Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
The Scream Haunted Adventure (Decatur, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
11 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: donley1016   (Event Visited: 10/28/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Parking was really easy to figure out but I had to ask where the entrance was.

Wait Entertainment: I was excited about getting to wait inside this big warehouse so we weren't freezing outside. There were plenty of chainsaw guys to scare the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) out of us in line and a couple of vampire girls that really creeped us out. The "victim list" that we had to sign to enter was a nice touch.

Length of Event: We waited about 10 minutes to enter but the actual event inside was about 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: I loved that the actors were in character and wearing masks! Always scarier than make-up. All the chainsaw guys were relentless and the Freddy was really creepy when he told us "not to fall asleep". One girl over heard me call my niece by name and her and several others started moaning it, nice touch!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into another group once but simply stopping and counting to 25 cured that. It was nice that they offered a bypass on the grave crawl for victims who couldn't crawl.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: The vortex rooms were so awesome! My daughter fell down! All the rooms were so detailed and original! You could tell they spent alot of time and energy on the concepts while considering how it would flow together.

Costumes / Make-up: More masks and actual costumed clothes than just face paint. Very happy with the outfits.

Summary: This haunted house really out did itself this year. The rooms were original and exciting. I was thrilled at the changing music that suited each theme.(carnival music ect)Most notable was the grave crawl which was long and squishy like dirt beneath your feet, the vortex rooms, bloody hanging sheets that served as transition between rooms and the craziest thing was the suffocation hallway! it was truly horrifying by playing on real fears. The online video doesn't do this house justice. I would have like them to have had a dedicated person to explain house rules but they didn't so we were confused about what to do when we first went inside but it was quickly apparent which way to go. Great job, I will be back next year and I am bringing many friends with me!

8 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scurry   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. There was a sign by the parking lot and a lot of people hanging out and a halloween-ish car in the lot.

Wait Entertainment: Walking in there was a young kid -- probably 8-10 years old -- in a jigsaw mask with a chainsaw. Waiting in line there was a high school boy in a clown costume with a chainsaw and 2 high school aged zombies. They broke character way too often and talked to the people in line way too much -- especially the clown kid. We waited in line for 2 hours. There should be better entertainment.

Length of Event: 2 hour wait for 10 minutes in the haunted house.

Actor Performance: There were very few actors actually in the haunted house. A couple of them did pretty well setting the mood for the house. Most didn't really do anything. I was confused by that. There were very few actual scares at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were taking our time (and still only took 10 minutes) and the group behind us caught up to us a few times.

Appropriate Ages: The ticket says 6+. I'd have to agree.

Props / Special FX: The rooms were too well lit in general. I could see everything all the time which isn't a good thing. the first room you go in is a huge room with 4 zombies and they don't do a good job of scaring or creeping you out. At one point there is a huge zig zagging portion with nothing but sheets hanging from the ceiling. A good minute worth of walking through nothing but sheets and no scares. There is a crawl space with no scare. There is a "claustrophobic" room that was nothing but squeezing through a tight space.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up and costumes were really weak. The zombies weren't elaborate at all -- just white face paint.

Summary: Needless to say I was let down by the whole thing. For $8 I don't expect much but there are better haunted houses out there for $8. There was an option to get a group photo for $5 and skip the line. I'm torn on whether or not we should have done it. It's a cheap way to skip the line but at the same time I wouldn't want to pay any more money for the haunted house. There were a lot of food vendors outside which was cool. There was also an option to do a tour of a warehouse that was supposedly haunted. I would recommend this haunted house only to those who have small children and don't want them to get that scared.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right on the main road going through Decatur. Monster outside waving people in to the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: We went in pretty quickly, there was no line entertainment, there were people outside.

Length of Event: It took us about 20-25 minutes. We got lost in the sheets. ;)

Actor Performance: It was just terrible. Most were a little off their mark. One monster was texting when we came into the room. Another room people were just having a conversation with thier masks on their heads. They let us pass with a couple of screams without even putting their masks back on.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't catch up to anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Lights, Sound, and my favorite darkness!

Costumes / Make-up: The usual masks that you would find at Spencers. They are better than Wal-Mart, but nothing over the top. I would have liked to seen more actors in makeup.

Summary: I would have to say I was disappointed. When my group got out, a friend of mine summed it up well, "Is that it?". I did jump at one point, but it just was not scary due to the monsters just not doing what they are supposed to do, SCARE PEOPLE. The lighting was weak, sound was ok. It all seemed like it was just thrown up and not much thought was put into it. I was really ready for it to end as it just seemed to dredge on. It was fun, just disappointed as they did much better last year. X

11 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: livindeadgrl   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it's an old warehouse, so it's visible from the main road in decatur

Wait Entertainment: the wait was not very long, but there was a little boy outside that followed us in.

Length of Event: 20-25 mins for haunted house and about 20 mins for the basement tour

Actor Performance: this is one area that could use a lot of work. majority of the monsters were young, but i know one room they were just sitting and talking & not ready for us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: had a good flow, we didn't run into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: nothing really stood out to me.

Costumes / Make-up: masks, masks, masks...i saw jason, michael, freddy & saw...would like to see some original characters instead of movie monsters.

Summary: this review is for the haunted house. it is ok, i know standing in line i heard a lot of screaming and got excited, but became disappointed when i went thru. my group did decide to do the warehouse tour as well for an extra $10, and i will say that the warehouse was awesome! very very creepy and i thought it was scarier than the haunted house and it only had a couple actors. although it is a guided tour there will be actors down there to jump out when you aren't expecting it!

7 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: witchywoman   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very visible from the street. They had lights and an old car with a flashing light on top

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment were a couple of masked people patroling the line. Would have liked to be a little more interesting. The clowns scaring the young girls and them screaming was just annoying

Length of Event: I would said we waited in line for probably 20 minutes, and then it took about 10 to go through the hoouse

Actor Performance: The actors were good and stayed in character. Some of the other reviews said that they were texting and standing around with their masks up, and I didnt witness that at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good. There were a couple of times that we caught up with the group in front of us but that is only because they were backtracking trying to get away from the monsters

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: The special effects this year were alot better than in previous years. I really liked the scene when you first walk in with the zombies. The spinning tunnel is really cool, and I also liked the room that has the hanging wires.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were the kind that you would expect to see in a haunted house. A good combination of masks and makeup

Summary: I really liked the scare factor that this haunted house has to offer. It definitely ranks up near the top as far as local haunted houses go. I would recommend it as something to do on a Friday or Saturday night. It is cheap, fun entertainment and a good scare. The only things that I would change is to have better entertainment while waiting and that the tunnel where the sheets were hung up is way too long. I felt like we were walking through it forever. Other than that, this haunted house is awesome and should be attended

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: deadrising2   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very cool car out front

Wait Entertainment: Not Bad. the chainsaw stuff was great and the spooky voice from the door telling my kids he was going to eat them was great. Loved the grave crawl.

Length of Event: 15 min or so.

Actor Performance: The actors at the beging set the tone for the kids and the spining tunnels were very cool.There were alot of spots that got me too.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good got slowed down once by the group in front of us that was terrified.

Summary: It was a great time and my kids had a great time.there were many scares from start to finish from the spooky voices to the random actors through out the house. After reading the first reviews which were pretty ruff they must have worked the bugs out of it because it was realy pretty decent and I did not see one actor on a phone or bunching up talking.It did seam that there should have been more actors in some spots, but they seemed to cover it well. Also to anyone who dont think clowns are scary it this setting are out of there minds.The cart in the area with Freddy Kruger that should be moved I busted my shin on it but it didnt hurt to bad.I believe it is a good family event.

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: screamergirl   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find with signs and lights plenty of parking

Wait Entertainment: Did not see anyone outside except some monsters on break having cigs

Length of Event: decent 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: They need help. Lots of younger actors, not knowing what they were suppose to do and someone needs to tell the guy in the swamp that popping up and saying "HI" is not scary. That and I don't appricate being told to "GET OUT!"

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never found another group but it was slow

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: The double vortex is good but scares me to have steps afterwards and the airbag hallway is good but almost too tight

Costumes / Make-up: nothing special. basic masks and bad makeup jobs with walmart make up

Summary: overall I thought that the last two years were much better than this year. The overall house was much too bright way to many lights and that took away from the possible scares. You can tell this is a low budget house as most of their props and decorations are basic and overall kind of cheesy. Their actors need help learning out to work their rooms and that roar and boo are totally wrong in a good haunted house. I know they get lots of business because of their location but there are definatly better houses in the area to spend your money on.

6 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: MareBear   (Event Visited: 10/21/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is great... follow the directions on the website and you'll drive right there. Outside lighted signs help too!

Wait Entertainment: The Vampiress was excellent, hissing at us throughout the line. Her red eyes were penetrating.

Length of Event: 15 minutes... we walked slowly through the haunt.

Actor Performance: On target in most places.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group was small, but we moved through the haunt slower than usual. We allowed one group to go past us so that we could look at the sets, but they didn't mind. They were pretty excited. :-)

Appropriate Ages: 10 & up

Props / Special FX: Special effects and props were good, with a lot of time spent on making sure the sets were designed just so.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly makeup, which is nice for the actors. A few masks were used too.

Summary: This was my first time visiting The Scream Haunted Adventure. I'm not easily frightened, so I enjoyed watching those in my group who were excitable and easy marks. I liked the double vortex but didn't enjoy the stairs right afterwards. The forrest was good as was the forrest monster! The white sheet hallway was different as was the airbag hallway. The tour was fun and we also enjoyed the "Warehouse Tour". We visited both the Decatur Jaycees Haunted House and The Scream Haunted Adventure, making a night of it. How lucky Decatur / Forsyth is to have two haunts to enjoy!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at