Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Lincoln Jaycees Haunted House (Lincoln, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
12 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mystics3   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: not hard to find

Wait Entertainment: not the greatest. they had a hillbilly guy that was getting on my nerves.

Length of Event: 15 min.

Actor Performance: some were good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we didn't run into any other group so that was good

Appropriate Ages: 9

Props / Special FX: nothing that really stood out to me

Costumes / Make-up: what they had was ok

Summary: I was rather disappointed with this. I know it is a small town, but could have been better. They had a tour guide that walked in front of us half the way and that ruined it for me. Then when he finally left us it was just all a maze. Which was not bad, but there was to much time in the maze. There wasn't many people dressed up. I didn't scream or even jump one time. I think they should have had a little less of the maze and more characters. It would have even been nice if there would have been a character or two jump out while going through the maze.

14 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tcb2300   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This year the Jaycees are in a new location. It was very easy to find. They had a lighted sign in front of the building and they also had a small sign on the side of the building(I feel that this sign could use some sort of light on it).

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was ok. They have a dude that does a lot of funny hillbilly stuff.

Length of Event: Depending on how long it takes to get through their maze depends on the length of the event. With the wait to enter and the exit of the maze my group took about 50 minutes.

Actor Performance: The performers were good. Lots of in your face scaring and screaming, especially in cemetery and the furnace room.  
They had a very scary 8 ft character in the forest which really scared our group.  
 
The one thing that I really like this year than in years past was that there were no corny story lines that gave away when the scare was coming. Kuddos for doing away with this. It really helps with the scare effect of the rooms.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was great. We did not run into any other groups while in the house other than when we were in the maze which is always to be expected.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate age for this house would be 12 and up. Although I did see in the ticket area that they are having a kid matinee.

Props / Special FX: The props and special fx were good and appropriate for each room. I even noticed that they had some new stuff than what they have used in previous years that pretty neat.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up was appropriate for the theme of this house. Alot of zombies. Some had mask some had great make-up. I felt that each person was made up for their performance that they were giving.

Summary: I have been attending this house for years and each year they out do themselves from the previous year. No one in my group had anything bad to say about this house.

14 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jones1234   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good. Big lighted sign outside.

Wait Entertainment: It was too funny. Thier gravedigger was getting the laughs. really relaxed my friends girlfiend while we waited.

Length of Event: 30min.

Actor Performance: They were really good stayed in charter.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow was good til you got to their maze. Not the easiest to get out of.

Appropriate Ages: 12

Props / Special FX: Good detail in the rooms and the props seem to all work.

Costumes / Make-up: Mainly makeup but it looked really good. one a slit throat that was nicely done.

Summary: I havent been to a haunted house in a long time. This house was really good. things seem to flow very nicely and they have nicely put togather rooms. the chainsaw guy is really good. I really liked their grave digger also he was too funny. It really got you in to their theme. i would love to go back.

16 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: LC2012   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was plenty of parking around the haunted house so i didnt have to walk far. There was a sign on the side of the building and also a sign infront of the building with the hours.

Wait Entertainment: Once i walked into the building they sent the mood for being scared very well. They had scary music playing. I didnt have to wait that long before it was my groups time to go through the haunted house. While I was waiting a guy came out and was dressed up as a hilbilly and made me relax alot with the environment but got the feel of the haunted house going.

Length of Event: 30 minutes. The rooms was a good amount of time but what took the most time for me is the maze. I couldnt figure if i was in the same room or not.

Actor Performance: The actors did a wonderful job in staying in character. I cant understand how some of the people still have a voice with all of the realistic screaming. The people looked their part. The best person was the tall skinny guy in the forest. That person scared me really bad.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was at a good speed not too fast but not too slow

Appropriate Ages: teenagers and up

Summary: This haunted house did very well with scarying my group and I. When we had to wait for a little bit for my group in the lincoln jaycees kept me entertained. I am from this logan county and I believe that this is one of the best haunted house that lincoln has put on. If you have to wait in line there is entertainment for you. The maze will have you questioning yourself if you have been in that spot before or not.

12 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dizappointed   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Living in Lincoln most of my adult life, was familiar with the location. For out of towners, may be a little hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: None to really speak of.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Some really played their part well, others were just there so to speak.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow was good. Lots of dead space between rooms. No pun intended.

Appropriate Ages: 9 and above

Props / Special FX: None to really speak of that stood out. The cemetary and what I believe was the cremation room were done nicely. The forest was fair but too many things to worry about tripping over to really concentrate on the rooms effect.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly makeup. Most had the same makeup as the next monster or ghoul.

Summary: I have been attending this event for several years now and I must say I was disappointed in the effort this year. Most of the actors seem very young but all have to start somewhere. The price increase this year was a shock. I was hoping for much more since the price was raised to $7. The little skit while getting the rules became over dramatic and, well, boring. Had it been quick it would have been funny at best. The girl in the coffin raises up and screams. Really? I will give props to the people in the cemetary and the ladies in the cremation room. They did their jobs well. Like I stated earlier, the forest or woods scene was good but the stumps and water distracted me a bit. All I need is to have my girls scream and drag me backwards and fall over a stump or fall into the water. Just thought it was a little dangerous. I was also disappointed with the idle chit chat that can be heard from other rooms while we were going through. Just took some of the experience away when you hear the workers laughing and swearing from the rooms you just left. In years past, I have always been impressed with this groups ability to make the biggest maze possible. Another disappointment this year. I think we found our way out in under a minute this year. I am not sure if they tried something new by making part of the maze between rooms or what but it was what I was looking forward to most and felt let down. I will stay positive and hope it was just opening weekend jitters. In today's economy, people will pay more but also expect more. This groups haunt may have been worth the price increase in years past but this year they missed the mark. Let's hope they get the bugs worked out and have better nights ahead.

4 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BGJones17   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was kind of difficult for us to find, but that's only because we didn't know Lincoln very well. After we found the street it was on, it was really easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: A few people that appeared later in the haunted house made conversation with my group while we were waiting to get in. I really liked that, since it shows (to me) that they liked having us there.

Length of Event: Depends on how long it takes to get through the maze. For my group, it was probably about half an hour to 45 minutes overall.

Actor Performance: They did really good in this area. Lots of in-your-face scares. My personal favorite was the hillbilly-like person who said he needed an eyeball and then asked for one of mine. He stayed in character, like everybody else did, and even followed us partway into the next room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only group in the haunted house when we visited, so we didn't run into anybody else.

Appropriate Ages: I would say probably thirteen and up.

Props / Special FX: That eight-foot animatronic character in the forest startled me the most. I seriously thought it was a prop that stayed still until it started shaking and made me jump.

Costumes / Make-up: They did well here. The zombies in the graveyard looked scary with the blood all over their faces.

Summary: This was my first time visiting Lincoln's haunted house, and I must say, I was impressed. On the way there, I didn't think it would be that good, but I was definitely proven wrong that night. The scares were on-cue, the effects were great and who would expect a chainsaw-weidling maniac outside a haunted house? When my friends and I were walking back to our car, a guy with a chainsaw popped out from a dark alley and started chasing us back to the car and farther. That scare was definitely the least expected out of all the scares we've encountered that night.  
 
Overall, the house was quite scary, the actors were in character the whole time and they weren't kidding about the maze. My group got lost very easily. We probably wandered aimlessly in the maze alone for about twenty minutes. And when we left, all the actors said thanks for coming by, which I really appreciated, since no other haunted house I've been to has done that.  
 
As I've probably said a million times before, I really enjoyed the Lincoln Jaycees Haunted House, and I would encourage others to go visit as well. The hour-long drive it took to get there from Bloomington was definitely worth it.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at