Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Basement of the Dead (Aurora, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
16 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mrsmitch2   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is directly across the street from the casino so it was very easy to find. Parking was right next door to it making it easily accessible.

Wait Entertainment: We were told the wait time was 2 hours so we opted for the speed pass and went in almost immediately. While waiting to purchase tickets there was a lot of entertainment! People were screaming all throughout the wait! The characters stayed in character and enjoyed scaring the people waiting in line.

Length of Event: it took us approximatly 15 minutes to get thru

Actor Performance: These actors were absolutely wonderful! The timing of the scares was perfect - they never once missed! There were 2 'spinning rooms with bridges' and they both had a big surprise in each one of them scaring us to death! and the last 'rebirthing room' where there was some light so you could see - well that too had a huge surprise we weren't expecting and scared us quite a bit! The only time I wasn't thrilled was when a 'monster' did break character and said to the other monster 'we made her dance dude' - that wasn't good and kind of killed the scary moment b/c it brought us back to reality...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never once ran into anyone else nor did we see anyone else

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: There were some animations that were very effective. Lots of 'bodies' and other things dangling all over for you to run into... all in all we were very impressed with all the special effects & props they had.

Costumes / Make-up: A+ for this... every single costume and make-up job was perfect! The clown with the white face... scary!

Summary: All in all it was a great haunted house and we would highly recommend it - we already have! We would defintely do this one again. hopefully the one monster doesnt break character very often and only did this one time with us b/c they truly enjoyed scaring the crap out of my friend that was with us! You will definitely be entertained while you wait in line if you do not opt for the speed pass. There are about 4-6 monsters to entertain you at any one given time while you wait. All in all this is one of the better haunted houses I've been to and I highly recommend it!

16 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ihauntyou   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The signs and the hearse made it easy to find, as well as the the actors in the giant costumes

Wait Entertainment: They had six actors walking around and getting the crowd ready. They also had horror movies playing on the tv.

Length of Event: About 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great, everyone knew their role and were very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, we didn't run into other groups once inside

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up, depending on the child

Props / Special FX: They had 2 vortex tunnels, 2 squeeze rooms, many animatronics, very detailed scenes.

Costumes / Make-up: All make-up was professionaly done, and high quality masks were worn by others

Summary: This haunt is great. From the time we got there the actors were entertaining us with scares and comedy. I loved it when the clown collecting tickets took of his shoe and asked my group what it smelled like, he was definetly into his role. Once inside the haunt it was dark, and had very loud music playing, which added to effect. The actors scares were perfectly timed and they were very convincing in their roles. With so many actors and props it was hard to tell which was which. I thought the actors in the puppet room were great the way they moved around with the ropes connecting them to the ceiling. This haunt is by far the most bang for your buck. Great job

16 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: blaze464   (Event Visited: 10/14/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was very easy to find their was a hurse in front of the building which made it bery clear where it was located!! 
 
 

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait on a thursday night! and they spaced it out perfectly between groups

Length of Event: it was about 15 minutes long! perfect amount of time...not too long not too short! also the actors that were in line made it that much better and more exciting to wait and get it!

Actor Performance: actors were awesome! they knew exactly when to pop put and scare the heck out of you!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was great! like i said perfectly spaced between groups! didn't catch up to the group in front and the group behind stayed far behind..

Appropriate Ages: i think it is appropiate for all ages above 11-12 or so....

Props / Special FX: I really like the ballon-intrapped thingy!! it was something i have never been through in a haunted house and it was pretty freakin cool!!!! also alot of the air horns that randomly went off was cool and the clown room!! the fog light was also really cool....it looked like a tunnel we had to walk through to get to the other end!! plus the two spinning tunnels definately was a plus!!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were awesome and very well played out!! especially the big guy ion the front of the building walking around! we talked to him and he was pretty funny!!

Summary: Overall this was probably the best haunted house I have ever been through! I went last year and this year was way better!! I especiallied liked the two spinning tunnel rooms and the fog light that led up to another room!! it made it feel like i was entering the twighlt zone! they definately put some time, thought and effort into it!! i will probably go again this year and definately recommened to ALL my friends!!! Thank you to all the actors for putting on an amazing and fantastic show...!!!!!!!

26 out of 57 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bp2687   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Although you might not immediately see where the haunt is held, it is very easy to find, right across the street from the casino. Parking is always available. The night we attended, there were actors on the street corner attracting visitors.

Wait Entertainment: We were lucky to buy our tickets and enter immediately, but there were many actors lurking about to entertain. They are very well made up and stay in character completely.

Length of Event: I think it might have taken us 20 - 30 minutes to go through the event.

Actor Performance: The actors are very convincing and you will not see the same costume twice. They do a wonderful job, both inside and outside the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never came in contact with another group, and no one caught up with us. We took our time to enjoy the frights and the actors never pushed us forward.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: I am always amazed at the number and variety of props and special effects. The owners do a great job with a variety of props and special effects that appeal to all five senses.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up are all professionally done.

Summary: We have attended this house for years, and always try to go twice per season. The price is affordable and the event is well worth it. This haunted house will always be one of our favorites.

15 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jan498   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is a great location especially being across from the river boat. Easy access from the parking garage. Hurst in front with flashing lights definately helps.

Wait Entertainment: The actors are great. Creepy, drooling werewolf, sexy vampire, scary clowns and others really put on an frightfully entertaining show. Line moves quickly and if you have to wait, outside entertainment makes it worth it.

Length of Event: It was about 15-20 minutes of being scared to death. This is a real basement of the dead.

Actor Performance: They were really great! They scared you without touching you. You could feel their presence in each turn and dark corner. It was just the best.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We went in with a group of 3 and never saw another group in front or behind us. Just perfect - not feeling rushed. 
We could enjoy the pee in your pants scares all the way through.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: The spinning tunnels were great and the green go into the light effect was cool. All the props were just what you want to see in a haunted house - blood and gore - I loved it.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up looked very professional. I'd like to be done up by whom ever created the costumes/masks and makeup.

Summary: If you truely want a great time and the scare of your life, you must experience Basement of the Dead. I have been through a couple of times, that is how much I love this place. The scenes are scarey and the actors with their scary and ghoulish costumes really are the best. The special effects make you keep wondering what you will see and feel around every dark corner. From getting your tickets to walking out the exit door, there is nothing disappointing about Basement of the Dead. A must see!

24 out of 54 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: KKraynak   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house is quite easy to get to since it is located by the casino in downtown Aurora. With the convienence of the parking garage (only $2 ot park) it was a breeze to get there.

Wait Entertainment: The entertainment for waiting in line (if we would have had to) was excellent. There was a variety of haunts waiting outside to keep us entertained before we headed in. Not only were the characters well dressed up, they ranged from scary and predictable to larger than life and terrifying. All of the characters were quite interactive and ready to scare. There was also a scary movie playing for entertainment while in line.

Length of Event: It took about 20 minutes to get through the haunted house and since we came on the first weekend it opened we didn't have any wait time in line.

Actor Performance: The actors were great this year! Not only were they well hidden and ready for when we arrived, but they played their roles very well. All characters seemed to fit very well in each scene that we entered and never broke out of character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since we were the only group to go through the event at the time, we didn't have any one catch up to us in the attraction.

Appropriate Ages: This is a DARK haunted house and quite intense in some rooms and I would not recommend bringing small children.

Costumes / Make-up: Actors were well done up in costumes and make up to really make their characters stand out and believable. Again, there were some "larger than life" characters outside in the wait entertainment that were really impressive.

Summary: To me, this haunted house is by far the best around for location and price. Other than some other haunted houses, this one is REALLY dark inside which I really feel adds to the intesity of the scares. Not only are the characters there great, but the rooms and hallways are also excellent. There were a variety of "obstacles" to go through in the house that also added to the scare- such as the inflatable walls to walk through and the body parts hanging from the ceilings. You could really tell how passionate the characters were about their roles. I attend this haunted house each year and each year it seems to get better! Although we didn't have to wait in line when we were there, it would have been worth every minute of us waiting if we had waited in line.

16 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/14/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Lots of signage throughout Aurora, easy to find on the street.

Wait Entertainment: Wide variety of creatures just waiting around wanting to scare people, and they had Evil Dead 2 playing on monitors, which is always awesome.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, very scary throughout the house and really enjoyed scaring me, sometimes several times at the end in the maze part.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was the only person I saw in the house.

Summary: So far, this is one of the scariest houses I have been to this year. Throughout the house, it is very twisting and turning getting to the rooms, and once you get to the rooms, the actors were very convincing and popped out throughout the room. Also the whole house is very dark, and the loud music disorients you to the point that you get very confused going through the maze-like aspect of the house. This house is very good as going in to a dark area, and having something loud and bright coming at you, and it is very startling. The end is a pitch black maze, that actors like popping out at you with flashlights, scaring you very well.

16 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cayamc   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's not very easily seen because it's located behind some bars and restaurants, across the street from the Hollywood Casino. But the actual location is really good. It is lower than street level and kinda secluded.

Wait Entertainment: We were there on a Saturday night and the wait wasn't long. About 10 minutes to buy tickets and another 10 to go in. You wait outside but there are lots of characters walking around scaring people, plenty to keep you occupied.

Length of Event: This is a pretty long haunted house. I would estimate 25 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Very good. Actors never broke character. They were creepy and scary. They were also good with interacting with us. At one point I called my friend by her name and the guy starting saying her name in a creepy voice. It totally freaked her out!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It is VERY dark in there so at times it was hard to figure out where to go but that's part of the fun. We were a group of 7 and were sent in by ourselves. We never ran into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: They say it's for 13 and older and I would agree.

Props / Special FX: Props were very good. One of my favorite things were the spinning rooms where you had to walk across a catwalk to get out. We couldn't figure out if the catwalk was moving or not but it really does disorient you. Very cool.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was professionally done. Very good and very creepy.

Summary: I really liked this haunted house. It was scary and had some cool effects. It really messes with your senses. It was disorienting, at times noisy, and very dark. The area that you wait at is also very customer friendly. Its isolated from the road and the haunted house is the only thing happening there. Characters walk around and interact with the people. We actually decided to stick around afterward just to watch for awhile. Tickets are $15 and we were able to find free parking nearby.

19 out of 43 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Atowngal   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was easy to find,very visible from street and bridge. Parking at the Casino garage made it easy and felt very safe, then it was just out the door and down the stairs to the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few different scary clowns and whatnot working the crowd. I was surprised there was a movie being shown on a big tv to watch while you waited. As you got to the front a dismembered head tells you the rules and it's kinda cool on it's own merit. The guy who took our tickets maintained character well and was a little scary himself!

Length of Event: We got there early and were like the third group inside. Start to finish it was about a half hour total time, with most of that inside.

Actor Performance: All of the actors were very much into their characters and very scary! Their timing was excellent, they could see you almost relax looking at a scene and then come to life suddenly, scaring the beejezers out of you!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They timed the flow through well, we didn't run into the folks in front, nor were caught up to by the folks behind, it was like our own private h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) If you stopped too long to catch your breath, someone would come and scare you right along your way again!

Appropriate Ages: You should be older than 13 I would think for this. Very graphic at times, would give a younger child nightmares for sure.

Props / Special FX: The props and scenes were excellent, it was like walking onto a movie set, you were definitely a part of the action and it seemed very realistic. There was a room/tunnel with rotating lights that made it look like the door at the other end was turning and I had to close my eyes to make it across and not feel queasy.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up and costumes were great! None of that old rubber mask that doesn't quite fit stuff, all the make up looked professional, and I'm still seeing some of it in my worried thoughts of impending nightmares. The female vampire chained to the wall really stands out in my mind and the clown room, oh god, I didn't think I was afraid of clowns, but I am now!!!

Summary: Long and short, I was terrified and it took a few hours to calm down. If you like being scared, you'll LOVE this place! After the first five or ten minutes it really did start to feel like a nightmare and you couldn't wake up from it! I got so freaked out that even the things I know are just rubber things hanging from the ceiling became utterly terrifying. I was so disoriented and worked up I about couldn't stop screaming by the time I got to the end, and I couldn't get the door open and was helped out by the last actor by the door because he could see the utter panic all over me. I survived to tell about it, but when they say nightmare, they mean it!!!

13 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Dioxide   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location in my opinion is fantastic. It is located right underneath a bar and across the street from Hollywood Casino. Which is also great because I got free parking because of the casino's parking deck. The haunt is also relatively easy to find because they had two large clowns outside by the street directing people and traffic towards the basement.

Wait Entertainment: The entertainment outside is really awesome, there is a lot of intensity in all their actors and what I liked more is there is a great variety of characters outside. Like vampires, werewolves, clowns, and something I've never seen at another haunt is a crawler.

Length of Event: I was very surprised in how long the haunt was, it ended up taking my group around fifteen minutes to get through.

Actor Performance: The inside actors were pretty good and some were rememberable. The actors are are placed in key locations and just don't try to scare you by popping out and yelling.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow inside the house was running pretty smoothly and actors in scenes would push groups through while we walked through. I did notice though there was some bunching up in the basements dark hallway but actors were also there to scare and assist through it.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say it would be an teen to adult haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up that I really noticed most was the crawler that was outside. It matched his mask perfectly and the make-up on his arm was awesome and identical to the mask. Other actors outside looked awesome, and a good deal of inside actors had awesome costumes.

Summary: Overall this haunt is awesome I'd say my favorite I have been to because it is just so unique and the real scary stuff that I think haunts should be. What I mean by this is it seems like everybody is going with gore instead of real scary dark uncomfortable feeling that make people quiver. From the outside entertainment to the house itself the location beginning to end I was nothing but impressed. I would recommend this haunt to anyone that would ever be interested in going to a haunt. Awesome job guys can't wait until next year.

14 out of 35 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jenigma75   (Event Visited: 10/14/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunt itself was hard to see because it was under a bar but they had a hearse parked out front & actors milling around to attract customers.

Wait Entertainment: The actors outside were great. They didn't break character and some were quick funny. There wasn't much of a line so we saw more of them walking up than in an actual line.

Length of Event: 15-20 min. We like to really check out the scenes.

Actor Performance: Excellent. The actors had good timing and keep in character. They had a lot of energy even though it was a slow night.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. We didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: I would not sugguest this for young children. There is a lot of gore & people jumping out at you.

Props / Special FX: Awesome. They had a huge werewolf thing that came at you. There was also a bat thing that flew at you while you were being distracted by a guy in an electric chair. The props it the scenes were so realistic and gross.

Costumes / Make-up: Amazing makeup & masks. Some of the actors didn't have very original costumes but their makeup was very gory and they fit right in. The pig men in the kitchen ruled. I also like the masked people in the room with the saw.

Summary: I would recommend this haunt to all of my friends. There were two spinning tunnels which are my favorite. I jumped a number of times which is rare for me. I enjoyed the gory scenery. This haunt is surely not for the faint of heart. There was a good mix of live actors and props. I liked how the scenes were set up that you actually walked through many of them versus haunts where everything is behind a railing. I liked that they had actors walking through the house as well as in scenes.A great mix.

18 out of 46 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: stuffy2004   (Event Visited: 10/17/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was a billboard directing you to the location, there was a parking garage nearby, and there was plenty of signs and lights. They even had an old hurst parked on the street with lights on it.

Wait Entertainment: They wait entertainment was very good! There were 5 or more actors out roaming through the lines and crowds scaring people. They also had a tv playing a movie and a few windows with mini movies.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. The actors were very convincing,stayed in character, fit with their roles, and had very effective timing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had a group catch up to us in the last room of the haunted house. Otherwise we had no more run ins.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: They had 2 vortex tunnels, and animatronics. Special effects and the props were very good.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were very good, they were very detailed and in theme with the rooms. The make-up was very detailed, they even did the special contacts for their eyes.

Summary: I felt that Basement of the Dead was well worth the admission price. I really enjoyed my time in line with the actors coming through. The vortex tunnels were very good. The actors were very convincing and effective. They had quite a few differently themed rooms. They do have strobe lights and lasers. The location and atmosphere were very good. The wait in line was even entertaining. They also have a concession stand with food and drinks. We went through twice and the actors still effectively scared us the second time through. It was a very entertaining haunted house.

25 out of 68 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: marv58   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Well if you havent been here before it could be kind of tricky to find this haunt. Luckily there were two LARGE glown figures directing people where to go on the main street in downtown Aurora.

Wait Entertainment: As usual they had lots of characters roaming the lines. This was probably one of their stronger characteristics this year, as all the actors did a great job, only breaking character for pictures.

Length of Event: It was a little longer than years past but still around 14 minutes.

Actor Performance: This is where Basement usually shines, however I didnt get that high intensity, in your face over the top acting as I did in previous years. Im taking into consideration that its early in the haunt season, but most of the actors were slightly off mark.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything was great till the last portion on the house. We ended up having 4 groups run into one an other. Thats after me secretly telling one of the actors of the situation. This part of the haunt needs serious help as it ruined the last portion for many people.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Very good this year, more detail, more gore, and more props than last year. I enjoyed all the detail they put into their individual rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: The line actors make up was very very impressive. Inside the haunt it was slightly too dark to tell most of the time. From what I did see most of the costumes and make up were top notch.

Summary: Well this haunt is usually a haunt i get excited for. I did not leave disappointed maybe just a little annoyed? 
 
To start the haunt off first, we were set to be in the front of a 4 person group. As we were walking in my girlfriend stressed how she did not wsnt to be in the front. At this time the greeter clown made her go in first and then slammed the door shut, leaving her in the opening of the haunt by herself. KUDOS for that she really enjoyed it. 
 
The haunt consists of about 7 scenes separated by either pitch black maze type walls, inflatable tubes, or body part infested hallways. 
 
I do remember seeing some of the same stuff as previous years, but a few new additions did keep my appetite for something new satisfied.  
 
On a very positive note I did not hear "get out" or "leave here" once which was pretty impressive, give in that is pretty much the staple of go to lines to keep patron flow going. 
 
However this leads me to the only problem of the night. Crowd control toward the end of the haunt. I can see running into the group ahead of you. But, I was walking really slow to take in the scenery. We actually caught up to a group that already caught up to a group. We we had two other groups catch us. This was a serious problem and something I hope they can fix before they get really really busy. 
 
Second, sad to say some of the actors really missed their mark, once again very early in the haunt season so I was not being too critical. However, I did get accidentally hit in the face by an actor and he did break character to see if I was ok....I would say unless im on the floor bleeding to death a simple "sorry, but your in my house now" would have worked much better. 
 
Overall Was not disappointed, really enjoyed my first haunt of the season. Great Job Fellows, work on some of the quirks and I dont see how this is not a top three haunt again this year.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at