Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Statesville Haunted Prison® (Crest Hill, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
36 out of 48 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This location might be hard to find, but it's easy to see when you drive by it. They have a lit up scene advertising the haunted prison.

Wait Entertainment: There were quite a few actors interacting with the crowd. Some had really good costumes, like the the actor on stilts running around and scaring people waiting in line.

Length of Event: About 30-35 minutes to get through both the prison and city of the dead.

Actor Performance: Excellent. There are sooo many actors at this haunted house which is what really makes it stand out as being one of the top in the Chicago area. They have great costumes and totally get into their roles. Even though we visited near the end of the night, the actors were very energetic, scary, and did a great job. 
I loved the entertainment in the one room where everyone had to get into lines. The actor here made random patrons do various tasks to entertain the rest of us. He made random patrons have a dance competition, do the hokey pokey, and the chicken dance. It was sooo funny.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into the group ahead of us a few times. Mainly because they were walking so slow. The actors tried to keep groups seperated, but sometimes it was tough for them to do it.

Appropriate Ages: 16 and up. This place is very intense and graphic.

Props / Special FX: They have very detailed scenes! Especially city of the dead. Fountains and lighting, it really truly looked like an ancient jungle city that was haunted. The beginning room with the warden is very cool as well.... a nice surprise awaits for you there I don't want to spoil it.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good costumes and make-up. Some are very detailed, you can tell it took some time and artists who knew what they were doing. It looked very professionally done.

Summary: Statesville Prison is one of the most intense haunted houses I have ever been through. It seems like there are hundreds of actors inside the attraction! There are so many of them and they all do such an incredible job. I have reviewed Statesville in the past and they missed the mark because patron flow was so bad. This year they did a much better job, I am glad I gave them a second chance. Statesville is one of the scariest attractions in the Chicago area, it is definately worth checking out. It is worth the price of admission due to all the actors and professional-grade props and special effects.

13 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jody99   (Event Visited: 10/17/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was right off a main street and easy to spot. It had a huge pumpkin in the parking lot and huge arrows pointing us where to park. Helpful parking people with flashlights to direct us.

Wait Entertainment: Super creepy characters! They stuck to character the entire time we waited, and I was continuously looking to my right and left and behind and in front of me because they would approach so quietly for the perfect scare! Had one guy who just laughed really freakily and I closed my eyes and just walked by him!

Length of Event: 1.5 hours because we took our time in both the Prison and the City of the Dead haunted house as it was two attractions in one.

Actor Performance: Inside the prison attraction the prisoners ranged from creepy women to gross fat guy sitting on a toilet and staring at you. They also had a strange dog costume who just waited in a corner as you walked up to him and started barking. Very cool characters that made the environment real.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We went into each attraction with a size of about ten-twelve people, but once inside my group, there were four of us together, were able to be separated from the other strangers and we had a lot of fun walking through the attractions ourselves without running into other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Summary: It was a frightful experience with the gruesome characters and the real-looking props in each "room" of the prison. The prison attraction had the most characters as it seemed there was literally one scare per turn/corner! The character costumes were very real, and they seemed to really enjoy making it hard to pass their area without a scream. The city of the dead attraction didn't seem to have as many scares as the prison, but there were some amazing areas like characters flying above us and in cages right next to us. Overall great special effects and great scares, I would highly recommend a visit!

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/21/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off Weber Road, with plenty of signage and lighting to let you know where the house is.

Wait Entertainment: Really good, they employ a lot of people who just hang around the lines scaring all the people.

Length of Event: 40 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not the greatest due to the large amount of people at the house. Several times during the houses we had to stop and wait in line to make sure all the groups stay seperate.

Summary: Let me start out by saying every aspect of the house is top notch. The actors and make up is amazing, and the special effects and animatronics are, by far the best I have ever seen. The only problem is that the houses are not that scary. Maybe due to the large groups going through the houses, or because of the configuration of the houses, there are very little pop outs in the houses. Most of the houses go from room to room with very little maze aspects, which I also enjoy. I went in with a family that included a 10 year old boy, and two fourteen year old girls and they said that they enjoyed the house, but it wasn't very scary.

9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: pumpkinhead2   (Event Visited: 10/28/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Super easy to find. The farm was very well lit and parking was easy to navigate and free.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was the best I've ever seen. They got some scares but, they did things that just creeped people out. You'd have to see it to get what I mean. As freaky clowns, they have the luxury of being able to go for a scare, act inappropriately, or to make people laugh (in a scared way). I loved the outdoor staging area that was like a prison camp setting. This was the beginning of their setup for the prison theme and it was flawless!

Length of Event: I forgot to hit my timer on my phone (I know, nerd right?!) but remembered to take note of the time about five minutes into it. It was 25 minutes at a minimum.This impressed me.

Actor Performance: These actors are just fantastic! When I left there was a "guard" trying to corral two clowns with shockers and it was just awesome. I can't say enough about how real the prison theme seemed to me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You could see other groups at many points but, this is probably part of the backstory as we are all "prisoners." I had not problem with this.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The first room in the prison was jaw dropping cool. The bass was too high on the audio though, so I had a hard time understanding what the character was "saying." SPOILER: Clowns doing flips and actors flying around on hooks was just crazy.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was great but the costumes sold it. They use masks in several areas but to great effect. These aren't masks that try to convince you they are the actors' faces. These masks are supposed to be recognized AS MASKS. What a great concept. Scary people in real life wear masks to disguise themselves. That's actually scary; not fantasy scary, it's real life scary.

Summary: I really had low expectations for this haunt because of what people have to say about the price versus the show you get. This is a negative, and I must agree, it's very expensive. However, their website, the signs out front, and most reviews indicate that the admission is expensive. Yet, on a Thursday night there were hundreds of people in line to go. This suggests to me that if people will pay $30.00 anyway, it's not overpriced. You know it's over priced when people stop going, end of story. No one forces people to go to a haunt. 
 
I have been to a lot of haunts and this one really impressed me. This was my first time going and I was blown away. Tons of actors and elaborate sets that put you into another world are highlights of this unique show. The second house is completely different from the first and although not as good, the sets and atmosphere is amazing! I'll probably never go again because of the cost but, I don't regret the money I spent this night.

5 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ngrant13   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, signs light up the way

Wait Entertainment: Guys in line were creepy and in your face, very good. Being locked in a cage I thought was unnecessary

Length of Event: 45 min-1 hour

Actor Performance: Not that good. The checkered clown was just talking to someone and showed us the exit right away. People were up in your face yelling and not doing any real acting. They pushed you through rather quickly. 

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did catch up with the group in front a few times.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: special FX were preety good

Costumes / Make-up: Same as above, very good costumes.

Summary: I believe statesville gets overhyped. That is just an opinion though. I didn't like spendind 25 bucks either, not worth it. The actors would just continually yell in your face and scream instead of attempting to scare you. Maybe, have a few "storylines" for some of the rooms too. You got rushed through rather quickly and did not have a chance to stop and look at the details of the rooms. The checker board clown, which I was excited to see, just let us pass right through and did not even bother to scare anyone, so that was a major dud. Always enjoy the wheel so that was a plus. City of the dead was not that great either. I'm assuming that was supposed to be the lesser scary attraction. The actors would growl and make animal noises at you from a distance and not even bother getting close. The costumes and FX were very good but that to me was the best part.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at