door opens to the rest of the haunt. From there it goes down hill. They need alot more haunting scenes and alot less dark hall.; Would I go again.......nope. In fact, the past haunted houses run by Dollinger Farms were much better and a lot less money!

5 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/21/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The house was kind of off the beaten path, my favorite part was, as you approach the house, there is a dark foresty area which I thought was very creepy.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any.

Length of Event: 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Really good, they did some great pop outs, and they liked following our group through the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No one else was in the house as we went through it.

Summary: The first house is essentially a long maze, there are a lot of twist and turns, and the walls get very close in some parts of the house. The group with me had to hold on because of the darkness and the claustrophobic maze. Also, the house has different levels, at one point you go upstairs in the house to go through another part of the house, and have to come back downstairs to get out. You then go through an outside cemetery to go to another house, and end up outside again to have even more actors follow you practically to your car.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at