Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
FearFest (South Beloit, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
9 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: vonfaknam   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: there were signs on the main road and a sign directing into the location. Location was good.

Wait Entertainment: I didnt notice any wait entertainment, although I didnt really have to wait.

Length of Event: screamatorium 10-15 minutes, haunted barn 10 minutes

Actor Performance: all actors stayed in character and did a good job. The first actor in the theater for the screamatorium was pretty good, and there was a clown in the barn that cracked me up, but scared some or our group. All actors did a very good job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Small groups made these haunted houses nice, but I like to admire the scenes and take in the whole picture, I dont scare easily, and go to haunted houses to enjoy the actors and scenes. The flow was good, although I felt "rushed" out of some scenes, and I would have liked to see them a little more.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: overall pretty good, but not fantastic.

Costumes / Make-up: average. Some were very good, others were just people in masks, but again, ALL actors did a great job and never broke character.

Summary: I would recommend these haunted houses. The price is reasonable, and the scare factor is mild, but entertaining. The actors involved made this attraction worth going to. I was pleasently surprised to find the level of commitment and enthusiam even out of obviously younger actors. Group size small

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cougargirl2   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy access from I-90 and great visibility with lighted signs.

Wait Entertainment: Horror movies playing and actors walking among the crowd, but the wait was only 10-15 minutes at most for any of the attractions.

Length of Event: All three attractions lasted about 15 minutes each.

Actor Performance: Actors in the barn and hayride were excellent, most in the Screamatorium were the same, but we didn't enjoy the ones screaming in your face for no reason.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: With the exception of getting sidetracked in a dead end or two in the Screamatorium, the flow of people was steady.

Props / Special FX: The scenes in the barn were the best I've seen over the years. Whether they were based on movies or typical Halloween haunts, they were all over the top, and spaced nicely throughout. Hayride scenes fit the same description, and there were definitely more scenes added this year. It seemed like everyone our our haywagon enjoyed the scenes as well. Screamatorium scenes were just as great, but they all seemed to be at the beginning & end, could have enjoyed more of them in the middle.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes all around were great, they fit the scenes and were genuinely creepy.

Summary: I've been coming to the barn almost every year since the beginning, but came this year with two brand new visitors. This had to be the best of my haunted barn experiences. Nothing quite ever stays the same in there, so its always new and exciting. A few of the great scenes from before remained, but had been moved around. Others, like the graveyard had been improved to make them even better. We loved new ones like the fortune teller and the creepy dolls. The hayride was almost completely changed and for the better! Scenes were a great distraction to ensure we were startled by the actors. Even when I knew were the actors were hiding, they still did a great job of making me jump. This was my first Screamatorium experience, and even though the barn and hayride are still my favorites, a few of the scenes in there made it worth going. As always, Fear Fest gives you the best entertainment for only $26 if you do all three, or less if you stop by McDonalds on your way for coupons like we did! I plan on coming back next weekend, and my friends liked it so much they want to come every year from now on!

11 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: killacal87   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: finding it wasnt hard

Wait Entertainment: they had a movie playing but it wasn't a classic horror film just some guy walking around with a bag.?

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: it was just ok...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: they put us in a group of 9... so everyone in the front got scared... but we didnt

Appropriate Ages: all

Props / Special FX: lots of pretty good props... but not many actors

Costumes / Make-up: some was good some sucked..

Summary: there is 3 haunt events at this location. the barn the screamatorium and the hay ride. didnt go on the hay ride. but the barn only had about 3-4 people in it and it was extreamly lame. and the screamatorium was decent again not many actors. and way to big of a group... and black out maze after maze... not many theme'd rooms. it was much better last yr.

9 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hallowqueen   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There are a few signs, some lit up some not, in the ground to aid in finding the place. You have to travel down a very dark and narrow road to get there but once you arrive the place is well lit.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't much of it. Besides inside the screamtorium, where a classic scary movie is playing with a halloween sound track, there was no line entertainment. There were however a few actors lurking around on "smoke" breaks and or bathroom breaks who just kind of stared at you from far away. I also saw a few actors getting props like the chainsaw refueled out in the open. So not scary.

Length of Event: The haunted hay ride was about 15 mins, and the Screamtorium was about 10-15 mins. The wait in line seemed longer than the house, and the line wasn't even that long.

Actor Performance: The hayride was disappointing because the actors didn't pay much if any attention to anyone else but a group of middle schoolers huddled in a corner. There was also a lack of actors it seemed, because we would come up to a very detailed scene, expecting to be scared and no one would come out. The hayride actors also seemed to lack enthusiasm and acting skills for they pretty much just stared at patrons and climbed on stuff. Inside the Screamtorium was a little better but not much. Again there was a lack of actors and besides the opening actor, no one really had a speaking role. After the 5th time hearing "move you maggots" I just thought..isn't there anything else you can scream at me? I was however looking forward to the end since when we walked up to the house we saw a guy with a chainsaw...but became very very disappointed when we reached the exit and he was no where to be seen. ( actually he was later spotted on the side of the house filling up his chainsaw) The end definitely left me thinking..really that was it?

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The haunted hayride was fine, they let as many people on as there were seats, and for the screamtorium they did a decent job as well. My group got lucky because previous to us going in, they must have let to many people in at one time, so they waited on letting anyone else in till the groups inside cleared out.

Appropriate Ages: It says they don't recommend anyone 13 and under going inside the screamtorium but honestly I don't see why. I would say 10 and older or depends on the kid. The hayride I would say 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: The opening scene to the screamtorium is amazing. I would of loved to see them do more with it. Also the bathroom scene was very well done. Unfortunately 2/3 of the house seemed to be in pitch black so I didn't get to see much else.

Costumes / Make-up: I was not to pleased with the costumes and make up only because 90% of the actors wore masks, and not even well. There were times when their masks were falling off or not tucked in properly and it really took the scare of it. I think they could have used a few more actors with makeup and scary costumes not just jumpsuits. The movie theater guy was by far the best made up.

Summary: My group and I drove over and hour to get there and was very hyped up to experience fear fest. In my opinion this haunt did not live up to it's hype. I went on a friday night and there is no excuse for why things were so poor. The price is cheap but you have to pay per haunt (there are 3 haunts in all ) the highest price being $10. If you stop by the McDonald's on the corner before the haunt, you can pick up coupons for $1 off but make sure you pick up 3 because it's only good for one per haunt. But even with the coupons, I don't think it was worth it. I don't think I will be coming back next year

8 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: blackwid66   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We came from Wisconsin so we knew where the general location was. They had a lighted sign at the road with tons of people running around. you couldn't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: We went to all three attractions and the only line entertainment was at the screamatorium. they had old movies playing on a tv with creepy halloween music in the waiting line.

Length of Event: The Screamatorium was about 15 minutes and the barn was about 10. The hayride was long with not alot happening.

Actor Performance: 10 thumbs up at the Screamatorium. The actors were so aggressive and always in your face. omg..the clowns were so scary..my friends and I were screaming all the way through. The actors at the barn and hayride were really low key.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The screamatorium had so many people in line we were quite surprised how they handled the patron flow - we never ran into any other groups while we were in the house at all. There was no wait at the barn so we didn't really run into anybody else.

Appropriate Ages: The screamatorium definitely 13 and older. the barn and hayride maybe 10 years old or younger.

Props / Special FX: The Screamatorium was so detailed! We loved the movie theater and the zombie area in the basement. The huge monster totally scared us to death! I liked the fact that they tied it into a themed attraction using horror movie themes - very well done. The barn was pretty simple with a few props and the hayride was just a bunch of kids running around with chainsaws.

Costumes / Make-up: The Screamatorium had very realistic costumes that fit into each scene. The opening scene with the usher was very well done and he was very professional (and scary!). The clowns were great and the actors in the zombie area were top notch.

Summary: Our group would definitely recommend the Screamtorium -it's well worth the $10 to get the crap scared out of you. We had another group of girls and guys in our group and they were even screaming. You can definitely tell they put alot of time and effort into this haunt from the scenes, lighting, costumes, makeup and scares. 
I can't wait to see what they come up with next year. our group was very disappointed in the barn and hayride -they are definitely for little kids or adults that don't want to be scared.

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gothicskull6   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We came from about an hour away and we didn't have any problems finding this event since we attended it the past two years. It is very easy to access off of I-90 and follow the signs.  
It looks like they have added on quite a bit since last year - the building now says SCREAMATORIUM in huge letters and it has a really neat old carriage for a gift shop. 

Wait Entertainment: The Screamatorium had a tv playing in the waiting line with scary movies -great add on! We heard ALOT of people screaming!

Length of Event: Our group attended the Screamatorium. I would say it took about 20 minutes to get through this attraction. It seems quite longer than last year.

Actor Performance: We had a group of six people and we were ALL scared to death! All the actors were in-your-face and VERY INTENSE throughout the whole attraction. The clowns in the carnival were scary as H**L. They never backed down and followed us with no stopping. One of the clowns actually madea girl in our group pee her pants when he jumped out of the _____ (I dont want to give the scare away) All the actors did an EXCELLENT job and fit nicely into their scenes. They utilized alot of different type scares which was very impressive. They added ALOT more detail in the scenes than last year and it also complemented the actor performance. This event is definitely worth seeing!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups here seemed to be moving along with no problem. They had a nice waiting area which added to the whole creepy atmosphere.  
They were packed when we arrived

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't recommend it for 14 and younger due to the intense scenes and some content.

Props / Special FX: OMG!!! they really went all out this year- the scenes are unbelievable! The lighting transition from scene to scene is remarkable and the props are VERY realistic (like the movie theater..nice touch, the black light carnival and the lower building was totally UNBELIEVABLE!!! They really had a nice mix of detail, total darkness, hallways and alot of turns and twists. Great use of blacklight effects - AWESOME!!!

Costumes / Make-up: Like in the years past the costumes and makeup were very realistic for every scene. Some actors you couldn't even see until they were right in your face! They utilized great special fx makeup and great costumes

Summary: Overall I can't think of a better haunted house we have attended in the past. For their third year they did a remarkable job. This haunt, the actors and the scenes are VERY professional and VERY realistic. We came from Wisconsin to check it out because we have been a huge fans. Thanks so much to the creators, the actors and everyone who made this event well worth the drive and the $10 we paid to get in. We will definitely be telling all our friends. GOOD WORK GUYS!!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at