Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Gilson Haunted House (Gilson, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
12 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lilangel922u   (Event Visited: 10/02/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They had a lot right behind the house for parking, but could have been a few more signs. We turned into the town and had to turn around to find the house.

Wait Entertainment: There were people dressed up to scare you while you waited in line. There was also a little stand where you could be food or drinks while waiting. The waiting room was decorated spooky.

Length of Event: Before you go in they tell you it takes about 20 minutes to go through. Not true. It was 20 minutes for the first half then another 20 minutes for the second half. So it took about 40 minutes to get all the way through the house.

Actor Performance: The actors were very well hidden at times. You'd think that it was a fake, but then they would jump up and scare you. The stayed in character most of the time. Although once in the maze after getting lost one did say "You know you have passed me 3 times".

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into another group in front. But more than once the group after us caught up and stopped to let us get farther ahead.

Appropriate Ages: I don't think this would be good for small kids. Maybe 13 at the youngest.

Props / Special FX: The 3D part was great. There was a spinning tunnel. And not sure what exactly it was but a room that seemed like the floor was spinning. The pitch black maze at the end was amazing. And it seemed like you were in a real meat locker with stuff moving.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the actors had on masks or make up. They did great with the costumes. There was one you thought was a scarecrow, then it moved and you realized he was real.

Summary: My favorite part was the spinning room and the pitch black maze. Got lost more than once. My only problem was at the end they have a scare and there's no warning of stairs coming up. I fell down everyone of them but then it was at the exit. They should probly have a warning of the steps. The meat locker was great. In the spinning room all but one in our group ended up on the floor. Favorite actor was the scarecrow like guy with the scream mask. Thought for sure it was a prop. Chainsaws always freak me out. This was a haunted house well worth the money you pay. The price isn't that bad, and it was one of the best ones been to in awhile. Going to go to this one next year too!

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jewls85   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Ive previously visited this location in the past, so it was easy for me to find. Parking on the road was not too far away.

Wait Entertainment: We waited in line for maybe 20 min, there was a film showing outside on the building, not bad.

Length of Event: maybe 30 min, it was good amount, the maze was 15 min of it

Actor Performance: Actors were good, this year seemed to have less than past years.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good, the only time we ran into another group was in the maze, but thats expected.

Appropriate Ages: appropriate for 8 and up, not too scary, pretty mild.

Props / Special FX: spinning room and tunnel with bridge were my faves, I liked the dancing lights as well.

Costumes / Make-up: costumes were good, the spooks outside are great.

Summary: This year was more mild than previous years, but still good. I wasnt really scared but a couple of the actors did give us a little jump. Needs a few more live actors, the movie outside was a nice touch. One year had men blowing fire, that was impressive and entertaining. The appearance of the house is definetly fitting to the location and activity. Overall, were hoping for a more intense scare next year and a few more actors as well as some new twists and turns, definetly a haunted house to see.

9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bitemeill   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If one does not know the location of the school one could easily be lost. The lack of signs directing you to the school. Once at the school there is a big parking lot behind the school one can park plus there is plenty of street parking.

Wait Entertainment: This year they had a movie playing on the outside of the school so you have something to watch while you wait. There was plenty of entertainment outside you could watch people running out screaming while a clown chased them with a chain saw.

Length of Event: They said it would take approx. 30 minutes to go through the entire school. It lasted approx 40 minutes and it did not seem like it lasted that long.

Actor Performance: The actors were wonderful they stayed in costume the whole time. A few of the dummies were not dummies at all they did an excellent job I screamed like a little kid and loved every minute of it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never ran into anybody infront or behind our group, which was great because there were several big groups infront and behind our group of 5.

Appropriate Ages: I really believe its appropriate for ages 8 and up. If they saw kids they speculated on the age and that decided if they would scare the holy crud out of them or just scare the parents.

Props / Special FX: The 3-D effect they had was great, the floor that felt like it dropped out from under your feet scared me to death, the moving floor, and the spinning room was great.

Costumes / Make-up: They played the part to their costumes. I wish more haunted houses played up to there costumes and make-up.

Summary: If you want to have the holy terror scared out of you I would recommend you take the drive to Gilson. I will defintely be back next year. The price of admission actually was quite reasonable the cost was $8.00 a person and for the amount of time it takes to go through the entire house(school) is well worth the price. I give it 2 thumbs up!!

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Elf93   (Event Visited: 10/28/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find

Wait Entertainment: they had people working outside. they would come out of nowhere and scare you. i love watching the chainsaws chace people out and around the building. they would also shake the bathrooms and beat on the door.

Length of Event: it took us about 35min to go through the house. it took us 20 to go through the accual house and 15 in the maze.

Actor Performance: the actors were great every room we entered they were in their spots waiting for us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: once its your turn to go through you would have a guide and the groups were givin at least two minutes before the next went. it made it better and we didnt have to worry about other groups running into us.

Appropriate Ages: 10

Props / Special FX: very good. the 3d was my favorite part.

Costumes / Make-up: everyone was dressed for the room they were in

Summary: I drive two and a half hours for this haunted house. my kids are all excited once they find out we are going to Gilson. my family and i go every year. it is fun and different every year. we waited 15 minutes total before we got to go into the house. the cost is $8. it was worth the drive, wait and the cost. i definately will be going back next year. this is the best haunted house in the area. my kids love it and ask to go through again once we get out. On the way home the kids are making fun of there mom because she was screaming the whole way through.

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jennahanson   (Event Visited: 10/15/10 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The school building is in a small town so it is hard to find, we used GPS so it took us right to the location. Parking was easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: We waited about ten to fifteen minutes at the most. It was fun because there were little people in costumes trying to scare people waiting in line.

Length of Event: About 20-40 minutes to get through, it depends on how long it takes you to get out of the dark maze.

Actor Performance: There were a lot of actors throughout the attraction. Mainly scaring you by hiding, the props were kinda creepy. It seemed like there were a lot of kids on the props, that was pretty creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was pretty easy to get through and no waiting for other groups, the 3D was pretty cool.

Appropriate Ages: No younger than 10.

Props / Special FX: Props were pretty cool. There is music playing throughout the entire attraction, it was scary heavy metal music.

Costumes / Make-up: All og the costumes were pretty good, mainly clowns and most people I know are scared of clowns. Some people had their faces painted.

Summary: Overall, we had a pretty good time. The price you pay to get in is fair and the entertainment was decent. There were a few times throughout the attraction things were pretty slow which was nice because you could actually enjoy the 3D show without being bothered. I didn't like the chainsaws because it stunk really bad throughout the areas they were at. When we went back to our car one of the actors followed us and kept trying to scare one of the girls we were with, it was pretty funny. All of the actors stayed in character very well. So I would give the entertainment a thumbs up!

6 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/01/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located every year in a old school house with multiple floors and a basement area, doesn't get much better than that.

Wait Entertainment: On opening night we went straight in without line, but some monsters are available for line working here.

Length of Event: Maybe 20 minutes throughout the attraction, the maze would be a time consumer here. The maze can be hard for the first time, but after years of doing it (doesn't change much if any) I mastered it easy. They also have people (guides) working the maze to keep people more confused here and making it more time consuming.

Actor Performance: The actors done a good job, could maybe use more people with this larger attraction, but it worked for us. Everyone stayed in character and done a good job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along good, but opening night we had no crowd to deal with also. The maze is the only place you will have a bottleneck effect and there is no way to prevent that here, they like that.

Appropriate Ages: I would say anyone above 10 years could handle this attraction ok.

Props / Special FX: The props have stayed the same year after year, they should put a little more into the house every year, but this year I couldn't see it. The 3d room with the glasses stayed the same every year and is now getting old. The vortex tunnel spinning entry dial is gone and the upstairs crank ghost has vanished. Some extra work to facelift this might help next year, it needs some added tweaking.

Costumes / Make-up: The constumes are simple masks and basic stuff, nothing to stand out here. It works for them, but simple here.

Summary: This attraction is located in the perfect building, but needed some extra work this year to facelift everything to the next level. The house stays too much the exact same every year, and this event could easily be reworked. The 3d is no longer interesting and now maybe weakens the scary factor. If this is your first time here you will love it, but repeaters might find things getting old after a time.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at