Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Hair Razor Haunted House (Chicago, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
9 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: goblin62   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Address appears on front of church (Devon Ave.) however, the entrance is around the corner. There is ample parking for a crowd.

Wait Entertainment: Clowns, monsters, a casket car and a hearse were all visible from line. Characters were interactive; some very funny others very frightening.

Length of Event: About 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: All the attractions were professionally staffed. Timing of scares was excellent.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into others, but did hear them screaming at a close proximity, (maybe in the next room).

Appropriate Ages: 12 and over. Some of the scenes were intense. I do not recommend it for young children.

Props / Special FX: Top notch. Moving caskets, professional automation, laser lights, electrical effects and some new blacklight scares all add to the overall experience.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were good, especially the ghillie suit (that came out of no where). Other extremely unique costumes are there (not to spoil your fun) and are especially over the top.

Summary: I have attended this haunted house since it's inception, and once again I was not disappointed. It has grown so much in the past three years. The scenes are professional and scary. I regularly visit attractions like this during the Halloween season and this one gets my vote. It's a great value, artistic and well put together. The actors both in and out are always in the "scare zone" and while I was waiting in line, it was great to see that everyone leaving were charged up and jumpy. Some of the fun at this haunted house is waiting in the line just to see the reactions of those who made it through. In fact, one of the patrons ran to her car screaming just because a clown quietly walked up behind her. This is more than a haunted house this is a full blown attraction. The Hair Razor out does itself this year, it certainly can compete with the larger more established houses out there. Really: DON'T MISS THIS ONE!

9 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: eDsKillaZ   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off Devon in a church. Haunted House signs pointing to the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: Just 2 clowns walking around scaring lil kids

Length of Event: 10 to 12 min

Actor Performance: Actors were very into there rolls and timing was great throughout the haunt

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not bump into any groups

Appropriate Ages: I had a group of 7 to 10 year old gurls escorted by a Father of a child in the group. It turned out that his child was too frightned once she got to the entrance that they ended up leaving. I've been to Hair Razor since they opened up 3 years ago and after goin through this year the haunt has stepped it up BIG TIME! The scares were relentless through the Maze of CRAZE! 10 and up is Appropriate...

Props / Special FX: This is what made them soooo good this year. That very good rooms with great props and animitronics and lazers u name it! New State of the Art props as well. Claustraphobia and a homemade Vortex tunnel was very well done.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing too professional but masks and some make up were used with some costumes u would'nt even think were costumes.....???? Hehehehe!

Summary: Overall i would have to give the credit to St. Thecla this year for Most Improved Haunt! After 2 years of operation the masterminds of this haunt definently know what they want and expect from this haunt. Good Job and i see nothing but greater progress with this haunt in the future and i will continue to visit and spread the word every year. Definently a must see haunt for haunt fanactics. I've been to pretty much every haunt in Illinois and this one Top many of the bigger ones out there and i wont mention any names to put them to shame. Overall a great haunt for a cheap price and worth every PENNY!

10 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jspont2uz3   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I am a parishioner here and I have been to this haunted house ever since it opened up a few years ago...so, very easy to find. Plus they had signs posted on Devon, Milwaukee, and Harlem of where to go. So, that helped people who were unfamiliar with the area.

Wait Entertainment: My friends and I waited about half hour-45 minutes in line to get in. It was crowded.

Length of Event: I would have to say we were in there for ten minutes. There were lots of rooms and my friend was getting a little tired of walking thru the rooms. Hahaha! But, it was awesome overall!

Actor Performance: The actors inside were great...it really showed that they were having a great time scaring people and got into character. The two actors outside were in my friends' faces a few times which was amusing. I also liked seeing the monster driving the little coffin car around the parking lot.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: When we got in...we did not see anyone...but, we heard the screams. However, I think the group of kids who were two groups ahead must have stopped in a room...because we ran into them and the group that went before us. But, it was really amusing seeing the other groups scream when they got scared.

Appropriate Ages: Yeah, I would have to say 12+ years of age for kids and adults to attend. There were three young girls before us...and after five minutes-they ran back up because they could not go thru...So, they were really scared.

Props / Special FX: They had tons of special effects and props this year than last year. My favorite was the laser beam room...it was so cool...you have to see it. The fortune teller room was neat, the insane asylum was awesome, seeing Jason in the mirror was creepy, the catacombs, cemetery, vortex, clown, etc. was just great. It is amazing how many rooms there were down there!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were great...and the guys in the insane asylum were awesome to look at. :)

Summary: I love coming here and I love getting scared! Just come by and see for yourself! The atmosphere here is terrific, the actors performing are awesome, the staff are really nice and attentive, the security there was great, and this place is just awesome! I love coming here! I am planning on returning two more times before Halloween...or more...so, hopefully I see you there! :) So, swing by at 6725 W. Devon Ave and check out this haunted house! They have really outdone themselves this year and it was clearly shown. I later went to Superdawg and heard some kids there talking about how scared they were in there. So, come swing by!

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: MRPICKLER   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could find easily with signs with arrows at various busy street corners.Once there, you can see creepy black hearse parked at entrance and a casket go-cart driven by a monster around the church and parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: There were several well-done actors/actresses in great make-up keeping us on edge. It was fun watching the kids chase after the casket go-kart.

Length of Event: we walked through in about 15 mins.

Actor Performance: The scarers were very well versed in each room we went through. They played their scare roles well. Timing was dead-on...great job scaring us..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We could hear others screaming but we never ran into them. Our group had 4 of us and we all were included in each scare at the right time.

Appropriate Ages: I have to agree with others that reviewed the Hair Razor...12 yrs and up..I did notice they offered no scare days with lights on...

Props / Special FX: Wow...both cemeteries had very elaborate life-like props and headstones.As we walked into the different themes, each were well decorated with quality props, etc.They had caskets that popped out of walls,props that flew in the air, popped up at you, and even a car that gave us an unexpected scare. They used laser lights in a vortex tunnel and one that simulated spiders crawling all-over. A lot of cool blacklight was used for effects as well as sprayers that suprised us as well...( I hope it was water)...Strobes and an air cannon kept you on your toes walking the dark hallways..Well worth what we spent.

Costumes / Make-up: The main characters this year have definitely stepped up their make-up and costumes. Some hallway scarers had store bought costumes but of better quality. They all fit well in each themed room & hallways. They all blended in well..I suspect all black helped with that..

Summary: I know that their website hairrazormaze.com said it was not sheltered, but when we arrived it was raining and the line was through the church that kept us warm & dry...not to mention the creepy feeling of walking through the church to get to the haunted house. This is my third time/ year through the hair razor because we live near by, and for the price of a ticket with the dollar off coupon, it has gotten way bigger and better than previous years, I would recommend this haunt for value, quality scares, and overall fun that everbody seemed to be having. I did miss the chance to buy snacks at the end, but Superdawg worked well..

7 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Rachel221   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I had been to this event before, so I had no trouble finding it.

Wait Entertainment: There was plenty of entertainment in the waiting line from all kinds of clowns, goth kids and others. The wait was not too long either.

Length of Event: I would say it took between 12 and 15 minutes to go through.

Actor Performance: All of the actors were well timed and had a good presence. There were several places where there were a few too many, but they all scared us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into any other groups once we were inside. It was well paced. We could other people screaming in from of us and behind us but we didn't see anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 and over, depending on your children.

Props / Special FX: There were a lot of new things this year. The opening graveyard contained many more things to look at. They have a tunnel that you have to squeeze through, which really creeps me out. They used a lot more blacklight effects this year and some laser effects which were cool. There were some neat things with coffins that move and some glow in the dark ghosts that scared me. Another guy shoots sparks right at you which is very disorientating and scary.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the actors wore make up and some wore masks but they were all appropriate to their scenes. Costumes were great. Clowns, mummys, prisoners and the creepy dot people were back, too! I love them! I don't want to give the secret away, but they had one costume that I can't even beleive was a costume on an actor! Very creative. Go there and you will see what I mean.

Summary: The price went up this year to $8 but it is still a great value. Be sure to visit their website and pull off a coupon for $1 off. It also seems that they expanded and made it bigger this year, so I didn't mind paying the extra $2. It was well worth it. As always, this event plays on fears and phobias. One of the things I liked best is that it is not as bloody as most haunted houses, more scares based on startling you than trying to "gross" you out. There was a new maze added this year as well as a few new rooms.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at