Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2010 Visitor Reviews of
Downs Haunted House (Downs, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
12 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since Downs is a small town. Located in the middle of town in Dooley Park.

Wait Entertainment: Monsters roaming around seemed to scare the teenage girls very well.

Length of Event: 5 minutes for the house, 10 minutes for the hayrack ride.

Actor Performance: Great- actors stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only one group was in the house at a time.

Appropriate Ages: 8 on up.

Props / Special FX: Nice props in the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Good use of masks and make-up.

Summary: The house is small but done quite well. The "victims" are led through the house at a good pace to keep the flow moving. Scares come at the beginning, middle and end of the group. For a cost of $2.00 for the house and hayrack ride it was well worth. The hayrack ride even took you through a spooky location! There are activities for the kids, good eats, and a bon fire for roasting hot dogs and making smores. This was out first trip to Downs for their Haunted House and I would have to say for the price they did a Great Job!

13 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: When you go to the park to get your ticket , you are treated to a hay ride to the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: Monsters scaring the crowd..zombie girl roaming and roaming.

Length of Event: 5 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors really give their all. Well done! They ALL stayed in character...one of the most important aspects for success.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were guided, so we did not run into a group. We were also the first group in after a short break.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Toxic room, clown room, nice detail. Air gun in the dark maze..always good for a jump! Last room..great recipe for a scare!!

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks.

Summary: For $2.00 this is the best deal in the haunt circuit. Hot dogs 50 cents..good homemade treats..The city of Downs does a mighty fine job with what they have to work with. We had a great time, and jumped more then once. The tree guy did an outstanding job. There is some opportunity for a scare in the clown room....but I will never be critical because of the price and what this offers the community. The added hay ride through the cemetary...great fun! Nice job Downs..keep it up, you should be very proud!

7 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We came from LeRoy. I was in the backseat. Sorry, not much help here. Plus, we know where it is.

Wait Entertainment: Scary brides and monsters roaming the crowd.

Length of Event: 8-10 min

Actor Performance: Inside the house, they were great!! All stayed in character and really tried to scare.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Guided.

Appropriate Ages: This one is great for kids, I think. Even if they don't want to do the haunted house, they have lots of kids activities, bonfire and park. It's a really nice atmosphere.

Props / Special FX: All good. I was pleasantly surprised. They have a really nice setup. Small but well done. Like the stairs room a lot.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone was appropriate for their rooms. The guides could use more costumes. And perhaps code words for, "Is everyone here?!"

Summary: Downs is great. It looks like they have a lot of community support. And everyone was SUPER friendly. Love the fire and you can cook your own hot dogs for 50 cents! That is a bargain. The homemade baked goodies on the way out were really nice. I enjoyed the haunted house more than I thought I would. I like Downs and love to visit, but I don't expect a professional haunted house. Glad to say, they did a really good job with it. The hay ride to and from the haunted house is a really great idea, too. And man, you cannot beat paying TWO DOLLARS for the whole thing!

8 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntedowns   (Event Visited: 10/16/10 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/10
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The event had many signs all around the town of downs, the signs weren't very large but they also were't to small.The events started at Dooley Park only 3 blocks away from the main acctraction. The BP gas station,the rundown Railroad tracks, and the Highway all are in view of the building where the Haunted house sits. From the main road through Downs the haunted house is visible  
The signage was all along the town.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was a descent amount given the big crowd, and the entertainment was okay the girl inside of the coffin and many crowd strollers and many things to look at while outside. The grave yardish theme was well done.

Length of Event: 6-8 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors and actress played very convincing roles throught the entire time. They stayed in character until the we were out of the room, a few character would continualy be in character. Some of the Characters were a little bit too fit for there room but they made it work.The ones that didnt weren't the main Scare in the room. Some of the timing was a bit off but over all it was great! 
The actors were the appropriate age/size for the characters they portrayed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never saw a different group.

Appropriate Ages: I personaly saw many different ages go into and come out of this place.

Props / Special FX: Sparky was my personal favorite and his special FX scared the PEE out of me when i went by.

Costumes / Make-up: The whole Haunted House was great execpt when i went into the Bar room and saw a girl with no mask or costume on, i was expecting her to have some facial thing but she only had a black eye. i also thought that the bartenders mask was a little weak maybe a full mask would have been scarier.but every thing else was great.

Summary: What did you like about the event?  
I enjoyed the whole thing!!! 
What do you think they could have done better?  
Maybe instead of a kid clown maybe an adult with more make-up and more costume on would help the clown room!  
What was your favorite scene?  
My favorite scene was the Bar room. 
Did you have a favorite actor/actress?  
My favorite actor/actress was in the bar room the person with the big mask and with clothes realy scared me the distraction from the group looking toward the bartender then having the big mask person scare from behind, such a classic 
What scares really freaked you out? the last room really scared me! haveing the character there then not there then a ton of them again wow i was scared!!!  
Did they give you a lot of "bang for your buck"? This acctraction cost only two dollars!!!! 

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at