Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Raising the Dead at Clayville (Pleasant Plains, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
9 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chywyatt   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good...But was confusing on where you walk in.

Wait Entertainment: You did not have to wait you got to go as soon as you were there.

Length of Event: a good 20min. or more

Actor Performance: very scary but very good....The would yell for you to go on...haha and one man was nice and told us to watch our step

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Decorations were AMAZING

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: alot of great props!!!! no real special FX but didnt need them to be scary

Costumes / Make-up: Good Make up!!!!! And Costumes looked home made and wonderful

Summary: Very great thing to go to!! You get to be scard and loved how a guy followed us but he also made us laugh!!!1 Thought that was great for the hayrack ride. You got to follow pumpkins very cool!!! Inside of the haunted house almost made me pee myself!!!!!!! I think everone should go give it a try!!!!!!!!!!!!!! when you go down to the basement you really think your head is gonna get cut off. Very tite places.. so if you dont like being close to others i dont think this is the right place for you. Alsio every year is different 

3 out of 7 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kirbygirl79   (Event Visited: 10/29/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Even though it's right of 125, we barely saw it. More signage would be nice, especially leading up to the place. There was plenty of parking though.

Wait Entertainment: There were not any actors around while we waited, however there was a bonfire to stand around.

Length of Event: Part of the event is kind of at your own pace, which was nice. It took about 20-30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Almost everyone was enthusiastic. My favorite was the school teacher! She was just great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ended up running into another group ahead of us, which meant that timing wise we didn't get to see some of the scares.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: I really liked the litte graveyard walk. I like that real jack o'lanterns where used and loved the tombstones.

Costumes / Make-up: It seemed like some actors had makeup and others didn't. More elaborate costumes would be good for next year.

Summary: From what I've been told this is the first year that this event has been open. It has kind of a family atmosphere and there are even kid actors. It is the cheapest event in the area and is definitely worth the money! You get a haunted hay-rack ride, graveyard walk, and haunted house all for one price! There was also a place to buy food and drink. As this event becomes more popular though, there will definitely need to be a definitive waiting area or numbered tickets for the ride. We couldn't figure out where to line up to get on the hay-rack ride and had to ask someone. There's a kind of go-at-your-own pace after you get off of the ride, which is very nice, however flow in the haunted house needs to be more controlled so that groups do not run into one another. I would definitely come back next year though! Especially, if the price stays the same!

5 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: KrisNeuman   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signage was poor in area, however, I knew where I was going so didn't need signs. Once parked, it was a little confusing where to go until we got to a little sign with an arrow on it.

Wait Entertainment: No wait. Love the idea that you get on the haunted hayride and then get dropped off on other side of property.

Length of Event: 20 to 30 minutes. We went through in about 20 but there weren't many people there because it was late and their opening night.

Actor Performance: Very good! Most of them all had a "script" to follow when you entered their area. I think the hayride script could have been a little better.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Loved the pitch black maze. I like the "sudden scares" the most. When you left the basement and went outside, it was a little confusing, but there was an actor there to tell you where to go. Could have make another "room/area" there I thought.

Appropriate Ages: It's not a gory place, probably good for families.

Props / Special FX: Not many Special FX, but the scenes and acting were good.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent make up. There were two people I knew there, but didn't recognize them until afterwards!

Summary: I have been to most of the haunted houses in the Springfield, IL surrounding area within the last 3 years. This one is one of the better ones to me. I like things that mess with your head and jump out at you. This place probably isn't that, but it's definitely a good haunt. That's why I rated it an 8 out of 10 (10 being the best). What I liked most about the experience was that it was 1) affordable (only $5!) and 2) they started you right off with the hayride, then a scary walk through the zombie infested forest and then to the haunted house. This way, you could get many "flavors" of scare in one trip.

2 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: teresa   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was lots of good parking available. I would have driven past it if I hadn't known where I was going. They do need a larger sign out by the road to let newcomers know where it is.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment but they did have a nice large bonfire to sit around.

Length of Event: maybe 30-35 minutes.

Actor Performance: Great job by the actors, they stayed in charactor the whole time and were very active and convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent we did not encounter any other group during the event, except between haunted grave walk and while waiting for haunted house.

Appropriate Ages: 12 thru adult.

Props / Special FX: Nothing high tech, but with the setting I think high tech would have distracted.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good.Costumes were very appropriate to the time period and setting.

Summary: This was my favorite event this year. I go to many haunted houses, hayrides all over central Illinois every year and this was by far the best! The actors all did a great job and stayed in the role they were portraying at all times. It's hard to believe this was their first year. I really had a good time in the haunted house, the actors really listened and used visitors names, all throughout the visit. The schoolteacher and "Susie" were by the best at adlibbing I thought. They were great! This was by far the best value for your buck, they only charged $5.00 for the whole shabang!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at