Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
21 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hhmom   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We have been there before, but there are signs on the highway directing you. There are two haunted houses in Auburn located within walking distance from each other

Wait Entertainment: They give you numbers and call your group over a loud speaker. So you can wait by the fire or walk around. They had a few ghouls walking around but no real line.

Length of Event: Approx. 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great performances. Everyone stayed in character. Some had actual speaking parts and others just scares.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They do a great job keeping everyone spaced out. We never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: We saw a couple younger kids try to go through but came back out. Maybe 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: They had great details in each room. Some stand outs were the wine cellar with the moving racks and the room with the girl "forked" to the table.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up all matched the theme and had good detail. The girl with her arms "forked" to the table was the best. I thought they were fake arms until I saw her fingers move!

Summary: Auburn always has their act together. They have a great system of giving groups numbers so they dont have to stand in line and wait. The people at the door are great. They took our cell number so we could go eat supper down the street, and called us when they were getting close to our number. We went early but ened up waiting about two hours to get in. They also told us all the things that they do with their proceeds. They do alot for their community with their proceeds. I would however suggest gettting there early for your tickets. Alos, They change things a little each weekend so it is never the same. It is a great haunted house. We have been going for the past couples years and it has become a must see for our group every year.

12 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs for Haunted House on main road through Auburn, very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of spooks roaming between house and haunted theater.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actor performance is great, all actors got into character and stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This house always does a great job in flow, did not run into anyone and did not hear any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 12 on up. Sometimes this house gets a little intense for young ones.

Props / Special FX: Great props, for a small house this group really works with the space they have. All scenes were excellent this year.

Costumes / Make-up: Great make up. This year the make up was pushed to the limit. Felt like I was in a reall horror movie at times.

Summary: I do have one complaint- wait time- we were told there was a presale bus group and that 1 group of the bus then one group of "regular" patrons would go through, reason we went ahead and bought the tickets. This did not happen. We had plans to visit another haunted house but got stuck in Auburn for four hours and had to cancel the rest of the night. Auburn has always been my groups favorite for years, last nights waiting performance and staff's fibbing kind of hurt the wait. The house on the other hand did not disapoint. The wine rack and the fork girl/with the cook were standouts. Speed Passes or something else for groups willing to pay extra would be great! Nice job on the house!

12 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: shallowglass   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Auburn, IL is a pretty small town so it's hard to get lost there. If you use Google maps and follow their directions, you can easily find this haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: Unfortunately there is a long wait to get into this haunted house unless you get there super early to get your tickets. They do have a good system in place though so you don't have to stand in line to wait. When you buy your tickets, they assign you a group number. When they call your group number over the loud speaker, you head up to the entrance. This allows you to enjoy the bonfire and concession stand or use the porta-potty without having to worry about losing your place in line. I would have liked to see more spooky characters roaming around outside.

Length of Event: I think it took about 15 minutes for my group to go through the haunted house once we entered the front door.

Actor Performance: The actors in this haunted house are spectacular. It seems like they've rehearsed for this event and done their homework when it comes to portraying their characters. Each character and their costumes are unique. They don't use cookie cutter characters or costumes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow inside the haunted house was good. I don't remember for sure, but I think there were about a dozen different rooms/scenes that we went through. Each concept flowed into the next. As far as other patrons, we never ran into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: I don't have children so I don't know how to rate age appropriateness. I would guess that maybe age 10-12 and up would be to handle this haunted house. I don't think haunted house is appropriate for small children due to the graphic nature of the blood and gore depicted, however there is nothing of a sexual nature and the costumes are all modest. The majority of the rooms have a very realistic theme and presence which could be a little disturbing to young children.

Props / Special FX: The props in this haunted house are top of the line. You can tell they put hard work into this haunted house. The details of the rooms do a good job of helping along the theme/storyline of the haunted house. It appears that these props are all custom made rather than store bought or out of the box. That makes me appreciate the haunted house all that much more.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup are excellent as well. I don't remember seeing a single mask in the haunted house. It appears as all the makeup and special effects were done by a makeup artist. The scars, scratches, scrapes, wounds are all so realistic. And the characters that are supposed to be dead...well they look dead. As far as costumes it looks like they made their costumes from scratch. I didn't see any costumes that looked like they had been store bought.

Summary: Overall this is a great haunted house. The group of people who work both inside and outside seem dedicated to what they are doing. Their enthusiasm makes all the difference in the world.  
 
Some of the things that stood out to me were the wine racks, the life sized outhouse, and the nurse's electric chair. The hillbilly girl and her victim who was forked down to the table were pretty cool too. Not sure how they did that special effect though. I also liked the room with the gorilla looking creature. I love trees and nature and this room seemed totally realistic of a bayou swamp. The trees even felt real to the touch.  
 
The things that I didn't like about this haunted house were some of the tight spaces. I'm claustrophobic so that really got to me. I didn't like to have to duck and walk low. The wait to get in also sucked, but it was worth it.  
 
The cost of this haunted house is $7 which is think is a deal. There's not too many entertainment options out there for under $10.  
 
Oh, as a plus for some, this haunted house doesn't use strobe lights. This was great for me as well because I get sick around flashing lights like that.  
 

15 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: downtown Auburn..sure to find.

Wait Entertainment: Creepy..creepy carney belly dancers. One was Amazonian the other tiny and rotundish with what looked to be a bear suit under her costume we could not tell..odd...but very creepy!!!

Length of Event: Timed it>> 10 minutes. (The door guys told us 15-20)HMMMM?

Actor Performance: Outstanding!!!!!!!! The actors take the show!!!! Prison guard..torturing woman..voodoo woman..and most def>>the bartender were all stand outs!(The door man said the actors were required to be professionally trained in acting classes) HMMMM?

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into any groups. The actors control the flow once inside, and they only let a group in every 3-4 minutes.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Each room of the "Bayou" extremely well done. A couple times I felt like I was part of a horor movie. Wine room fantastic. The Cabin room made me scream!!

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done..all actors fit the rooms and looked amazing. (The door man told us that the make up is done by a professionally trained make up Artist from Paramount studios) HMMM?

Summary: Always loved Auburn in the past, and still enjoyed the house.They have got to get this line thing figured out. We travel to several Haunted Houses in a weekend. We do not mind spending extra to get through quicker. Places to go places to be..we are not about hanging around the town all evening, and yet this is the only haunt on our tour that sticks us every year. It is now becoming a problem, and I do not feel like recommending or attending next year. If you have a bus tour coming through, my guess is you know about it!? Share the info on your website. It's a shame, because I think they run the inside of the house well!! (Maybe they should get a professional crowd management team from Madison Square Gardens) HMMM?

10 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: joey   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find right off the square

Wait Entertainment: Alot of outside entertainment.their was a bus tour and the costumes were cool! A zombie was running around and a big creature on stiltz he got blood on us! fun!

Length of Event: like fifteen to twenty min

Actor Performance: this is where they are good every year. the forked girl to the outside people were all great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ok when you are inside. it took awile to get in but thats to be expected.

Appropriate Ages: not for small kids.I saw kids fall down outside afraid of the monster.

Props / Special FX: I think they make alot of stuff.I dont see store type stuff.

Costumes / Make-up: Great very good in this area! no just white faces here.

Summary: I have came to this haunt for the last few yrs and loved it! I will come back here because it changes and has great actors in and out! A little bit of a wait but it is a good one so you would expect that.Pretty easy to find could use more signs but we remembered where to go. their is two haunted houses there on the square so thats fun to the monsters were going back and forth.they follow you and thats kinda creepy.I am always impressed with the makeup here it is very realistic and you feel like you are in a horror movie.

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in downtown Auburn, not hard to find. This is a major event for this town (2 houses and free hayrack ride) would like to see large lighted road sign, but you can find them if you know to look.

Wait Entertainment: No real line entertainment at the Haunted House, nice camp fires, and good food available.. You can do other things around town while you wait for your group to be called - nice!

Length of Event: Maybe 15 minutes. We waited about one hour and a half before our group was called, but we walked to the Haunted Theatre and took the hayrack ride, time went quick!

Actor Performance: All the actors done a great Job and stayed on cue throughout the attraction.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of our group of 5 went without any problems at all, they control the flow throughout this attraction and you never run into another group here..

Appropriate Ages: Our group including a young boy (Curtis) who was around 8 years old and he didn't have too much trouble.. I would say around 8 to 10 years old depending on their scare factor..

Props / Special FX: Lots of good standard props here, a few extra pop props, all timing was great.. No real special effects to speak of.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was great, these people do a very good job with this every year, no detail was emitted here!

Summary: A great evening here, with two separate haunted events and a free hayrack ride around Auburn (ride went maybe 10 miles or more) back roads. The haunted house was very enjoyable and every year has a different story line around it.. Lots of great work here, these people work hard to keep the groups spaced out and everything and every scare right on time. The actors within the house never let up, the keep everything going.. This years new wine celler which goes completely crazy with you inside was great, my favorite. The ending inside the house was very weak, hope they work more on this. Would also like to see them use more of the house, most of the main floor and upstairs area are not used (small side on the main floor and the basement are used every year) this could be a major player if they used more of the house.. Good scare factor here with the monsters communicating with you as each room stories continue. The little girl with the forks in he hands did a good job too!  
Just a note to thank the hayrack ride people (not contracted by this event) for one of the best rides and most enjoyable I have ever had - and free!

6 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kirbygirl79   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ After Midnight)
Review Posted: 11/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This venue is right off of the town square so easily accessible and easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There were not any characters walking around, however there was a vendor selling drinks and snacks and two bonfires, which was nice.

Length of Event: The length of the even was great. I felt like I got my money's worth.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors where great! I especially liked the actor in the room with the handcuffs. Although, there seemed to be a lot of actors who just screamed at you and there's a point where screaming goes from scary to annoying.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was just right. We were not rushed nor did we run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 13+ due to the gore in some areas.

Props / Special FX: The best special effect is the man who tries to shoot the beer can off of the woman's head. It is so real looking and freaky!

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes are great, however, most of the actors had the standard makeup and it would be nice to see more masks and or prosthetics.

Summary: This is the only haunted house that actually scared me! I like the effects and the characters. The flow is great. The special FX were great! My favorite was the man who shot the beer can off of the woman's head! It totally creeped me out! Also, I'm not sure what was supposed to happen with the electric chair, but when I sat in it I felt the static electricity and immediately jumped up! I'm not sure if that was supposed to happen, but it was kind of scary! The only thing that I could say negatively was that there was no recognizable theme. I attended last year and there seemed to be more of a story line involved. Oterwise I had a great time!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at