Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
X-treme Hauntings (Fox Lake, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
22 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/01/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fair. Only 1 sign by the tracks.

Wait Entertainment: One guy with a long pointy nose working the crowd.

Length of Event: 10 min

Actor Performance: Very good and in your face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Never ran into another group until the clown room.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Pretty good. Lots of details and smells in the room

Costumes / Make-up: Very good, and fit the rooms

Summary: This is another haunt I go to every year. It's slightly smaller than most, but packs a punch. The opening is the same as the last few years with the Hellevator. It seemed a little bumpier this year. Loved some of the props like the patient with the tube in its bottom. LOL! The X-mas room was nice with snow falling, and kudos to the guys playing Santa and the Elf. The Elf was so OBNOXIOUS and funny! No, I don't want to wrap gifts with you! LOL! Lots of scents and strobes through out the house. The clown room was set up slightly different this year and not as effective. All in all a decent haunt this year, but nothing spectacular.

7 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: triogroupie3   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I had been there before so i remembered where to go but there are also signs.

Wait Entertainment: There was only 2 ppl in front of us so we only had to wait lesd than five minutes and about 2 of them were taken up by a person explaining the rules of the haunt and the other few minutes a man in a mask came out of a staff room and was eatting pizza while standing behind us.

Length of Event: About ten minutes

Actor Performance: Some of the actors where very good. Like the people in the end with the chain linked fence maze. But nothibg else memorable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Even though there was no wait and no reason for people to run into each other we still did run into the people in front of us and the people behind us caught up.

Appropriate Ages: I wld say 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: They had good stuff. And i liked that a room actually had a scent other than wood and fog (the typical haunted houses smell that i love so much)

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good costumes. A few gentric ones that werent anything special. But the characters made them work if it wasnt.

Summary: I went to this haunt last year and walked out saying wow that was great. This year i felt cheated. A few of the rooms didnt have actors in them. And although there was a maze fence thing at the end that was really cool it did not make up for the fact that we walked threw blacked halls 70% of the time.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: partycentral   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Make sure you print out a google map or use GPS, but even then it is still pretty easy to find. Cool building and nice staff guiding you in.

Wait Entertainment: There were some entertainers but were not doing a good job. They must have been very amateur because they didn't seem to have a clue on how to act. There was a clown and a, a, a something....however, the mood in the line was high and people were having a good time.

Length of Event: 30 minutes. The maze at the end was 10 minutes, but upwards of 15 and at least 5.

Actor Performance: Congratulations! The actors were the best I have ever seen. Having been to more than 50 different haunted houses in the last 4 years, I would say that this was by far the best acting job done.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The elevators, while not being scary in the beginning was cool and bumpy, definitely made the crowd control perfect. We never ran into a group until the maze before the pitch black maze.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Really well use of lighting and props. There was a Christmas room that was really great with what they used.

Costumes / Make-up: Incredible and movie like. They should win an award for this one.

Summary: I had been to X-treme Haunt before a few years ago and didn't remember it being this good. What was important is my review is that the haunt wasn't super scary, but the acting was incredible. Each room kept you engaged in what was going on and the actors were good at keeping your attention and mood in a high mood. 
 
The christmas room was by far the best. There was a midget or a small person that was very obnoxious but really well in tuned with what their job was. 
 
Best part: the pitch black maze. Key: lose your friends in it. Yes, just disconnect and get away. It is more fun that way. It is big, you are running into walls and people and their are actors that can see you but you can't see them. It really is a giant labyrinth of turns and it is very hard to find the exit. Don't ruin it with your cell phone as its not fair to others in the house. 
 
Great job.

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/03/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Sign off the main road, plenty of people to guide you right to the house.

Wait Entertainment: Great, when I was there they had scared a woman so much they had her pinned in a porta-john and refused to come out.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Great, they kept you entertained throughout the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No one was there, so flow went very well.

Summary: As always, this is a vrey entertaining house, the actors get very close to creep you out and whisper evil things in your ear. Thankfully, they brought back this year the pitch black maze at the end where, essentially, the only way to get through is to follow a voice of an actor. Unfortunately, people in the group kept lighting up their phone and ruined it for me, but I will probably go back to go through it again.

6 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chainlink   (Event Visited: 10/25/10 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its in a big warehour right off suton road, very hard to find if you dont know wher eyou are going

Wait Entertainment: there were no outside entertainment, cause no line there was a girl sittign down taking tickets making fun of my group it was funny

Length of Event: 15-20 min diff groups are diffrent depending how fast you walk threw

Actor Performance: it was the first weekend. the actors were in there parts but alot of the scrence where expecting pop outs, the only creepy one was the actors in the pitch black room makign creepy noises that was creepy

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: awsoem didnt run into any groups

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: the props and special effects where awsoem the smell worekd perfect in the rooms smeeld bad excpecially in the kitchen with rotine food awsoem and gross at the same time,

Costumes / Make-up: make up was okay mixed in with room but good do more time on making makeup realistic

Summary: overall okay house 2nd year i came to this house with a big group and since last year many new room like the mercy general hospital, last year there were more detailed scene, in your face scares and creepy thios year it was more comedy and the actor where cracking jokes and not being scary, but it was fun, and detailed still would recomend it for other people

8 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: nikaplniu   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you're not familiar with the area, mapquest the directions and keep your eyes open for the road. Fox Lake can be confusing.

Wait Entertainment: We went on opening weekend, so we were not expected much of a wait or wait entertainment. But the guy with the pointy nose and the 'dead girl' who lets you into the house did a great job keeping it amusing.

Length of Event: 30 minutes, depending on how slow/fast you walk. Took us about 25.

Actor Performance: Great. Every year I'm pleasantly suprised. The actors could be a bit rude, crude, vile. But it's all in good fun and they knew how to push the line without pushign it too far. Loved the clowns and Santa's helper.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones there.

Appropriate Ages: 14+. JUST because some of the actors roles require for the lines to be pushed.

Props / Special FX: Always good. The snow in the Christmas room, the elevator. The only thing I feel that they miss every year is the spiral hallway that most haunted houses have.

Costumes / Make-up: Good - not too over the top. Just right.

Summary: When you walk into the haunted house you have an automatic freight - the elevator. The strobes allow the actor to move around and as soon as the lights turned off he got in my friends face and scared her - hilarious.  
 
There are plenty of interesting rooms in this hause. My favorite year by year is the clown room - just because they have no reservations and will carry a discussion in any which direction you want them too. They're always freightfully funny. 
 
The pitch black maze has always been good too. This year I feel that we found our way through it quicker and with more ease than last year and I wonder if that's due to a change in setup? 
 
This haunt has plenty of good and interesting rooms - and it starts from the second you walk up to the ticket booth to the point you leave the house.

9 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: abcdefghijkl   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 09/29/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event was hard to find 
There was not very many signs  
It was a short walk to it from the parking lot 
It was very hard to see from the road

Wait Entertainment: We went on opening night 
so there wasn't any

Length of Event: About 30 Minutes  
Could be longer or shorter for some depending on the pitch black maze

Actor Performance: It was phenomenal they'e were all great  
The costumes were perfect for the scenes they were in 
not much else to say 
they stayed in character all the time 
even the ticket tacker 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: opening night we had the whole place to our selves  
no problems

Appropriate Ages: 13+ 
High intensity 
very scare 
quite a bit of gore

Props / Special FX: they had one of those airbags that you had to squeeze through 
the pitch black maze 
and the hellavtor 
some animatronics  
a lot more emphasis on acting 
though not that that's a bad thing  
there's a lot more i haven't covered 

Costumes / Make-up: makeup and costumes were very good

Summary: this was a really good haunt  
the actors were all great especially needles and the clown 
makeup and costumes were good 
scares were on time and worked well 
 
some minor complaints 
 
the pitch black maze was good but the noise level was too high they seemed to think blowing out my eardrums was scary its not 
the smellovision made me sick in the funeral scene 
and the hellovator was a bit jarring 
 
i know it seems like i am nitpicking and i am there were very few problems 
 
altogether 
the best haunt ive been to in a long long time 
 
i highly recomend you go 
you will not be disappointed 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at