Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Shotgun Manor 2010: Vengeance (Sullivan, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
16 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Came to town a little leery, as I had gotten a speeding ticket before there! There were lots of signs and we had been there before.

Wait Entertainment: Binkie you are AWESOME! (A little off your rocker though). There were several people outside including Binky and his sister. Binkie is always great, he could use a couple of new stories though. He told the same ones from the past, and only had a few new ones. I LOVE BINKIE! He is my PINKIE FRIEND!

Length of Event: It took 30 - 35 minutes.

Actor Performance: WOW! It was great! This is one thing that really sets this haunt apart from many. Lots of monsters that actually engage you in dialog! I was also impressed that our "BOO" count was at ZERO!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into one group that had to do some push ups? Other than that, we didn't see anyone. We heard a lot from other rooms though.

Appropriate Ages: 11+

Props / Special FX: There were many props, but not very many special effects (no fog thank GOD). One of the outside monster had a popping thing that was really cool at first, then became annoying. I don't know if it is a special effect, but monsters came out of NO WHERE! It was insane how they just seemed to come out of the walls and corners!

Costumes / Make-up: EXCELLENT! ORIGINAL! There was a lot of makeup and a few masks. There was only one "movie" type mask, but it was hard to tell because they had burned it.

Summary: I have been coming to Shotgun Manor since 05. This year is no exception to the great time I have had in the past. I would like to say that this year, I laughed until I cried. At one point there was a girl that told me she was a pumpkin mermaid. I don't want to ruin it, but it if you just go with her it is a lot of fun. After that it was pretty scary. My friend peed her pants (sorry Angie)! The actors make this haunt incredible. I am always impressed with them. I will come back next year!

9 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ktflags   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were signs posted at the 4way stop light, and leading you to the square. They did move the ticket booth back closer to the ally, but there was a big white sign saying "shotgun Manor" so you knew you were in the right spot

Wait Entertainment: BINKIE!!!! and also a new one theis year named igor..he was really funny and was handing out squishy eyeballs! We were only in line for about 10mins

Length of Event: I think we were up in the house for about 20-25 mins. But it seamed longer!

Actor Performance: The actors did a awesome job!! one of the girls in my group said that an actor scared her so much that she kind of wet her self! haha Near the end, there was this one actor that i saw crowlling on the floor which freaked the heck out of me!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didnt run into any other groups!!

Appropriate Ages: 8+, however this year they hand out glow sticks, and tell the child to hold it up if they get to scared..Also they can have the child hold up their pinkie if they are to scared..the group a head of us had a child that had to be 2years old, and binkie was telling her to hold her pinkie up if she was to scared. He said that the actors know if they see someone with a glow stick or pinkie in the air, not to scare them..to much! haha

Props / Special FX: the props were really good, but i couldnt really hear any music playing..

Costumes / Make-up: All of which were awesome! not alot of masks! make-up looked extreamy real!!!!

Summary: Overall I really enjoyed the experience and i really feel that it is way better this year than any of the years they have had!!!! Shotgun manor, you did a WONDERFUL JOB IN SCARING ME AND EVERONE ELSE IN MY GROUP!!!! I will deffenitly be back this year!!!! Thanks for a great evening at Shotgun Manor!

15 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Get your self to the downtown square...no problem.

Wait Entertainment: Binky, Binky,Binky...that poor man, friendly as he may appear...truly has some issues!

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: These guys work real hard!! "set my dolly free" girl was outstanding,,super creepy! The guy up in the rafters ..hardest working actor in the haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The house was put together well..no real stand out rooms, yet consistent with the theme of the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Interesting make-up..I had to look twice at a couple of the actors..some of it was simply wrong..in a good way!! Some masks.

Summary: This was my first time and really enjoyed the haunt. The actors give you 100%.They make Shotgun Manor worth the visit. There is a "goofy" quality to some of the characters that was entertaining.The haunt just kind of ends with out an attempt of a finale.

9 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: eldean   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find as it is on the square in sullivan

Wait Entertainment: didnt see much

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: was alot of young kids screamming in your ears!! and young boys with very distastful comments

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: this was great

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: did not have many

Costumes / Make-up: not bad glad to have not seen alot of masks

Summary: This is normally a great little haunt, i attend every year as I love haunted houses and really support the cause shotgun supports so i will continue to attend, but i feel the price is a bit high for a small haunt! it also seems they need a few adults in the haunt keeping control of some of the teen actors who dont understand being rude and smart mouths are not scary!! I hope next year they improve their actors with maybe a little more trainig on staying in character and knowing what to say and NOT to say!! Shotgun you have been great in the past, hope you return to greatness next year!!

7 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Ghostyyy1   (Event Visited: 10/20/10 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located right off the square in sullivan behind some buildings in an alleyway.. signs point where its at, not hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Wait was exceptionally good, I enjoyed them very well, i remember a man who was spinning fire which was really cool, there was some ninja thing walking around entertaining people interacting with the guy spinning fire. I did see binky for a bit but didnt get the chance to say hello.

Length of Event: 15-20 Minutes

Actor Performance: It was great, i especially liked the room with the caged girl and the locker room that followed... Another part was in this one room towards the end there was what looked to be a boy in High School who was shouting and telling people to take there pants off... adds that bit of touch to a haunted house of comedic scare, you dont see alot of it these days. Also, the Clown Room was really good, they got my girlfriend good hahaha.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did run into another group but an actor held us up with a little skit which was really cool.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up i would say

Props / Special FX: Didnt see a whole lot of special effects... Strobe Lights here and there... near the beginning there was a squish room kind of.

Costumes / Make-up: Didnt see a whole lot of costumes.. mostly makeup but the make-up they had was really good. Better than most.

Summary: This haunted house is definitly worth coming too, I really enjoyed this haunted attraction. Sullivan is a truly great small town, i live in Mattoon so it is not that much of a drive away, it doesnt cost that much for a small haunted house and it always puts on a great show. This was my 2nd year going and they set the standard even higher then before in my eyes. Im really looking forward to see what they can put out next year and the years to follow! Good luck to you and the years to come Shotgun!

10 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tmclaugh   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Near the downtown square, so very easy to find. Their signs should have been a little easier to see, as they were rather small, but not impossible.

Wait Entertainment: Very good wait entertainment! The zombie bride did an excellent job of staying active with the people in line and keeping everyone entertained. I did not see the "Binkie" character that has been written about so much, but the bride was very effective and fun!

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes. Good length.

Actor Performance: The masked actors who did not speak were the most effective, as the actors with make-up and "scenes" were not scary. Most of the face actors would yell their lines at you so incoherently that you couldn't understand what they were saying to you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth flow throughout the attraction. We got close to getting bunched up a few times, but one of the ghouls would stand in front of us to slow us down.

Appropriate Ages: Junior high age and up

Props / Special FX: Very limited in any significant props or special effects. Mainly just had people jumping out from around hidden corners.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good costumes & make-up

Summary: I was a little underwhelmed by this event this year. They didn't have what I would call "rooms", but the entire attraction was more simlar to a series of hallways with very small attractions. Outside entertainment was lots of fun! The storyline, while definitely compelling, had nothing at all to do with the attraction, so they may want to either drop any storyline next year or at least make the attraction somewhat related to the story. The actors were OK, but needed more direction. The best actor was the "haunted" referee! Lots of different directions that you could go with that character next year, but he was great! However...I did have a bit of a problem with one of the actors. The actor said that he was a mermaid (which had nothing to do with his costume), was hanging from the ceiling and said some REALLY inappropriate things to our group that had nothing to do with the attraction. If they are going to populate their attraction with high school-age actors, they might benefit from having an adult occasionally walk through the event to make sure that all of the actors are staying in character and sticking to their storyline. Overall, an average attraction, but with a few minor changes, has the potential to be really good!

8 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: postoakian   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: just off the square downtown signs easily shows the way.

Wait Entertainment: the guy with the spinning light thing was cool.

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: several times walked in while the actors was talking to each other then they would yell rite in our ears that got old and there was one that shouted some inappropriate things at one of our group members

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good did not run into anybody

Appropriate Ages: any

Props / Special FX: nothing was really outstanding

Costumes / Make-up: the girl eating the brains was rally good

Summary: it was my first time at this house and i guess to say the least i was disappointed for the cost of ten dollars it has the room and potential to be good i never got the feeling of man i don't want to walk around the next corner it was entertaining just not the scare that i was looking for the actors that stayed silent was better than the ones that screamed in my ear i will give it another chance next year and see if it improves i think if it had some older workers it might be better and i really do not know what the bush that wanted water was all about besides maybe comic relief.

11 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hhmom   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located just off the square downtown. Several signs to direct you.

Wait Entertainment: We went opening weekend and there was no line.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes

Actor Performance: This was a dissapointment this year. There was very few actors in the house, and most of the ones there were very young.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was good. We did not run into the group ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: All ages

Props / Special FX: Not as many props of special fx as in the past. Alot of dark maze type hallways. The one room that stood out was the locker room with the cheerleaderr and the coach. The coach was good.

Costumes / Make-up: Hard to say because there were so few actors.

Summary: We go every year to this event. The price has raised to $10 a person this year. I was a little dissappointed in the price and lack of actors. I realize it was the first weekend of the season but would have rather waited a weekend if they were not ready to open. We have visited this event every year for the last five years and always enjoyed it before. The old price made it a good small town haunt must see, but the new price makes me feel like I need more. Overall I was left wanting alot more out of this haunt this year

3 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located on the town square, this isn't hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't noticed much wait entertainment, but the time was late.. The was some crazy guy walking around talking to the crowd outside, but nothing great.

Length of Event: It took us around 15 minutes in line (late night) and 15 minutes throughout the event..

Actor Performance: All the actors done a fair job, but too many young kids here. The actors done a fair job to keep everyone interested, but jumping out and screaming isn't too much here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good and we ran into no others inside the event.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 8 years old could handle this haunted house without any problem..

Props / Special FX: Somewhat light on props, they need to put more into this event. No special effects!

Costumes / Make-up: This house was mostly masks, the costumes were ok.

Summary: This attraction needs some work next year.. The haunted house has a fair location, however it seems to quickly assembled, no real set detail here. The haunt is make up of people in masks jumping out at you as you walk throughout halls in the event, needs more room settings. The new mermaid was ok, but not enough to give a scare factor here.. The overall event seemed weaker this year than last year! I think more adults are needed here, children with masks just don't make it. Also; noted that the storyline of this haunt has nothing to do with what you see experience as you walk through.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at