Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Shady Hollow Insane Asylum (Annawan, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
12 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: stuffy2004   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They have an arch that is lit up at the entrance, but there are no signs on the road prior to reaching the attraction. It is next to someones house in an outbuilding.

Wait Entertainment: There was a fire, but you had to wait in line. You wait outside and there is music playing.

Length of Event: 8 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were good. They had appropriate timing and were effective.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They were effective in wait times to make sure groups did not run into each other.

Appropriate Ages: all ages

Props / Special FX: The props were good. There was not many special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up were effective. There were masks and face paint.

Summary: It is a small haunted house but I felt it was worth the admission fee. When you first go in you sit on a couch and you have to wait for about 3 minutes. My favorite room was the one with the fireplace. The actors were convincing. There was not really any entertainment outside while you waited. There are parts that you have to hunch over to walk through, but it is posted outside at the ticketbooth. There were no available food or beverages. For the size and location of the haunted house I felt that it was worth the price and was an effective event.

8 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tjj20   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This attraction is right along the highway it is on and has a good sign you can see from the road. If you aren't familiar with the area, directions would be good to have, but you will know it when you are approaching. .

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment is good, they have a few haunts that are good at creating the creepy atmosphere and interact well with the line, making it fun.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors stay in character well, and have fun with you. They have some that are good at creating the atmosphere of the room they are in and really creeping you out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We got through well and didn't run into another group, they do well with spacing you out so you don't pile up.

Appropriate Ages: 10 would be the youngest for this one.

Props / Special FX: their props and special effects are realistic and they keep it up to date. They have added new things this year and changed some things. They have some good tricks, and the "waiting" room is a fun touch to the beginning. There are a few rooms where they mislead you and get an extra scare from you, which is always fun.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up are effective, their masks and make-up are appropriate to the theme of each room and add to the overall scariness.

Summary: This is another attraction that is worth the drive from out of town. Part of the fun is the location of this place, you really don't expect it to be what it is. They really get into what they do here which makes it better for patrons. Another perk is they are one of the less expensive attractions that are more than worth it, they even give you tickets for a discount if you come visit again. It's nice to see a place that keeps up from year to year and changes things enough to keep it exciting. I expect they will continue to keep things edgy and scary!

19 out of 44 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cookielady   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find, right on a main highway, signs out front that is well lit.plenty of parking in the back that is well lit.

Wait Entertainment: they have music playing outside and a bonfire you can sit around while waiting.

Length of Event: 10 to 15 minutes

Actor Performance: very good, they keep you in the rooms and scare the crap out of you

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good ,they don't start another group till the one in front of you is half through

Appropriate Ages: 12 and older

Props / Special FX: they have a lot of new animated props this year that are really scary and a spinning tunnel.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes fit the rooms they are in perfectly so does the make-up and masks.

Summary: this year they have a new wood floor that makes it better to walk through, and the set up is all new from last year, it's well worth the $7 and more, you must go and see for yourself

8 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: partygirl10   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was in a good location right on the highway. and easy to find it has a well lit gate and signs.

Wait Entertainment: actaully we did not wait in line to long compared to some i have been to. The entertainment was funny because there was clowns and people with chainsaws running around. I thought it was funny and not scary because i dont get scared very easy by that kind of stuff.

Length of Event: I thought it could of been a little longer but it was fun.

Actor Performance: the actor performance was very good. There was a people that went in and came right back out because they were to scared to continue. The actors played their part very well and did a great job at trying to scare people

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the affects inside were good there was alot of attractions inside to look and things to play with along the way

Appropriate Ages: i would say to not allow anyone under the age of 12 in the haunted house

Props / Special FX: the props and special fxs were great the loved the strobe light and fog machines.

Costumes / Make-up: these were great as well some of them looked real. but some could also use some work

Summary: I took my 3 oldest kids through this and they had alot of fun, my 12 year old was scared to death all the way through he was mostly afarid of the chainsaws. He had to hold my hand and lay his head on my back the whole time going through it. My 14,15 year olds were screaming a little bit through it. but over all had a wonderful time. There was a clown that was outside to entertain everyone and he was cool because he was honkn his horn at everyone. and then when people went into the bathroom the guys with chainsaws would hide outside the door and scare them as they came out. and chased them around the parking lot. The decortaions on the outiside were cool as well there was several things i would like to have for my own yard.

15 out of 42 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: krgandalc2   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Sits right off the highway. Easy to find and no backroads to get lost on!

Wait Entertainment: Music and bonfire

Length of Event: 15-20 min

Actor Performance: Good mix of characters. Some more interactive than others but they all fit in their roles

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 12 +

Props / Special FX: Some animated stuff this year. the bridge is AWESOME!!!

Costumes / Make-up: Good make up and costumes, everything went with the rooms

Summary: Went opening night so i expected it to be slow and for some character mistakes. but we had to wait for another group before us and everyone seemed to know exactly what to say and do. very well rehersed for the first night. Highly recommend this haunted house! We will be back to use our half off return tickets!

11 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: krose92002   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is right on the highway and you cant miss it. just look for the creepy looking building on the left before you hit Annawan

Wait Entertainment: They had wonderful props and actors waiting outside before you got in.they even have a fire incase you get chiily=)

Length of Event: It was just the perfect length a haunted house should be. not too long not too short! GREAT!

Actor Performance: The performance was very detailed and realistic.they never broke character and made you feel like what was happening was real

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were no groups behind or in front of us. we were able to take our time and wasnt rushed.

Props / Special FX: the vortex tunnel and clown room was the best. i loved all of the hidden doors and openings.It was AWESOME when the kid popped out of the fireplace on the ground!! Super scary!

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes were soooo SCARY!

Summary: This haunted house was definately worth going to! everything was sooo scary and well thought out!! the props and scare rooms were great!! i loved the clown costumes

13 out of 94 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: KCain719   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I know the Bureau/Henry county area very well. So when we came on the website and it told us it was very easy to find. They picked a very good spot.

Wait Entertainment: During the wait, they had a bon-fire and music. The music was more of a metal type, but that's so you'd get in the mood.

Length of Event: It took us about 15 to 20 minutes to get through, but in all honesty I was so scared it didn't matter how short the event length was!

Actor Performance: I think the actors did a really good job! Even when you pretended not to be scared of them (that's what I do so they won't target me. Haha.) they still stay in character. It was seriously awesome!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The Patron Flow was perfect. There are some haunted houses that send you in huge groups, which I don't like because then you don't get the scare. Here however, they take you in the group you came with and that's it. It was perfect.

Appropriate Ages: I think it's appropriate for maybe ages 13up, anyone younger I would say, should stay home.

Summary: Shady Hollow Insane Asylum is probably one of the best haunted houses I've been to in a while. The acters stay in character and don't over do it. There are so many "trick" ways to get out when it's not the exit so you're scurrying around trying to get out. I had the best scare there, and I love how they just let you in with your group and your group only. I recommend this haunted house for anyone. I had spend $12 on a haunted house before this one, and the price to pay to get in wasn't worth the scare. Shady Hollow however scared you out of your mind!! for only $7!!! That's a steal. You'd be crazy not to try it out!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at