Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Ashmore Estates - No Mercy General Hospital (Ashmore, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
17 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sdc1997   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility was great, there was an actual ambulance and fire truck there with all lights flashing. Enter front of Asylum was lit up with spotlights.

Wait Entertainment: The clown reminded me of an annoying 14 yr old boy and nothing else. No scare built during the wait.

Length of Event: Possibly 15 to 20 min depends on how long you are stuck in the blackness that goes no where.

Actor Performance: Timing was off on many scares. Actors were not scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good, didn't run into any other group until we reached the black maze. And they to were as lost as we were.

Appropriate Ages: I would suggest 8 and up. Not overly gorey or scary.

Props / Special FX: The best part of the whole haunt is the moving hallway.  
The first autospy or crazy doctor room was greatly detailed.

Costumes / Make-up: The clown make-up looked like it was put on in the dark, however the skeleton's make-up was awesome!  
Lots of scars on several of the characters were great!

Summary: This haunt is great for the whole family, being an avid haunt seeker this one did not completely satisfy, however if a first timer may be worth checking out.

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: eldean   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Big construction sign on highway made it easy to find!

Wait Entertainment: Awsome, the skeleton guy with the chainsaw was great!!

Length of Event: 50 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good, the scarey lab ladys were cool they were kinda funny and then the kid jumped on fence out of nowhere and scared the crap outa of us. also the woman in labor was realistic, also enjoyed the dentist he was freaky!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did not run into anyone untill the maze and we were stuck their for awhile

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: my group enjoyed the lab and the hall that moved!!

Costumes / Make-up: make up was awsome probly some of the best i have seen, their were very few masks

Summary: i have attended this haunt for several years and every year they improve!! we loved it and plan on going back halloween weekend!! The building itself is very creepy, when we were in line we seen several people refuse to go in, and that just made us more excited about going in the building!! we also enjoyed the actors not wearing masks and wearing make up makes it much more realistic!! Ashmore you did it again and scared the heck out of us and did a great job once again, keep up the great haunt!!

12 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Asylum sits out in the middle of no where. There is a big sign directing you down the road.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of actors millling around during the rotaion of breaks.

Length of Event: 25 minutes

Actor Performance: Every actor stayed in character.."hoo hoo" guy in the maze was fun, scary, and made the event for our group. Our friends that were spilt off did not have him in the maze, and did not enjoy the house as much as our group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: If you ran into a group the actors quickly held you. Even in the dark confuaing maze.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: There were a few detailed rooms, the Asylum itself has so many creepy things about it you don't need much. The moving room..a great scare!

Costumes / Make-up: good combination of masks and make-up...there are a ton of actors.

Summary: The drive up to the Asylum was daunting. The creep factor of the building is great. There is an uneasy feeling walking through the haunt, but uneasy, not really scary. Most of the rooms had actors, playing the roles quite well, with different "medical" issues, and creepy Doctors. Most of the time the scenes do not have a scare, just visually creepy. The confusion of the dark maze gave us more scares then the actual house. Bring the coupon with you!!

12 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could use more signs to locate the place. We happen to find it by chance. 1 large light up sign located near a road that would take you to Ashmore Estates.

Wait Entertainment: Actors roaming the crowd, made it creepier, even though the building was creepy enough.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors stayed in character and seemed to get everyone in the group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only one place where we ran into many groups. On one of the floor- yes this is a multi level haunted hospital, groups had to find there way out.

Appropriate Ages: 13 on up.

Props / Special FX: Use of the building was their greatest special FX.

Costumes / Make-up: Multitude of masks and make up. Great job in this area.

Summary: Overall we really enjoyed this house. 1 exception would be the ending. It lacked a major scare, not sure if this is how they attended for the ending to be or not. There was just a couple of kids that were screaming. Could have done so much more. One standout performance was the girl at the beginning that took tickets. I loved how mean she got and would yell at those waiting. Would really like to put this on the list since we travel all over the month of October Haunted Housing. Nice Job!!

9 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mknight82   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find!! love the construction info sign on main road

Wait Entertainment: FANTASTIC stuff to do I LOVE THE BRITISH PUMPKIN GUY. the older man with the bed pan was great!

Length of Event: got lost in top floor puzzle so took me 1 1/2 hours!

Actor Performance: for the most part it was good. but at the end on the attraction. there was a girl playing her game boy and talking around the door, they didn't even try to scare me when i came out she just looked at me oddly and hissed! if some of these kids art serious about working there then they shouldn't! the woman at the beginning made some lady do the "chicken dance" to get a confiscated flash light back! and the man with the top hat and chainsaw scared the daylights out of me! and thats hard to do

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great until the dark maze. but it changes at the stairs. where people are split up again

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: theres something that moves on a bridge near the ladies with the lab. when that happened i thought i was going to break the bridge!! and that moving hallway was a perfect touch! along with when i was leaving i saw a REAL ambluance and rescue team (i think) eather way. nice touch!

Costumes / Make-up: costumes and makeup are great. every year i come to haunted houses expecting to see store bousht masks but this reminded me of house on haunted hill!

Summary: over all this haunted attraction was beautiful! besides the girl in the end with the gameboy. my wife (who died in 2007 of a brain toumor) loved haunted houses and we loved traveling in the centreal/southern part of the state going to haunted houses. i went to ashmore estates every year besides 2007 since they opened and it just gets better and better every year! the only thing i would change is to get people who are serious about working at a haunted house and cut down on the kids who thinks its just playtime for them. also with the pumpkin dart toss they should have a station where you can carve them (great way to get kids more involved!)

8 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We have been there many times in the past. There are signs on the highway.

Wait Entertainment: Really good. There were several actors that were very entertaining.

Length of Event: 50 - 55 minutes including getting lost in the maze (tee-hee)

Actor Performance: They were pretty good. I did like the Frankenstein Room as well as the doctor that was operating on the girl. Most of the rest were just "Boo" or "rawr" kind of people, however, they were on their mark and scared most of us everytime!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: They had a vortex (was there last year), a cool new moving room and great lighting (except in the maze lol)

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks with a few in makeup. The masks were typical of walmart quality. The makeup was well done on some, others looked like they had either smeared it on or off!

Summary: I would have to say that this haunt has really turned around for me. I have been going to Ashmore Estates for several years and it is now an outstanding haunt in my opinion. The building in itself is HUGE and there is lots of room which they use now. I also liked the haunted clown barn. My friends are really afraid of clowns so it was fun watching them FREAK OUT! If you go to this haunt, make sure you go through the clown barn! It is worth shelling out the extra the bucks for a good scare!

5 out of 10 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: postoakian   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find just off of RT.16 can see it from the highway.

Wait Entertainment: the dream keeper guy was very good as we was waiting and he was there when we got out of the building.

Length of Event: 30 to 45 min. it all depends which way you go in the maze

Actor Performance: i feel the actors was very good there was only a couple of times that i seen them moving before the scare they stayed in there role up to the very end great job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good only caught up to people in the maze.

Appropriate Ages: i would not take any child less than 10.

Props / Special FX: the sequence of rooms was spot on the spinning tunnel then the moving room was great.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes nurses and doctors was great along with the make-up was good and gave the scenes a real feel to them.

Summary: the building its self is amazing all lit up on the front side and the history of the building made me uneasy as i pulled up the road to park. the dream keeper guy meeting us on the way up to get tickets and staying around us off and on until we went in. i liked the music it played in to the suspense which was there from the start to finish the suspense that is.the guy in the hall way with the strobe light was great along with the moving room and the maze was great to it was worth the 45 min drive and the money i will be back next year can not wait.

13 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: glockman   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. There is a huge traffic sign that lights up that is located on the main road that leads to Ashmore Estates...

Wait Entertainment: These guys were great. They had a nasty old man eating poop and trying to rub it on people. There was also a dirty hillbilly trying to scare people away. Ofcourse the spookmeister with the chainsaw was there and is very entertaining! There is also a new clown attraction this year outside of the building so they were fun to watch as well.

Length of Event: 30-45 mins depending on how fast you run! or if you have to drag your friend

Actor Performance: The actors did nice. Great attention to detail with the cosmetics. The actors really got into their roles.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was nice the only real time I ran into another group was in the dark maze on the third floor, which i fully expected to happen.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 and up depending on the child. They could always go in the clown attraction outside!

Props / Special FX: Very good. The huge lab was awesome! The demented dentist was crazy too. I really liked how all the rooms had detail, working lights, computers, the x ray room and everything went with the theme of the hospital this year

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were nice and very detailed as well. there are areas with light in this haunted attraction so if the costumes were not very good I would have been able to tell. Everything fit nicely

Summary: Overall the haunt was nice. They have an "ambulance" in front of the building. I do know that they had a real ambulance and fire truck there earlier for someone who had a medical problem. although this caused a little stir outside. It just could not be helped. Sometimes thingss happen but the actors and the staff seemed to handle things in a professional manner and the haunt went right on as it was supposed to. overall I like ashmore estates a lot i think it gets better every year. i will be back 

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bendfoster   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The visibility was very good. The front of the building was lit up and you could see it very well from the highway. It is just off the highway too.

Wait Entertainment: There was a hillbilly that was kind of funny. Didnt care for the crazy patient or clown. I go to haunts to try to be scared and they were not scary at all.

Length of Event: Cant be exactly sure but maybe 20 minutes. It seemed like we were stuck in the maze for quite awhile.

Actor Performance: Some of the actors were visible as we walked in some of the rooms, so that wasnt scary. But other actors seemed to jump out just right. There was a guy in the LAB that I didnt even see until he hit the fence. Another in a box as well

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good. The only time we ran into another group was while we were in the dark maze.

Appropriate Ages: It wasnt bloody or gorey so it would probably be ok for 10 years old and up.

Props / Special FX: The only props I seen were a few babies and the different tools the doctors were using. They had a room that moved, that was pretty cool.

Costumes / Make-up: The whole building is hospital related so most of the costumes were doctor or nurse types. There was a skeleton out around the ticketbooth that had awesome make up. A few of the crazies did too.

Summary: I either lead of tail when we go to haunted houses. I tailed at this one and usually I will laugh my butt off as the rest of my friends get scared. My friends and I didn't get scared at all at this one. Now Im not saying it isnt scary we just didnt get scared. There was a guy in the maze that was almost as tall as me and he seemed to be at every turn as we got lost thru it, that was starting to get on my nerves in a good way for him I guess. The one thing I did miss in this haunt was the chainsaw. My wife pees her pants when she hears them and I dont recall anyone coming after us with one.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at