Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
18 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible. Go down Washington St and you can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: None. However, we were the only ones in line.

Length of Event: 20 mins. Good length

Actor Performance: Good. All stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Also good. We didn't run into anyone.

Props / Special FX: I really liked the white strobe hall. Not too scary, but it was freaking me out by the time I got through it. Otherwise, nothing new but still all good.

Costumes / Make-up: I really liked the girl in the tv room. If I might make a slight suggestion. She could use a little makeup on the lower half of her face and don't say anything. Before she moved her mouth, I couldn't tell what was wrong with her face. It was freaky....

Summary: I like Clinton. Always do. The outside entertainment could be stepped up. We were there on opening night so it probably will get better. All in all, totally worth visiting.

9 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: donley1016   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find on one of Clinton main roads. Lots of signage through town.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome set up outside! Laser lights on the building, music and a woman who reads tarot cards while you wait! There are also Tv's set up so you can see people inside get scared( you can donate and scare them as they walk by). Lots of decorations and costumed actors outside. Really enjoyed waiting to go in.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes through the whole house.

Actor Performance: All actors were doing a great job. One girl in particular was screaming about her mom in a coffin and she was so scary! Oscar worthy performance! The actors came up to you in the rooms and tried to intimidate you in to leaving quickly, it usually worked for me. The clown girl called me her "pinky friend" grabbed my pinky and we jumped up and down laughing(in fear??). Good job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was my least favorite part, we caught other groups beacuse one scene in the elevator takes a lil while but once we got to that scene it was so worth it! It was my favorite scene and it made me forget about the waiting inside.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up. Some of the local kids were obnoxious with their foul language but that wasn't the house's fault.

Props / Special FX: The elevator scene was so neat and the frankenstein rising table was also notable. I think they do a nice job on the props even if it is just to set a mood in the rooms. The white strobe hallway was something I hadn't seen before as well as the wooden constructed mock asylum. Please bring back the real life actor who used to read you the rules. The new severed head bit was akward and if you aren't in the front of the group you can't tell what is happening.

Costumes / Make-up: Dear haunted house staff, MASKS ALWAYS SCARE BETTER THAN FACE PAINT! I wish there were more masks and actual costumes. The "insane girl" in the asylum was laughable in her jeans and Twilight shirt. Otherwise it was pretty good overall.

Summary: I have lived in central Illinois for many years and I have visited this house before it was settled into Washington street in 2001.It has been better some years but overall it is a great time for about an hour and 8 bucks. I always come back and I always share my experience with others so I must be enjoying myself. I do agree with one other reviewer on the issue of change. It seems that some rooms/props never change and it would be nice to see some variety in those rooms vs. alot of time being spent on one or two rooms. Kudos to the "clown room" and the chainsaw guy who chased me (smiling) all the way out.

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: illusionist   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible once your on Washington Street. The Location is great. This is one haunted house that LOOKS like a haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: There were several things going on outside. Great monsters (up to 15 foot tall) terrorizing the crowd and t.v.s where you could actually watch and participate with scaring inside the house. Concessions and slide shows and music outside as well.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors inside the house were RIGHT on cure.. Everyone really filled there parts well.. Clowns were full of excitement and vampires were dead and hissing..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great flow. A group gets to go in the house every minute or 2 and are spaced out well enough that you dont run into another group anywhere.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Terrors props and special effects are great. It seems that every year at least one or two rooms get some expensive new special effects. Things falling, going up and down, fences throwin sparks at the groups elevators with a great scare and even frankensteins coming to life.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were really great this year. I really enjor the masks more than the face paint because they are ALWAYS scaring not knowing whos behind the mask. Face paint never seems to do it for me.

Summary: This haunted house is GREAT every year. Always come back. I voted for them last year and this year im glad they had someone handing out slips of paper to remind you to vote for them again or i probobly would have forgotten. All of the monsters are good at their positions and there costumes are perfect for the area they are working. It all fits together perfectly. However..... After going through the house several years in a row you begin to notice alot of their rooms and begin to remember where the scare is coming from. In my (un-professional) opinion, it seems that alot of time is spent on electronic-al rooms in the house while others are neglected and the same year after year. If your from the area Clintons Terror on Washington Street is well worth the money and the greatest Haunted House we travel to every year. If you dont attend YOUR MISSING OUT...!

17 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find on Washington Street in Clinton.

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple of ghouls going to the bathroom. A tv that showed a scare within the haunted house which is always amusing.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in character for the majority of the time. 1 issue is there was someone roaming the house with a flashlight that was talking to the actors. This does not help with keeping the actors in character. Make sure theat "victims" have left the room before engaging in a conversation.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was 1 large group in front of us that we had to wait a couple of times for them to give a little distance.

Appropriate Ages: 12 on up.

Props / Special FX: Good use of special effects. Strobe room was A1.

Costumes / Make-up: Good use of make-up and masks. One stand out- girl watching the movie. Nice creep factor and make-up.

Summary: We have visited Clinton each year and they always do a good job. It was opening night and I would say all in all they have done a good job this year. Could use a couple more actors. Great job!

8 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: skeletonhead   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good location. well lit with good haunted house atmosphere

Wait Entertainment: a few t.v.s outside but only at the front of the line. a woman selling stuff and a man telling ur forunte were also beside the line.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes. we went threw slow to see everything though

Actor Performance: there were a fefw spots where u were actually stopped and entertained by actors that were really in character. the doctor working on the patient was really creative.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: a group behind us caught up to us in a crazy maze but they seemed to be running. we let them pass us

Appropriate Ages: 15 and up

Props / Special FX: really good props throughout the entire haunt but my favorites were the toilet in the bathroom and the zombies in the fenced tree area

Costumes / Make-up: looks of great masks throughout. all fit there areas but my favorite was the doctor mask.

Summary: good house to go to. lots of work and time is put into this place. it shows every year. the actors are all really good. my favorite rooms are the doctor and scream mask rooms that they nhave every year. wouldnt be the same without them. the crazy strobe path was a good change. still love the shainsaw man chasing everyone out. the price of a ticket is well worth that part alone. most intense part of the house. if your smart you should buy the v.i.p. pass and not wait in the line. go straight to the front door. if ur smart. bringing my cousin and my sisters teenaged kids next weekend. yes. it is that good to visit twice.

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lenette1   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Parked 2 blocks away, no signs noted in route.

Wait Entertainment: music was being broadcasted outside of the building. Performers walking around. Performer selling light sticks, roses, etc.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in charater, however we were in a group of 6 and the last 2-3 of us didn't get any of the scares throughout the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My husband and I were at the end of our group of six and there was another group of atleast 3-4 directly behind us immediately after the entrance point.

Appropriate Ages: appropriate for all ages

Props / Special FX: I felt the special effects provided were good. Disappointed in the maze that felt it took up a good portion of the house and nothing to scare you.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makue up were great. Very well thought out.

Summary: Overall I feel that the performers enjoyed what they were doing and did their best in each area. We were disappointed and felt that there was a long portion of the house that was lacking scare tactics. (a cardboard wall maze with strobe light), had to crawl across plexi glass and slide down a small hill, but not alot of room to get around and nothing that scared you. Think smaller groups should be led through at a time. Our group of 6 people were too many at one time as the last half of us didn't get the luxury of the scare. I would also suggest holding back the groups longer as our group had another group on our tales all the way through.

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: illusionist   (Event Visited: 10/10/10 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located right near the middle of the town. Look for the road blocks.

Wait Entertainment: I was very dissapointed that there wasnt any waiting entertainment this year. Usually clinton has several entertaining items and monsters messing with the crowd outside.

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The boy sitting in a chair outside of the red hellish room was insanely entertaining.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: After exiting the rules room we ran into the group in front of us watching the animated room. The timing wasnt set up very good because we were in the rules room for a few minutes before we left it.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: There were good special effects in the frank-n-stein room but other than that all the same as last year. There is too much fog and alot of the rooms arent lit well enough for you to appreciate them.

Costumes / Make-up: Clinton is always VERY good at make-up, masks, and costumes. Very creative group.

Summary: Clinton has always been one of my favorite haunted houses in the central illinois area. We make sure to attend this event every year. Sure wish they would change alot of there rooms though because we are begining to memorise a majority of there sets. Seems like they were very under-staffed. Good night over all. Needs more monsters. We will be back in the following weeks to see if theres any improvement.

5 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/08/10 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Clinton is a very small town and the road is all blocked off. Just find Washington St.

Wait Entertainment: A very tall ghoul

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Over all good actors. Could have used a few more, some real missed opportunities to scare. The girl at the bottom of the stairs as well as the insane laughing boy on the chair..very very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we did not un into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Lots of pictures, which helped confuse the scares. Some very good props and scenery.

Costumes / Make-up: good combination of masks and makeup..check out the face on the girl watching TV.

Summary: Clinton is always consistent. We go every year. Waiting for the year they have a "big" scare, always a good effort. The added white maze with the strobes was a nice addition which gave a feeling of length to the house.

6 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/10 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/04/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located on Washington Street in the small town of Clinton.. Easy to find, but we have been here before.

Wait Entertainment: No real wait entertainment we noticed, however tv monitor shows others inside the house - same as every year. We used a speed pass here to avoid long line wait.

Length of Event: The actual event took 15 minutes. Normal line wait maybe 1 hour, but we used speed pass here.

Actor Performance: Everyone did a good job, nothing above the rim here but everyone stayed on their mark.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow throughout the house was good, we had a group get behind us toward the end.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 years old could handle this attraction.

Props / Special FX: The overall props were ok, but they could use more - the house didn't seem as well put together as years past. The new "white room" was good, but could have been more on length. This event needs more attention next year!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes, make-up and masks were ok, but again more detail needs to be put into this. Some of the actors were in too much street dress here.

Summary: The Clinton people have for years been putting on this event and usually do a great job, but this year everything seemed very weak. The new Frankenstein room was a nice touch, but too little and too late. Also; the actors are weak i'n numbers this year, they need more people working this event. The speed pass got around the line, but at that cost we were expecting much more.. I hope next year they get back to what made this event a stand-out. The entire haunted house could use a facelift, too much of the same stuff every year. This house has great possibilities but they need more.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at