Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Night Terrors Haunt (Effingham, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
10 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Chloesmomma   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is great! It's at the old Rural King building at the mall. LOTS of parking!

Wait Entertainment: The line actors were cool! They made a couple of the people jump & scream! It was funny seeing the people running out of the house at the end!

Length of Event: Maybe about 30 min in line, and 20 min or so inside the attraction.

Actor Performance: The actors seemed to really know their roles, and they seem to have a lot of fun!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It seemed to run smoothly..didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 11+. I hear they are doing a kids haunt, though, that isn't scary at all.

Props / Special FX: The props were very cool! There was a moving tricycle(yes it REALLY moved on its own), a moving floor, a never ending well, and a refrigerator you have to walk through, it was very imaginative!

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up & costumes looked soo real! There was a few times, I thought the actors were really bleeding!

Summary: I am so glad I went to Night Terrors! It was an exciting,frightening and hilarious all at the same time! It was cool watching the line actors taking pictures with the people that went through the house, and it was also funny hearing a couple of guys in the group before us screaming like kids! 
 
Plus, if you bring in a non-perishable food item, they take $2 off the price to get in..well worth the money! So, for $10 and a can of green beans, I was able to hear a "macho man" scream..great night! =)

19 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sdc1997   (Event Visited: 10/09/10 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Awesome Location! At the Old Rural King Bldg in the Village Square Mall, great parking!

Wait Entertainment: There was this one really creepy guy who would sneak up behind you and screech, it was horrible, he was great! There was a clown, after being in this place I hate clowns!

Length of Event: About 20 min maybe a little longer.

Actor Performance: The actors were amazing! From the hillbilly who reads the rules, to the nuthouse where you think the walls are coming down, I almost didn't make it through the woods thanks to the chainsaws! The crazy dr was awesome! There is nothing worse than being chased out by more chainsaws. I definitely peed a little with that one!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good, didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: Only for 12-13 and older. There is a kids haunt that would probably be better for the younger kids.

Props / Special FX: The well that goes forever was insane!  
There is also a moving floor too! 
The rooms were greatly detailed.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up were great.

Summary: Overall this was a great haunt, I was impressed with the set up of the rooms and how scary the actors were. Definitely a haunt to visit if you're into a good scare!

14 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: britt94   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it had a really good location at the old rural king in effingham. it was inside the mall.

Wait Entertainment: they had alot of people walking around in their costumes that would come up behind you and scare you. i was

Length of Event: we were in the haunted house probably 20 minutes. we stopped a few times to look at all the scenes.

Actor Performance: they were really good. they stayed into character really well. the hillbilly was great along with the crazy doctor

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow was good. we didnt run into any groups but the group behind us caught up with us.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and older, they have a kids haunt that would be good for younger kids

Props / Special FX: walking through the fridge with the meat hanging up was different but pretty cool.

Costumes / Make-up: the make up on some of the actors were really good and looked real.

Summary: it was really neat to see all the different scenes in the room. the clown room and the grave yard were my favorites. they had a room with a strobe light and 2 guys that came out of no where. the actors were good about hiding until you were completely in the room. the actors were also really good and scary. it was the best haunted house ive been to around here. the chainsaws got all of us the most. one girl in our group did slip and fell at the end, but she was all right and they had guys outside making sure she was fine.

13 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bendfoster   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was great. It is located in the old rural king building at the mall.

Wait Entertainment: This was good. They had a clown pusing a cart with a loud air horn and a zombie guy that my wife told him he had bad breath when he got in her face. And another person but he didnt do much.

Length of Event: The line was almost out in the mall when we got there so we waited for awhile but once we got in I think it took about 15 to 20 minutes for us to get thru.

Actor Performance: Im 6'8" tall so for me anything that comes from low and gets high is what gets my attention. We were in a glowing mask room that one of the masks went from about 5 foot tall to 6 foot and in my face area that was a little creepy. There was a monster that jump out of some clothes that was laughing like he was on crack. They had a "Jason" that looked like he could have been the real thing and a Mad Doctor that I couldnt tell if his limp was real or fake, then he forced us thru a refridgerator.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good. We didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: They had a few rooms that had lots of bloody guts and gore so I would take kids younger than 12 or 13.

Props / Special FX: Some of the props were very cool. They had a body who's leg moved. A tricycle that moved by itself. Floating masks and clown heads. The forest was awesome! I accidentally touched one of the trees. I think they used real ones. And a floor that moved as you walked on it

Costumes / Make-up: The Zombie in the line had a very cool mask. The clowns make up was creepy and like I said earlier The Jason looked like it was the real thing.

Summary: I thought this haunt was great. I laughed at everyone when they got scared and might have jumped a little in the glowing mask room. My wife is afraid of the dark and anything that may sound like a chainsaw. They had plenty of both. I think they got her 4 or 5 times with some sort of saw thru out the whole thing and then she screamed like a little girl in the dark body bag room each time one of the bags touched her. I would go again but it would have to be with someone else. I dont think my wife would go thru it again.

8 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: rt54   (Event Visited: 10/23/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Outstanding location. Old rural king building in Effingham.

Wait Entertainment: The wait went at a good pace. Crowd groups were filtered in every 5 minutes or so. Well organized.

Length of Event: Event length was good. It was just enough time to get your heart pumping and get spooked.

Actor Performance: Actor's performance was outstanding! Everybody stayed in character all through out. The crazies in the Asylum I think were really crazy. Disturbing!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of people was really good. Transfer in scare room stages was great. Very well organized.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and above

Props / Special FX: Great props and Special Effects. The cemetery looked real! The never ending well was out of sight.

Costumes / Make-up: Zombie guy had awesome make up, clowns looked evil, the crazies looked... well, really crazy. Really well put together!

Summary: It was an outstanding haunted house. Everybody I was with was very pleased, or shall I say scared after going through. My favorite parts would have to be the Meat Locker, and the Asylum. The location, event, actors, props and special effects, I thought was really well thought out. It appeared to be an event where a lot of work and preparation has been put in. It seemed very professionally organized. I would suggest it to everybody that has not been to it. I give props to all that work and put that event together. Happy Halloween!

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jmoverton   (Event Visited: 10/22/10 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find, its right inside the mall

Wait Entertainment: The wait had two people walking around scaring younger girls...it was funny!

Length of Event: it is a good size haunted house

Actor Performance: was very good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: fast, they got us through

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: At the end there is a chainsaw guy. However, the chainsaw stunk so bad that my husband had a hard time breathing standing in line.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up and costumes were fun

Summary: It was a very fun house. We are a little older but it was fun to watch the kids. They should find a way to have the chainsaw smell more ventilated. Other than that we had a great time. And its for a good cause. To me it was a bit pricey but if a person brings in a canned good they get $2 off of their ticket price. However, $10 for it is still high. It is definitely a place for teens more than it is adults. Still scary at times. We had fun! I was able to laugh and not be as scared as I usually am. It was a fun environment. But I do advise not to take young children.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at