Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon of Darkness Haunted Attraction (Pekin, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
16 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the Steve and Barry's sports old building. This large building is a good location and is easy to find, across from Wal Mart.

Wait Entertainment: Great wait entertainment here, Michael Myers (great actor) walk outside and throughout the doorways. Great clowns walk throughout the lines and entry points, very well done and great make-up job.

Length of Event: 15 minutes or a little more.

Actor Performance: All actors done a great job here and never broke character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow throughout the attraction moved along great and we never ran into another group, perfect job.

Appropriate Ages:  
I would say around 10 should be able to handle this.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great dressed rooms, some with great detail - cemetery might be the best here. I like the girl haunting the vortex tube - never seen this done before and it added greatly to the standard vortex effects - keep up the good work. The white room effects were good also. No high powered automation props but everything worked ok here.

Costumes / Make-up: Great make-up and costumes, doesn't get any better.

Summary: This attraction just keeps getting better each year, the only weak thing for me was the entry street walk, I liked last year introduction better. The actors do a excellent job throughout the attraction and put a lot into the effects to scary you, none broke character. Everything throughout the event worked great and the cemetary was very well done. I liked the white room and cemetary sets the best, lots to see here and the price of $8.00 was well worth it.

16 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntmaster   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was great. Being in a bigger building has helped them continue to make this thing huge.

Wait Entertainment: Line actors were awesome. I especially liked the creepy clowns. I think the one in all black creeped me the most. He lurks in the shadows and then picks out his victim. CREEPY!!! This huy deserves an A++++

Length of Event: 20 minutes and we kind-of hurried through. We kept feeling like someone was following us.

Actor Performance: These actors continue to get better each year. We never saw any of them out of character to the point you wonder if they are real or not.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow was dead on. Never met another group.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 10+. Although one of the adults with us wanted to leave early.

Props / Special FX: The props were great. The two tunnels you go through are spectacular. I am so glad they brought it back this year. The new one is really cool as well. Nice touch of sound in the vortex!!!

Costumes / Make-up: These folks jnow what they are doing and almost outdid themselves from last year. This is an area that I can't say enough about. They have this down to a science. It's like what you see in hollywood. I don't think we saw any masks. Costumes were perfect and didn't see any tennis shoes or ambercrombie t-shirts. This is a big hit for me. All costumes and make-up fit the particular rooms. Again....an A+++++ for the make-up. Great job guys!!@

Summary: Overall I loved the experience. I have been traveling to this haunt for four years now and they continue to set the standards in make-up and costumes. Their scenes are like walking into a Hollywood movie set. No little rooms with black plastic here. The cemetary and swamp are unbelievable. I felt like I was actually there. Amazing. Keep up the good work and can't wait to see what you have in store for next year. See you then.

11 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tjj20   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This attraction is pretty easy to find, once you get within eyesight of the building you know it's where you need to be. Directions might be helpful for out of town people who don't know their way around Pekin, otherwise it's pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment is fantastic. The people working the wait line did so the entire time we waited and were interactive with the line and just overall entertaining.

Length of Event: It takes a good 20-25 minutes to get through, it could vary depending on group size,etc.

Actor Performance: Actor performance is outstanding, each actor gets into their role and they are very much in your face and follow you for as long as they can through each room. You will think they are gone, turn around and they are still there! They don't break roles and really creep you out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good,they like groups of 4 or more and they take their time with you while you are in the attraction.

Appropriate Ages: I would say no younger than 10-12 should go through.

Props / Special FX: Props and special effects were awesome,there's tons of detail, and each room you move through is really realistic. The space they have to work with in that building is amazing and they really use it all well. The mental ward was extremely realistic looking, as well as the zombie scene.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up were top notch, the line entertainers alone had amazing make up and costumes. Each actor had really good make and costumes that went along really well with the good acting.

Summary: This place is worth the drive for an out of town person! You can tell these people really enjoy putting this on, and it is nice to see actors who really get into their role. Even though it was really close to closing time for them, each room still had actors and everybody was still in character and ready to scare you. They have some cutting edge ideas and things that really will scare you! The zombie scene and the mental ward were both fantastic and I've never seen them done so well before! I will for sure be back again.

4 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's in a mall. We cam up the backway because we kina knew where it was..did not see any signage.

Wait Entertainment: Hearse out front...3 maniacle clowns working the crowd. They did a very good job!

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Mostly kids..Zombies..excellent!!!!!! Carnival kids were great!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: a group ran into us and stayed until the end with us..hate that...the actors should help control with in.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Really enjopyed the rooms and smells..cotton candy in the carnival..incense in the voodoo room..

Costumes / Make-up: I really enjoyed their make up..all scenes appropriately outfitted with good characters

Summary: I like what these guys do. The scenery is great.The loud bangs of metal on metal..adds to the creep factor. The cemetary fantastic..the zombies knocked it out of the park...voodoo room and voodoo gal very good. I really liked the asylum and the carnival..the kid on the ground was all over the place..I liked the themes and the actors really seemed to get into the rolls..my only wish for this haunt is a bit darker and a bit longer..There was a missed opportunity to actually scare in the white maze, the kids in hockey masks were neat..but they could have gone for a scare at some point.over all,,,well done and worth the price of $8.00 admission.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at